Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: Orangemac on August 18, 2011, 12:15:25 AM

Title: Movies that make you cry
Post by: Orangemac on August 18, 2011, 12:15:25 AM
http://www.incentivetravel.co.uk/airportairline/2800-virgin-atlantic-introduces-emotional-health-warnings-on-inflight-movies-

Heard this discussed today. Haven't saw some of these movies but what movies have reduced anyone to tears?

Off the top of my head, The Champ, Stand By Me, Old Yeller, Big Fish and the opening sequence of Up (heart of stone if you didn't cry at this)
Title: Re: Movies that make you cry
Post by: redhandloo on August 18, 2011, 12:24:24 AM
Armageddon
Post by: screenexile on August 18, 2011, 12:37:18 AM
Go away and shite crying at movies!!!

I've never cried at a movie but the missus will cry at feckin nappy ads on TV... watched Super 8 the other night and she fell apart on 2 separate occasions. I couldn't even begin to list the amount of films she has cried at!!!!
Post by: gawa316 on August 18, 2011, 12:44:25 AM
Quote from: Orangemac on August 18, 2011, 12:15:25 AM
and the opening sequence of Up (heart of stone if you didn't cry at this)

thats the one right there and maybe Marley and Me
Post by: SLIGONIAN on August 18, 2011, 12:45:11 AM
The Smurfs tonight :'(
Post by: Forever Green on August 18, 2011, 12:55:29 AM
Have never really cried at a film. Only women do that ;)

One that brought me close though was when Julian goes to visit the injured Gary in Remember the Titans. Another one is when Ricky gets killed in Boyz n the Hood :(
Post by: randomtask on August 18, 2011, 01:20:03 AM
Marley and me, forest gump (when he meets his son)
Post by: ross4life on August 18, 2011, 01:43:42 AM
Quote from: Orangemac on August 18, 2011, 12:15:25 AM
http://www.incentivetravel.co.uk/airportairline/2800-virgin-atlantic-introduces-emotional-health-warnings-on-inflight-movies-

Heard this discussed today. Haven't saw some of these movies but what movies have reduced anyone to tears?

Off the top of my head, The Champ, Stand By Me, Old Yeller, Big Fish and the opening sequence of Up (heart of stone if you didn't cry at this)

Only seen two of those movies in the that list. I almost cried watching the 1986 transformers cartoon movie in the scene where Optimus Prime died.
Post by: maggie on August 18, 2011, 01:57:33 AM
Beaches.
In the name of the father.
The Green Mile.
The Notebook.
Post by: irunthev on August 18, 2011, 07:19:24 AM
Quote from: randomtask on August 18, 2011, 01:20:03 AM
Marley and me, forest gump (when he meets his son)

We had to have our dog put down a few weeks back and those scenes from Marley and Me were so spot on. I've seen the film once..... I'll never watch it again.
Post by: Tony Baloney on August 18, 2011, 08:41:45 AM
Don't get nrico2006 started on this thread!
Post by: quit yo jibbajabba on August 18, 2011, 08:50:23 AM
driving miss daisy!!!!!!!!!!!  ;D ;D ;D

id just been dumped, in my defence; couldnt tell you the first thing about the film,lol;

though someone i know ( :P) also says Beaches, also those Born Free films??
Post by: Tony Baloney on August 18, 2011, 08:56:36 AM
DIY SOS The Big Build.
Post by: lynchbhoy on August 18, 2011, 09:31:29 AM
any movie where money or gold are destroyed...
Post by: paco on August 18, 2011, 09:32:13 AM
SPOILER

Seeing Apollo Creed dying in Rocky IV.
Post by: laoislad on August 18, 2011, 09:34:06 AM
Two girls one cup.
Post by: ziggysego on August 18, 2011, 09:37:44 AM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on August 18, 2011, 08:56:36 AM
DIY SOS The Big Build.

Everytime man.
Post by: quit yo jibbajabba on August 18, 2011, 09:39:08 AM
Titanic. Winslet tells DiCaprio she'll never leave him....first boat comes along, she fcuks off!!!!!
Post by: rrhf on August 18, 2011, 09:54:47 AM
Tyrone the Golden years 2003 - 2008. 
Post by: tbrick18 on August 18, 2011, 11:11:10 AM
Quote from: rrhf on August 18, 2011, 09:54:47 AM

Does it make you cry because they're over?  ;)

Good call on DIY SOS....
Anyone remember that flick where Tom Hanks was stuck on an island for years...cant remember what it was called...then when he finally got home his intended (Helen Hunt) had married the dentist...that was a good laugh.
Post by: Dinny Breen on August 18, 2011, 11:13:39 AM
A year till Sunday

The saddest ending of any movie I have ever seen :'(

Aside from that movie I never use to cry at movies then I had two kids and now just can't stop  :o

NZ movie In My Father's Den - heart breaking...
Post by: Rois on August 18, 2011, 11:29:43 AM
I cry at the 10 O'Clock News or Reeling in the Years  :o

Worst films where I repetitively sob no matter how many times I've seen them would be In the Name of the Father and Ghost.   
Post by: 5 Sams on August 18, 2011, 11:56:25 AM
If you like dogs at all you'll be in bits after Marley and Me.
Post by: onefaircounty on August 18, 2011, 12:21:27 PM
Have never cried at a film. Came close.

1) Crash - two scenes get me. When he's pulling her out of the car, and also the shooting scene/cape. The music is poignant.

2) Man On Fire - Bridge scene - Creasy Bear  :-[
Post by: mc_grens on August 18, 2011, 12:31:46 PM
Ahhh Creasy bear.
Post by: Capt Pat on August 18, 2011, 12:33:10 PM
The Dark Knight bored me to tears. I don't watch any drama about cancer.
Post by: randomtask on August 18, 2011, 12:42:48 PM
Quote from: tbrick18 on August 18, 2011, 11:11:10 AM

Good call on DIY SOS....
Anyone remember that flick where Tom Hanks was stuck on an island for years...cant remember what it was called...then when he finally got home his intended (Helen Hunt) had married the dentist...that was a good laugh.

Castaway, fantasic show. WILLLLLSSSSSOOONN
Post by: tbrick18 on August 18, 2011, 12:45:09 PM
Quote from: randomtask on August 18, 2011, 12:42:48 PM
Quote from: tbrick18 on August 18, 2011, 11:11:10 AM

Good call on DIY SOS....

Castaway, fantasic show. WILLLLLSSSSSOOONN

That's the boyo!
Post by: Tony Baloney on August 18, 2011, 12:49:08 PM
I remember going to see Titanic in the cinema and the amount of blubbing around me was unreal. None of it mine I hasten to add!

I particularly remember the doll beside me crying when Leo came down the stairs in his tux. "Imagine bringing him to a formal" she cried!  :D
Post by: tbrick18 on August 18, 2011, 12:54:08 PM
Raising Helen was a good'n for getting the waterworks goin too....3 kids orphaned and had to stay with their Aunt....who just happened to be Kate Hudson which sort of made you forget about the crying kids a bit.

Someone else mentioned it here too....Old Yella.
Shane was another one had me in fits as a kid.
Legends of the Fall......tragic start to finish.
Marley and Me....must admit, I might have shed a tear at that.
The beginning of UP as someone else mentioned.
Post by: Hardy on August 18, 2011, 01:01:15 PM
GAA men crying at the pictures? Christ Almighty! No f****n wonder football is gone to the dogs with fellas prancing about like poofters and falling outa their standing if someone frowns at them. I'll betya nobody ever saw Jack Quinn, Paddy McCormack or Brian Mullins crying in the cinema. Somebody here was crying at "Up"!. It's a f****n cartoon!
Post by: Dinny Breen on August 18, 2011, 01:21:05 PM
(http://www.reverseshot.com/files/images/issue23/cryinggame.jpg)

I say this made you cry back in 1992....
Post by: muppet on August 18, 2011, 03:06:05 PM
This thread reminds me of the one where some of ye boys use moisturiser. Wise up FFS.

Fíor Gaels only cry in Croke Park and at a stretch Tuam Stadium.
Post by: leenie on August 18, 2011, 03:35:11 PM
Quote from: maggie on August 18, 2011, 01:57:33 AM
Beaches.
In the name of the father.
The Green Mile.
The Notebook.

what about titanic?

i have only cried over two films...   (hard as nails)

marley and me
the green mile
Post by: leenie on August 18, 2011, 03:44:59 PM
i remember goin to the cinema with 3 female friends to see titanic and during the film the seats started to shake and i looked over at them and they were bawling uncontrollably... i was so mortified... they had to race to the toilets after to splash cold water on there faces cause they were so red and because there was 200 ppl queueing up to see the next show laughin at them!.....
Post by: laoislad on August 18, 2011, 04:32:54 PM
I went to see Marley and me in the cinema and the bloke beside me sobbed all the way through it.
I remember thinking to myself what a gimp he was.
Post by: Canalman on August 18, 2011, 05:17:48 PM
Never cried over a film ever.

Sad flicks or  tv moments that come to mind are

1 Last scene in Withnail and I

2 The funeral scenes in The Thorn Birds tv show...... especially the one of the young lad killed be the wild boar (I think)

3 Watching  footage of JFK's young son giving his dad's coffin  a salute at the funeral

4 The Garage.

5 The ending to Kes.
Post by: muppet on August 18, 2011, 05:30:34 PM
Quote from: laoislad on August 18, 2011, 04:32:54 PM
I went to see Marley and me in the cinema and the bloke beside me sobbed all the way through it.

When did you switch to chicks?
Post by: thejuice on August 18, 2011, 06:02:00 PM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Vfy123cluZU

Bawled my eyes out watching that. Was only 9 years old though at the time.
Post by: Tony Baloney on August 18, 2011, 09:05:50 PM
Quote from: muppet on August 18, 2011, 05:30:34 PM
Quote from: laoislad on August 18, 2011, 04:32:54 PM

When did you switch to chicks?
Post by: Orangemac on August 19, 2011, 12:01:58 AM
Quote from: onefaircounty on August 18, 2011, 12:21:27 PM

1) Crash - two scenes get me. When he's pulling her out of the car, and also the shooting scene/cape. The music is poignant.
The James Spader film? - found it a bit sick tbh.
Post by: DrinkingHarp on August 19, 2011, 12:08:35 AM
Ladies Man

When I realized I was out 18.00 for the ticket and popcorn and 2hours of my life I would never get back.
Post by: Tony Baloney on August 19, 2011, 12:13:39 AM
Quote from: Orangemac on August 19, 2011, 12:01:58 AM
Quote from: onefaircounty on August 18, 2011, 12:21:27 PM

The James Spader film? - found it a bit sick tbh.
More likely to be the other one with Matt Dillon etc.
Post by: redhandloo on August 19, 2011, 12:17:43 AM
My sisters keeper. Harrowing stuff
Post by: tyrone girl on August 19, 2011, 10:57:20 AM
I think if i saw a man crying at a film it would turn my stomach to be honest  :-\
Post by: Hashtag on August 19, 2011, 11:05:34 AM
Quote from: redhandloo on August 19, 2011, 12:17:43 AM
My sisters keeper. Harrowing stuff

This.

Quote from: tyrone girl on August 19, 2011, 10:57:20 AM
I think if i saw a man crying at a film it would turn my stomach to be honest  :-\

Post by: tyrone girl on August 19, 2011, 11:15:56 AM
What u rolling your eyes about? It would turn me off a man whats wrong with saying that.
Post by: irunthev on August 19, 2011, 11:36:40 AM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on August 18, 2011, 11:13:39 AM
A year till Sunday

The saddest ending of any movie I have ever seen :'(

Aside from that movie I never use to cry at movies then I had two kids and now just can't stop  :o

NZ movie In My Father's Den - heart breaking...

Watched In My Father's Den a few weeks back. Real good movie. It's a slow burner, but it is well paced all the same.

The kiwi's make good movies, just not enough of them.

"Once Were Warriors" has a few scenes in it that would bring a tear to the eye, especially when the young girl hangs herself because no one could see that she was being abused by her uncle. Tough stuff.

Post by: Tubberman on August 19, 2011, 11:37:39 AM
Quote from: tyrone girl on August 19, 2011, 11:15:56 AM
What u rolling your eyes about? It would turn me off a man whats wrong with saying that.

Turn your stomach doesn't mean turn you off.
Turn your stomach means make you feel sick.
Post by: tyrone girl on August 19, 2011, 11:42:16 AM
Same difference to me. If me bf started crying tonite at some film we were watching it would turn me!! Turn my stomach or turn me off its all the same
Post by: muppet on August 19, 2011, 11:49:58 AM
Interesting, guys see puking and rejection as different things.

Venus and Mars and all that.
Post by: HiMucker on August 19, 2011, 12:29:21 PM
Cant believe no one has mentioned the Lion King when Mustafa dies!!

I have to confess I cried watching cool runnings!  In my defense I was very fragile as I had been severlely hung over after a week on the sauce.  It was porbably my fifth time watching it, but in my fragile state when they had to carry the sled over the finish line and the crowd started to slow clap I was just about holding it together, then the da opens up his coat to reveal the Jamaica T shirt, tipped me over the edge.  I actually then busted out laughing at myself crying watching a film  :D
Post by: Canalman on August 19, 2011, 12:36:00 PM
As posted earlier not crying over movies type.

However I find the ending of that Gene Hackman school basketball film (has 2 names I think and I have forgotten both) pretty emotional.

Great film altogether.
Post by: Canalman on August 19, 2011, 12:49:25 PM
Best Shot/Hoosiers is the name.
Post by: boosabum on August 19, 2011, 12:52:50 PM
i remember crying watching the champ on TV when i was 5 or 6 but the in tems of crying at the cinema, it has to be watching saving private ryan in a multiplex in a shopping mall in the states. The amount of people crying uncontrollably and leaving the movie during the opening sequence was incredible. A lot of older poeple who i imagine could habe been in the war especially and loads of kids.
Post by: laoislad on August 19, 2011, 01:20:24 PM
Quote from: Tubberman on August 19, 2011, 11:37:39 AM
Quote from: tyrone girl on August 19, 2011, 11:15:56 AM

Turn your stomach doesn't mean turn you off.
Turn your stomach means make you feel sick.

Ye should watch 2Girls1Cup...now that would really turn your stomach/make you feel sick etc etc
Post by: leenie on August 19, 2011, 02:46:17 PM

bambi would b a tear jerker.....  (not for me hard as nails)
Post by: ziggysego on August 19, 2011, 05:15:49 PM
I cried during 'Just Like Heaven'. However, like HiMucker, I was badly hungover.
Post by: Orangemac on August 19, 2011, 08:45:45 PM
Quote from: Fionntamhnach on August 19, 2011, 05:09:34 PM
The Green Mile & Cool Runnings.

If a movie makes you end up with tears coming from your eyes, it means that it has made an emotional connection with yourself, the viewer that is part of the audience. That's rarely a bad thing.
Exactly. Nothing wrong with a story bringing a tear to your eye but blubbering like a baby there is no excuse for.