11 (11.1%)
Kevin McStay
50 (50.5%)
A.N. Other
29 (29.3%)

Total Members Voted: 99

SouthDublinBro

Quote from: rrhf on August 31, 2014, 09:42:17 AM
I think that the best team lost. And that the dubs have been handed the all Ireland.  The ref in the game today will be watched with interest.

Kerry were the better team with the more talented young players. Dublin will fear Kerry far more than any Mayo side.

Goin Down

He brought us back from the dead which we were that day in Longford in such a short time. He gave it his all, brought us to the brink of reaching the promised land but we just couldnt get over the line. Turned Mayo into a top team and if we are to win one in the next few years his contribution will be remembered.
Remember This.

Horan deserves massive credit for what he has achieved with this Mayo squad. Possibly the most consistent team in the country during his tenure and he instilled massive heart, fight and belief in a squad that had enough heart breaking defeats to demoralise most teams. When push came to shove at the very, very top level, the lack of one or two more scoring forwards and also a play making forward was their downfall. Horan knew the problems but just couldn't find the personnel to solve them, trying Higgins at 11 last year was a bit desperate given the masterclass he put on yesterday on O'Donoghue. Yes, he made some mistakes along the way, like not coming up with a plan to deal with Star, but the positives he bought to Mayo football massively outweigh any mistakes he made. It'll be interesting to see what path Mayo take from here. 

Quote from: BennyHarp on August 31, 2014, 12:51:36 PM
Horan deserves massive credit for what he has achieved with this Mayo squad. Possibly the most consistent team in the country during his tenure

Eh, ahem...

Quote from: heffo on August 31, 2014, 01:00:01 PM
Horan deserves massive credit for what he has achieved with this Mayo squad. Possibly the most consistent team in the country during his tenure

Eh, ahem...

Ok sorry - you lads are brilliant too. I did say possibly but well done on your consistency, obviously nobody else can be consistent too. I'd say Dublin are the best team of the last few years but if you want the consistent award too then you go for it.

Quote from: BennyHarp on August 31, 2014, 01:07:16 PM

Eh, ahem...

Ok sorry - you lads are brilliant too. I did say possibly but well done on your consistency, obviously nobody else can be consistent too. I'd say Dublin are the best team of the last few years but if you want the consistent award too then you go for it.

I don't particularly want any award apart from an AI title but clearly Mayo weren't the most consistent in that period when Dublin won 2 x Div 1 league titles, 2 x AI and at least 2 x Semi finals in Horans reign

Horan can hold his head high on a great job. But for another top class forward they'd have at least one AI.

All is not lost though. Dublin were rock bottom in 2009, changed their approach and finally got there. Keep the faith

Quote from: heffo on August 31, 2014, 01:48:16 PM
Quote from: BennyHarp on August 31, 2014, 01:07:16 PM

Eh, ahem...

I don't particularly want any award apart from an AI title but clearly Mayo weren't the most consistent in that period when Dublin won 2 x Div 1 league titles, 2 x AI and at least 2 x Semi finals in Horans reign

Considering where Mayo were the year before Horan took over, the consistency he produced to get to 2 semi finals and 2 finals during his reign is remarkable and worthy of being mentioned.

Lads saying Mayo were rock bottom in 2010 or Dublin in 2009 have lead a very sheltered life supporting their counties. Try watching your team play D4 football first before you reminisce about the bad old days.

Quote from: Syferus on August 31, 2014, 02:11:13 PM
Lads saying Mayo were rock bottom in 2010 or Dublin in 2009 have lead a very sheltered life supporting their counties. Try watching your team play D4 football first before you reminisce about the bad old days.

Does it get any worse that getting beaten by Sligo in the first round of the championship and then by Longford in the first round of qualifiers?

Quote from: BennyHarp on August 31, 2014, 02:14:12 PM

Does it get any worse that getting beaten by Sligo in the first round of the championship and then by Longford in the first round of qualifiers?

Yes, it does. Syferus is right on this one. Mayo lost to Sligo and Longford in 2010, sure. The year before they were Connacht Champions. Mayo had one tough year. How many tough years have Meath and Galway had since they played each other in the All-Ireland final?

f**k yes it does.

Mayo had a down championship but their base level of talent and a platform in the league were always there.

Horan did a great job but he wasn't taking over a shite panel - the core of that panel are U21 AI winners and were used to D1 football. Any manager would love to work with that.

Quote from: Syferus on August 31, 2014, 02:23:09 PM

f**k yes it does.

Mayo had a down championship but their base level of talent and a platform in the league were always there.

Horan did a great job but he wasn't taking over a shite panel - the core of that panel are U21 AI winners and were used to D1 football. Any manager would love to work with that.

A down championship? Ah right!

Ah but you gotta put things in context, Syf; Mayo in D4  seemed to be  only  a matter of time.
Instead, compare the state of Mayo football when O'Mahony took over with its state when we got turned over by Sligo and then Longford and you'll get a more accurate picture.

Quote from: Lar Naparka on August 31, 2014, 04:14:02 PM
Ah but you gotta put things in context, Syf; Mayo in D4  seemed to be  only  a matter of time.
Instead, compare the state of Mayo football when O'Mahony took over with its state when we got turned over by Sligo and then Longford and you'll get a more accurate picture.

If Tanner Maughan or Johnno (in TD mode, not AI-winning mode) couldn't get ye relegated from D1 I'd say you'd have a job on your hands to end up in D2, nevermind D4!