GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: Pietas on February 08, 2007, 10:49:23 AM

Title: The FAI and Croke Park
Post by: Pietas on February 08, 2007, 10:49:23 AM
Aside from the fact that the FAI make Laurel and Hardy look efficient...

Aside from the fact that they appoint an international manager with no management experiece

Aside from the fact that one of their blazers declared Croke Park 'a monument to bigorty'

Aside from the fact that opening the stadium means promotion of other codes in a state of the art stadium built by and for the gaa

Asdide from that fact Croke Park will be used by teams from the UK, a political entity which has tortured and murdered here and around the world...including in Croke Park.

What do ye think of this FAI press release...

FAI Allocates Tickets for Croke Park Matches
Date: Tuesday, 06 February 2007
Section: FAI News

All existing FAI block bookers, clubs, supporter groups, leagues and affiliates are receiving confirmation of their ticket allocations this week. This follows a hugely increased demand for the home matches. Over 12,000 fans who had previously been on waiting lists for tickets have also had their ticket requests accommodated.

The home supporter capacity of 67,000 is now sold out with all stand and premium seats allocated leaving a limited number of Corporate Box seats available.

The Association is installing seats on the Northern terrace (that's Hill 16 to you and me) at Croke Park in line with UEFA/FIFA regulations and the Wales and German FAs have been allocated this seated capacity of 6500. Discussions are ongoing with the Slovakian and Cypriot FAs regarding their take up of seats. Depending on the take up by these Associations, this may result in some limited capacity being available for Irish fans for these two matches only.

Notification of the ticket allocations should be completed by the end of this week.

Title: Re: The FAI and Croke Park
Post by: realredhandfan on February 08, 2007, 11:13:37 AM
I dont like the FAI.  Let the rugby in yes but we shouldnt have let Floppy and the rest in to party.  They lack grace, class and success and their 26 county remit is partitionist and self serving.  The NI fans would tell you that it was the FAI that split from them not the other way about, If they want a solution for Irish soccor,  they should be sent back to Windsor to make up with the original football association now ran by Jimmy Boyce, with the begging bowl in their hands, and we'll consider letting them in then and only then when they stop partitioniong soccor on the island. 
BTW if Stan da gaffer stauntion has to be sacked surely the binlads who appointed him need to be roaded to for gross mismanagement.  How dare they rename the Hill!" 
Post by: tayto on February 08, 2007, 12:50:43 PM
Quote from: realredhandfan on February 08, 2007, 11:13:37 AM
They lack grace, class

Don't they just, shower of baxtids.
Post by: IolarCoisCuain on February 09, 2007, 10:12:54 AM
I posted on this same topic today, until Hound pulled me up about it. Apologies for the clutter.

Beats me why I bothered now, looking back. I don't see why anyone should be surprised at what the FAI do, or the bizzare media-cheerleaders for this whole shameful selling of Croke Park business.

Áine Lawlor was asking some guy on Morning Ireland this morning if he didn't think it was great "to see the sporting traditions on this island united." United? United how? What does that mean? It means nothing - it's just more propaganda to cover up what is a craven cash-making exercise on all sides, that sells out eighty years of history, tradition and values in the process. God help us.
Post by: Pietas on February 09, 2007, 01:23:29 PM
Peter McKenna was on morning ireland this morning effectively promoting a rugby match.

That is not his job...what the hell is going on among staff in Croke Park?

Some of this horseshit has left a very bitter taste among those of us dubious about opening the ground in the first place.
Post by: J70 on February 09, 2007, 01:36:57 PM
Quote from: Pietas on February 09, 2007, 01:23:29 PM
Peter McKenna was on morning ireland this morning effectively promoting a rugby match.

Some of this horseshit has left a very bitter taste among those of us dubious about opening the ground in the first place.

Well what exactly did he say?

I suspect that any show of accomodation and kindness whatsoever was going to leave a bitter taste in the mouth of the dubious ones.

Exactly how do you people think the GAA/Croke Park should be handling the PR for all of this? Should they be seen as begrudging and bitter hosts?
Post by: Tony Fearon on February 09, 2007, 01:44:27 PM
Get over it rednecks. FFS The GAA facilitates compromise rules in Croker every two years, and the aussies then sign at least 10 gaa  stars on professional contracts. Is that not damaging to the GAA? The GAA has treated Irish soccer with contempt since the 1920s, so you can expect this to be reciprocated.

In any event I have been allocated two lower Hogans, to watch Stan (a far better Gael than any of you rednecks) and the lads redeem themselves, which I am confident they will! ;D

Post by: realredhandfan on February 09, 2007, 01:54:39 PM
tony maybe we are not as open minded as you. 
Post by: SuperSub on February 09, 2007, 02:05:57 PM
Lets get down to the bare facts,John Delaney and the other shower of muppets including Stan won't be playing in Croke Park it will be the Republic Of Ireland soccer team and i for one am a proud Irish man and i don't care what goes on behind the scenes in the FAI that can all be sorted out off the field,This day is about Ireland as a whole and i think it's great out national Football team will play in Croke Park
So what if their not doing well now is the time to get behind them and are you telling me the likes of Shay Given and Kevin Doyle who have all been in Croker before are less of a Irish man becaue they will be wearing a football jersey instead of a gaelic one?
Get over your pettyness lads this is going to happen and you'd what to get use to it.Forget about the likes of Delaney and get behind your country
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on February 09, 2007, 02:07:16 PM
rednecks - that's surely not Tony
Post by: Romeo on February 09, 2007, 02:10:20 PM
Quote from: Pietas on February 09, 2007, 01:23:29 PM

Horsesh*t is right, McKenna's job is to look after Croke Park FFS, stop whinging about him doing it!
Post by: magpie seanie on February 09, 2007, 03:45:33 PM
Quoterednecks - that's surely not Tony

Yeah, I said this yesterday. It's just not the kind of word I'd associate Fearon with using.
Post by: armaghniac on February 09, 2007, 03:50:08 PM
(http://images.allmoviephoto.com/2006_You,_Me_and_Dupree/2006_you_me_and_dupree_004.jpg)

the FAI, the lodger from hell.... it just isn't the same any more!
Post by: realredhandfan on February 09, 2007, 03:51:23 PM
Theres talk of an FAI buy out of the GAA, to increase their level of volunteerism..
Post by: tayto on February 10, 2007, 06:32:34 PM
huh?
Post by: winsamsoon on February 10, 2007, 06:50:50 PM
"[Be proud of your country] well you see that is kinda hard for me. I come from the north of Ireland and the FAI represent a 26 county body. How then can i be proud of the FAI when they quite clearly don't recognise me as a legitimate Irishman???????
Post by: dublinfella on February 10, 2007, 08:24:02 PM
Quote from: winsamsoon on February 10, 2007, 06:50:50 PM
"[Be proud of your country] well you see that is kinda hard for me. I come from the north of Ireland and the FAI represent a 26 county body. How then can i be proud of the FAI when they quite clearly don't recognise me as a legitimate Irishman???????

well considering the other option is a 32 county setup based in windsor park with GSTQ as the anthem.... would you prefer a 'british' based irish soccer team?

some of the anti soccer stuff peddled on here is hilarious.
Post by: Rossfan on February 10, 2007, 08:59:48 PM
Quote from: dublinfella on February 10, 2007, 08:24:02 PM
[
not half as f*** in' hilarious as the Irish(Rep of) soccer scene !!!
Post by: dublinfella on February 10, 2007, 10:01:42 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on February 10, 2007, 08:59:48 PM
Quote from: dublinfella on February 10, 2007, 08:24:02 PM
[
not half as f*** in' hilarious as the Irish(Rep of) soccer scene !!!

the league is ranked higher thatn the national team these days. sums it up really