GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: anfheardubh on May 19, 2014, 06:43:52 PM

Title: Are Tyrone Finished
Post by: anfheardubh on May 19, 2014, 06:43:52 PM
It appears that the wheels are shortly to come off

Dont want to slate or name players for criticism as all players are giving 110 %

But i was  impressed by mccrory apart from him the defence was porous, caused by the half back and midfield not following runners

Full forward line has potential but no real ball winners

Half forward line extremely poor

Cant expect Gormley the mcmahons and Cavanagh to be there forever,  looks like the bubble is going to burst.

LONG TIME SINCE 2008

Not from Tyrone but have heard their is some excellent players at club level who MICKEY doesnt pick
Title: Re: Are Tyrone Finished
Post by: thejuice on May 19, 2014, 07:11:59 PM
Not from Tyrone but have heard their is some excellent players at club level who MICKEY doesnt pick

Really!! Never heard that before in any other county. I swear.
Post by: seafoid on May 19, 2014, 07:16:55 PM
Mean reversion is a bitch.
You get used to it after 13 years winning nothing.
It's even worse for Meath.
Post by: thejuice on May 19, 2014, 07:20:42 PM
Only one man can save Tyrone.

(http://www.thesportsdiaries.com/wp-content/uploads/2013/06/Banty-celebrates1.jpg)
Post by: ONeill on May 19, 2014, 07:21:42 PM
(http://2.bp.blogspot.com/-wQx_kipf710/TtUr4B8NZnI/AAAAAAAAOKc/fQP0jloeFCI/s1600/tyrone1.jpg)
Post by: seafoid on May 19, 2014, 07:46:01 PM
Tyrone should aim for the hurling for a while now.
A new focus. 
Post by: BennyHarp on May 19, 2014, 07:49:41 PM
I was going to laugh this thread off until I saw the use of capital letters (especially your big MICKEY) and realised that you are a man to be taken seriously. I look forward to seeing how this prediction pans out.

Just as clarification - what do you mean by finished?  Are we never going to win another match? Are we not going to enter a team next year? Just so I can start looking for a new team to support. Cheers for the heads up.
Post by: Throw ball on May 19, 2014, 07:56:33 PM
One can hope :D
Post by: Itchy on May 19, 2014, 07:58:12 PM
You have to take a man with a big Mickey seriously or he'll bate you around the head with it.
Post by: laoislad on May 19, 2014, 08:07:06 PM
Quote from: seafoid on May 19, 2014, 07:46:01 PM
A new focus.
Hurling is too skillful for Nordies to master.
It would be like asking a Dub to milk a cow.
Post by: Aaron Boone on May 19, 2014, 08:08:30 PM
Tyrone need a good under-21 team.  That's the missing link.
Post by: Walter Cronc on May 19, 2014, 08:08:59 PM
Quote from: laoislad on May 19, 2014, 08:07:06 PM
A new focus.

Ah Queens County, a place famed for it's hurling!
Post by: seafoid on May 19, 2014, 08:12:16 PM
There may be an answer to the defence problems highlighted so painfully on Sunday. Tyrone could try bringing some sporty protestants onto the panel- there is a large reservoir of untapped talent there that the Southern counties wouldn't have access to. It's so logical when you think about it. 
Post by: From the Bunker on May 19, 2014, 08:39:08 PM
Are Tyrone finished? I'd say you could ask the same question of Kerry, Mayo, Cork, Donegal?
Post by: thejuice on May 19, 2014, 08:55:02 PM
Are Louth Only Getting Started?
Post by: All of a Sludden on May 19, 2014, 09:11:34 PM
Quote from: thejuice on May 19, 2014, 08:55:02 PM
Are Louth Only Getting Started?

When you have harrowed what we have ploughed.....
Post by: Fuzzman on May 19, 2014, 10:22:04 PM
Is there a word missing from the title?
Are Tyrone finished defending, diving, crying, playing a defensive system, trying to win Ulster, going through the motions or simply finished with Mickey Harte?
Yeah having only got to the AI semis last year I'd say we should enter the Heineken cup next year instead of Ulster. Sure we have the jerseys already.
Post by: Hereiam on May 19, 2014, 10:25:07 PM
Are sandwiches nicer outa thd boot of the car
Post by: laoislad on May 19, 2014, 10:30:48 PM
Quote from: Fuzzman on May 19, 2014, 10:22:04 PM
Is there a word missing from the title?
Are Tyrone finished defending, diving, crying, playing a defensive system, trying to win Ulster, going through the motions or simply finished with Mickey Harte?
Yeah having only got to the AI semis last year I'd say we should enter the Heineken cup next year instead of Ulster. Sure we have the jerseys already.
Sure with the pulling and dragging game ye play it wouldn't be a giant leap for ye to play Rugby.
Post by: anfheardubh on May 19, 2014, 11:59:21 PM
In essence what i am declaring is there seem to be a genuine gulf in class between the last saloon players and the influx of players coming in

Where the hell is Ronan O Neill ??????

Just think that with the defence they have at the minute, they should adjust accordingly and return to a mass defensive blanket

I.E.  what they always do when they play Donegal,  was successful winning 3 AI s

2 man full forward line , put Cavanagh in there as he seems the only one capable of winning a game

Remove some of Mickeys clubmates who wouldnt get a game for Kilkenny

MY Respect for Tyrone is immense and i took great pleasure in watching them win their AIs, i just feel that a strong TYRONE team is good for the GAA and i dont want to see a slide like what  has happened in Armagh

Tyrone man roared at me at a game in healy park 3 AIs  3 AIs  doing my nut

i replied  YOU DIDNT WIN THEM YOU FAT BASTARD  lol   his wife kept apologising and laughing lol

Post by: trileacman on May 20, 2014, 12:10:11 AM
Quote from: anfheardubh on May 19, 2014, 11:59:21 PM

i replied  YOU DIDNT WIN THEM YOU FAT b**tard  lol   his wife kept apologising and laughing lol

Two of you should have been left in the creche till you matured out of it.

lol
Post by: anfheardubh on May 20, 2014, 12:25:06 AM
Quote from: trileacman on May 20, 2014, 12:10:11 AM

i replied  YOU DIDNT WIN THEM YOU FAT b**tard  lol   his wife kept apologising and laughing lol

Two of you should have been left in the creche till you matured out of it.

lol

then that would be never lol
Post by: Agent Orange on May 20, 2014, 04:23:01 AM

3 AIs and more bodies than a west Baltimore drug gang.
Post by: Brick Tamlin on May 20, 2014, 08:18:36 AM
Sure there was nathin wrong with football as it was til the Applemunchers and Tymonies came along in the noughties and bastardized it for everyone else.
Post by: ziggysego on May 20, 2014, 08:40:52 AM
Didn't think getting to an All-Ireland Semi-Final the previous year constitutes finished. There ya go!

Post by: BennyHarp on May 20, 2014, 08:55:07 AM
In essence what i am declaring is there seem to be a genuine gulf in class between the last saloon players and the influx of players coming in

Where the hell is Ronan O Neill ??????

Just think that with the defence they have at the minute, they should adjust accordingly and return to a mass defensive blanket

I.E.  what they always do when they play Donegal,  was successful winning 3 AI s

2 man full forward line , put Cavanagh in there as he seems the only one capable of winning a game

Remove some of Mickeys clubmates who wouldnt get a game for Kilkenny

MY Respect for Tyrone is immense and i took great pleasure in watching them win their AIs, i just feel that a strong TYRONE team is good for the GAA and i dont want to see a slide like what  has happened in Armagh

Did Tyrone ever ACTUALLY beat Donegal playing like THAT.

By THE way, you ARE one witty guy!
Post by: thejuice on May 20, 2014, 03:03:58 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on May 20, 2014, 08:40:52 AM
Didn't think getting to an All-Ireland Semi-Final the previous year constitutes finished. There ya go!

To be fair, Meath got to an All-Ireland in 2001 and fell away dramatically afterwards.

A lot of people saw it coming as we hadn't invested much in our underage teams after the mid-90's. We are only starting to catch up a bit now but the likes of yourselves and Dublin would still be ahead of us by a fair bit in preparing underage teams.
Post by: anfheardubh on May 20, 2014, 10:44:46 PM
Quote from: thejuice on May 20, 2014, 03:03:58 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on May 20, 2014, 08:40:52 AM

To be fair, Meath got to an All-Ireland in 2001 and fell away dramatically afterwards.

A lot of people saw it coming as we hadn't invested much in our underage teams after the mid-90's. We are only starting to catch up a bit now but the likes of yourselves and Dublin would still be ahead of us by a fair bit in preparing underage teams.

Success at minor and u21 level is all well and good but any player WORTH his salt  would give up a handful of these for a Senior AI

Winning plenty at underage is a hindrance in my opinion, coaching should be based on improving skills and techniques, tackling, fitness etc at youth level
With the emphasis on becoming senior players,  Kerry have never won much underage and consistently produce gifted footballers

Laois minor team about 10 years ago springs to mind,  success went to their heads at a young age and they did JACK SHIT after that

Post by: Orior on May 20, 2014, 11:06:19 PM
Quote from: Walter Cronc on May 19, 2014, 08:08:59 PM
Quote from: laoislad on May 19, 2014, 08:07:06 PM
A new focus.

Ah Queens County, a place famed for it's hurling!

Yis should all get behind the ladies.... team.
Post by: PAULD123 on May 20, 2014, 11:22:18 PM
In 2008 Down went to Omagh and after being fairly outclassed in the first half, and after a couple of inspired substitutions, tore into Tyrone in the second but proceeded to let it slip. (sound familiar??)

Back in Newry we were jubilant as we took them all the way and finally had a last gasp victory. Imagine a dishevelled Down beating the top quality Tyrone. Tyrone were obviously finished, quite correctly the pundits wrote them off, Mickey had been there too long, too faithful not bringing the U21's through. Yep, that day was the beginning of the end for the great Tyrone, and surely the end of Mickey.

Funny thing - four months later they were parading the Sam Maguire through the streets of Omagh!!!

It's a bit early for obituaries that's all I am saying.
Post by: ck on May 20, 2014, 11:23:30 PM
Are Tyrone finished? Such a stupid question. They'll beat Down by 10 points this weekend, wait and see.
Post by: anfheardubh on May 20, 2014, 11:58:59 PM
Quote from: ck on May 20, 2014, 11:23:30 PM
Are Tyrone finished? Such a stupid question. They'll beat Down by 10 points this weekend, wait and see.

only a fool would preach this gutter trash,  3/4 points between the teams at most either way

Tyrone are gone, yesterdays men i am afraid , time for a complete over haul
Post by: Jinxy on May 21, 2014, 02:00:12 PM
If Down have 15 minutes of swagger in them, they'll win.
Post by: imtommygunn on May 21, 2014, 02:04:21 PM
Has Benny Coulter ever played on a down team that's beat tyrone?

Looking at his face at the end last sunday I thought said a lot - looked like they thought they'd blew their chance which I think they have unfortunately.

I think Mickey Harte will come up with a plan to shore his defense up a bit and Tyrone will win. (Unless the doubters are right but I don't think so)

Tyrone have been finished as an AI force for a few years but they're still a match for anyone in ulster.

Post by: Hardy on May 21, 2014, 02:11:03 PM
Mickey on diving. (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5KPsofCVUu8)

Priceless. Mickey's straight face and the look Wee James's face, then his comment at the end!
Post by: Archie Mitchell on May 21, 2014, 02:16:36 PM
Quote from: imtommygunn on May 21, 2014, 02:04:21 PM
Has Benny Coulter ever played on a down team that's beat tyrone?

Looking at his face at the end last sunday I thought said a lot - looked like they thought they'd blew their chance which I think they have unfortunately.

I think Mickey Harte will come up with a plan to shore his defense up a bit and Tyrone will win. (Unless the doubters are right but I don't think so)

Tyrone have been finished as an AI force for a few years but they're still a match for anyone in ulster.

He scored the goal in extra time in 2008 which they won
Post by: imtommygunn on May 21, 2014, 02:18:57 PM
Ah. I think his face said a lot on sunday -  like down had blown it.

Not from either county but would prefer Down to win as think the ulster championship would be more open if they did but I think they've blown their chance.

Post by: Croí na hÉireann on May 21, 2014, 04:52:19 PM
Quote from: Hardy on May 21, 2014, 02:11:03 PM
Mickey on diving. (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5KPsofCVUu8)

Priceless. Mickey's straight face and the look Wee James's face, then his comment at the end!

Brilliant, good find Hardy.
Post by: Aristo 60 on May 21, 2014, 05:01:16 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on May 21, 2014, 02:00:12 PM
If Down have 15 minutes of swagger in them, they'll win.

Down have 54 years of swagger in them Jinxy.
Post by: Wildweasel74 on May 21, 2014, 07:13:17 PM
Down havent blown it in the slightest, if anything i think they could be more dangerous come sat night, depending on team like up, Poland would need to have a better game, from tyrone point of view they seriously need to look at their fullback line
Post by: seafoid on May 22, 2014, 09:29:07 PM
Tyrone are 2 all Irelands behind Down but they probably won't make up the gap now with the current set up.
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on May 24, 2014, 09:02:12 PM
not for another few weeks anyway
Post by: BartSimpson on May 24, 2014, 09:11:05 PM
I think we're in a good place now, I also think the maestro Mickey has another Sam in him.
Post by: BennyHarp on May 24, 2014, 09:24:42 PM
Mickey knows it's all about what happens in August and September. A few bad performances in May makes no odds if you are still standing and firing in Croker later in the year. He's managing a relatively inexperienced squad with a number of old heads. Giving lads experience whilst keeping the older lads fit is the name of the game here. I think we are still pushing in the right direction.
Post by: Syferus on May 24, 2014, 09:59:23 PM
Quote from: BennyHarp on May 24, 2014, 09:24:42 PM
Mickey knows it's all about what happens in August and September. A few bad performances in May makes no odds if you are still standing and firing in Croker later in the year. He's managing a relatively inexperienced squad with a number of old heads. Giving lads experience whilst keeping the older lads fit is the name of the game here. I think we are still pushing in the right direction.

Tyrone could make September again but it may say more about where everyone but Dublin are at right now. Lots of teams with key deficiencies that are relatively unfixable in the short term.
Post by: Saffrongael on May 24, 2014, 10:03:12 PM
Dublin would leave Tyrones arse in tatters
Post by: BennyHarp on May 24, 2014, 10:12:54 PM
Quote from: Syferus on May 24, 2014, 09:59:23 PM

Tyrone could make September again but it may say more about where everyone but Dublin are at right now. Lots of teams with key deficiencies that are relatively unfixable in the short term.

By no means am I saying Tyrone will win an All Ireland, but being there in August with a full squad, fit and in form gives you a chance. Drawing a game v Down in May will be long forgotten at that stage. It wouldn't overly concern me if Monaghan beat us in the next round, as the qualifiers have been where we have found our form in past years. Avoiding Dublin for as long as possible is key too.
Post by: north down on May 24, 2014, 10:27:25 PM
Quote from: Saffrongael on May 24, 2014, 10:03:12 PM

They only beat them with a last minute point in the last league game in Omagh.
Post by: reddgnhand on May 24, 2014, 10:30:48 PM
Quote from: Syferus on May 24, 2014, 09:59:23 PM

Yes if they take music lessons and join the Artane boys band.
Post by: muppet on May 24, 2014, 10:35:35 PM
Quote from: north down on May 24, 2014, 10:27:25 PM
Quote from: Saffrongael on May 24, 2014, 10:03:12 PM

They only beat them with a last minute point in the last league game in Omagh.

Derry beat them in Celtic Park.
Post by: Itchy on May 24, 2014, 10:39:57 PM
Are Tyrone finished, no I would say. Have they a chance of winning Sam, not a hope. In fact, I expect Monaghan will beat them next day.
Post by: larryin89 on May 25, 2014, 11:03:54 AM
What does " finished" mean?

When did it start? They won the all Ireland in 2008 ( very fortunate to do so imo) , not looked like a team that are going to win Sam since. Does that make a team finished? No it doesn't .

It's all about august weekend and reaching that point in the championship, i know if Mayo make it the q/f this year, I'll be happy with my county.
Post by: anfheardubh on May 25, 2014, 12:04:44 PM
Congratulations to Tyrone, well done , think the scoreline wasnt a reflection of the difference in the teams

Mickey made the changes needed

Could yet have a long summer ahead

One swallow doesnt make a summer
Post by: BennyHarp on May 25, 2014, 12:15:44 PM
Quote from: anfheardubh on May 25, 2014, 12:04:44 PM
Congratulations to Tyrone, well done , think the scoreline wasnt a reflection of the difference in the teams

Wise words, indeed one swallow doesn't make a summer, Yet you were happy to start this thread after one championship game.
Post by: anfheardubh on May 25, 2014, 12:24:35 PM
Quote from: BennyHarp on May 25, 2014, 12:15:44 PM

Based on what i watched last weekend  i wasnt impressed, that is why i started this thread  and Tyrone have hardly been at the races in terms of Sam since 2008
However the OMAGH escape could be a blessing

Wise words, indeed one swallow doesn't make a summer, Yet you were happy to start this thread after one championship game.
Post by: BennyHarp on May 25, 2014, 12:33:28 PM
Quote from: anfheardubh on May 25, 2014, 12:24:35 PM

Based on what i watched last weekend  i wasnt impressed, that is why i started this thread  and Tyrone have hardly been at the races in terms of Sam since 2008

Yes, last years All Ireland semi finalists haven't been at the races since 2008.
Post by: anfheardubh on May 25, 2014, 01:01:24 PM
Quote from: BennyHarp on May 25, 2014, 12:33:28 PM

Yes, last years All Ireland semi finalists haven't been at the races since 2008.

Benny was at that game , Tyrone were in the game until half time and then fell apart

Last year Tyrone lost to Donegal by 6 points
Trounced a shit Offaly team
Scrapped to a 2 point win over the Rossies
Followed by 3 narrow wins over Kildare  Meath and Monaghan ( the day sean was playing  flanker)

So really then didnt play a Kerry Cork Dublin etc, had a handy draw  and when as KOJAK  used to say 'the shit hit the fan '   Tyrone didnt have the goods

Cometh the hour cometh the man
Post by: BennyHarp on May 25, 2014, 07:33:48 PM
Quote from: anfheardubh on May 25, 2014, 01:01:24 PM

Benny was at that game , Tyrone were in the game until half time and then fell apart

Followed by 3 narrow wins over Kildare  Meath and Monaghan ( the day sean was playing  flanker)

So really then didnt play a Kerry Cork Dublin etc, had a handy draw  and when as KOJAK  used to say 'the shit hit the fan '   Tyrone didnt have the goods

But they got to an All Ireland semi final, beating the Ulster Champions along the way - Kerry won All Ireland's in 2004, 2006 and 2007 because Tyrone didn't come to the party in those years. It's not about what other teams do or who you play it's about what the team do themselves and getting to an All Ireland semi final is not an achievement that comes along very often for most teams. So if we take that as a point of reference and assume Tyrone were on the right trajectory heading into this year, (as Division 1 league finalists and All Ireland Semi finalists) then your one "swallow doesn't make a summer" quote is a little bit ironic coming from someone who wrote them off after one match.
Post by: anfheardubh on May 25, 2014, 07:41:48 PM
Quote from: BennyHarp on May 25, 2014, 07:33:48 PM
Quote from: anfheardubh on May 25, 2014, 01:01:24 PM

But they got to an All Ireland semi final, beating the Ulster Champions along the way - Kerry won All Ireland's in 2004, 2006 and 2007 because Tyrone didn't come to the party in those years. It's not about what other teams do or who you play it's about what the team do themselves and getting to an All Ireland semi final is not an achievement that comes along very often for most teams. So if we take that as a point of reference and assume Tyrone were on the right trajectory heading into this year, (as Division 1 league finalists and All Ireland Semi finalists) then your one "swallow doesn't make a summer" quote is a little bit ironic coming from someone who wrote them off after one match.

Thread is titled   ARE TYRONE FINISHED   ---  IT WASNT a statement, it was a question/ topic

Benny   Tyrone didnt win more AIs because they werent good enough and if it wasnt for the back door they wouldnt have won 3  lol
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on May 25, 2014, 08:00:04 PM
The Dún na nGall lad, who started this thread, might just be due a look in his mirror.
Post by: anfheardubh on May 25, 2014, 08:12:22 PM
Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on May 25, 2014, 08:00:04 PM
The Dún na nGall lad, who started this thread, might just be due a look in his mirror.

Taken on board,    whats your opinion or are you on the fence :'( :'( :'( :'(
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on May 25, 2014, 08:15:24 PM
Quote from: anfheardubh on May 25, 2014, 08:12:22 PM

Will get back to you on the evening of June 15th ;)
Post by: anfheardubh on May 25, 2014, 08:23:38 PM
Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on May 25, 2014, 08:15:24 PM

Wife is from Tyrone and have had some great days crack at Tyrone matches so good luck against Monaghan

Tyrone are Monaghans boogey  team so expect the RED HAND TO WIN
Post by: seafoid on May 25, 2014, 09:11:01 PM
Quote from: anfheardubh on May 25, 2014, 08:23:38 PM
Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on May 25, 2014, 08:15:24 PM

Wife is from Tyrone and have had some great days crack at Tyrone matches so good luck against Monaghan

Tyrone are Monaghans boogey  team so expect the RED HAND TO WIN
Monaghan still have more ulster titles than Throne
Post by: hairyUlsterman on May 26, 2014, 03:08:48 PM
they're finished surely and that's coming from someone who supports them when my own county is knocked out early, which is most years recently, some of their fans are very hard to warm to though, thugs would be a good word to describe them
Post by: Fuzzman on May 26, 2014, 03:51:04 PM
As I asked a few pages back. Finishes means what?
They need to start over again?
The current team are over the hill?
Getting to last years league final and AI semi final certainly would show that they don't have what it takes.
Mayo most be finished for years
Post by: AZOffaly on May 26, 2014, 03:53:09 PM
They need to get rid of the manager anyway, sure he's a stubborn auld eejit holding them back.
Post by: Fuzzman on May 26, 2014, 03:57:50 PM
See lads
Even the balanced neutral can see it as well
Sure if it wasn't for us kicking up such a fuss Mickey would still have the same starting 15.
Phew!
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on May 26, 2014, 09:09:55 PM
Tis crazy alright, not playing lads in the positions ye reckon they're best. Look, we'll do ye a favour and come to some arrangement to take him off ye. Would he be into the aul boating on the Shannon at all at all?
Post by: AZOffaly on May 27, 2014, 09:49:23 AM
Quote from: Croí na hÉireann on May 26, 2014, 09:09:55 PM
Tis crazy alright, not playing lads in the positions ye reckon they're best. Look, we'll do ye a favour and come to some arrangement to take him off ye. Would he be into the aul boating on the Shannon at all at all?

Feck off you. I have him lined up, and a yacht is moored in Banagher for him as we speak.
Post by: rosnarun on May 27, 2014, 10:23:22 AM
Quote from: Fuzzman on May 26, 2014, 03:51:04 PM
Getting to last years league final and AI semi final certainly would show that they don't have what it takes.
i think finshed here means that this cycle is over , that the new guys coming onto the team are worse  than the old ones and the opld one aren't as good as they used to be and in effect the team is going backwards.
The way that the old guard were brought back to get beat Derry suggest that this may be the case 
Post by: Fuzzman on May 27, 2014, 10:38:33 AM
Quote from: rosnarun on May 27, 2014, 10:23:22 AM
The way that the old guard were brought back to get beat Derry suggest that this may be the case

Eh?
Post by: seafoid on May 27, 2014, 10:52:21 AM
Quote from: AZOffaly on May 26, 2014, 03:53:09 PM
They need to get rid of the manager anyway, sure he's a stubborn auld eejit holding them back.
Absolutely

Bring back Penrose and throw Mugsy in CHF and Peter Canavan in corner forward
and other teams can only play players over 35 and it should work 
Post by: Fuzzman on May 27, 2014, 11:22:50 AM
How did ye think Mugsy got on, on Sun night on TSG.

Beside the dodgy haircut I thought he made some good points
Was interesting that he said his favourite match was when we beat Derry with 13 men and not any of the games he played in himself.
Post by: BennyHarp on May 27, 2014, 11:34:40 AM
Quote from: rosnarun on May 27, 2014, 10:23:22 AM
Quote from: Fuzzman on May 26, 2014, 03:51:04 PM
i think finshed here means that this cycle is over , that the new guys coming onto the team are worse  than the old ones and the opld one aren't as good as they used to be and in effect the team is going backwards.

A strange post. Disregarding the strange final line, would you suggest getting to a first All Ireland semi final in 4 years constitutes going backwards?
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on May 28, 2014, 02:28:40 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on May 27, 2014, 09:49:23 AM

Feck off you. I have him lined up, and a yacht is moored in Banagher for him as we speak.

Mickey has standards AZ, wouldn't be seen dead with no Division 4 rif raff. Will you pass on well wishes to Agent McDonnell when you see him, a lot done, more to do.
Post by: AZOffaly on May 28, 2014, 02:32:53 PM
Quote from: Croí na hÉireann on May 28, 2014, 02:28:40 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on May 27, 2014, 09:49:23 AM

Mickey has standards AZ, wouldn't be seen dead with no Division 4 rif raff. Will you pass on well wishes to Agent McDonnell when you see him, a lot done, more to do.

Not sure he'll get the chance to do more. As for Mickey, if he joins ye he might be in with Division 4 Riff Raff soon enough. At least we have footballers :D
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on May 28, 2014, 02:35:32 PM
Doing a good job hiding them so  :P
Post by: AZOffaly on May 28, 2014, 02:51:17 PM
Quote from: Croí na hÉireann on May 28, 2014, 02:35:32 PM

We're so long hiding in the long grass, we've forgotten how to get out of it!
Post by: Main Street on May 28, 2014, 11:06:41 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on May 28, 2014, 02:51:17 PM
Quote from: Croí na hÉireann on May 28, 2014, 02:35:32 PM

We're so long hiding in the long grass, we've forgotten how to get out of it!
You just need to play Monaghan more often.

Post by: anfheardubh on June 15, 2014, 03:45:35 PM
Another nail in the coffin .  maybe time Mickey left the job
Post by: Agent Orange on June 15, 2014, 03:48:52 PM
Quote from: anfheardubh on June 15, 2014, 03:45:35 PM
Another nail in the coffin .  maybe time Mickey left the job

It would be a brave man that drives a stake through the harte of that particular vampire.
Post by: anfheardubh on July 14, 2014, 08:13:15 PM
Tme to go Mickey , pity he didnt go when he was on top,  they are on a downward spiral

Need a new voice with fresh ideas
Post by: ONeill on July 14, 2014, 08:21:46 PM
(http://i1.cdnds.net/13/12/300x450/soaps-corrie-8093-2_2.jpg)
Post by: rodney trotter on July 14, 2014, 08:24:14 PM
He has no intention of going another year to go on his deal http://www.bbc.com/sport/0/gaelic-games/28285878

Tyrone u21s have been very poor this year and last year, comprenhensively beaten. If he is suppose to be making them into stars he has a hard task
Post by: ONeill on July 14, 2014, 08:39:15 PM
We were spoilt for a long time that we thought we'd become a Kerry and would churn out good sides a couple of years apart. With a lot of underage success in the 00s, Club Tyrone and the development squads and Garvaghey etc...it seemed Tyrone had joined the top table permanently.

But....maybe it's in the DNA. We need Philly Jordan, Mugsy, Hub etc to breed like fook. All them Kerry ones have county uncles and das etc.

Post by: T Fearon on July 14, 2014, 09:03:03 PM
Tyrone have done nothing since 08. The black card rules have exposed Harte's limitations as a coach. Like Armagh a long fallow period awaits
Post by: blewuporstuffed on July 14, 2014, 09:09:02 PM
Quote from: T Fearon on July 14, 2014, 09:03:03 PM
Tyrone have done nothing since 08. The black card rules have exposed Harte's limitations as a coach. Like Armagh a long fallow period awaits
you mean the black card rules introduced in 2014 tony ?   ::)
Post by: tyroneman on July 14, 2014, 09:13:54 PM
Quote from: blewuporstuffed on July 14, 2014, 09:09:02 PM

Ah Jaysus don't bite on Fearon's nonsense. Tyrone will be back in AI semi finals and finals long before Armagh.
Post by: T Fearon on July 14, 2014, 09:27:41 PM
Yes, the first season with black cards and Tyrone fail to get past Round 2 of the qualifiers! Face facts.
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on July 14, 2014, 09:34:36 PM
You are on your holidays in Rome and you are wasting your time posting shite in here?  ::)
Post by: T Fearon on July 14, 2014, 09:40:20 PM
Face facts!
Post by: ONeill on July 14, 2014, 09:40:43 PM
Poor Fiona.

Post by: anfheardubh on July 14, 2014, 10:06:14 PM
Quote from: tyroneman on July 14, 2014, 09:13:54 PM
Quote from: blewuporstuffed on July 14, 2014, 09:09:02 PM

Ah Jaysus don't bite on Fearon's nonsense. Tyrone will be back in AI semi finals and finals long before Armagh.

Tyroneman

i reckon tyrone will do well to contest an Ulster final in the next 5 years

they havent won an ulster u 21 title in 8 years the last being in 2006,  the well has run dry and its time to face facts

Tyrone need to reinvent themselves and slightly adjust  the forward division

Forwards are too similiar and all lack the balls to win a dirty ball,  DOOHER GAVLAN MUGSY GOD etc all had that ability

when Sean , Conor and the remaining AI WINNERS pack it in then Tyrone will truly be screwed as they are still carrying the team
Post by: naka on July 14, 2014, 10:51:05 PM
The tyronnies have a great conveyor belt in the mc Rory
With 3 and 1/2 teams
Will say they were the best team at minor level in ulster this year
Tyrone will come good again
Hopefully though they get rid of Mickey and be mis managed for another 20 years
Post by: orangeman on July 14, 2014, 11:12:59 PM
Tyrone must have had some team when a thread like this is required to talk of their apparent demise.

In all fairness, Tyrone were always going to suffer adversely from the collective retirement of some of the best players of their generations, who made up the Tyrone team 2003 to 2008. Canavan, Mc Guigan, Jordan to name but 3 were irreplaceable.

Tyrone are now back to where they were before the boom times. They'll be competitive but there will be more days like yesterday than was the "norm" recently.

Football goes in cycles. Cavan threatened to be the next big team but don't seen to have kicked on. Derry despite a disappointing year might be best placed to take advantage. Can Donegal sustain the hunger ?. Armagh will take great heart from yesterday but have work to do.
Post by: moysider on July 15, 2014, 01:48:22 AM
Tyrone had a Golden Age and probably maxed in that time, and that's a compliment. They won 3 AIs in a tough time. Kerry had arguably one of their best ever teams during 2 of those wins.

Harte is up there with Heffo, Micko and Boylan as a manager that caterpulted a team to another level.

There were savage players in Tyrone in 70s and 80s. McKenna, McGuigan, Donaghy, McCabe, O Hagan. Art McCrory did his bit and Tyrone were very unlucky/robbed in 95. I think Harte did a great job taking the 'luck' aspect out of things - which of course Micko and Heffo had done earlier by making sure they were better prepared than anybody else.

Like others that had success (including my neighbours Galway), Tyrone fans and the media as well will find it hard to let go. Every McCurry and Coney will be the new Canavan and O Neill but they won t be.

Tyrone also heve to look at their game. Underage and in schools Tyrone are probably at the cutting edge. But because of their senior seccess Tyrone college teams and underage teams all seem to play the Harte way and this may not be a good thing anymore. As well as that intensive underage training and coaching produces 'hot-house flowers' that peak at minor and that s it.

Harte has earned the right to choose when he wants to go himself. I can understand why he would want to stay on. But like all coaches the game changes around ye. The players do as well. Canavan and Cavanagh are once in a lifetime. Dooher, Jordan, McManamon , etc don t grow on trees either.
Post by: stew on July 15, 2014, 03:12:52 AM
Swings and roundabouts, Tyrone will be back just like Down were after the glorious 90's. :)

Cant wait!
Post by: T Fearon on July 15, 2014, 04:33:32 AM
Yes but Tyrone are finished. I fear they're in for a 20 year period of Harte going and coming back, as Art Mc Crory did every two years, to replace numerous successors who weren't given time to develop.

Black card rules were designed to address Tyrone's cynicism and this has led largely to their demise.
Post by: omaghjoe on July 15, 2014, 07:56:14 AM
I am fairly well convinced this is the end for Tyrone. We are unlikely to have a championship win again in Ulster unless we get a lucky break playing Fermanagh or Antrim an off day. The qualifiers will be a similar story praying for trips to Leitrim and Waterford so we can get a third day out. There is even reports that Kilkenny county board may even be considering taking up the inter county mantle again as there could be a competitive game for their footballers now.

Thats only the beginning tho, football is likely to become a minority sport in the county with cricket spreading out from Sion and gradually taking over the GAA pitches. The signs are already there we used to have clubhouses now we have pavilions. On Sunday afternoons the cheers and shouts of GAA will be replaced by Leather on willow in the mountains of Greencastle and along the lough shore.

I can see it all so clearly now....Judgement day has arrived!
Post by: Main Street on July 15, 2014, 11:08:13 AM
It's a bit of a bummer alright considering the fanfare around the biggest and best €8m centre of excellence.

Post by: seafoid on July 15, 2014, 11:22:55 AM
Being beaten by the apple munchers in r2 of the qualifiers and subsequently taunted by Tony F from his Rome conference of the Brothers of the Immaculate Sean Brady, frankly, is sordid. And things will get a lot worse before they get worse. Not only  will Throne not have the players, they'll miss out on the evolution of the defensive blanket strangle your turnover matchup tactics and even be bypassed by Roscommon. The Gaaboard experience will turn into a nightmare of systematic insults by Orange midgets and over the top Syferian bombast.

For what happens next Tyronies should refer to the reference work viz " Meath football 2000-2010 it was all boylan's fault" , M3 publishing.
Post by: Fuzzman on July 15, 2014, 11:24:02 AM
I fear Fearon finally speaks the truth. The black card has signalled Tyrone sentenced to death.

(http://gaabanter.ie/wp-content/uploads/2013/08/BQp7z3qCQAEZu3y.jpg)

(http://www.cricketireland.ie/images/sized/images/uploads/news_images/ONeills_sponsors_of_Irish_Cricket_Launch_Web-340x291-340x291.jpg)
Post by: ballymac on July 15, 2014, 12:45:34 PM
as contenders for an All Ireland tyrone were finished a number of years ago. The media talked Tyrone's chances up but as it has been said on here we have lost some of the best players that ever played for Tyrone and indeed ever played the game. These players are not easily replaced and a bit of regrouping will be required. Will it be Mickey Harte that does it I can't say.

How long will it be before we have a similar team? well how long will the present championship format be in place? What other changes will take place regarding rules?
Tyrone enjoyed success in the last decade and current club players will have to step up to the mark if they want to follow in the wake of the great Tyrone team of the noughties. I just hope it will be sooner rather than later.
Post by: orangeman on July 15, 2014, 02:04:13 PM
Quote from: ballymac on July 15, 2014, 12:45:34 PM
as contenders for an All Ireland tyrone were finished a number of years ago. The media talked Tyrone's chances up but as it has been said on here we have lost some of the best players that ever played for Tyrone and indeed ever played the game. These players are not easily replaced and a bit of regrouping will be required. Will it be Mickey Harte that does it I can't say.

How long will it be before we have a similar team? well how long will the present championship format be in place? What other changes will take place regarding rules?
Tyrone enjoyed success in the last decade and current club players will have to step up to the mark if they want to follow in the wake of the great Tyrone team of the noughties. I just hope it will be sooner rather than later.

Never.
Post by: seafoid on July 15, 2014, 02:25:56 PM
Whenever Throne do return they'll be able to go all the way on the first go, like Down . Unlike Cork or Laois or Schalke 04. The real deal, the greatest gift of Mickey Harte to the county.
Post by: muppet on July 15, 2014, 05:36:39 PM
Quote from: seafoid on July 15, 2014, 02:25:56 PM
Whenever Throne do return they'll be able to go all the way on the first go, like Down . Unlike Cork or Laois or Schalke 04. The real deal, the greatest gift of Mickey Harte to the county.

Cavan?
Post by: seafoid on July 15, 2014, 05:52:44 PM
Quote from: muppet on July 15, 2014, 05:36:39 PM

Cavan?
only if the economic conditions of the 40s return. Won't happen for a while. Mayo Ros and Cavan were all successful pre TP Whitaker.
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on July 15, 2014, 08:15:08 PM
Quote from: seafoid on July 15, 2014, 05:52:44 PM
Quote from: muppet on July 15, 2014, 05:36:39 PM

Cavan?
only if the economic conditions of the 40s return. Won't happen for a while. Mayo Ros and Cavan were all successful pre TP Whitaker.

Kildare football could really do with another Irish Civil War breaking out.
Post by: dec on July 15, 2014, 09:00:05 PM
That great friend of Tyrone football, Pat Spillane has given his opinion.

http://www.rte.ie/sport/gaa/football/2014/0715/630955-tyrone/

RTÉ football analyst Pat Spillane says it's time for Mickey Harte to step down as Tyrone boss.

The Red Hands exited the All-Ireland championship on Sunday following a three-point qualifier loss to Ulster rivals Armagh in Omagh. Harte, who has been in charge of the county's senior team since 2002, has won three All-Ireland titles with the last of those coming six years ago. And former Kerry footballer Spillane believes the time is right for the Errigal Ciarán clubman to step aside. He told RTÉ Sport: "I really do believe that it's time for a change, fresh face, fresh voice, new ideas and [to] rebuild. "There's no doubt about it, he's been an unbelievable manager, one of the top five, maybe the top three Gaelic football managers of all time. "[He's won] three All-Ireland titles, brought Tyrone from nowhere. He owes nothing to Tyrone, he's been absolutely brilliant.

"Since 2008 this is the sixth year [and] aside from the league performances, it's been fairly underwhelming. They've been poor in the Ulster Championship and they've suffered some fair hammerings from the likes of Dublin and Kerry. "Tyrone played Kerry in Killarney [in the Allianz League in March], they suffered the biggest drubbing I think they ever had under Mickey Harte and that team that played in the second half – they threw in the towel and I've never ever seen a Tyrone team to throw in the towel under Mickey Harte."

Spillane reckons that Harte, like former Kerry boss Mick O'Dwyer, has remained too loyal to the players that brought him success in the last decade. He added: "One of the problems with a successful manager, and it was a problem with Mick O'Dwyer in Kerry as well, is that you remain loyal to the guys who delivered All-Ireland titles. "And I remember with Mick O'Dywer, he remained loyal to all of us when we were past our sell-by date and the problem was that in '86, because he had remained loyal to so many of the old guys with lots of mileage, youngsters weren't being brought through.

"Mickey, for about three years, remained loyal to the guys that had brought All-Ireland titles to him. "The problem with that was a) they weren't succeeding and b) it meant that new talent wasn't being brought through to the senior ranks and what's happening now is that the rebuilding that should have started four years ago is going on now and they're in transition and they're struggling.

"What's that oft-repeated quotation - that the career of politicians and sports people always ends in failure - and that's certainly true."
Post by: rrhf on July 15, 2014, 10:37:10 PM
I hope mic key proves him wrong.
Post by: cadhlancian on July 15, 2014, 11:04:18 PM
Quote from: moysider on July 15, 2014, 01:48:22 AM
Tyrone had a Golden Age and probably maxed in that time, and that's a compliment. They won 3 AIs in a tough time. Kerry had arguably one of their best ever teams during 2 of those wins.

Harte is up there with Heffo, Micko and Boylan as a manager that caterpulted a team to another level.

There were savage players in Tyrone in 70s and 80s. McKenna, McGuigan, Donaghy, McCabe, O Hagan. Art McCrory did his bit and Tyrone were very unlucky/robbed in 95. I think Harte did a great job taking the 'luck' aspect out of things - which of course Micko and Heffo had done earlier by making sure they were better prepared than anybody else.

Like others that had success (including my neighbours Galway), Tyrone fans and the media as well will find it hard to let go. Every McCurry and Coney will be the new Canavan and O Neill but they won t be.

Tyrone also heve to look at their game. Underage and in schools Tyrone are probably at the cutting edge. But because of their senior seccess Tyrone college teams and underage teams all seem to play the Harte way and this may not be a good thing anymore. As well as that intensive underage training and coaching produces 'hot-house flowers' that peak at minor and that s it.

Harte has earned the right to choose when he wants to go himself. I can understand why he would want to stay on. But like all coaches the game changes around ye. The players do as well. Canavan and Cavanagh are once in a lifetime. Dooher, Jordan, McManamon , etc don t grow on trees either.
Harte has earned the right to choose when he wants to go himself.  That sentiment really is the problem in itself . He has been a great servant to tyrone football over the last 20 years, but he has been medicocre for the best part of 5 years now. He hasn't earned the right to do anything, thanks for the memories, but bye bye!
Post by: Armaghtothebone on July 15, 2014, 11:12:33 PM
Are Tyrone finished?

If wishing made it so(//)
Post by: nrico2006 on July 21, 2014, 10:56:18 AM
Quote from: cadhlancian on July 15, 2014, 11:04:18 PM

Harte has earned the right to choose when he wants to go himself.  That sentiment really is the problem in itself . He has been a great servant to tyrone football over the last 20 years, but he has been medicocre for the best part of 5 years now. He hasn't earned the right to do anything, thanks for the memories, but bye bye!

Harte was ruthless when it came to team/squad selection, now the CB have to be ruthless with him.  There is no room for sentiment.  His record prior to winning Ulsters and All Irelands should not come into the equation when judging the performances of the past 5 or 6 seasons. 
Post by: orangeman on July 21, 2014, 11:12:39 AM
Quote from: nrico2006 on July 21, 2014, 10:56:18 AM

Harte was ruthless when it came to team/squad selection, now the CB have to be ruthless with him.  There is no room for sentiment.  His record prior to winning Ulsters and All Irelands should not come into the equation when judging the performances of the past 5 or 6 seasons.

Tyrone ran Dublin to a point in last year's NFL final and were unlucky in last year's AI semi final.

Most counties would give anything to be up there in that company.
Post by: J OGorman on July 21, 2014, 11:18:48 AM
Quote from: orangeman on July 21, 2014, 11:12:39 AM

Tyrone ran Dublin to a point in last year's NFL final and were unlucky in last year's AI semi final.

correct. a good crew of top players come through at the same time, success like never before is brought to the county spearheaded by Harte. Alot of you Tryonies have completely lost the run of yourselves. Nrico, who is your alternative? Malachy O'Rourke? Was McIver like in his lack of tactics yesterday against Donegal. Canavan? Couldnt lace Harte's boots in the world of inter county management. Anyone else come to mind?
Post by: Christmas Lights on July 21, 2014, 11:23:56 AM
Quote from: dec on July 15, 2014, 09:00:05 PM
That great friend of Tyrone football, Pat Spillane has given his opinion.

http://www.rte.ie/sport/gaa/football/2014/0715/630955-tyrone/

RTÉ football analyst Pat Spillane says it's time for Mickey Harte to step down as Tyrone boss.

The Red Hands exited the All-Ireland championship on Sunday following a three-point qualifier loss to Ulster rivals Armagh in Omagh. Harte, who has been in charge of the county's senior team since 2002, has won three All-Ireland titles with the last of those coming six years ago. And former Kerry footballer Spillane believes the time is right for the Errigal Ciarán clubman to step aside. He told RTÉ Sport: "I really do believe that it's time for a change, fresh face, fresh voice, new ideas and [to] rebuild. "There's no doubt about it, he's been an unbelievable manager, one of the top five, maybe the top three Gaelic football managers of all time. "[He's won] three All-Ireland titles, brought Tyrone from nowhere. He owes nothing to Tyrone, he's been absolutely brilliant.

"Since 2008 this is the sixth year [and] aside from the league performances, it's been fairly underwhelming. They've been poor in the Ulster Championship and they've suffered some fair hammerings from the likes of Dublin and Kerry. "Tyrone played Kerry in Killarney [in the Allianz League in March], they suffered the biggest drubbing I think they ever had under Mickey Harte and that team that played in the second half – they threw in the towel and I've never ever seen a Tyrone team to throw in the towel under Mickey Harte."

Spillane reckons that Harte, like former Kerry boss Mick O'Dwyer, has remained too loyal to the players that brought him success in the last decade. He added: "One of the problems with a successful manager, and it was a problem with Mick O'Dwyer in Kerry as well, is that you remain loyal to the guys who delivered All-Ireland titles. "And I remember with Mick O'Dywer, he remained loyal to all of us when we were past our sell-by date and the problem was that in '86, because he had remained loyal to so many of the old guys with lots of mileage, youngsters weren't being brought through.

"Mickey, for about three years, remained loyal to the guys that had brought All-Ireland titles to him. "The problem with that was a) they weren't succeeding and b) it meant that new talent wasn't being brought through to the senior ranks and what's happening now is that the rebuilding that should have started four years ago is going on now and they're in transition and they're struggling.

"What's that oft-repeated quotation - that the career of politicians and sports people always ends in failure - and that's certainly true."

A pretty good interview with Spillane for once.  I find it hard to argue with any of that.
Post by: God14 on July 21, 2014, 11:39:35 AM
Quote from: J OGorman on July 21, 2014, 11:18:48 AM

correct. a good crew of top players come through at the same time, success like never before is brought to the county spearheaded by Harte. Alot of you Tryonies have completely lost the run of yourselves. Nrico, who is your alternative? Malachy O'Rourke? Was McIver like in his lack of tactics yesterday against Donegal. Canavan? Couldnt lace Harte's boots in the world of inter county management. Anyone else come to mind?

J O'Gorman - I agree with a lot of what you say. However its undeniable that Hartes management was an absolute farce this year. 33 different players used in a brief championship campaign, 26 of them starters. He's been in the job 12 years should he not have an idea on a settled team?
Post by: nrico2006 on July 21, 2014, 11:47:47 AM

Its not up to me to pick a new manager, there are people with more expertise in that area.  There are good managers and potentially good ones out there, its not always just that obvious.  Jim McGuiness' brilliance wasn't obvious before he took the Donegal senior team, neither was Jim Gavins or even O'Rourke.  Monaghan might have been caught out tactically yesterday, but they look better conditioned and play with more intensity than this Tyrone team has for a long time.  Harte has a template he likes his teams to play to, and this hasn't changed much in years while football in general has.  Harte airs on the side of caution, how often do you see a Tyrone corner forward ever try and beat their men and make a run for goal?  They are restricted by Hartes tactic of gathering the ball and recycling it to the midfielders and wing forwards.  Anybody who says the talent is not in Tyrone is deluded.  Tyrone have a huge pool of players to pick from, and are consistently competing for titles at colleges and minor level.  Management is where the problem lies.  Harte has his favourites as was mentioned a few weeks back, some players get a few games without setting the world alight yet the potentially special players like Coney or O'Neill might get a half or fifty minutes if they are lucky.   
Post by: cadhlancian on July 21, 2014, 10:51:16 PM

the ultimate childish way to look at it!
"Who would do better"?? Are you serious? Maybe the person replacing him isn't as good. So what! His results of nearly a decade ago are nothing to do with the current teams performance. This is about football in general in Tyrone, it shouldn't be about Mickey Harte. He needs to go, and no, I don't know who could/ would replace him. That is irrelevant .
Post by: Wildweasel74 on July 21, 2014, 11:11:56 PM
Tyrone are with Mickey Harte in the same situation Boylan was with Meath and Mick O`D with Kerry, they stayed on after their good teams faded, didn't bring in enough new players when the older players were still at the height of there powers to better blood them, the opposition has got stronger while our own team has faded, Donegal more than most are responsible for Tyrone Demise, they just couldn't get by them, Boylan should have went a few years before he did, same for Micko , with reputations forever enhanced, whats the point Mickey Harte staying on another few years as the slide continues.

A new manager didnt bring back Glory to Meath or Kerry, in fact they got worse. A new Tyrone manager will not improve the situation but fact is you are delaying the inevitable. Accept the next 4/5yrs will be lean ones and build a team for the future. Kerry have started rebuilding and that's with no decent minor  teams coming through, and with Cooper back next yr and Spillane Nephew likely to be on board Kerry are already on their way back.
Post by: barelegs on July 21, 2014, 11:38:59 PM
The Tyrone situation is different to the Boylan and O'Dwyer one in that there was no real underage success to build with in Kerry or Meath. Tyrone have had success at schools and minor level. They are producing players, they're just getting lost somewhere between minor and under 21.

I don't think Tyrone need to spend 4 years in the wilderness. Look were Donegal were when Jim McGuinness took over. He had them contesting for All Ireland in relatively short period of time. The personel at any potential new manager's disposal is certainly no worse than McGuinness had. Then again is there another Jim McGuinness waiting in the wings?

Donegal are the antithesis of Tyrone in terms of preparation as far as I'm concerned. They're physically stronger, something most of the Tyrone panel admit needs to change, and they have a defensive structure and definable gameplan. Both physical conditioning and a installing a gameplan are management issues as far as I'm concerned.

Given the way in which Mickey handled the Tyrone team this year, I don't think he should return. Teams selections were erratic and as the season went on he appeared increasingly desperate. The team selection for the first Down game was absolutely bizarre and the subsequent chopping and changing didn't do the players any favours.

Perhaps the major issue (one that I've picked up from a couple of county players privately) is that the younger players can't warm to his style of management. For want of better words, he's too detached and aloof.
Post by: Wildweasel74 on July 21, 2014, 11:52:31 PM
but the point with Donegal is they have a really good system, i would say McGlynn, McGee, Lacey, and Murphy and maybe McFadden are really good players but if they played open and direct they get showed up as the basis of their strength is a defensive system  not ability of players, they played like anybody else they do well to make the last 8. Tyrone i couldnt see go down that route of defensive football to cover limitations, their supporters wouldnt stand for playing like that.
Post by: barelegs on July 22, 2014, 12:08:48 AM
That's my point exactly. I want Tyrone to have a defensive system! Some sort of strategy. Not this man to man suicide that they persisted with this year in spite of it being shown up time and again. We got to an All Ireland semi-final with a sweeper of sorts last season. Then we ditch it this year?

It's a results driven business, not an entertainment business. I couldn't care less how Tyrone win, as long as they do. Getting out played by Monaghan and Armagh in the championship, shouldn't be acceptable to any Tyrone fan.
Post by: BennyHarp on July 22, 2014, 08:48:34 AM
Quote from: barelegs on July 21, 2014, 11:38:59 PM
The Tyrone situation is different to the Boylan and O'Dwyer one in that there was no real underage success to build with in Kerry or Meath. Tyrone have had success at schools and minor level. They are producing players, they're just getting lost somewhere between minor and under 21.

Really? Where Kerry and Meath not producing underage talent during their respective golden years?
Post by: J OGorman on July 22, 2014, 09:14:32 AM
Quote from: cadhlancian on July 21, 2014, 10:51:16 PM

the ultimate childish way to look at it!
"Who would do better"?? Are you serious? Maybe the person replacing him isn't as good. So what! His results of nearly a decade ago are nothing to do with the current teams performance. This is about football in general in Tyrone, it shouldn't be about Mickey Harte. He needs to go, and no, I don't know who could/ would replace him. That is irrelevant .

childish? :-)

Micky, dont let the door hit you on the way out......
Post by: barelegs on July 22, 2014, 09:25:54 AM
Quote from: BennyHarp on July 22, 2014, 08:48:34 AM
Quote from: barelegs on July 21, 2014, 11:38:59 PM

Really? Where Kerry and Meath not producing underage talent during their respective golden years?

Well Meath won an All Ireland Minor in 1992 and Under 21 in 1993. They haven't won an All Ireland Minor or Under 21 title since. Boylan left in 2005.

Kerry won All Ireland minors titles in 1975 and 1980. The 1975 team (if memory serve me right helped form part of that golden era) mostly helped by winning under 21 titles in 1976 and 1977. The 1980 team never really got an opportunity until after 1986. They won the 1988 minor All Ireland but it took until the 1994 minor team started to come through that they began to remake their mark. Three under 21 titles in 4 years in the 1990s helped!

Boylan certainly had no underage success to build with. Kerry had some success (1980) but Micko never really integrated this team into the senior team.

Tyrone won their last All Ireland in 2008. They won the 2008 and 2010 minor titles, the 2012 Ulster minor and reached the 2013 AI minor final. There are/ were players coming through to build with if they are handled correctly or if they had been handled correctly
Post by: haveaharp on July 22, 2014, 09:42:25 AM
Quote from: barelegs on July 22, 2014, 12:08:48 AM
Getting out played by Monaghan and Armagh in the championship, shouldn't be acceptable to any Tyrone fan.

Why ? are you some sort of superior beings or something ?
Post by: BennyHarp on July 22, 2014, 10:00:11 AM
Maybe the problem is that our development squads are producing decent squads of minors to compete at that level without developing individual talent which will make an impact at senior level. Where was our Canavan, Cush, Cavlan, McAnallen or Cavanagh of our most recent minor squads! We have had squads of good players playing a system but perhaps lacking the talent to make a major impact at senior. We haven't produced a specialist corner back, full back, centre half back, midfielder or full forward in years. Loads of identikit, excellent ball players but not what we need to make an impact at senior level.
Post by: barelegs on July 22, 2014, 10:06:53 AM
Quote from: haveaharp on July 22, 2014, 09:42:25 AM
Quote from: barelegs on July 22, 2014, 12:08:48 AM
Getting out played by Monaghan and Armagh in the championship, shouldn't be acceptable to any Tyrone fan.

Why ? are you some sort of superior beings or something ?

I didn't say getting beat was unacceptable, I said getting out played was. I can stomach getting beat if it looks like we've played to our potential. Why should we settle for mediocrity? If you aspire to be a top team, then getting out played (and well beaten) by Armagh and Monaghan should be a wake up call.
Post by: headoftheroad on July 22, 2014, 10:08:27 AM
"Getting out played by Monaghan and Armagh in the championship, shouldn't be acceptable to any Tyrone fan."

One word to sum up that statement - ARROGANT

Post by: barelegs on July 22, 2014, 10:27:35 AM
Quote from: headoftheroad on July 22, 2014, 10:08:27 AM
"Getting out played by Monaghan and Armagh in the championship, shouldn't be acceptable to any Tyrone fan."

One word to sum up that statement - ARROGANT

So be it. Would it be acceptable in Kerry or Dublin? That's what Tyrone should be aiming for
Post by: Walter Cronc on July 22, 2014, 10:29:38 AM
Wise up barelegs, comparing Tyrone to Kerry & Dublin!

The GAA wasnt invented in 2003!
Post by: orangeman on July 22, 2014, 10:36:17 AM
Quote from: Walter Cronc on July 22, 2014, 10:29:38 AM

This is a big part of the problem. The expectation level in Tyrone is huge. Yes, Tyrone had a deadly run in the noughties. But that special team is gone now and Tyrone are back to where they were - competing with the rest of the teams in Ulster and hoping to win an Ulster every now and again. Tyrone have no more right to be beating Armagh or Monaghan than anyone else. Tyrone need to take a step back. Tyrone apparently are in the process of embarking on a plan to see what is going wrong and why they are "underachieving" which to me, whilst they're entitled to do that, appears to me that they've lost track a little and almost feel that they're entitled to more than they're getting at the minute in terms of results.
Post by: Walter Cronc on July 22, 2014, 10:37:25 AM
Quote from: orangeman on July 22, 2014, 10:36:17 AM

This is a big part of the problem. The expectation level in Tyrone is huge. Yes, Tyrone had a deadly run in the noughties. But that special team is gone now and Tyrone are back to where they were - competing with the rest of the teams in Ulster and hoping to win an Ulster every now and again. Tyrone have no more right to be beating Armagh or Monaghan than anyone else. Tyrone need to take a step back. Tyrone apparently are in the process of embarking on a plan to see what is going wrong and why they are "underachieving" which to me, whilst they're entitled to do that, appears to me that they've lost track a little and almost feel that they're entitled to more than they're getting at the minute in terms of results.

Nail on the head as usual Orangeman!
Post by: barelegs on July 22, 2014, 10:41:00 AM
It's a matter of what you're aspiring to.

If you're happy enough to win All Irelands every 30 or 40 years you might be happy enough getting beat in the Ulster quarter final and Second Qualifier round every other year.

I didn't say Tyrone were up with the Kerry's and Dublin's but they should certainly be aspiring to be. If you haven't got that ambition what's the point.

If having some ambition for Tyrone comes across as arrogant then so be it. Accepting you're a middle of the road (which Tyrone most certainly were this year) shouldn't be what a county the size of Tyrone aspire to
Post by: barelegs on July 22, 2014, 10:42:53 AM
Quote from: Walter Cronc on July 22, 2014, 10:37:25 AM
Quote from: orangeman on July 22, 2014, 10:36:17 AM

Nail on the head as usual Orangeman!

I appreciate the raised expectations. I don't think we're in a position to win All Irelands at the minute. We should be competing in Ulster however. We should be in the running for the last 8 every year. This year at all levels came up a long way short of that
Post by: Walter Cronc on July 22, 2014, 10:43:27 AM
Quote from: barelegs on July 22, 2014, 10:41:00 AM

If you're happy enough to win All Irelands every 30 or 40 years you might be happy enough getting beat in the Ulster quarter final and Second Qualifier round every other year.

I didn't say Tyrone were up with the Kerry's and Dublin's but they should certainly be aspiring to be. If you haven't got that ambition what's the point.

If having some ambition for Tyrone comes across as arrogant then so be it. Accepting you're a middle of the road (which Tyrone most certainly were this year) shouldn't be what a county the size of Tyrone aspire to

Well if you had ambition and ruthlessness in your board then Harte would have been replaced 2-3 years ago!

Post by: NaomhBridAbú on July 23, 2014, 11:53:27 AM
Quote from: Walter Cronc on July 22, 2014, 10:43:27 AM

Well if you had ambition and ruthlessness in your board then Harte would have been replaced 2-3 years ago!

Are you smoking crack?
Why would the Tyrone CB seek to replace a man who had guided a team in transition to an All Ireland Semi and who lost the national league final by a point to the eventual all-ireland champions?
Post by: tc_manchester on July 23, 2014, 03:38:26 PM
Quote from: NaomhBridAbú on July 23, 2014, 11:53:27 AM

Are you smoking crack?
Why would the Tyrone CB seek to replace a man who had guided a team in transition to an All Ireland Semi and who lost the national league final by a point to the eventual all-ireland champions?
How long does transition last for? We're now the 4th best team in our province and this years team selection was all over the shop. Mickey seemed to be second guessing himself all year but especially with his first selection for the Down game. I think he has 1 more year but if we have the same issues next year then it will be time for Mickey to give up the management of the county team. There is no reason why he can't take on another role within the county as a Director of Football.
Post by: WT4E on July 23, 2014, 03:40:40 PM
Quote from: tc_manchester on July 23, 2014, 03:38:26 PM

Are you smoking crack?
How long does transition last for? We're now the 4th best team in our province and this years team selection was all over the shop. Mickey seemed to be second guessing himself all year but especially with his first selection for the Down game. I think he has 1 more year but if we have the same issues next year then it will be time for Mickey to give up the management of the county team. There is no reason why he can't take on another role within the county as a Director of Football.

Maybe at Man Utd - I doubt there would be such a role in Tyrone GAA!
Post by: NaomhBridAbú on July 24, 2014, 01:55:10 PM
Quote from: tc_manchester on July 23, 2014, 03:38:26 PM

Are you smoking crack?

What i said was in response to the so called lack of ambitions from the TCB. They can be accused of many things but cant be accused of lacking ambition.

i'd be equally concerned about the unsettled team, Ronan O'Neill not playing, Stephen O'NEill starting and the complete lack of fire versus Armagh. But I think its not as bad a picture as the early exit would suggest.

I think that it SHOULD BE a county board decision regarding the managers position, and not the manager - regardless of who that person is.
Post by: skeog on July 24, 2014, 09:25:55 PM
is liam donnelly not the current director of football knows his football
Post by: Dire Ear on July 25, 2014, 10:32:25 AM
Simple answer to the question -        Yes ,  finished for at least 5-6 years from U-18's up.  No pride in getting or wearing a Tyrone jersey anymore I'm afraid  :'(
Post by: WT4E on July 25, 2014, 12:13:37 PM
Quote from: skeog on July 24, 2014, 09:25:55 PM
is liam donnelly not the current director of football knows his football

Is there really such a role? "Director of Football"  :-\
Post by: nrico2006 on July 25, 2014, 02:22:17 PM
One thing that is very obvious is the lack of aggression and fight from the current Tyrone team.  All too nice.  A few players with a bit of badness in them is a must. 
Post by: NaomhBridAbú on July 28, 2014, 12:35:50 PM
Quote from: nrico2006 on July 25, 2014, 02:22:17 PM
One thing that is very obvious is the lack of aggression and fight from the current Tyrone team.  All too nice.  A few players with a bit of badness in them is a must.

Agree completely - in 03, 05, 08 the winning teams had a "take no shite" mentality...thats not evident throughout this team at all
Post by: Syferus on July 28, 2014, 01:15:39 PM
Quote from: NaomhBridAbú on July 28, 2014, 12:35:50 PM

Agree completely - in 03, 05, 08 the winning teams had a "take no shite" mentality...thats not evident throughout this team at all

That team had plenty of hard-men last season. The problem is same team ethic and skill (despite underage success, somehow) isn't there. A few chancers acting the bully won't fix that.
Post by: NaomhBridAbú on July 29, 2014, 11:16:13 AM
Quote from: Syferus on July 28, 2014, 01:15:39 PM
Quote from: NaomhBridAbú on July 28, 2014, 12:35:50 PM

That team had plenty of hard-men last season. The problem is same team ethic and skill (despite underage success, somehow) isn't there. A few chancers acting the bully won't fix that.

Plenty of hard men last year?
I wasn't suggesting that the 03,05,08 teams had "hard men" - there is a difference between the two...last year Tyrone punched above their weight...this year there are too many men interested in how they look in the tyrone shirt rather than how they perform in it
Post by: yellowcard on July 29, 2014, 11:37:26 AM
Misleading thread title this. It should read is Mickey Harte and that generation of Tyrone footballers finished?

I do believe that they are. Harte has stayed too long and players in Tyrone county set up have been listening to the same voice for over a decade now. Players like Sean Cavanagh and Conor Gormley have never had another inter county manager and that is not healthy especially considering the lack of success of the last few years. Harte appears to be a stubborn man though and I don't expect him to leave nor do I expect the Tyrone county board to get rid of him. The least he expects is to choose when to leave the post after the success he brought to the county.

Managers like Sean Boylan and Pete McGrath were also unsackable but stayed on too long hoping to rekindle one last tilt at glory. It rarely happens and Harte would leave the job now with his reputation intact if he stepped down now and allowed somebody else the chance to begin the rebuilding process.
Post by: trileacman on July 29, 2014, 01:36:15 PM
Meath, Galway, Armagh and Down are all still wandering the wilderness. This idea that we sack Harte and "rebuilding" commences is just bullshit, stagnation and decline are the more likely options here.

Rebuilding is just a bullshit word. Admit that we are in decline just the same as all those teams mentioned above where plus a few more. Harte is one of the greatest managers of all time, the idea that we have another manager who'll be as successful as him waiting in the wings is laughable.

The glory years are gone lads and the list of replacements are so poor that IMO we stand as good a chance with Harte turning it around as anybody else. Would anyone really like to see Canavan get the gig after him holding Errigal back and seeing Fermanagh tanked playing shite ball? Cassidy is the pre-eminent club candidate and has already been found wanting at IC level.  Porter was a background man in the drunken heyday of Donegal GAA when we were wiping them off the park. Donnelly and Munroe couldn't make anything of U21 level and have achieved nothing since. Who else are you guys advocating.

Meath, Armagh, Down have all tried this and in the end it was change for the sake of change. I wouldn't see Harte out until he doesn't believe he can cut it anymore or we have a decent man lined up.
Post by: Man Marker on July 29, 2014, 01:44:27 PM
Kernan was with Armagh and had an unsuccessful stint before returning and being successful 6/7 years later. Fermanagh and Derry had/have nothing so I don't think its an accurate judgement. Harte inherited a supremely gifted group of footballers who had won everything at underage, hardly like for like when Canavan and Cassidy took on their county jobs. A decent bit of analysis wouldn't go a miss trileacman.
Post by: yellowcard on July 29, 2014, 01:45:02 PM
Quote from: trileacman on July 29, 2014, 01:36:15 PM
Meath, Galway, Armagh and Down are all still wandering the wilderness. This idea that we sack Harte and "rebuilding" commences is just bullshit, stagnation and decline are the more likely options here.

Rebuilding is just a bullshit word. Admit that we are in decline just the same as all those teams mentioned above where plus a few more. Harte is one of the greatest managers of all time, the idea that we have another manager who'll be as successful as him waiting in the wings is laughable.

The glory years are gone lads and the list of replacements are so poor that IMO we stand as good a chance with Harte turning it around as anybody else. Would anyone really like to see Canavan get the gig after him holding Errigal back and seeing Fermanagh tanked playing shite ball? Cassidy is the pre-eminent club candidate and has already been found wanting at IC level.  Porter was a background man in the drunken heyday of Donegal GAA when we were wiping them off the park. Donnelly and Munroe couldn't make anything of U21 level and have achieved nothing since. Who else are you guys advocating.

Meath, Armagh, Down have all tried this and in the end it was change for the sake of change. I wouldn't see Harte out until he doesn't believe he can cut it anymore or we have a decent man lined up.

An interesting take on Canavan's credentials from Tyrone supporters. I would have thought looking on from the outside that he would have been the obvious choice considering his status in the game and his experience in management. He done no worse or better with Fermanagh than anyone would have expected considering the resources at his disposal. I would have thought he was the stand out candidate.   
Post by: screenexile on July 29, 2014, 01:48:46 PM

Tyrone need to be breaking their hole's getting Malachy O'Rourke in...

Proven at Inter County level as someone who gets the best out of his team!
Post by: Man Marker on July 29, 2014, 01:54:44 PM
Why would O'Rouke currently leave Monaghan to go to Tyrone, backward step?
Post by: Man Marker on July 29, 2014, 01:55:54 PM
Quote from: yellowcard on July 29, 2014, 01:45:02 PM

An interesting take on Canavan's credentials from Tyrone supporters. I would have thought looking on from the outside that he would have been the obvious choice considering his status in the game and his experience in management. He done no worse or better with Fermanagh than anyone would have expected considering the resources at his disposal. I would have thought he was the stand out candidate.

Do you know Canavan has not a championship of any type on his CV
Post by: Pat The Root on July 29, 2014, 01:59:35 PM
We don't want anybody to be taking the pointy chin away from Clonoe. Don't think he would go anyway. He says himself that a tyrone championship is no good for us this year, it's ulster he's after.
The Derry people says that he was no good of a county manager , caused an awful lot of rows but we think he's good up here.
Post by: screenexile on July 29, 2014, 02:05:20 PM
Quote from: Man Marker on July 29, 2014, 01:54:44 PM

Monaghan are not going to be around for much longer with Finlay/Clerkin/Lennon/Gollogly/Mone/Corey all heading in the wrong direction in terms of age... also O'Rourke is a Tyrone man!
Post by: Syferus on July 29, 2014, 02:09:58 PM
To be fair they'll probably be better when Big Dick retires..
Post by: yellowcard on July 29, 2014, 02:10:05 PM
Quote from: screenexile on July 29, 2014, 02:05:20 PM

Monaghan are not going to be around for much longer with Finlay/Clerkin/Lennon/Gollogly/Mone/Corey all heading in the wrong direction in terms of age... also O'Rourke is a Tyrone man!

Is Malachy O'Rourke not a Fermanagh man?
Post by: yellowcard on July 29, 2014, 02:12:08 PM
Quote from: Man Marker on July 29, 2014, 01:55:54 PM
Quote from: yellowcard on July 29, 2014, 01:45:02 PM

Do you know Canavan has not a championship of any type on his CV

No I didn't, I don't know an awful lot about his managerial capabilities other than his stint with Fermanagh. I'm just curious that Tyrone supporters don't seem to rate him as a manager.
Post by: BennyHarp on July 29, 2014, 02:26:16 PM
Quote from: Man Marker on July 29, 2014, 01:44:27 PM
Kernan was with Armagh and had an unsuccessful stint before returning and being successful 6/7 years later. Fermanagh and Derry had/have nothing so I don't think its an accurate judgement. Harte inherited a supremely gifted group of footballers who had won everything at underage, hardly like for like when Canavan and Cassidy took on their county jobs. A decent bit of analysis wouldn't go a miss trileacman.

To be fair to Mickey, he was the man that bought those lads through from minor and U21 into senior. They just didn't arrive out of the blue and he certainly didn't inherit them, he was a major player in their development. Plenty of young players don't make it through from being good minors to outstanding seniors so Mickey must receive kudos for guiding so many of them through to the senior ranks so successfully.
Post by: Man Marker on July 29, 2014, 02:34:30 PM
Quote from: BennyHarp on July 29, 2014, 02:26:16 PM
Quote from: Man Marker on July 29, 2014, 01:44:27 PM

To be fair to Mickey, he was the man that bought those lads through from minor and U21 into senior. They just didn't arrive out of the blue and he certainly didn't inherit them, he was a major player in their development. Plenty of young players don't make it through from being good minors to outstanding seniors so Mickey must receive kudos for guiding so many of them through to the senior ranks so successfully.

Agree with that, but the point was he had supremely gifted players unlike the others mentioned.
Post by: blewuporstuffed on July 29, 2014, 02:35:13 PM
Quote from: yellowcard on July 29, 2014, 02:10:05 PM

He is indeed, but he has lived in Ballygawley for years and played for Errigal, i think he would have an Ulster Club medal with Errigal, but i could be wrong.
Post by: EC Unique on July 29, 2014, 02:35:49 PM
Quote from: yellowcard on July 29, 2014, 02:10:05 PM

Malachy is indeed a Fermanagh man but has lived in Ballygawley for the last 15-18 years. Played senior football here with us in Errigal. Was a fine player and an even better manager. I would love to see him taking the Tyrone job, and no it would not be a backward step.
Post by: smort on July 29, 2014, 02:38:37 PM
Malachy O'Rourke lives in Clogher, or he did a couple of years ago anyway. We were up selling tickets and he answered the door to us, bought a book and seemed like a very decent fella.
Post by: Man Marker on July 29, 2014, 02:54:17 PM

Monaghan have a strong underage, winning last years minor tiltle and being in the final the year before, so they have as good of players coming through as Tyrone. Also O Rourke is a Fermanagh man
Post by: nrico2006 on July 29, 2014, 03:23:00 PM
Quote from: Man Marker on July 29, 2014, 02:54:17 PM

Monaghan have a strong underage, winning last years minor tiltle and being in the final the year before, so they have as good of players coming through as Tyrone. Also O Rourke is a Fermanagh man

By winning one ulster minor and appearing in a final does not make the pedigree of player as good as what is coming through in Tyrone.  Tyrone are regularly winning Ulster minor titles and appearing in finals.  Until Monaghan sustain this effort there is no real comparison.
Post by: EC Unique on July 29, 2014, 03:36:36 PM
Quote from: smort on July 29, 2014, 02:38:37 PM
Malachy O'Rourke lives in Clogher, or he did a couple of years ago anyway. We were up selling tickets and he answered the door to us, bought a book and seemed like a very decent fella.

He was there for a while alright while his house in Ballygawley was getting done up after flood damage.
Post by: Christmas Lights on July 29, 2014, 03:39:36 PM
Quote from: EC Unique on July 29, 2014, 03:36:36 PM

He was there for a while alright while his house in Ballygawley was getting done up after flood damage.

Water damage to a house is a complete nightmare.  Any word how much it cost to fix it or did he go through insurance?  Would assume his house insurance would have covered that?
Post by: yellowcard on July 29, 2014, 04:14:16 PM
Quote from: Christmas Lights on July 29, 2014, 03:39:36 PM

Water damage to a house is a complete nightmare.  Any word how much it cost to fix it or did he go through insurance?  Would assume his house insurance would have covered that?

Funny how a thread about whether Tyrone are finished gets side tracked onto whether or not the flood in Malacy O'Rourke's house was covered by house insurance or not!

O'Rourke is a top class manager and his record probably makes him a potential candidate for any job that comes up in Ulster. With many Monaghan players in the twilight of their careers he may have got as much out of them as possible and he could well leave the job at the end of this season. 
Post by: Jinxy on July 29, 2014, 04:55:49 PM
So did the insurance cover it or what?
Post by: skeog on July 29, 2014, 05:00:54 PM
tyrone finished for the year mc kenna cup next
Post by: Minder on August 06, 2014, 07:32:31 PM
Tony Donnelly and Fergal McCann have left Tyrone management team
Post by: omagh_gael on August 06, 2014, 07:58:03 PM
Fair play to both these men for playing such large roles in delivering the greatest period of success in our football history. It's a pity these guys are bowing out after such a disappointing year, however,  I'm sure they'll have bucket loads of memories to take with them.

I await with interest to see who'll fill the gaps, judging by another internal post within the county (see Tyrone club thread) it doesn't appear that we'll have any major players throwing their hat in the ring.
Post by: armaghniac on August 06, 2014, 08:32:00 PM
Tyrone are like the Roman Empire in 420, it's all over, although some people think that such greatness will surely return and try to keep things going.
Post by: T Fearon on August 06, 2014, 10:56:50 PM
Mickey Harte is like Charlie Haughey sack everyone else but protect himself at all costs.

When Malachy O'Rourke's house was flooded had he no blanket (or sandbag even) defence? Did he go out through the back door?
Post by: omaghjoe on August 06, 2014, 11:05:45 PM

Was that the same time all those sheep got drown?
Post by: ONeill on August 06, 2014, 11:45:47 PM
FFS does anyone know if O'Rourke's insurance covered it or not?
Post by: T Fearon on August 07, 2014, 06:55:26 AM
Sure you get an emergency grant of £1000 from Stormont if you're flooded out.
Post by: Under Lights on August 07, 2014, 08:38:14 AM
MH is said to be wanting to take a more hands on approach to field based training himself. Rolling up the sleeves. He's bringing in a new S&C coach though.

O'Rourke's insurance policy did not include acts of God. He was raging with Canavan.
Post by: ONeill on August 07, 2014, 08:51:43 AM
£1000 grant would not cover much. I'd say O'Rourke would have extravagant taste.
Post by: INDIANA on August 07, 2014, 09:19:43 AM
Quote from: nrico2006 on July 29, 2014, 03:23:00 PM

By winning one ulster minor and appearing in a final does not make the pedigree of player as good as what is coming through in Tyrone.  Tyrone are regularly winning Ulster minor titles and appearing in finals.  Until Monaghan sustain this effort there is no real comparison.

Means nothing because after minor level Tyrone players seem to fly over the Bermuda Triangle.

Tyrone have done nothing at u21 for years
Post by: nrico2006 on August 08, 2014, 08:48:44 AM
Quote from: INDIANA on August 07, 2014, 09:19:43 AM
Quote from: nrico2006 on July 29, 2014, 03:23:00 PM

Means nothing because after minor level Tyrone players seem to fly over the Bermuda Triangle.

Tyrone have done nothing at u21 for years

Wining Minor titles means a lot, management has a key role in developing the players after minor level.  Mickey Harte has stalled the progression of a lot of talented minors coming through by either giving them few chances to impress or picking his favourites over them on a consistent basis.
Post by: rodney trotter on August 08, 2014, 11:15:18 AM
Mickey Harte has no involvement with Tyrone u21's so how can he be blamed for Tyrones poor performance at that level?
Post by: nrico2006 on August 08, 2014, 11:20:48 AM
The problem with Tyrone u-21s is not Hartes, but there is a problem with exceptional minors coming out of Tyrone and getting nowhere near the senior team for years whereas in any other County the transition is more seamless. 
Post by: rodney trotter on August 08, 2014, 11:24:09 AM
Or maybe you are over hyping some of the players that have came through from Minor? If they were that good they wouldn't be chopped and changed and show some consistency. Not all good minors make good Senior players
Post by: rosnarun on August 08, 2014, 11:39:22 AM
one Problem with minors , as regard the senior team , you are better off with one or two exceptional players  rather that 15/20 good ones but  its the latter type that win minor all Irelands
Post by: Tabloid Tim on August 08, 2014, 11:46:54 AM
I expect to see young Frank Burns in the senior set up next season.
Post by: nrico2006 on August 08, 2014, 11:58:12 AM
Tyrone have had some outstanding minors from the 2004/08/10 winning teams but the majority of them have been given very little chances in comparison to some of the favourites.  At that stage of your career there is a certain nourishment required, firing a boy on for a half with the intention of taking him off if he doesnt set the world alight is not the way to go, especially when there are numerous players on the team who perform poorly yet will last the game and start the next day.  Confidence is one of the major factors in making the step up.   
Post by: rodney trotter on August 08, 2014, 12:12:00 PM
Of that Tyrone team that played in the All Ireland Minor final last year, Conor Mckenna was probaly the one who you say would be a Senior star (minor this year too). Looks like he will be set for the AFl draft at end of September, be a big loss for ye if he is offered a deal
Post by: Keyser soze on August 08, 2014, 12:52:10 PM
Quote from: nrico2006 on August 08, 2014, 11:58:12 AM
Tyrone have had some outstanding minors from the 2004/08/10 winning teams but the majority of them have been given very little chances in comparison to some of the favourites.  At that stage of your career there is a certain nourishment required, firing a boy on for a half with the intention of taking him off if he doesnt set the world alight is not the way to go, especially when there are numerous players on the team who perform poorly yet will last the game and start the next day.  Confidence is one of the major factors in making the step up.   

I don't know much about this but would be interested to know who these players are and how theyre performing at senior level for club and/or county.
Post by: blewuporstuffed on August 11, 2014, 09:47:03 AM
Niall Sludden could be one to make the step up now that he seems to be on the way back from that leg break.
Post by: Minder on September 02, 2014, 11:06:13 PM
The Hunky Dorys sponsorship has finished

http://ulsterherald.com/2014/09/02/tyrone-gaa-must-find-new-sponsor-after-hunky-dorys-pull-out/
Post by: Over the Bar on September 02, 2014, 11:15:10 PM
QuoteThe problem with Tyrone u-21s is not Hartes, but there is a problem with exceptional minors coming out of Tyrone and getting nowhere near the senior team for years whereas in any other County the transition is more seamless.

In most of the top counties if 2 or 3 minors make it to senior that would be the height of it with Kerry probably the lowest of them. 
Post by: Bensars on September 02, 2014, 11:39:59 PM
Hunky Dorys pull out. No real suprise given the RTE boycot
http://ulsterherald.com/2014/09/02/tyrone-gaa-must-find-new-sponsor-after-hunky-dorys-pull-out/ (http://ulsterherald.com/2014/09/02/tyrone-gaa-must-find-new-sponsor-after-hunky-dorys-pull-out/)
Post by: omaghjoe on September 03, 2014, 04:46:12 AM
Quote from: Bensars on September 02, 2014, 11:39:59 PM
http://ulsterherald.com/2014/09/02/tyrone-gaa-must-find-new-sponsor-after-hunky-dorys-pull-out/ (http://ulsterherald.com/2014/09/02/tyrone-gaa-must-find-new-sponsor-after-hunky-dorys-pull-out/)
No bad thing, I was a bit uncomfortable with Hunky Dorys and their marketing campaign anyway. I don't think it is in keeping with the values of the GAA.
Hopefully the new jersey looks like something that is wearable, and a few people might actually buy it
Post by: WT4E on September 03, 2014, 09:38:13 AM
Quote from: omaghjoe on September 03, 2014, 04:46:12 AM
No bad thing, I was a bit uncomfortable with Hunky Dorys and their marketing campaign anyway. I don't think it is in keeping with the values of the GAA.
Hopefully the new jersey looks like something that is wearable, and a few people might actually buy it

Really??? Surely a corporate sponsor shelling out a six figure sum is actually keeping in line with the GAA's current values?
Post by: Sidney on September 03, 2014, 09:51:30 AM
Quote from: WT4E on September 03, 2014, 09:38:13 AM

Really??? Surely a corporate sponsor shelling out a six figure sum is actually keeping in line with the GAA's current values?
Hopefully for Tyrone supporters' sakes their next sponsor won't have to pay anything at all to have their name on the jersey.

The plus side of that would be that they could choose a sponsor whose logo doesn't look like a pool of piss.

Post by: nrico2006 on September 03, 2014, 10:23:37 AM

If its the marketing campaign involving the hunnies then I dunno how any straight man could find an issue with it.
Post by: omaghjoe on September 03, 2014, 05:53:28 PM
Quote from: nrico2006 on September 03, 2014, 10:23:37 AM

If its the marketing campaign involving the hunnies then I dunno how any straight man could find an issue with it.

Well if you would be happy enough for your sisters and daughters to be playing football like the way Hunky Dory promotes it that's fine.

I'm not and I dont think that the majority of straight or gay GAA men would be either.
Post by: Jinxy on September 03, 2014, 06:00:32 PM

At the time of the launch, Ray Coyle, CEO of Largo Foods said; "We are delighted to be entering into a partnership with one of the most professional organisations in the country. Our passion for crisps is mirrored in the management and team's passion for GAA in Tyrone and we look forward to building a great relationship over the next two years."

;D ;D
I love this sort of corporate gibberish.
Post by: Mike Sheehy on September 03, 2014, 06:04:28 PM
That 8 million centre of excellence is looking like a real white elephant now, especially with their sponsors dumping them. There will be fierce pressure coming from (and on)  the CB to get success to keep the money men interested. They need to do something fast. Mickey Harte's days are surely numbered.
Post by: anfheardubh on September 03, 2014, 09:47:30 PM
Quote from: Mike Sheehy on September 03, 2014, 06:04:28 PM
That 8 million centre of excellence is looking like a real white elephant now, especially with their sponsors dumping them. There will be fierce pressure coming from (and on)  the CB to get success to keep the money men interested. They need to do something fast. Mickey Harte's days are surely numbered.

Mike,  Hunky Dory dont want to sponsor them cause Mickey wont talk to RTE

Hunky Dory have a new flavour out now    SOUR GRAPES

Seriously the white elephant is a joke , have been told that professional soccer clubs dont have as big a set up as this

Money should have been spent on upgrading the dump that is Healy Park, a rubbish county ground

Tyrone need a new crisp start to 2015 and concentrate on ladies football , cause the slide is on !!!!!!!!!!!!
Post by: seafoid on September 03, 2014, 10:06:02 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on September 03, 2014, 06:00:32 PM

At the time of the launch, Ray Coyle, CEO of Largo Foods said; "We are delighted to be entering into a partnership with one of the most professional organisations in the country. Our passion for crisps is mirrored in the management and team's passion for GAA in Tyrone and we look forward to building a great relationship over the next two years."

;D ;D
I love this sort of corporate gibberish.
It is pure bilge, isn't it ? I wonder who writes it.
If their passion for crisps is mirrored in the team's passion for GAA it must actually mean that crisps are part of their identity
Post by: NaomhBridAbú on September 03, 2014, 10:22:49 PM

speaking of white elephants, hows your ma?
Post by: BennyHarp on September 03, 2014, 10:41:07 PM

The Kerry lads are counting down the days to when the bogeyman retires and they can get a decent nights sleep.
Post by: ONeill on September 03, 2014, 10:50:45 PM
Can we not just agree that they are finished?

6 years ago they were senior and minor champs. Now they can hardly get by the first round in any grade. That never happens Kerry or the Dubs.

Finished.
Post by: T Fearon on September 03, 2014, 10:55:33 PM
As they say in Armagh Tyrone are done.
Post by: NaomhBridAbú on September 03, 2014, 11:05:22 PM
To suggest that Tyrone are finished is a ridiculous notion - there are competitive schools (CBS, Academy, St Ciarans). There are competitive clubs. There is a very healthy interest in football across the county.
It may be appropriate to question if there is the correct coaching infrastructure at u21s...now also at minors...and maybe seniors? to question that there is a need to re-think coaching structures and strategy across the county from development squads upwards?

Those are better questions than the one in the subject box.

Dublin, Meath, Kerry, Armagh, Galway, Mayo, Cork and Tyrone all have had indifferent periods over the last 20 years...I would put money on it now, that Donegal are not top 4 within 10 years...I would even say that a good bet would be on Dublin NOT winning an allireland in 10 years time.

its the cycle of change - and those who adapt best survive the change...probably excluding Kerry who have been re-inenting great teams year in year out since forever...and fair play to them.

tyrone needs to re-group and consider seriously if the right coaching infrastructures are in place...not just MH but throughout the set up.

Finished? are they f**k
Post by: ONeill on September 03, 2014, 11:10:56 PM
I don't think you know what finished means.
Post by: NaomhBridAbú on September 03, 2014, 11:30:36 PM
Quote from: ONeill on September 03, 2014, 11:10:56 PM

after reading the other posts on the thread, it seems you've maybe got your own special meaning, no?
Post by: ONeill on September 03, 2014, 11:33:36 PM
Finished as in AI contenders.

Since 2001 they have been contenders.

You mentioned schools - no win since 2009
Club - at senior level crap outside of Tyrone for over a decade.

Post by: NaomhBridAbú on September 03, 2014, 11:34:10 PM
Quote from: NaomhBridAbú on September 03, 2014, 11:30:36 PM

after reading the other posts on the thread, it seems you've maybe got your own special meaning, no?

actually, you know what? i couldn't give a f**k about the definition..
Post by: BennyHarp on September 03, 2014, 11:35:20 PM
Quote from: ONeill on September 03, 2014, 11:33:36 PM
Finished as in AI contenders.

Since 2001 they have been.

You mentioned schools - no win since 2009
Club - at senior level crap outside of Tyrone for over a decade.

Finished since 2001? That's a bit harsh. What happened that year?
Post by: ONeill on September 03, 2014, 11:43:19 PM
Quote from: NaomhBridAbú on September 03, 2014, 11:34:10 PM

Good man, keep the oul emotions in check.
Post by: NaomhBridAbú on September 03, 2014, 11:51:27 PM
Quote from: ONeill on September 03, 2014, 11:43:19 PM

i was on to discuss tyrone not definitions of words - or interpretations of same...the medium doesn't really lend itself to that...typically it generates into a justification session...a bit like this.....emotions are dead on. tolerance is at an all time low...good luck
Post by: Mike Sheehy on September 03, 2014, 11:53:07 PM
Quote from: NaomhBridAbú on September 03, 2014, 10:22:49 PM

Speaking of centres of excellence your ma's technique is excellent. A top notch pro.
Post by: NaomhBridAbú on September 03, 2014, 11:53:51 PM
Quote from: Mike Sheehy on September 03, 2014, 11:53:07 PM
Quote from: NaomhBridAbú on September 03, 2014, 10:22:49 PM

Speaking of centres of excellence your ma's technique is excellent. A top notch pro.

zzzzzzzzzzzzz
Post by: Mike Sheehy on September 03, 2014, 11:54:21 PM
Quote from: NaomhBridAbú on September 03, 2014, 11:51:27 PM

i was on to discuss tyrone not definitions of words - or interpretations of same...the medium doesn't really lend itself to that...typically it generates into a justification session...a bit like this.....emotions are dead on. tolerance is at an all time low...good luck

Stop blabbering and keep your emotions in check
Post by: NaomhBridAbú on September 03, 2014, 11:55:06 PM
Quote from: Mike Sheehy on September 03, 2014, 11:54:21 PM
Quote from: NaomhBridAbú on September 03, 2014, 11:51:27 PM

Stop blabbering and keep your emotions in check

see above