GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: screenexile on October 04, 2014, 12:17:59 AM

Title: Jimmy's No Longer Winning Matches
Post by: screenexile on October 04, 2014, 12:17:59 AM
Huge blow for Donegal... Where do they go from here??

Hard to see themselves or Mayo in the mix next year now with their spiritual leaders gone!!
Title: Re: Jimmy's No Longer Winning Matches
Post by: ONeill on October 04, 2014, 12:23:17 AM
He underachieved.
Post by: mrdeeds on October 04, 2014, 12:48:35 AM
Underachieved? Cop on. Be winning matches in SPL soon.
Post by: Syferus on October 04, 2014, 01:00:15 AM
Quote from: screenexile on October 04, 2014, 12:17:59 AM

Hard to see themselves or Mayo in the mix next year now with their spiritual leaders gone!!

Sadly it will take a lot for Mayo not to be competitive next year. Still probably the second best panel in the country after Dublin. Might take some rebuilding for Donegal to get back to September again though.
Post by: From the Bunker on October 04, 2014, 01:25:12 AM

Why?
Post by: screenexile on October 04, 2014, 02:11:42 AM
Quote from: From the Bunker on October 04, 2014, 01:25:12 AM

Why?

As I said their Managers have brought both teams from the doldrums to the top of the tree. Will the next guys in charge have the same expertise?

That's not even considering the effort and commitment both panels have put in over the last 4 years can they go to the well again? It'll be interesting to find out!!!
Post by: seafoid on October 04, 2014, 02:19:53 AM
Quote from: ONeill on October 04, 2014, 12:23:17 AM
He underachieved.
What a fascinating character

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AsNTmjlf1vI
Post by: J70 on October 04, 2014, 03:39:10 AM
Good luck Jim! And thanks! !

Legend!!!
Post by: omaghjoe on October 04, 2014, 03:48:56 AM
The flights back from Glasgow have totally broke the county board.
The story is that during the week that they decided they won't be fitting the bill for them any longer, so I'm sure they seen this coming
Post by: ballinaman on October 04, 2014, 03:52:24 AM
Always seemed a decent skin. Good luck to him and his family.
Post by: Asal Mor on October 04, 2014, 03:52:37 AM
Quote from: seafoid on October 04, 2014, 02:19:53 AM
He underachieved.
What a fascinating character

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AsNTmjlf1vI

Great song and a great band, inspired by Galway's breathtaking natural beauty.

Jimmy has an amazing brain and it's hard to see Donegal competing for All-Irelands  without him. I'd love to see him on The Sunday Game actually. He'd be a sports analyst to rival "the beautiful brain" Cris Collinsworth in the NFL, who is IMO the best in the world.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=40m8hVGmzNQ
Post by: seafoid on October 04, 2014, 04:21:42 AM
Donegal should go for someone who is a bit more chilled now, see if that works better than the intinsity

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nulQOkVjvRw
Post by: T Fearon on October 04, 2014, 06:20:13 AM
There'll not be an Orange Hall in  Donegal burn't for a week now.
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on October 04, 2014, 08:07:01 AM
Tony you are an idiot of the highest order.  I bet you won't have that as your weekly Tweet in the Oirish News ::)

Donegal will find it very hard to get back to the top table.  On top of Jimmy stepping down I can see 2-3 retirements as well and it will be hard for a new man to get them to the same level.  There are very few candidates at the same level of intensity as Jimmy and the players might find it very hard going.
Post by: Captain Obvious on October 04, 2014, 08:12:20 AM
Sure to be another job that Tony McEntee will be linked too.
Post by: stiffler on October 04, 2014, 08:38:39 AM
Surprised he left. I thought there was another all ireland in that squad with jimmy at the helm.
Post by: rodney trotter on October 04, 2014, 09:22:52 AM
He is getting an increased role with Celtic as Sports Phycologist,  wouldn't have been able to combine both roles, he done as well as it was.
Post by: bannside on October 04, 2014, 09:25:47 AM
Jimmy was probably the best manager ever in my book. Young enough to focus on the professional game and come back again in a few years with something fresh.

Or let's put it another way. The money a top sports psychologist can make on soccer ( getting the best out of players) would be colossal if the right opportunity came along. Jimmy off to make some bucks I'd say.

Rory Gallagher a shoe in. Players respect him and he knows the inside track on the players and the methods.
Title: Tuirse
Post by: drici on October 04, 2014, 09:40:51 AM
Reckon it was breaking down into a two year cycle scenario so if Jim stayed for another year , then he'd have to stay for two.
Always the possibility of a 4-17 to 1-10 every second year.
Brian McEniff had no worries about reappearing when required.
Michael Murphy was 25 in August there - maybe another go before Michael goes.
Loads of possibilities ahead for Donegal and Jimmy.
Post by: blanketattack on October 04, 2014, 10:02:56 AM
He underachieved.

One All-Ireland every 4 years is a decent record. Pro-rata, its a better record than Mickey Harte's - do you consider Mickey Harte to have underachieved?
Post by: ONeill on October 04, 2014, 10:03:39 AM
McEniff is the man to take Donegal forward.
Post by: yellowcard on October 04, 2014, 10:12:21 AM
Will be an unenviable task following Jimmy. Whether you liked his tactics or not you had to admire his tactical brain and absolute conviction in his methods. Absolute giant of a manager and I'd imagine there will be 4 or 5 retirements on the back of this decision. It will be interesting to see where he goes from here because I can't see him just sailing away off into the background at Celtic. I'd imagine we haven't seen the last of him in a big job.
Post by: cornerback on October 04, 2014, 11:17:57 AM
Quote from: blanketattack on October 04, 2014, 10:02:56 AM
He underachieved.

One All-Ireland every 4 years is a decent record. Pro-rata, its a better record than Mickey Harte's - do you consider Mickey Harte to have underachieved?
Pro-rata, would it not be the same:
1 All-Ireland in 4 championship seasons, v
3 All-Irelands in 12 championship seasons?
Post by: larryin89 on October 04, 2014, 11:29:25 AM
Quote from: screenexile on October 04, 2014, 02:11:42 AM
Quote from: From the Bunker on October 04, 2014, 01:25:12 AM

Why?

As I said their Managers have brought both teams from the doldrums to the top of the tree. Will the next guys in charge have the same expertise?

That's not even considering the effort and commitment both panels have put in over the last 4 years can they go to the well again? It'll be interesting to find out!!!

I'm not sure i buy into that at all, there is an element of truth to it but not completely true either. The other side of the coin is both teams had decent underage teams Mayo winning 2006 under 21, Donegal winning minor ulster in 06 and u-21 in 2010 . A lot of these manager boyos are shrewd in their timing , johnno was the same even with Leitrim he timed it well them having won a connacht u-21 in 91. 
Post by: yellowcard on October 04, 2014, 11:37:38 AM

Your not seriously comparing Horan to McGuinness? Horan was successful in Connacht but failed to win an All Ireland. They were already competitive when he took over and had better players than Donegal. On the other hand Donegal were ranked something like 16-20th in the country when McGuinness took over and actually won an All Ireland and 3 Ulster titles in 4 years.
Post by: IolarCoisCuain on October 04, 2014, 12:01:25 PM
Quote from: yellowcard on October 04, 2014, 11:37:38 AM

Your not seriously comparing Horan to McGuinness? Horan was successful in Connacht but failed to win an All Ireland. They were already competitive when he took over and had better players than Donegal. On the other hand Donegal were ranked something like 16-20th in the country when McGuinness took over and actually won an All Ireland and 3 Ulster titles in 4 years.

If Mayo had better players than Donegal then Mayo would have beaten Donegal. McGuinness did great things but those Donegal players aren't a herd of donkeys either.
Post by: yellowcard on October 04, 2014, 12:16:21 PM
Quote from: IolarCoisCuain on October 04, 2014, 12:01:25 PM

If Mayo had better players than Donegal then Mayo would have beaten Donegal. McGuinness did great things but those Donegal players aren't a herd of donkeys either.

Don't be daft.
1) The best players don't always win the AI title, just ask Dublin this year.
2) When did I say Donegal were a herd of donkeys? However the single biggest factor in their success was McGuinness. They weren't as bad aas they seemed when he took over but I doubt if any other manager could have won an AI title with them.
Post by: larryin89 on October 04, 2014, 12:26:37 PM

We hammered them last year and imho would of given them a good rattle in the final this year but we didnt geta chance because cormac reilly and the GAA hierarchy made sure we didnt get a chance.
Post by: J70 on October 04, 2014, 12:40:09 PM
Quote from: bannside on October 04, 2014, 09:25:47 AM
Jimmy was probably the best manager ever in my book. Young enough to focus on the professional game and come back again in a few years with something fresh.

Or let's put it another way. The money a top sports psychologist can make on soccer ( getting the best out of players) would be colossal if the right opportunity came along. Jimmy off to make some bucks I'd say.

Rory Gallagher a shoe in. Players respect him and he knows the inside track on the players and the methods.

That would be my expectation. Apparently doing a fine job with Kilcar.
Post by: seafoid on October 04, 2014, 01:33:17 PM
I think he was a breath of fresh air for fuball. Brought immense pride to Donegal people. I think there was an interview with the Follower's son where he said his Dad would have been very happy to see big Jim bringing Sam back to Donegal.  And fast forward 20 years and he'll have a far more impressive CV than Pat Spillane.. .
Post by: From the Bunker on October 04, 2014, 01:35:09 PM
Quote from: larryin89 on October 04, 2014, 12:26:37 PM

We hammered them last year and imho would of given them a good rattle in the final this year but we didnt geta chance because cormac reilly and the GAA hierarchy made sure we didnt get a chance.

Listen bar giving two dodgy penalties and few soft frees and missing sending off a player twice. Cormac Reilly had little bearing on the game. It's really our fault that we were not at least 6-10 points the better team and we would not have had to have been worried about these decisions.

By the way there seems to be a bit of bitterness in the title of this Thread. Jimmy won a lot more matches than he lost.
Post by: IolarCoisCuain on October 04, 2014, 02:09:14 PM
Quote from: yellowcard on October 04, 2014, 12:16:21 PM

Don't be daft.
1) The best players don't always win the AI title, just ask Dublin this year.
2) When did I say Donegal were a herd of donkeys? However the single biggest factor in their success was McGuinness. They weren't as bad aas they seemed when he took over but I doubt if any other manager could have won an AI title with them.

Post by: moysider on October 04, 2014, 02:30:14 PM

Apart from Gallagher who else would be considered.

Tommy 'Tom' Carr if Donegal fancy a break away from the serious stuff?

The Red Bonner? Has he not done well underage?

Máirtín Beag?

Our own Batman and Robin?  ;D ;D
Post by: balladmaker on October 04, 2014, 02:36:34 PM
I think he made the right decision at the right time, Donegal were not the team they were 2 years ago, and are only heading in one direction at this stage.  Although making it to an All Ireland Final is a great achievement, it was obvious from their performance from the dublin game to the final that the semi had been their final.  The Kerry game was there for the taking and Donegal were missing that spark to win it.  I think we'll see Jim at the helm of Donegal again in the future, still a young man with many years ahead of him, but just not with the current squad.
Post by: armaghniac on October 04, 2014, 03:28:01 PM
Quote from: IolarCoisCuain on October 04, 2014, 02:09:14 PM

• "Always" is a long time. What I'm saying is that players are more important than managers. McGuinness was a fantastic and revolutionary manager. Nobody is arguing that. But the current Donegal players don't get enough of the credit for what they've won. You think Dublin are man-for-man better than Donegal. I don't. Fair enough. You're entitled to your opinion.
  • You implied that Donegal were donkeys when you said they were ranked 16-20th in the country when McGuinness took over. A lot of the team that have become stars under McGuinness were already on the panel when he took over. You can read about it here: http://www.irishtimes.com/sport/gaelic-games/gaelic-football/donegal-driven-by-fear-of-failure-1.1935183. it is testimony to McGuinness's talent that he got Donegal to play as well as they did, but it's not true to say that he turned sows' ears into silk purses either.

The orchestra might have talent, but the conductor makes them play together. Donegal had talent, but having watched them in Crossmaglen in their last game pre McGuiness they weren't going anywhere. Donegal is a good example of a largish county with decent resources who can aspire to Sam with the addition of a really good manager. However, from now on I suspect they will be like Tyrone for a while, in the top 12 but not the top 4. 
Post by: Rossfan on October 04, 2014, 03:54:13 PM
Quote from: balladmaker on October 04, 2014, 02:36:34 PM
I think he made the right decision at the right time, Donegal were not the team they were 2 years ago, and are only heading in one direction at this stage.  Although making it to an All Ireland Final is a great achievement, .... The Kerry game was there for the taking and Donegal were missing that spark to win it. 
+1.
Agree with that alright.
Tom Tom Tommy will hardly be in the frame here.
Batman and Robin  ;D I like it. ;D
Post by: mlcollins on October 04, 2014, 09:29:01 PM

What a sad and bitter loser you are but sure that is yere lot really, sad, bitter and losers.
Post by: mlcollins on October 04, 2014, 09:32:38 PM
Quote from: seafoid on October 04, 2014, 01:33:17 PM
I think he was a breath of fresh air for fuball. Brought immense pride to Donegal people. I think there was an interview with the Follower's son where he said his Dad would have been very happy to see big Jim bringing Sam back to Donegal.  And fast forward 20 years and he'll have a far more impressive CV than Pat Spillane.. .
Will he ?  tell me where is his other 7 all-ireland medals and even the one he has was as a sub who didn't play.
Post by: Rudi on October 04, 2014, 10:09:27 PM
Can never understand some of the cheap digs aimed at Jimmy McG. Super manager who managed a talented teams of underachievers to huge success. Revolutionary in his approach to coaching, tactics and man management, Mickey Harte is the only other man to get close to what this has achieved. Good luck to him no doubt we will see him back at some later stage for Donegal.
Post by: mlcollins on October 04, 2014, 10:19:10 PM
Quote from: Rudi on October 04, 2014, 10:09:27 PM
Can never understand some of the cheap digs aimed at Jimmy McG. Super manager who managed a talented teams of underachievers to huge success. Revolutionary in his approach to coaching, tactics and man management, Mickey Harte is the only other man to get close to what this has achieved. Good luck to him no doubt we will see him back at some later stage for Donegal.
It says a lot about you then, they have brought gaelic football into the gutter and now even we can join them on the odd occasion, what a legacy.
Post by: Rudi on October 04, 2014, 10:50:41 PM
Quote from: mlcollins on October 04, 2014, 10:19:10 PM
It says a lot about you then, they have brought gaelic football into the gutter and now even we can join them on the odd occasion, what a legacy.

Never argue with a fool, because they will drag you down to their level and beat you on experience, springs to mind.

However, lest you forget the quality of Donegal's performances verses Derry and Cork in 2012 and verses Dublin this year was of the highest order. Only other performances that would compare was Mayo v Dublin 06 and 12.
Post by: moysider on October 04, 2014, 11:00:03 PM
Quote from: mlcollins on October 04, 2014, 09:29:01 PM

What a sad and bitter loser you are but sure that is yere lot really, sad, bitter and losers.

Go f**k yerself ye p***k.

Post by: muppet on October 04, 2014, 11:20:02 PM
Quote from: moysider on October 04, 2014, 11:00:03 PM

What has happened in Kerry that we have lost good posters like Kerry Mike and gained some complete knobs?
Post by: orangeman on October 04, 2014, 11:22:34 PM
Quote from: muppet on October 04, 2014, 11:20:02 PM

What has happened in Kerry that we have lost good posters like Kerry Mike and gained some complete knobs?

KM was a great poster alright. Balanced and reasoned.
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on October 05, 2014, 12:33:15 AM
KM had had enough alas, and looking at Sheehy's persistent puerility and that other embittered eejit collins' childishly crass contributions (of late) it's not hard to reason why. He's sorely missed.
Post by: AZOffaly on October 05, 2014, 10:11:03 AM
Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on October 05, 2014, 12:33:15 AM
KM had had enough alas, and looking at Sheehy's persistent puerility and that other embittered eejit collins' childishly crass contributions (of late) it's not hard to reason why. He's sorely missed.

I don't think that lad is kerry at all, or if he is has nothing to do with football.
Post by: seafoid on October 05, 2014, 06:40:16 PM
Are they not the same poster?
Post by: AZOffaly on October 05, 2014, 08:28:49 PM
Who?km and Mike sheehy? No.
Post by: seafoid on October 05, 2014, 10:04:19 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on October 05, 2014, 08:28:49 PM
Collins and Sheehy

KM is normal 
Post by: nrico2006 on October 06, 2014, 08:55:54 AM
A lot is made of where Donegal were when McGuiness took over.  In all reality, there were not 18 better teams in the Country, although they had badly performed before JMG took over.  I think he is an unbelievable manager and if he was over a county like Tyrone (with a huge playing pool and high standard) then he would have them challenging for SAM in two years.  I do agree to a certain extent that the players don't get the credit.  I looked at the Donegal team before the Dublin/Kerry games and there were as many Donegal players who I would have picked on a best 15 as there were Kerry and Dublin players.
Post by: macdanger2 on October 06, 2014, 09:39:37 AM
Great manager, great record, best of luck to him
Post by: Mike Sheehy on October 06, 2014, 12:04:29 PM
Quote from: seafoid on October 05, 2014, 10:04:19 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on October 05, 2014, 08:28:49 PM
Collins and Sheehy

KM is normal

Yeah, he was sound. For example he was not a genocidal bigot which is always a good start when considering the character of a person. 
Post by: Mike Sheehy on October 06, 2014, 12:05:39 PM

Maybe KM left the board because it was overrun by Nordie WUM's like you ? Did you ever think of that ?
Post by: Norf Tyrone on October 06, 2014, 12:57:25 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on October 04, 2014, 03:54:13 PM
I think he made the right decision at the right time, Donegal were not the team they were 2 years ago, and are only heading in one direction at this stage.  Although making it to an All Ireland Final is a great achievement, .... The Kerry game was there for the taking and Donegal were missing that spark to win it. 
+1.
Agree with that alright.

Would Paddy Campbell be a decent outside shout. Has experience in 3 counties.

Even alongside Gallagher?
Post by: Shamrock Shore on October 06, 2014, 02:34:20 PM
I believe Heather Humphreys is considering appointing John McNulty as next Donegal manager.

He is well qualified apparently.
Post by: J70 on October 06, 2014, 02:46:07 PM
Quote from: Norf Tyrone on October 06, 2014, 12:57:25 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on October 04, 2014, 03:54:13 PM
+1.
Agree with that alright.

Would Paddy Campbell be a decent outside shout. Has experience in 3 counties.

Even alongside Gallagher?

Wasn't aware of this. What's Paddy been up to?

Is he still playing for Glenties?
Post by: Farrandeelin on October 06, 2014, 04:03:37 PM
James Horan has gone from 20/1 to 4/1 to take over from McGuinness.
Post by: ck on October 06, 2014, 04:19:33 PM
Jimmy no doubt did a great job but he had some of the best players in Ireland, arguably Mick Murphy is one of the all time greats. Would Jimmys defensive game have seen the light of day without Murphy up front?!
Post by: Tubberman on October 06, 2014, 04:39:57 PM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on October 06, 2014, 04:03:37 PM
James Horan has gone from 20/1 to 4/1 to take over from McGuinness.

Not a hope of that happening I'd say. James Horan has just given 4 years of his life to managing his home county, and they've only recently had another child. I couldn't see how he could or would have the time or energy to throw his lot in with Donegal.
Post by: mlcollins on October 06, 2014, 07:23:06 PM

What a skanger, typical loser speak, it's in yere genes, ye can't help it.
Post by: mlcollins on October 06, 2014, 07:33:41 PM
Quote from: Rudi on October 04, 2014, 10:50:41 PM
Quote from: mlcollins on October 04, 2014, 10:19:10 PM

Never argue with a fool, because they will drag you down to their level and beat you on experience, springs to mind.

However, lest you forget the quality of Donegal's performances verses Derry and Cork in 2012 and verses Dublin this year was of the highest order. Only other performances that would compare was Mayo v Dublin 06 and 12.
You're only showing yourself up to be a fool now, what about Kerry versus Dublin in 2009, 2011 and 2013, not to mind the mayo sagas this year, pure football as it should be played, there  are a lot of mouthy gimps on this forum, all mouth and no substance.
Post by: mlcollins on October 06, 2014, 07:36:50 PM
Quote from: mlcollins on October 06, 2014, 07:23:06 PM

Just wondering, you're not that fatboy that came on the field in Limerick,  Mayo stay classy 8)
Post by: Farrandeelin on October 06, 2014, 08:10:13 PM
Quote from: mlcollins on October 06, 2014, 07:36:50 PM

Just wondering, you're not that fatboy that came on the field in Limerick,  Mayo stay classy 8)

Just wondering, do you need a Geography lesson? You fool, the Moy doesn't flow through Castlebar!
Post by: mlcollins on October 06, 2014, 08:35:44 PM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on October 06, 2014, 08:10:13 PM

Just wondering, do you need a Geography lesson? You fool, the Moy doesn't flow through Castlebar!
Ah the Knockmore boyeen is trying to be cryptic, why don't you purchase that fantastic read, House of pain by keith duggan, it's yere history, how sad, a county of losers.
Post by: moysider on October 06, 2014, 08:47:21 PM

Try saving your pocket money and you might be able to afford to buy the lovely Mr. Reilly a Celtic cross, good boy.
Post by: From the Bunker on October 06, 2014, 08:47:56 PM
God this thread has degenerated into a mud slinging Match. Looks like we are getting to the stage where all GAA related streams will be locked at some stage. MLCollins (A cork name?) can you enjoy your counties achievement and move on?
Post by: mlcollins on October 06, 2014, 09:01:02 PM
Quote from: moysider on October 06, 2014, 08:47:21 PM

Try saving your pocket money and you might be able to afford to buy the lovely Mr. Reilly a Celtic cross, good boy.
Life must be very hard, imagine to never have experienced the sheer thrill of coming from an all-ireland winning  county, perennial losers, that's yere lot In life, sad and pathetic, it must really stick in your craw  :'(
Post by: moysider on October 06, 2014, 09:06:53 PM
Quote from: mlcollins on October 06, 2014, 09:01:02 PM

Life must be very hard, imagine to never have experienced the sheer thrill of coming from an all-ireland winning  county, perennial losers, that's yere lot In life, sad and pathetic, it must really stick in your craw  :'(

I get by sweetie.

Your own craw seems a bit packed up though! What s the matter with you? Annoyed that everybody s not fawning over Kerry's greatest AI? Sure why care what other think?
Post by: mlcollins on October 06, 2014, 09:19:16 PM
Quote from: moysider on October 06, 2014, 09:06:53 PM

I get by sweetie.

Your own craw seems a bit packed up though! What s the matter with you? Annoyed that everybody s not fawning over Kerry's greatest AI? Sure why care what other think?
"Sweetie", them's dangerous words unless you're a lady,  ;D ;D
Post by: Farrandeelin on October 06, 2014, 09:28:18 PM
Quote from: mlcollins on October 06, 2014, 08:35:44 PM

Ah the Knockmore boyeen is trying to be cryptic, why don't you purchase that fantastic read, House of pain by keith duggan, it's yere history, how sad, a county of losers.
Em, FYI, I have it somewhere.

How am I being cryptic? Surely to God you know the Moy doesn't flow through Castlebar, and that the 'fatboy' as you described him was from there.
Post by: moysider on October 06, 2014, 09:33:58 PM
Quote from: mlcollins on October 06, 2014, 09:19:16 PM

I get by sweetie.

On the contrary. It s you that has been behaving like a spoiled bitch. Guess ye have to be spoiled with all those precious Als :-*

Enjoy them baby. Did any of the old legends ever let you hold one :-* 
Post by: mlcollins on October 06, 2014, 09:39:49 PM
Quote from: moysider on October 06, 2014, 09:33:58 PM
Quote from: mlcollins on October 06, 2014, 09:19:16 PM

I get by sweetie.

On the contrary. It s you that has been behaving like a spoiled bitch. Guess ye have to be spoiled with all those precious Als :-*

Enjoy them baby. Did any of the old legends ever let you hold one :-*
They actually did, thanks.
Post by: moysider on October 06, 2014, 09:44:59 PM
you re welcome.

Like I say, enjoy your win.
Post by: mlcollins on October 06, 2014, 09:45:22 PM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on October 06, 2014, 09:28:18 PM
Quote from: mlcollins on October 06, 2014, 08:35:44 PM

Em, FYI, I have it somewhere.

How am I being cryptic? Surely to God you know the Moy doesn't flow through Castlebar, and that the 'fatboy' as you described him was from there.
It was actually a sarcastic retort to your condescending post , when a fat mayo supporter encroaches on a field of play how are we supposed to know he was from Castlebar, the correlation was big fat Mayo supporter and the river which is located in Mayo, get it or are you too stupid like your county team, idiot.
Post by: Farrandeelin on October 06, 2014, 09:50:36 PM
It was in the paper the next day.
Post by: orangeman on October 06, 2014, 10:03:43 PM
The money is down on James Horan taking over. 33s into favourite.
Post by: mlcollins on October 06, 2014, 10:04:51 PM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on October 06, 2014, 09:50:36 PM
It was in the paper the next day.
Must have been the redtops
Post by: moysider on October 06, 2014, 10:10:55 PM
Quote from: mlcollins on October 06, 2014, 09:45:22 PM

get it or are you too stupid like your county team, idiot.

There you go again. You have an issue with an individual and you go insult a whole county - again. And then you get upset when I called you a p***k  ::)

Yeah. a 'stupid' county that you re wonderful team could only beat courtesy of dodgy refereeing and dodgy venue :-*

Why don t you just find like minded people to go and tell yourselves how great you all are?

Post by: moysider on October 06, 2014, 10:14:46 PM
Quote from: orangeman on October 06, 2014, 10:03:43 PM

That s crazy!

Post by: mlcollins on October 06, 2014, 10:18:29 PM
Quote from: moysider on October 06, 2014, 10:10:55 PM

There you go again. You have an issue with an individual and you go insult a whole county - again. And then you get upset when I called you a p***k  ::)

Yeah. a 'stupid' county that you re wonderful team could only beat courtesy of dodgy refereeing and dodgy venue :-*

Why don t you just find like minded people to go and tell yourselves how great you all are?
You see Moysider that hubris is yere downside, we don't have to tell ourselves how great we are, it's our history, our culture, it is Kerry, one does not have to tell, one is,  but then you wont understand.
Post by: Farrandeelin on October 06, 2014, 10:27:06 PM
Quote from: moysider on October 06, 2014, 10:14:46 PM

That s crazy!

The mind boggles. As Tubberman said, he has young children and put a lot of effort into the last 4 years!
Post by: StephenC on October 06, 2014, 10:28:12 PM
Bookies looking for free publicity.
Post by: moysider on October 06, 2014, 10:39:53 PM
Quote from: mlcollins on October 06, 2014, 10:18:29 PM

You see Moysider that hubris is yere downside, we don't have to tell ourselves how great we are, it's our history, our culture, it is Kerry, one does not have to tell, one is,  but then you wont understand.

I understand perfectly.
You see ye had to tell yourselves how great ye were. Spillane, Jacko etc. trying to convince themselves and others it was the most important win ever ::) What was that about ;D. Looked suspiciously like ye wanted to tell yourselves how great ye are - there wasn t exactly a queue forming from outside Kerry ;D ;D
Looks like  some people in Kerry annoyed that others have not arrived bearing gifts for the new baby king in the kingdom.
Post by: mlcollins on October 06, 2014, 10:49:30 PM
Quote from: moysider on October 06, 2014, 10:39:53 PM

I understand perfectly.
You see ye had to tell yourselves how great ye were. Spillane, Jacko etc. trying to convince themselves and others it was the most important win ever ::) What was that about ;D. Looked suspiciously like ye wanted to tell yourselves how great ye are - there wasn t exactly a queue forming from outside Kerry ;D ;D
Looks like  some people in Kerry annoyed that others have not arrived bearing gifts for the new baby king in the kingdom.
Moysider we don't suffer from an inferiority complex, you see all-Ireland no.37 and counting and current champions, we bear our own gifts.
Post by: moysider on October 06, 2014, 11:01:04 PM
Quote from: mlcollins on October 06, 2014, 10:49:30 PM
Quote from: moysider on October 06, 2014, 10:39:53 PM

I understand perfectly.
Moysider we don't suffer from an inferiority complex, you see all-Ireland no.37 and counting and current champions, we bear our own gifts.

If ye don t suffer from an inferiority complex, what is all the spin all about?

Pateen invented the term 'puke football' while spitting vitriol after a defeat to Tyrone. 11 years later he had no problem when his own county aped those puke tactics to get another precious AI. Any amount of spin wont disguise what went down this year. But hey ye did nothing wrong! Go and enjoy it. I know I would.
Post by: dlgael on October 06, 2014, 11:57:20 PM
Yeah. Little emphasis on the methods Kerry employed to win. But at the end of the day they won it.
Re the thread. Jimmy won 13 Ulster Championship games and lost 1.
He won
3 of 4 Quarter Finals
2 of 3 Semi Finals
1 of 2 All Ireland Finals.

In anyones books that is massive.
Respect to Jim and all who helped him.
Donegal football is in rude health right now.
Ulster should be the immediate goal of his successor.
See no major reason why this team won't continue to challenge at the top table throughout the career of Michael Murphy and perhaps even beyond.
Post by: J70 on October 07, 2014, 01:31:55 AM
Quote from: dlgael on October 06, 2014, 11:57:20 PM
Yeah. Little emphasis on the methods Kerry employed to win. But at the end of the day they won it.
Re the thread. Jimmy won 13 Ulster Championship games and lost 1.
He won
3 of 4 Quarter Finals
2 of 3 Semi Finals
1 of 2 All Ireland Finals.

In anyones books that is massive.
Respect to Jim and all who helped him.
Donegal football is in rude health right now.
Ulster should be the immediate goal of his successor.
See no major reason why this team won't continue to challenge at the top table throughout the career of Michael Murphy and perhaps even beyond.

Don't forget a penalty against the crossbar away from an U-21 All Ireland. The man is a legend!

McFadden, Toye and Kavanagh will probably retire, but no reason Paddy McBrearty and Martin McElhinney, with Mark McHugh to come back, shouldn't be able to cement first choice places in their absence. Hopefully a couple of those minors will make the step up to the senior squad in the next year or two. We might not feature as regularly in the final four, but we are in a much better place than we were in the years leading up to Jim's appointment.
Post by: DuffleKing on October 07, 2014, 09:06:37 AM

You don't think Gallacher will retire J70 - I donn't think Toye will myself
Post by: Jinxy on October 07, 2014, 11:01:07 AM
Stick a tenner on Banty lads.
Thank me later.
Post by: ck on October 07, 2014, 11:28:29 AM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on October 06, 2014, 10:27:06 PM

That s crazy!

The mind boggles. As Tubberman said, he has young children and put a lot of effort into the last 4 years!

There's more chance of me taking over Donegal than James Horan. Such nonsense.
It'll be 2 trick pony himself Martin McHugh who goes for it. He can ensure the return of his prodigal son!
Rory Gallagher will probably be his coach. That's where the wise money will go, only an out and out luther would back Horan!
Post by: screenexile on October 07, 2014, 11:53:46 AM
Quote from: ck on October 07, 2014, 11:28:29 AM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on October 06, 2014, 10:27:06 PM

That s crazy!

There's more chance of me taking over Donegal than James Horan. Such nonsense.
It'll be 2 trick pony himself Martin McHugh who goes for it. He can ensure the return of his prodigal son!
Rory Gallagher will probably be his coach. That's where the wise money will go, only an out and out luther would back Horan!

McHugh's had loads of chances to take the job... he doesn't want it! "No prophet is accepted in his hometown"

Also he's got 2 kids on the team. Has that ever worked well when a manager has children on the team? I remember Joe Kernan, Mickey Harte and Mickey Moran all having bother with it!!
Post by: Bensars on October 07, 2014, 01:01:08 PM
You seem to forget the successful experience in your own county! Eamon Coleman seemed to do  alright
Post by: haranguerer on October 07, 2014, 01:05:27 PM
Not to mention the fact that Joe Kernan and Mickey Harte are the most successful managers their respective counties have ever had...
Post by: StephenC on October 07, 2014, 01:36:10 PM
Quote from: DuffleKing on October 07, 2014, 09:06:37 AM

You don't think Gallacher will retire J70 - I donn't think Toye will myself

Gallagher has already stated that he'll play next year if selected.
Post by: screenexile on October 07, 2014, 01:48:06 PM
Quote from: Bensars on October 07, 2014, 01:01:08 PM
You seem to forget the successful experience in your own county! Eamon Coleman seemed to do  alright

Jaysus how could I forget that!

As for Kernan and Harte I'm not doubting their success but I imagine their toughest time throughout both their tenures has been the flak they got for playing their sons!
Post by: ck on October 08, 2014, 10:13:46 PM
Latest odds to replace Jimmy. Damien Diver worth a punt lads?

http://www.boylesports.com/Betting/Sports-A---Z/GAA_Football/GAA_Specials/Next_Donegal_Manager?navigationid=24.1,86196.1,86228.1,1470469.1&time=221203
Post by: seafoid on October 11, 2014, 08:52:21 AM
Donegal TV Special Feature on Jim McGuinness

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lqUVmlC4uP4
Post by: rodney trotter on October 11, 2014, 10:16:17 AM
Cassidy still bitter

Kevinn Cassidy has reopened old wounds by claiming Donegal should have won more All-Ireland titles under Jim McGuinness.

Cassidy, whose inter-county career was effectively ended by McGuinness when he dropped him from the Donegal panel for comments he made in the 2011 book 'This is Our Year', believes the Tir Chonaill men would have won more than one All-Ireland (2012) but for decisions made by the manager.

"I feel that one of his biggest faults was his tunnel vision," Cassidy writes in his Gaelic Life column.

"Some will say that surely this must be a strength but, in the modern game, everything cannot always be black and white. Situations and events will arise and you must show compassion and deal with individuals differently.

"Leaving my own situation aside, I feel that the fall-out with Rory Gallagher (former assistant manager) and the loss of Mark McHugh could have been dealt with a lot better.

"I do feel that decisions and stances he took denied Donegal the opportunity to win one if not two more All Irelands."

Cassidy also has words of praise for the Glenties man, who stepped down as manager seven days ago.

"He took a group of men who, let's face it, were a laughing stock and turned them into the benchmark upon which the rest of the country judged themselves on."

Post by: J70 on October 11, 2014, 06:12:43 PM
That doesn't make any sense. This year, he brought us to the final after getting rid of Gallagher and losing McHugh (whatever the reason for his departure). We were the width of the post away from a draw, and a horrendous, never-to-be-repeated mistake the reason for our loss. Unless Cassidy is saying the presence of Rory Gallagher could have made a difference in the final, I don't see his logic.
Last year, I suppose he could have tried to have the club championship put on hold during the Ulster championship, but apart from drawing the ire, again, of the broad GAA community by doing that, what else could he do last year? Gallagher and McHugh were on board. There isn't a whole lot you can do about injuries and the loss of form and hunger in a relatively small squad. Whatever about the Mayo vengeance factor, had Colm McFadden not lost his form for the Ulster final, we would probably have run Monaghan quite close, albeit I think they had our number no matter what on the day. Unless he is insinuating that his own presence might have made the difference. If that is the case, was he not invited back in the spring of 2012?
Lastly, he was there in 2011. Is he suggesting we should have pushed on against Dublin? He was on the field...
Post by: Asal Mor on October 13, 2014, 08:05:07 AM
Dead right on all points J70. I've always felt a bit sorry for Cassidy (he's like the 6th member of Boyzone who got the boot before they made it big) but he's not making any sense there.
Post by: seafoid on October 13, 2014, 08:31:44 AM
This was the year to make it 2 but they fell short for whatever reason. What he did for Donegal was den scoth. His sister in that video said he had a dream from a young age and he realised it. A county like Donegal winning Sam is massive. I wouldn't be picky about the numbers. And he can always come back.
Post by: the goal was on on October 13, 2014, 10:04:12 AM
Well if jimmy underachieved surely Cassidy has massively underachieved this year with gweedore. 4 seniors and 6 minors and can't get out of a weak group. Disapointing to say the least.  He needed to have a bit more tunnel vision!   ;)  :D
Post by: Sonny Joe on October 14, 2014, 11:42:43 AM
I believe that Rory has got the Donegal job, just putting the backroom team together.
Post by: ck on October 14, 2014, 01:47:09 PM
Yeah I was travelling through South West Donegal yesterday. Word is Rory Gallagher is the only one in for it and has been confirmed.
I was getting mixed feelings from the ones I spoke to. Some think he's great others say he's not popular, one man said he's never actually managed a team on his own.
Post by: Sonny Joe on October 14, 2014, 01:50:59 PM
A gamble I think. Everybody seems to think that a good number 2 can be a good manager at county level. Paul Grimley, Tally, Moran and now Rory, and they are all knowledgeable men who have done well, but not just the same as the men they supported.
Post by: J70 on October 14, 2014, 02:49:02 PM
Quote from: Sonny Joe on October 14, 2014, 01:50:59 PM
A gamble I think. Everybody seems to think that a good number 2 can be a good manager at county level. Paul Grimley, Tally, Moran and now Rory, and they are all knowledgeable men who have done well, but not just the same as the men they supported.

Short of getting Mickey Harte or James Horan in, anyone is a gamble. Big Jim is an impossible act to follow.  People will have to be patient and give Rory a chance. If he doesn't work out, you try again.
Title: Anocht
Post by: drici on October 18, 2014, 06:29:50 PM
9-55pm   RTÉ One   The Saturday Night Show
Post by: orangeman on October 18, 2014, 11:00:54 PM
Lovely waistcoat. Donegal tweed I assume ?.
Post by: Conallach on October 19, 2014, 12:42:27 AM
Jim was in the Celtic dugout for the first time today for their 5-0 win against Ross County.

Seems like he has a more hands-on role with the senior team now.
Post by: Syferus on October 19, 2014, 12:57:18 AM
Quote from: ck on October 14, 2014, 01:47:09 PM
Yeah I was travelling through South West Donegal yesterday. Word is Rory Gallagher is the only one in for it and has been confirmed.
I was getting mixed feelings from the ones I spoke to. Some think he's great others say he's not popular, one man said he's never actually managed a team on his own.

Sure wasn't he running much of the show last year for Jimmy?

Good appointment that offers continuity and may make a few of the stalwarts more willing to consider giving another year to the cause. Far from impossible for Donegal to be a top two team again next year, particularly with Dublin on the other side of the provincial wimners' draw. Very few outstanding teams these days.
Post by: mylestheslasher on October 19, 2014, 11:24:21 AM
I thought there were 3 in for it? Have the other 2 pulled out?
Post by: yellowcard on October 20, 2014, 11:10:47 AM
Heard an interview with Jimmy at the weekend on the radio and he more or less inferred that he would be back managing Donegal at some point in the future. If he doesn't get back into a high profile role at Celtic or elsewhere in the next few years he might well decide to embark on a challenege with a different Donegal set of players in the future. Certainly don't think we have seen the last of him in GAA. Inspirational man and I think the Donegal players will find it very difficult to adjust to life after him. A bit like getting the job straight after Alex Ferguson, I think the next Donegal mnanager will have an impossible task and it would be much better to be the next but one.   
Post by: ck on October 20, 2014, 03:21:23 PM
Rory Gallagher has the job in the bag. Good to see a good Sligo IT man stepping forward!
I think Gallagher will do a great job and think Donegal will remain a force, my slight concern is that Gallagher has actually NEVER managed a team, at any level, as No.1  :-\
Post by: rodney trotter on October 20, 2014, 03:36:04 PM
Any level? He is the manager of Kilcar.
Title: Re: Anocht
Post by: seafoid on October 20, 2014, 04:48:20 PM
Quote from: drici on October 18, 2014, 06:29:50 PM
9-55pm   RTÉ One   The Saturday Night Show

http://www.rte.ie/player/ch/show/10335313/
from 55 minutes
Post by: ck on October 20, 2014, 09:54:04 PM
Quote from: rodney trotter on October 20, 2014, 03:36:04 PM

He's joint manager of Kilcar as far as I know. Therefore has never managed any team, ever, as No.1. Whilst I think he'll do a good manager, there's not many who take on a county job, if any ever? Whos first sole Bainisteoir job is a county job.
Post by: twohands!!! on October 20, 2014, 09:59:57 PM
Quote from: ck on October 20, 2014, 09:54:04 PM

He's joint manager of Kilcar as far as I know. Therefore has never managed any team, ever, as No.1. Whilst I think he'll do a good manager, there's not many who take on a county job, if any ever? Whos first sole Bainisteoir job is a county job.

Was Fitzmaurice in Kerry's first managerial job not the Kerry U21s?
Post by: ck on October 20, 2014, 10:04:50 PM
Quote from: twohands!!! on October 20, 2014, 09:59:57 PM
Quote from: ck on October 20, 2014, 09:54:04 PM

Was Fitzmaurice in Kerry's first managerial job not the Kerry U21s?

No he had managed school teams
Post by: Itchy on November 01, 2014, 12:06:56 PM
Good news for the rest of ulster. I don't like him and having watched his carry on on the sideline I don't wish him any luck either.
Post by: J70 on November 01, 2014, 02:57:21 PM
Quote from: Itchy on November 01, 2014, 12:06:56 PM
Good news for the rest of ulster. I don't like him and having watched his carry on on the sideline I don't wish him any luck either.

Oh well... ::)
Post by: From the Bunker on November 01, 2014, 07:17:40 PM
Quote from: J70 on November 01, 2014, 02:57:21 PM
Quote from: Itchy on November 01, 2014, 12:06:56 PM

Oh well... ::)

A good appointment from Donegal. He knows the players. He knows the structures. If he sh1te, he will leave a more than likely successor from Donegal with less pressure. From a Mayo perspective he opened his mouth too wide last year.
Post by: orangeman on April 16, 2015, 09:41:01 AM
Jim's reputation continues to grow and fair play to him.

Well done Jim.

http://www.rte.ie/sport/rugby/champions-cup/2015/0416/694476-jim-mcguinness-turns-skills-to-rugby-with-saracens/
Post by: Syferus on April 16, 2015, 08:10:16 PM
His ability to unite and motivate seems likely to be his lasting legacy.