GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: tyroneman on February 06, 2011, 10:25:41 AM

Title: Tyrone v Derry (mk 2)
Post by: tyroneman on February 06, 2011, 10:25:41 AM
Not sure what happened to the old thread (locked?) but anyhow.....

Any of the Derry / Strabane fellas tell me what the weather is like up there today? Do I need my wet gear?
Title: Re: Tyrone v Derry (mk 2)
Post by: omagh_gael on February 06, 2011, 10:29:50 AM
Slipped onto second page Tyroneman

http://gaaboard.com/board/index.php?topic=18404.45

Post by: tyroneman on February 06, 2011, 10:45:45 AM
Aye - saw that but it seems locked, no-one can post on it?

Is it bucketin up in Omagh? Lashing down here.
Post by: Norf Tyrone on February 06, 2011, 10:59:14 AM
Bring the wets. Fairly miserable here, and I'm about 15/16 miles from Derry.
Post by: tyroneman on February 06, 2011, 11:37:22 AM
I see Monaghan has been moved due to waterlogging.

What's the chances this game will be moved or called off?
Post by: comethekingdom on February 06, 2011, 11:54:59 AM
Should this thread be titled DIV 2 instead of mk 2?
Post by: Rois on February 06, 2011, 12:15:02 PM
I'm between Strabane and Derry and it's really cleared up down here, no rain since at least 11. Broken cloud, maybe chance of a shower but nothing too bad on horizon.
Post by: omagh_gael on February 06, 2011, 12:22:56 PM
Don't know what happened the thread I started. Unless i locked it accidently and I'm not sure how to undo it.

Anyway I'm hopeful of a strong performance today to lay down a marker for the rest of the year:

Tyrone 1-14 Derry 2- 08
Post by: Carmen Stateside on February 06, 2011, 01:31:45 PM
Any radio links? thanks.
Post by: ardal on February 06, 2011, 01:45:02 PM
I normally opt for highland radio out of Donegal. Not sure if they're covering though
Post by: jodyb on February 06, 2011, 01:56:23 PM
Quote from: Carmen Stateside on February 06, 2011, 01:31:45 PM
Any radio links? thanks.
According to BBC website, Radio Ulster MW covering it. We'll know in bout 5 mins

http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/northern_ireland/gaelic_games/9387129.stm
Post by: men in black on February 06, 2011, 01:57:20 PM
Q101.2 are doing the match today.
http://www.q101west.fm/portal/index.php?option=com_content&view=article&id=155&Itemid=54
Post by: FairyWaterDuke on February 06, 2011, 02:03:17 PM
I heard during the week that highland radio are covering it with good old martin mchugh. Thank goodness.

If it on setanta will there be any streams to watch...?
Post by: jodyb on February 06, 2011, 02:06:16 PM
Coverage just started on Radio Ulster. Startin to wish I'd gone now. It was p!ssin all mornin and now its faired up completely. Lightened up in Derry as well  :(
Post by: jodyb on February 06, 2011, 02:56:03 PM
1 03 to 0 03 to Derry 25 mins gone
Post by: Lamh Dhearg Alba on February 06, 2011, 03:08:26 PM
Derry lead 1-7 to 0-5 at half time.
Post by: jodyb on February 06, 2011, 03:08:47 PM
1 07 to 0 05 half time . Tyrone kickin a lot of wides
Post by: Midlands Man on February 06, 2011, 03:13:49 PM
Scorers lads?
Post by: sandwiches_in_the_boot on February 06, 2011, 03:19:20 PM
Enda McGinley missed 1-on-1 with keeper right at start, Derry went right down the pitch and SL McGoldrick stuck it in bottom left corner, Curran glued to the spot. Half forward line doing well for Tyrone, Brian McGuigan running the show but just kicking too many wides. Duffy is fierce on the whistle as usual as well with 3/4 mid-fielders booked early. McCaul and Ricey scored two good points. McCarron getting roasted by Bradley though. High ball very dangerous.

Tyrone need to come out strong else that goal will stay the difference.
Post by: Midlands Man on February 06, 2011, 03:22:35 PM
You can say wat u want about Bradley lads and id be the first to say hes a pr..k but hes still a some footballer...
Post by: jodyb on February 06, 2011, 03:24:09 PM
For Derry Bradley scored 2 sl mc goldrick 1 01 ciaran mc goodrick  1 pj mc closkey 1 and c Gilligan 1
Post by: jodyb on February 06, 2011, 03:39:25 PM
Tyrone comin back well only a point in it
Post by: jodyb on February 06, 2011, 03:53:40 PM
Emmet mc guckin in for Declan mullan scored two to put three between them again
Post by: jodyb on February 06, 2011, 04:04:10 PM
Derry just hang on . 1 11 to 0 13 ft
Post by: Lamh Dhearg Alba on February 06, 2011, 04:05:09 PM
Derry 1-11 Tyrone 0-13

Tyrone seemed to kick a lot of wides in the second half in particular. How many league games did Tyrone lose by a point last season? Not a good habit to get into.
Post by: Midlands Man on February 06, 2011, 04:09:42 PM
Fair play to Derry.. Who was MOTM lads , wat Bradley finish up with
Post by: jodyb on February 06, 2011, 04:18:41 PM
Think he only got the two in the finish up. As for motm hard to judge from commentary. Mc cloy seemed to keep o neill very quiet but hard to know how fit o neill is
Post by: Fuzzman on February 06, 2011, 04:29:07 PM
Can someone give us the Tyrone scorers? Who kicked all the wides?
Is there highlights/lowlights on later?
If Paddy B gets good ball into him and he's not double marked then not much anyone can do on him.
I'll have to think of an excuse not to meet LynchBoy. 
Post by: Rois on February 06, 2011, 04:54:23 PM
Stevie had a better second half but should have equalised, McGuigan was in fine (if mouthy) form and Penrose did well too. Niall McKenna had a couple of amazing fetches in midfield when he came on, really brightened up the Tyrone side and a big plus point of this game.
Ricey did some trojan work and Enda looked lively. I know we lost, but it wasn't all bad.
Post by: Club Rossa on February 06, 2011, 06:25:41 PM
Decent game today and one i feel that Tyrone should have won.Derry were more clinical up front and they hit some cracking scores.Emmet McGuckian was very good when introduced and kicked a couple of mighty scores.

Tyrone hit some brutal wides and spurned a couple of great goal chances.The plusses for me were the performance of Brian McGuigan and Niall McKenna.It was a hugely improved performance from the debacle in Celtic park last year but ultimately with the same result.
Post by: STREET FIGHTER on February 06, 2011, 06:28:19 PM
Quote from: Club Rossa on February 06, 2011, 06:25:41 PM
Decent game today and one i feel that Tyrone should have won.Derry were more clinical up front and they hit some cracking scores.Emmet McGuckian was very good when introduced and kicked a couple of mighty scores.

Tyrone hit some brutal wides and spurned a couple of great goal chances.The plusses for me were the performance of Brian McGuigan and Niall McKenna.It was a hugely improved performance from the debacle in Celtic park last year but ultimately with the same result.

Fair enough analysis.
Post by: tyroneman on February 06, 2011, 07:27:53 PM
Better team lost today. Tyrone dominated posession but shot themselves out of it. Any 1 of cavanaghs 2 easy frees or either of the point blank goal chances put over the bar would have drawn the game. Shooting was brutal.

Derry pulled and hauled at Tyrone all day long with Duffy choosing to ignore most of it. 2 sideline balls given back to Derry (1 for a score) didn't help either.

Really feel we left the game behind us. Derry were average from MF onwards, Bradley excepted. Why Harte didn't sort that out early doors I don't know. As said before 1 on 1 he's near unmarkable.

McGuigan was a joy to watch and unlike last year seems to have got a wee burst of speed back and was skipping round people all day. McKenna jnr looked like McKenna Snr at times.

Hopefully Mattie D and Coney will integrate this year and give us some firepower, which we lack at present.
Post by: whitegoodman on February 06, 2011, 07:44:04 PM
Tyrone remind me of chelsea a bit, strong and powerful but ageing and lacking pace.  If McCarron proves to be as good as hoped it could release justy mcmahon who i think could be a great wing back and introducing coney, harte and possibly coney into the forward line would provide some freshness into the attack.( Although Coney in particular is taking a while to get to the next level)

Just an opinion looking from the outside
Post by: lenny on February 06, 2011, 08:14:26 PM
Quote from: tyroneman on February 06, 2011, 07:27:53 PM
Better team lost today. Tyrone dominated posession but shot themselves out of it. Any 1 of cavanaghs 2 easy frees or either of the point blank goal chances put over the bar would have drawn the game. Shooting was brutal.

Derry pulled and hauled at Tyrone all day long with Duffy choosing to ignore most of it. 2 sideline balls given back to Derry (1 for a score) didn't help either.

Really feel we left the game behind us. Derry were average from MF onwards, Bradley excepted. Why Harte didn't sort that out early doors I don't know. As said before 1 on 1 he's near unmarkable.

McGuigan was a joy to watch and unlike last year seems to have got a wee burst of speed back and was skipping round people all day. McKenna jnr looked like McKenna and at times.

Hopefully Mattie D and Coney will integrate this year and give us some firepower, which we lack at present.

Think Tyrone give as good as they get on the pulling and hauling front. Carlin nearly had the jersey pulled off lynch on several occasions. Mccarron likewise on numerous occasions. I thought duffy was far too fussy and on the whole was a bit sorer on derry. Having said that tyrone have only themselves to blame. They had enough possession to win by 4 or 5 points at least.
Post by: tbrick18 on February 06, 2011, 08:28:32 PM

McGuigan was a joy to watch and unlike last year seems to have got a wee burst of speed back and was skipping round people all day. McKenna jnr looked like McKenna and at times.

Have to say I dont agree with this entirely...particularly about Derry hauling shirts all day! Coming from tyrone that's a bit rich!
Anyway, Tyrone did have a lot of posession and did miss some handy frees. But a lot of the wides were caused be intense Derry pressure and tyrone were forced to shoot from bad positions. A lot of those wides were as much as a result of good Derry defending as poor Tyrone shooting. Possession isnt everything in this game, as Derry have found to their folly now for too many years. Derry also missed a good few easy frees, so in all I think the result was a fair reflection on the game. Derry simply played better for more of the game than Tyrone did.
Post by: tyroneman on February 06, 2011, 08:48:33 PM
I guess the old adage about victors writing the history runs true again today  ::)

Tyrone will have to win all remaining games to go up.

I would sooner see Justy in MF. Not sure why MH is rotating so much in there at present. Cass is ineffective at FF and we seem to be at aloes where to play Cavanagh. The half forward line ain't the place though. FF or MF.

Ah well, at least the shambles of last year was avoided .......
Post by: oakleaf stateside on February 06, 2011, 08:57:43 PM
paddy bradley needed a saddle and on ocassions james conway had that many man hanging on him he needed a cart
Post by: ONeill on February 06, 2011, 09:40:30 PM
That's what you call a positive defeat.

Tyrone were the better team throughout but worryingly the scoring malaise which was their downfall v Dublin last August hasn't rectified itself.

Tyrone started strongly and owned the ball for the opening 20 mins. McGinley was clean through in the first attack but kicked the ball straight into the Derry keeper's arms. Sean Leo McGoldrick then waltzed through a wide open Tyrone defence to score the match defining goal. What was clear in that move and subsequent to that was that Gormley wasn't at the races at all. Sean Leo scored 1-2 uncontested. The Block's injury after about 20 mins only hid his abject performance up to that point. Tyrone were winning all the breaking ball around midfield with Brian McGuigan head and shoulders above everyone on the field. He rolled back the years and Derry found him unmarkable.

However, and it's a big'un, Stevie O'Neill is no longer able to be the focal point of the Tyrone attack. McGuigan, on numerous occasions, was ready to pull the trigger only to look up and see a rather immobile O'Neill with Dermot McBride hanging out of him. In the past O'Neill was able to make some amount of space - not any more. O'Neill contributed next to nothing for 70 mins. I'm sure it's Mickey's instruction but he also failed to even look at kicking any frees from either side. Cavanagh and Penrose were entrusted with that role with very average success rate.

At the other end of the pitch, Paddy Bradley saw very little of the ball but as the half wore on and Tyrone tired a little around the middle he tore McCarron to shreds. It was his two late points which gave Derry the breathing space they never relinquished. Cassidy had moved to full forward for Tyrone and his first take was very encouraging. He rounded McCloy easily but shot too close to the keeper. After that though a very lean McCloy had his number.

The second half (1-7 to 0-5) saw the introduction of Niall McKenna to midfield with Cassidy still at FF and Peter Harte at half back in place of PJ Quinn who was playing after Davy Harte cried off beforehand. Well, McKenna's performance was tremendous. Not since Cavlan's Aussie Rules style catching has fielding been seen in a Tyrone geansai. He troubled Derry greatly and set up a swarm of Tyrone attacks throughout the second half. Unfortunately, the Tyrone shooting was dire. On the other hand, Derry were economical with every attack and although McCaul did OK on Bradley, Paddy was central to all Derry scores.

For me the turning point was when Hughes decided to go for goal instead of knocking a simple point over the bar. Derry were 2 up at this stage but Tyrone were pummelling their half back line. Hughes was turned over and Derry went straight up the field and over the bar. Although Tyrone kept knocking on the door, time ran out with O'Neill's only real pop at a score drifting wide.

Plus points - McKenna's fielding, McGuigan's mastery and ability to maintain it for 70 mins, Peter Harte's move to HB (why oh why did Mickey then bring on Swift and move Harte to HF???), Ricey and Carlin's drive in the second half. Cavanagh's shimmy still there. Penrose finally found a way to beat the Derry defence with the ball into space at the corner. All Derry could do was foul.

Negatives - Gormley's performance on Sean Leo. O'Neill's lack of confidence. I know he still attracts 2-3 defenders but he's not the leader he was. Hub's decision making.

For Derry I though their full back line were tigerish with Ballinascreen's McBride impressive. Sean Leo lorded the half forward line in the first 35 though McKenna's fielding deprived him of ball in the second. Paddy Bradley is some player. He has that little late burst. He wins every fecking ball. Though Lynch was poor and Gilligan tired.
Post by: lenny on February 06, 2011, 10:12:13 PM
Quote from: ONeill on February 06, 2011, 09:40:30 PM
That's what you call a positive defeat.

Tyrone were the better team throughout but worryingly the scoring malaise which was their downfall v Dublin last August hasn't rectified itself.

Tyrone started strongly and owned the ball for the opening 20 mins. McGinley was clean through in the first attack but kicked the ball straight into the Derry keeper's arms. Sean Leo McGoldrick then waltzed through a wide open Tyrone defence to score the match defining goal. What was clear in that move and subsequent to that was that Gormley wasn't at the races at all. Sean Leo scored 1-2 uncontested. The Block's injury after about 20 mins only hid his abject performance up to that point. Tyrone were winning all the breaking ball around midfield with Brian McGuigan head and shoulders above everyone on the field. He rolled back the years and Derry found him unmarkable.

However, and it's a big'un, Stevie O'Neill is no longer able to be the focal point of the Tyrone attack. McGuigan, on numerous occasions, was ready to pull the trigger only to look up and see a rather immobile O'Neill with Dermot McBride hanging out of him. In the past O'Neill was able to make some amount of space - not any more. O'Neill contributed next to nothing for 70 mins. I'm sure it's Mickey's instruction but he also failed to even look at kicking any frees from either side. Cavanagh and Penrose were entrusted with that role with very average success rate.

At the other end of the pitch, Paddy Bradley saw very little of the ball but as the half wore on and Tyrone tired a little around the middle he tore McCarron to shreds. It was his two late points which gave Derry the breathing space they never relinquished. Cassidy had moved to full forward for Tyrone and his first take was very encouraging. He rounded McCloy easily but shot too close to the keeper. After that though a very lean McCloy had his number.

The second half (1-7 to 0-5) saw the introduction of Niall McKenna to midfield with Cassidy still at FF and Peter Harte at half back in place of PJ Quinn who was playing after Davy Harte cried off beforehand. Well, McKenna's performance was tremendous. Not since Cavlan's Aussie Rules style catching has fielding been seen in a Tyrone geansai. He troubled Derry greatly and set up a swarm of Tyrone attacks throughout the second half. Unfortunately, the Tyrone shooting was dire. On the other hand, Derry were economical with every attack and although McCaul did OK on Bradley, Paddy was central to all Derry scores.

For me the turning point was when Hughes decided to go for goal instead of knocking a simple point over the bar. Derry were 2 up at this stage but Tyrone were pummelling their half back line. Hughes was turned over and Derry went straight up the field and over the bar. Although Tyrone kept knocking on the door, time ran out with O'Neill's only real pop at a score drifting wide.

Plus points - McKenna's fielding, McGuigan's mastery and ability to maintain it for 70 mins, Peter Harte's move to HB (why oh why did Mickey then bring on Swift and move Harte to HF???), Ricey and Carlin's drive in the second half. Cavanagh's shimmy still there. Penrose finally found a way to beat the Derry defence with the ball into space at the corner. All Derry could do was foul.

Negatives - Gormley's performance on Sean Leo. O'Neill's lack of confidence. I know he still attracts 2-3 defenders but he's not the leader he was. Hub's decision making.

For Derry I though their full back line were tigerish with Ballinascreen's McBride impressive. Sean Leo lorded the half forward line in the first 35 though McKenna's fielding deprived him of ball in the second. Paddy Bradley is some player. He has that little late burst. He wins every fecking ball. Though Lynch was poor and Gilligan tired.

Good report. As a derryman I can't argue with too much of that.
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on February 06, 2011, 10:48:25 PM
That's about the height of it ONeill.

Still can't figure out though how we contrived not the win that game comfortably; more positives than negatives overall, with the younger lads particularly reassuring.
Post by: ONeill on February 06, 2011, 11:56:56 PM
On the other hand, I'm probably doing Derry a disservice. Tyrone only scored 0-7 from play today compared to Derry's 1-10 from play.
Post by: gaagaa on February 07, 2011, 12:58:01 AM
Quote from: oakleaf stateside on February 06, 2011, 08:57:43 PM
paddy bradley needed a saddle and on ocassions james conway had that many man hanging on him he needed a cart

conway needed an oxygen mask  ;)

patrick was very sharp - he should have shot himself more
Post by: omagh_gael on February 07, 2011, 07:35:44 AM
I wouldn't have thought Jerome would have covered this. My understandingis he can only cover games run by the ulster council, i.e. MacRory, Ulster Championship, and not central run games, i.e. NFL or AI games.
Post by: Club Rossa on February 07, 2011, 08:31:50 AM
Was a lovely tribute that Derry chairman John Keenan penned in the programme yesterday about Michaela.
Post by: LeoMc on February 07, 2011, 08:50:59 AM
Quote from: whitegoodman on February 06, 2011, 07:44:04 PM
Tyrone remind me of chelsea a bit, strong and powerful but ageing and lacking pace.  If McCarron proves to be as good as hoped it could release justy mcmahon who i think could be a great wing back and introducing coney, harte and possibly coney into the forward line would provide some freshness into the attack.( Although Coney in particular is taking a while to get to the next level)

Just an opinion looking from the outside

Bit of a theme going there?
Post by: sheamy on February 07, 2011, 09:18:20 AM
Quote from: Club Rossa on February 07, 2011, 08:31:50 AM
Was a lovely tribute that Derry chairman John Keenan penned in the programme yesterday about Michaela.

couldn't agree more. Summed it all up to perfection.
Post by: clarshack on February 07, 2011, 09:39:54 AM
derry were for the taking yesterday and we will probably never have a better chance to have won in celtic park.

we really cant afford to drop any more points if we want to get promoted.

brian mcguigan and niall mckenna were outstanding yesterday. think mckenna should start in midfield from now on.

does anyone else think stephen o'neill is done?
Post by: nrico2006 on February 07, 2011, 10:33:07 AM
Quote from: clarshack on February 07, 2011, 09:39:54 AM
derry were for the taking yesterday and we will probably never have a better chance to have won in celtic park.

brian mcguigan and niall mckenna were outstanding yesterday. think mckenna should start in midfield from now on.

Very early in the season to be questioning whether SON is finished, I would reserve opinion until later in the year.  It would be interesting to see how he fares if he gets a run at it from now until Championship injury free, don't forget that the last two years he has missed the majority of the first 6 months due to injury which obviously have a knock on to his form during the games.  I am sure the players are nowehere near their peak fitness or sharpness levels now, give the man a break.
Post by: HiMucker on February 07, 2011, 11:19:53 AM
Quote from: Bluebell on February 07, 2011, 01:05:45 AM
Quote from: ONeill on February 06, 2011, 11:56:56 PM
On the other hand, I'm probably doing Derry a disservice. Tyrone only scored 0-7 from play today compared to Derry's 1-10 from play.

The scores we have scored from play today and in all our 5 games has been the thing which has impressed me the most this season.

Any footage of the games League Sunday didn't provide any coverage at all on this fixture. Was looking to see highlights of the game today and for a view of Emmet McGuckin's superb 1st point. Did Jerome cover today's match?
Stayed up to watch it, and was bloody dissapointed to find it was not to be shown
Post by: tbrick18 on February 07, 2011, 11:20:49 AM
Quote from: HiMucker on February 07, 2011, 11:19:53 AM

The scores we have scored from play today and in all our 5 games has been the thing which has impressed me the most this season.

Any footage of the games League Sunday didn't provide any coverage at all on this fixture. Was looking to see highlights of the game today and for a view of Emmet McGuckin's superb 1st point. Did Jerome cover today's match?
Stayed up to watch it, and was bloody dissapointed to find it was not to be shown

+1  >:(
Post by: J OGorman on February 07, 2011, 11:23:51 AM

McGuigan was a joy to watch and unlike last year seems to have got a wee burst of speed back and was skipping round people all day. McKenna jnr looked like McKenna Snr at times.

I'm not having that. How did the better team lose yesterday? More possession does not make ye's the better team. So, by your logic...Derry had less possession and less chances, yet scored more and missed less yet Tyrone were the better team.
Post by: J OGorman on February 07, 2011, 11:24:58 AM
Quote from: tbrick18 on February 07, 2011, 11:20:49 AM
Quote from: HiMucker on February 07, 2011, 11:19:53 AM

+1  >:(

+2
Post by: clarshack on February 07, 2011, 11:31:32 AM
Quote from: nrico2006 on February 07, 2011, 10:33:07 AM
Quote from: clarshack on February 07, 2011, 09:39:54 AM

Very early in the season to be questioning whether SON is finished, I would reserve opinion until later in the year.  It would be interesting to see how he fares if he gets a run at it from now until Championship injury free, don't forget that the last two years he has missed the majority of the first 6 months due to injury which obviously have a knock on to his form during the games.  I am sure the players are nowehere near their peak fitness or sharpness levels now, give the man a break.

hope that's the case, but it looks like he has a lot of work to do.

we need him back to his best again, as we are struggling up front - the amount of very scoreable chances being kicked wide (between yesterday and the dublin game) is very worrying.
Post by: Fuzzman on February 07, 2011, 11:39:57 AM
I recorded it myself on sky+ and the info on sky didn't mention the match. Suppose they've to focus on Div 1

Its no harm us being out of the limelight for a while. Trial by TV is over rated.

Wonder how Mugsy will do this year?
I thought he played well last year at was much more of a team player.
How long was he in Aus for?

What's the story with Skinner? Is he injured or huffed again?
Could Derry be dark horses this year with that Derry forward line looking a lot more balanced?
Post by: Rick O Shea on February 07, 2011, 11:48:16 AM
Quote from: Fuzzman on February 07, 2011, 11:39:57 AM
What's the story with Skinner? Is he injured or huffed again?
Could Derry be dark horses this year with that Derry forward line looking a lot more balanced?

Suspended for ah... erm... ah... minor interference with a referee  :P
I'm sure he's due back very soon though.
Post by: Fuzzman on February 07, 2011, 11:51:44 AM
Oh yes I forgot that
How long did he get?

If Brennan can get that forward line working with the 2 Bradleys and change their attitude as he seems to have don't with Paddy then I for one would not like to meet Derry again.
Mind you I was amazed how poor they were last year in Casement v Tyrone
No FIGHT in them at all

Post by: Rick O Shea on February 07, 2011, 12:05:41 PM
Quote from: Fuzzman on February 07, 2011, 11:51:44 AM
Oh yes I forgot that
How long did he get?

If Brennan can get that forward line working with the 2 Bradleys and change their attitude as he seems to have don't with Paddy then I for one would not like to meet Derry again.
No FIGHT in them at all

48 weeks reduced to 24 on appeal...
Just checked back - it happened on 28th August; 24 weeks is this saturday 12th February but i don't know if the 'close' season of November & December adds on 8 weeks??
Post by: J OGorman on February 07, 2011, 12:10:47 PM
Quote from: Rick O Shea on February 07, 2011, 12:05:41 PM
Quote from: Fuzzman on February 07, 2011, 11:51:44 AM
Oh yes I forgot that
How long did he get?

No FIGHT in them at all

48 weeks reduced to 24 on appeal...
Just checked back - it happened on 28th August; 24 weeks is this saturday 12th February but i don't know if the 'close' season of November & December adds on 8 weeks??

think the suspension is up this weekend
Post by: Club Rossa on February 07, 2011, 12:15:17 PM
Yeah,his suspension is up this Saturday.
Post by: Oak Leaf Magazine on February 07, 2011, 03:31:28 PM
John Keenan's chairman's welcome from yesterday's programme

Fáilte on Chathaoirligh

Ba mhaith liom mar Chathaoirleach Bord na Chondae Dhoire failte a chúir romhaibh go leir anseo inniu chuig Pairc na gCeilteach.

As Chairman of Derry County Board, I would like to welcome you all today to Celtic Park for this game to kick off the 2011 Allianz GAA National League. 

Encounters between our two counties require no previews or hype to increase the anticipation for this fixture, although I feel the result of today's game has faded in significance.

I don't know of a more intense rivalry within this island than that exists between our two counties, but that succumbed to irrelevance last month with the tragic murder of Michaela McAreavey on the island of Mauritius. 

An entire nation shared in the grief and total disbelief at what happened, and 'Oakleaf' and 'Red Hand' along with the combined GAA family, stood shoulder to shoulder in solidarity mourning this tragic loss.

How a girl who practiced and demonstrated such generosity of spirit and unselfishness could meet with such a barbaric and cruel end, are mysteries beyond our comprehension.

As fathers, many of us cannot even attempt to contemplate the horror and heartbreak endured by Mickey Harte and his family, and Michaela's new husband John McAreavey, whilst they struggle to make sense of the tragic events that unfolded.

On behalf of all Derry Gaels, footballers, officials and supporters, I wish to extend our sincerest sympathies and offer the condolences and prayers of our entire county.

No words of mine, on top of the countless tributes already made, can ease the load that will have to be carried by the Harte and McAreavey families in the weeks and months ahead. 

For them the long road to a return to some form of normality has to be attempted, for the rest of us, today is just a game.

Ar lámh dheas Dé go raibh a hanam uasal.

Séan Ó Cianáin

Cathaoirleach Coiste Chontae Dhoire
Post by: red hander on February 07, 2011, 04:58:31 PM
Was happy enough with that.  It was a game we should have won but kicked too many wides ... and does anybody else think one of Bradley's points looked wide (his 'point' before he kicked three in a row wide)?  From a Tyrone point of view, thought McGuigan ran the show and was all over the pitch, Penrose played well and young McKenna looked good when he came on ...  O'Neill and Cavanagh were OK, but saying that they were being fouled all day (plus ca change for Derry?)  Pity a couple of times we were in good positions the ball was in Hub's hands!!  He put in a good shift but he'd be first to admit his shooting isn't his strong point.  Lot of time-wasting from Derry thanx to the goalkeeper and the substitutions at the end ... but sure we'd probably have done the same if we'd been in their position
Post by: Radda bout yeee on February 07, 2011, 06:26:46 PM
Just watching utv there did I actually notice Cathal 'gorgeous' mccarron marking the ref whilst he let Sean Leo run straight through to goal??? OMG lol
Post by: lenny on February 07, 2011, 09:40:09 PM
Quote from: red hander on February 07, 2011, 04:58:31 PM
Was happy enough with that.  It was a game we should have won but kicked too many wides ... and does anybody else think one of Bradley's points looked wide (his 'point' before he kicked three in a row wide)?  From a Tyrone point of view, thought McGuigan ran the show and was all over the pitch, Penrose played well and young McKenna looked good when he came on ...  O'Neill and Cavanagh were OK, but saying that they were being fouled all day (plus ca change for Derry?)  Pity a couple of times we were in good positions the ball was in Hub's hands!!  He put in a good shift but he'd be first to admit his shooting isn't his strong point.  Lot of time-wasting from Derry thanx to the goalkeeper and the substitutions at the end ... but sure we'd probably have done the same if we'd been in their position

Boy, yous are sore losers. In fairness most derry fans i spoke to thought tyrone should have won, they kicked themselves out of it. It's a bit rich to hear you complain about tyrone players getting fouled all day when Dermot Carlin spent the whole day holding on to Lynchs jersey, he nearly had it pulled off him at one stage. Also McMenamin and McCarron are fond of the timely jersey holding onm the blind side of the ref.
Post by: mick999 on February 08, 2011, 10:20:58 AM
Extended Highlights here:

http://www.u.tv/Sport/Derry-survive-to-beat-Tyrone/c8795c05-bd72-4697-bc14-7e4b5361d719 (http://www.u.tv/Sport/Derry-survive-to-beat-Tyrone/c8795c05-bd72-4697-bc14-7e4b5361d719)