and relegation when it came sure it was automatic

The championship start was not ideal, Kildare fragile you know
And who came out of the draw itself but WTF Carlow
And Horse Lawlor he did get the ball and had loads of time to choose
And once he set his sights on goal sure the Lilies could only lose

And KCR they lost the plot, sure the Carlow boys went mad
While on KFM across the county the mood was very sad
The rasta midgets had had their day, their victory was tremenjus
But the Flourbags had to lick their wounds and start praying the Angelus.

This was worse than an embarrassment it was biblical in scope
And on the board Kuwabate and Donnellys had surrendered all their hope
O'Neill was f**king hopeless and his tactics were so poor
What was he doing managing the Lilies, the useless clueless hoor

And outsiders they did shake the head and ask all the questions
All that money in Kildare and the team is only messin'
And Newbridge it is still a kip with no corporate suites to offer
And Meath are just as bad and the 2 counties have nothing in the coffer

But life is about soldiering on and the qualifiers offer redemption
Even if the Lilies were only looking at a losing series extension
At least it's not the Leinster championship with the Dubs , that awful load
You can win a few matches with a bit of luck and go further down the road

In Derry the opposition was hard enough to beat
The backs and forwards had to work together in the heat
This was a novelty after all the losing- it was hard to stay on task
But they kept the engine running and that's all anyone could ever ask.

Next up the Larries in their home place- the fans had to shell out
They had beaten Meath you see and were in with a good shout
But the flourbags got the oul mojo going it was a decent oul feeling
An open road and enough horsepower to leave the Larries reeling

So now onto Round 3 and hopefully deeper into July
A draw like Clare at home it would be surely worth a try
A three game winning streak is better than playing cat
And a Saturday evening in the town with pints you could well get used to that

Ah well some of the lads and lassies  had never been arsed watching the Lilies at home before.
It would be the first time Geraldine would have seen the forwards score.
And before they heard the draw, they knew they'd play the same
So they all agreed that Newbridge was the place to play the game.

But the hoors above in Dublin they had a fella called McGill
And he f**king ordered the Lilies to play in Dublin
The county it was outraged  ONeill would take no crap
And Kildare defied the HQ and all attempts at a bitchslap.

So CP rolled out some big guns and the biggest , Health and Safety
They wanted all the Kildare fans to be drinking in the Big Tree
But Kildare decided otherwise, they had the gander going
And Croke Park ran out of ammunition and the public started groaning

And the Super 8s are the golden goose and the timing is essential
But if Kildare go down the legal route delays will be unmissable
The CLG head are in a bind they don't know what to do
The clock is ticking as we speak this is a huge issue

So Kildare have had a change of fate even if they lose on Sat
Because  the energy unleashed you cannot defend against that
And CLG, the useless hoors, they really need some insight
You cannot force the Lilies into something  that is shite.

So Horse Lawlor's goal was not the end, it was not the end at all
The Kildare lads got time to fight both on and off the ball
They discovered balls they had all over the county of Kildare
And they united around a great oul line- Newbridge or nowhere

Any music to the great lyrics ?

Kildare's call.

Quote from: Applesisapples on June 27, 2018, 10:08:39 AM
Quote from: Rossfan on June 27, 2018, 09:59:39 AM
We've now reached page 60 and we're nearly all still in group think that Kildare is right and the GAA ( and Mayo with some )is wrong.
Why didn't KCB fight their case with the 4Cs/HQ on Monday morning after they were asked to nominate amother venue?
Instead it appears they refused to engage and then went into the public domain and painted themselves into a corner from which there's no retreat?
Not much leadership or negotiation  skills there.
As it stands they're going to refuse to fulfil an official fixture, get thrown out of the competition then presumably start a long drawn out appeals process and fûck up the Summer for 11 other Counties and their supporters and of course all the club players in those Counties.

All because they have a dump of a County ground.

I expect loads of abuse for this post
Nail on head.

Correct.

Quote from: Solo_run on June 27, 2018, 10:29:02 AM
Quote from: Itchy on June 27, 2018, 10:23:29 AM
Someone told me today that if Kildare don't show up in Croke Park then they will also be expelled from the championship next year. Is that true?

I am calling it now - Dublin to get any bye in the Leinster Championship if Kildare are expelled.

They badly need it.

LilySavage

Ah now, this is ultimately a GAA f**k up.  Changing goalposts (literally) AFTER draw was made. Then selling tickets online for Croker without Kildare consent. (Arrogance of that). Then that clown Feargal McGill releases statement about forfeiture which just forced entrenched positions .They should have been sorting this out in the background rather than picking a row. It was a GAA f**k up.  Not a hint of an apology either. Why haven't we built a bigger stadium? Well when you get one home provincial game in 30 years, why the f**k would you bother?

I really don't think there is any pressure on Mayo to do what some people are calling "the right thing" and turn up in Newbridge with Kildare.
Mayo are one of the top teams in the country and began championship preparations 6 months ago. Does anyone really expect them to throw that away for something that is really nothing to do with them? If I was a mayo fan and they did that id be furious.

mayo.mick

mayo for sam-don't ask me what year! :-)
https://michaelmaye.com/mayo-gaa-photos/
@mayo_mick

straightred

Quote from: RedHand88 on June 27, 2018, 10:34:11 AM
I really don't think there is any pressure on Mayo to do what some people are calling "the right thing" and turn up in Newbridge with Kildare.
Mayo are one of the top teams in the country and began championship preparations 6 months ago. Does anyone really expect them to throw that away for something that is really nothing to do with them? If I was a mayo fan and they did that id be furious.

Agreed - its not their fight and they are right to keep the heads down and stay out of it.

LilySavage

Nobody has asked Mayo to do anything.Cian O Neill made this very clear.  A lot of people assuming Kildare will go legal route too if thrown out. If we are throwing out, I'd like to see a few people in GAA HQ having their positions reviewed.  It's clear they can't manage the association adequately.  It's clear grassroots are cheesed off with them over how they are running the association generally.

Mayo4Sam14

Quote from: trailer on June 27, 2018, 10:39:28 AM
Quote from: mayo.mick on June 27, 2018, 10:35:28 AM

Sold out?

Are they f*ck? Those tickets are selling for Croke Park so it's hardly sold out. Haven't taken money for the season tickets today either.
You can forget about Sean Cavanagh as far as he's a man!

Michael McCarthy
Verified account
@McCarthyMick
Follow Follow @McCarthyMick
More
The GAA PR brigade have rounded the wagons today with the help of their friends in the press. They tell you this is for everyone's good. Fairness of competition is forgotten as it's not part of the argument. Public will shift. Game will be in Croke Park. Why do we bother?

2:03 AM - 27 Jun 2018

I agree with the sentiment above.
Even this morning on here you can feel there is a shift towards the HQ position.
Outrage has a shelf-life, so I would expect to see more of this 'lets be reasonable here' stuff in the following days from the established GAA hacks.
If the game was on the following weekend I would bet the house it would be switched to Croke Park, but time is on Kildare's side here.
Either the GAA concede defeat today or we're looking at a walkover.
There is no time for anything else.

Quote from: Jinxy on June 27, 2018, 10:26:30 AM
I think Sean Moran is 100% right about HQ's primary concern here being the precedent Kildare might set and the effect this could have on the CCCC.
Not in the context of counties just randomly deciding not to turn up for scheduled fixtures, but in the sense that smaller counties will decide they won't be pushed around to fit in with external demands such as accommodating travelling support, TV coverage etc.

It appears the GAA are wheeling out their yes men, ex players who are in their pocket and journalists who are favoured. Big Dick was an embarrassment yesterday.

LilySavage

Yah I noticed that change in sentiment. Not sure why. Nothing has changed. Except time is running out for Croke Park. In more ways than one for the ones who created this message when they should have been managing it. In other organisations , a f**k up like this would mean they'd be updating their CVs next week.