GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: sligoman2 on March 20, 2018, 07:21:40 PM

Title: Whingers
Post by: sligoman2 on March 20, 2018, 07:21:40 PM
I was just reading the many complaints about the 65's in the hurling yesterday, earlier on I read about players upset at games being played yesterday, more whining about the weather, the backlog,  etc..
Many of the people complaining about the format would also complain about having a replay, player burnout etc..

I'm wondering are we turning soft and becoming a group who like to complain no matter what.  Loads of other examples out there.  Has the average gaa player and supporter lost the plot?  Have we become a showerof whingers?
What do ye think..
Title: Re: Whingers
Post by: Ball Hopper on March 20, 2018, 07:32:20 PM
Time to introduce a Golden Score at the end of the first extra time...if teams are still level when the extra time reaches its conclusion, play on until a team scores.

Some might say put the Golden Score at the end of normal time, thereby eliminating draws completely. 
Post by: longballin on March 20, 2018, 07:34:45 PM
Quote from: Ball Hopper on March 20, 2018, 07:32:20 PM
Time to introduce a Golden Score at the end of the first extra time...if teams are still level when the extra time reaches its conclusion, play on until a team scores.

Some might say put the Golden Score at the end of normal time, thereby eliminating draws completely.

Yeah I thought the same... throw in the ball next score wins!
Post by: Rossfan on March 20, 2018, 07:37:56 PM
Didn't we try that out in the NFL some years ago?
Most of the whinging us by hurley types though.
I think it's all that change that has them all fragile.
Post by: tippabu on March 20, 2018, 07:38:37 PM

Dont like it, can be decided too easily by a poor decision from the ref. I think penalties would be brilliant, would create great excitement
Post by: Syferus on March 20, 2018, 08:44:47 PM
Quote from: sligoman2 on March 20, 2018, 07:21:40 PM
I was just reading the many complaints about the 65's in the hurling yesterday, earlier on I read about players upset at games being played yesterday, more whining about the weather, the backlog,  etc..
Many of the people complaining about the format would also complain about having a replay, player burnout etc..

I'm wondering are we turning soft and becoming a group who like to complain no matter what.  Loads of other examples out there.  Has the average gaa player and supporter lost the plot?  Have we become a showerof whingers?
What do ye think..

"Are we turning soft". Older people thinking things used to better in the past, a pastime as old as humans themselves.

The answer is no.
Post by: Asal Mor on March 20, 2018, 10:01:08 PM
Quote from: tippabu on March 20, 2018, 07:38:37 PM

Dont like it, can be decided too easily by a poor decision from the ref. I think penalties would be brilliant, would create great excitement
Both are good ideas imo, much better than the 65 shoot-out.
Post by: Targetman on March 20, 2018, 10:16:05 PM
We're not happy unless we have something to whinge about, and being a Down supporter I have plenty!!
Post by: Ball Hopper on March 20, 2018, 10:21:16 PM
Quote from: hardstation on March 20, 2018, 08:14:50 PM
Quote from: longballin on March 20, 2018, 07:34:45 PM

Yeah I thought the same... throw in the ball next score wins!
Be fierce bad luck if you were playing against the gale force wind when that's introduced.

Win the toss and play with the wind for the second half in case we are level at full time.  So much for the adage to avail of the wind in the first half in case it dies down.
Post by: westbound on March 20, 2018, 10:39:47 PM
I don't really get what the big problem with using 65's is? Why is it so much worse than penalties (which some are suggesting here as an alternative)?

Post by: Asal Mor on March 20, 2018, 10:57:49 PM
Quote from: westbound on March 20, 2018, 10:39:47 PM
I don't really get what the big problem with using 65's is? Why is it so much worse than penalties (which some are suggesting here as an alternative)?
Penalties would be a much more dramatic spectacle.
Post by: westbound on March 21, 2018, 10:09:21 AM
Quote from: Asal Mor on March 20, 2018, 10:57:49 PM

Would it? Why so? Because of goals (rather than points)? Because of the keeper on the line facing the striker? Maybe and in fairness that's a reasonable argument.

I've seen some people say that the 65's are not fair and that it's not fair on amateur players to be in a position where they could be the scapegoat for missing a free. Personally, I thing those arguments are rubbish. It'd be exactly the same for a penalty shoot out, and there is always the chance of a player missing a last minute free to be the scapegoat even without a 65's competition.

I think that no matter what system is used to decide draws there will be criticism.
Look at soccer, people are always complaining that penalties are not a good way to decide a game. Recently they've started using the ABBA (not the band!) system for penalty shoot outs. They've tried golden goals and silver goals as well so they don't see penalties as the perfect solution either.

Post by: Esmarelda on March 21, 2018, 10:50:46 AM

What do ye think..
A resounding yes. Endless moaning.
Post by: Jinxy on March 21, 2018, 11:06:23 AM
Social media, lads.
That's the only difference between 'back then' and now.
Post by: sligoman2 on March 21, 2018, 11:37:28 AM
Quote from: Syferus on March 20, 2018, 08:44:47 PM

What do ye think..

"Are we turning soft". Older people thinking things used to better in the past, a pastime as old as humans themselves.

The answer is no.

The oracle has spoken.  I can close the thread now"..........
Post by: magpie seanie on March 21, 2018, 12:11:26 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on March 21, 2018, 11:06:23 AM
Social media, lads.
That's the only difference between 'back then' and now.

That's the main driver. Lots of legitimate points getting lost in a sea of bullshit.
Post by: rosnarun on March 21, 2018, 12:15:42 PM
I hate whingers they ruin all aspect of life and drag the fun out of everything why in my day if you were a whinger you'd be zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz...................
Post by: TheGreatest on March 21, 2018, 01:48:07 PM
Plenty of them on this site anyway. On all threads and when I certain teams wins.
Post by: Captain Obvious on March 21, 2018, 02:54:33 PM
Quote from: sligoman2 on March 21, 2018, 11:37:28 AM
Quote from: Syferus on March 20, 2018, 08:44:47 PM
I was just reading the many complaints about the 65’s in the hurling yesterday, earlier on I read about players upset at games being played yesterday, more whining about the weather, the backlog,  etc..

I’m wondering are we turning soft and becoming a group who like to complain no matter what.  Loads of other examples out there.  Has the average gaa player and supporter lost the plot?  Have we become a showerof whingers?
What do ye think..

“Are we turning soft”. Older people thinking things used to better in the past, a pastime as old as humans themselves.

The answer is no.

The oracle has spoken.  I can close the thread now"..........
If he was old enough he would know a lot of things was better in the past.
Post by: Asal Mor on March 25, 2018, 06:45:33 AM
Quote from: westbound on March 21, 2018, 10:09:21 AM
Quote from: Asal Mor on March 20, 2018, 10:57:49 PM

Would it? Why so? Because of goals (rather than points)? Because of the keeper on the line facing the striker? Maybe and in fairness that's a reasonable argument.

I've seen some people say that the 65's are not fair and that it's not fair on amateur players to be in a position where they could be the scapegoat for missing a free. Personally, I thing those arguments are rubbish. It'd be exactly the same for a penalty shoot out, and there is always the chance of a player missing a last minute free to be the scapegoat even without a 65's competition.

I think that no matter what system is used to decide draws there will be criticism.
Look at soccer, people are always complaining that penalties are not a good way to decide a game. Recently they've started using the ABBA (not the band!) system for penalty shoot outs. They've tried golden goals and silver goals as well so they don't see penalties as the perfect solution either.
I posted this on another thread, Enda McEvoy in the Examiner, writing about the 65m shoot-out. I think he's 100% right.
"Too clinical as a spectacle, too straightforward and just plain too dull. Putting over a dead ball from 65 metres, with the same 10 players on duty indefinitely? "Aisy to do that with nobody marking you" etc. It's a wonder things didn't go on till closing time. A penalty shoot-out would be infinitely more engaging and dramatic."
Post by: ONeill on March 25, 2018, 09:47:27 AM
Southerners whinge about everything. Northerners are stoic.
Post by: longballin on March 25, 2018, 11:03:04 AM
Is a lot of whinging anytime a Dublin county team or club team wins a championship. Sup it up.
Post by: Rossfan on March 25, 2018, 11:05:02 AM
Quote from: ONeill on March 25, 2018, 09:47:27 AM
Southerners whinge about everything. Northerners are stoic.
Ironic joke of the year ;D
Post by: didlyi on March 25, 2018, 11:44:31 AM
Lot of irony here! I hate whingers myself! Whinge over.

Golden score wouldnt work in Gaa. Could you imagine the reaction if a ref blew up a dodgy free during this period.
Post by: longballin on March 25, 2018, 02:42:10 PM
Quote from: didlyi on March 25, 2018, 11:44:31 AM
Lot of irony here! I hate whingers myself! Whinge over.

Golden score wouldnt work in Gaa. Could you imagine the reaction if a ref blew up a dodgy free during this period.

same reaction as dodgy free in closing minutes of any close game
Post by: Itchy on March 25, 2018, 10:01:51 PM
What's with all the whinging about fixtures cancelled due to bad weather.  Mcstay whinging today, emlyn  (the whole world is against me) Mulligan last week. RTE radio had Martin McHugh whinging about it too yet it took him 10 minutes to figure out the permutations in div 2 and turns out he was talking crap. Weather was unprecedented in a decade, it's not the GAAs fault.
Post by: Targetman on March 25, 2018, 11:17:49 PM
McHugh's a complete tool, I wonder does he ever listen to the shite he talks, anyway we're for Div 3, I could whinge all night!!
Post by: rosnarun on March 26, 2018, 09:47:40 AM
Quote from: Itchy on March 25, 2018, 10:01:51 PM
What's with all the whinging about fixtures cancelled due to bad weather.  Mcstay whinging today, emlyn  (the whole world is against me) Mulligan last week. RTE radio had Martin McHugh whinging about it too yet it took him 10 minutes to figure out the permutations in div 2 and turns out he was talking crap. Weather was unprecedented in a decade, it's not the GAAs fault.
If Donegal could get the 3 mchughs playing close to potential they'd have a lot less to whinge about.
there must be a story there?
Post by: Jinxy on March 26, 2018, 10:22:37 AM
Quote from: Targetman on March 25, 2018, 11:17:49 PM
McHugh's a complete tool, I wonder does he ever listen to the shite he talks, anyway we're for Div 3, I could whinge all night!!

The most miserable, and misery-inducing, human being in the GAA.
Post by: mup on March 26, 2018, 10:38:32 AM
Whinging about people whinging about your team. And also those who whinge even when their team win. Joyless.

Post by: Dinny Breen on March 26, 2018, 11:22:49 AM
Quote from: mup on March 26, 2018, 10:38:32 AM
Whinging about people whinging about your team. And also those who whinge even when their team win. Joyless.

The Kildare forum is in Peak Whinge mode, led by our National Whinge Treasure Ewan MacKenna. A man so negative I stop at nothing to avoid him.
Post by: joemamas on March 26, 2018, 01:45:08 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on March 26, 2018, 10:22:37 AM
Quote from: Targetman on March 25, 2018, 11:17:49 PM

The most miserable, and misery-inducing, human being in the GAA.

I posted on another blog that he pissed and moaned for a full ten minutes yesterday on RTE radio about everything from D1 to D4, what a toolbag.

Post by: J70 on March 26, 2018, 02:11:24 PM
Quote from: rosnarun on March 26, 2018, 09:47:40 AM
If Donegal could get the 3 mchughs playing close to potential they'd have a lot less to whinge about.

What story?

Eoin is taking the year off to focus on university finals. Mark took time off in 2014 and has never been able to force his way back into the starting 15 on a regular basis, partly because his brother fills a similar role. Ryan is one of our best three players, but takes a serious amount of high hits and abuse.
Post by: AZOffaly on March 26, 2018, 02:14:33 PM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on March 26, 2018, 11:22:49 AM

The Kildare forum is in Peak Whinge mode, led by our National Whinge Treasure Ewan MacKenna. A man so negative I stop at nothing to avoid him.

I told you that years ago.
Post by: Jinxy on March 26, 2018, 02:21:14 PM
The thing is, it's easy to give out, particularly in the context of the GAA, where being positive is usually conflated with being naive.
It's like a team winning 5 games in a row, then when they lose the 6th game, some know it all will invariably turn around and say, "See? I told you they were no use."
Post by: Dinny Breen on March 26, 2018, 02:22:02 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on March 26, 2018, 02:14:33 PM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on March 26, 2018, 11:22:49 AM

I told you that years ago.

Aye you did in fairness but I gave him the benefit of the doubt, just a dose now.
Post by: westbound on March 26, 2018, 04:38:58 PM

The whinging is not because games were postponed, it's because they weren't re-fixed before the last round of games.

Any league should have everyone playing their last games at the same time.

It ended up not making too much difference this time, but the gaa shouldn't have been taking a chance.
Post by: Beffs on March 26, 2018, 05:32:16 PM
Quote from: J70 on March 26, 2018, 02:11:24 PM

What story?

Eoin is taking the year off to focus on university finals. Mark took time off in 2014 and has never been able to force his way back into the starting 15 on a regular basis, partly because his brother fills a similar role. Ryan is one of our best three players, but takes a serious amount of high hits and abuse.

The story that Mark has a reputation for being - searches for polite word - a bit of a handful? Was he not fcuked off the panel for going on the piss and then had a hissy fit when mgt called him out on it?
Post by: J70 on March 26, 2018, 05:55:23 PM
Quote from: Beffs on March 26, 2018, 05:32:16 PM
Quote from: J70 on March 26, 2018, 02:11:24 PM

What story?

The story that Mark has a reputation for being - searches for polite word - a bit of a handful. Was he not fcuked off the panel for going on the piss and then had a hissy fit when mgt called him out on it?

No clue.

Might explain some of his issues in getting a regular starting spot, but what about the other two?

Ryan has been one of the best players in the country since he came on the scene. Eoin has only had two seasons at senior level and did well the first year, but was less impressive in a struggling team last year.