Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: Dire Ear on March 08, 2022, 10:00:40 AM

Title: Diesel, petrol, oil price watch
Post by: Dire Ear on March 08, 2022, 10:00:40 AM
Just an idea for cheaper options throughout the country.
I'll start by asking for diesel in Tyrone?
Title: Re: Diesel, petrol, oil price watch
Post by: Average Score on March 08, 2022, 10:24:02 AM
Diesel - pricey, petrol - expensive, oil - light the fire!
Post by: Nanderson on March 08, 2022, 10:58:09 AM
2 eurospar fuel stations in Kilkeel both 154.9 for petrol 160.9 for diesel
Post by: JoG2 on March 08, 2022, 12:52:57 PM
Quote from: Average Score on March 08, 2022, 10:24:02 AM
Diesel - pricey, petrol - expensive, oil - light the fire!

Couldn't agree more (if you have a fire / back boiler). 200kg coal approx £79. Half a tonne of logs too. Keep the boiler off
Post by: armaghniac on March 08, 2022, 12:55:51 PM
Quote from: Nanderson on March 08, 2022, 10:58:09 AM
2 eurospar fuel stations in Kilkeel both 154.9 for petrol 160.9 for diesel

Kilkeel is always a bit backward when new trends arrive.
Post by: laoislad on March 08, 2022, 01:05:15 PM
Petrol Station in Kildare

(https://www.leinsterleader.ie/upload/2022_03_07/IMG-6156_(1)-1646670231893.jpg)
Post by: RedHand88 on March 08, 2022, 01:19:37 PM
Quote from: Dire Ear on March 08, 2022, 10:00:40 AM
Just an idea for cheaper options throughout the country.
I'll start by asking for diesel in Tyrone?

Cohannon outside Coalisland been the cheapest I've seen about. That or the big supermarkets - ASDA, Tesco etc
Post by: Average Score on March 08, 2022, 01:22:48 PM
Quote from: laoislad on March 08, 2022, 01:05:15 PM
Petrol Station in Kildare

(https://www.leinsterleader.ie/upload/2022_03_07/IMG-6156_(1)-1646670231893.jpg)

Won't be many in Armagh on Saturday night!
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on March 08, 2022, 01:46:42 PM
Genuine possibility for 'rationing' of fuel over the next few months. Dependent on what happens in Ukraine the taps could start running dry. That's a scary but potentially real scenario
Post by: Average Score on March 08, 2022, 01:54:21 PM
Those big 4x4's everyone in Armagh is driving, because it's such shocking terrain there must cost a few pound to run now!
Post by: Cunny Funt on March 08, 2022, 02:20:35 PM
I paid 320€ for 500 litres of home oil this time last year. Today 500 litres will cost me 850€
Post by: imtommygunn on March 08, 2022, 02:54:18 PM
Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on March 08, 2022, 01:46:42 PM
Genuine possibility for 'rationing' of fuel over the next few months. Dependent on what happens in Ukraine the taps could start running dry. That's a scary but potentially real scenario

May keep working from home. They reckon 40% of the supply.

Also I think places are taking the piss and it should be remembered.
Post by: trueblue1234 on March 08, 2022, 03:04:34 PM
Remember you'll have the oil to worry bout at home tho!!
Post by: Milltown Row2 on March 08, 2022, 03:07:23 PM
Quote from: trueblue1234 on March 08, 2022, 03:04:34 PM

This is pure crap, its in between the cold months of spring, when ya need the heat on a bit, and the better parts leading up to the summer, Id 900L a while ago so will need to head out and check the levels! Hopefully by the summer the prices will have come down a bit, though I doubt it
Post by: trueblue1234 on March 08, 2022, 03:13:45 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on March 08, 2022, 03:07:23 PM
Quote from: trueblue1234 on March 08, 2022, 03:04:34 PM

This is pure crap, its in between the cold months of spring, when ya need the heat on a bit, and the better parts leading up to the summer, Id 900L a while ago so will need to head out and check the levels! Hopefully by the summer the prices will have come down a bit, though I doubt it

Dead on!!
Post by: Average Score on March 08, 2022, 03:21:21 PM
900L would do me a year if there were no women in my house!
Post by: imtommygunn on March 08, 2022, 03:27:27 PM
Thankfully be less need for it this next few months. I guess I meant petrol lol. You can just put more jumpers on in the house haha.
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on March 08, 2022, 03:39:28 PM
I'm still working from home but the move back to the office is happening at the minute. Thankfully my 'commute' is only 3 miles so I could walk it if I needed and I would if it wasn't for child care.
Post by: imtommygunn on March 08, 2022, 03:47:21 PM
Yeah in reality this war is going to have a massive impact on us over time. Certain foods will maybe become an issue too.
Post by: armaghniac on March 08, 2022, 08:26:08 PM
Dublin government going to knock 15-20c off excise duty. This will help a bit, and if Boris does not do likewise some border pumps will be busy.
Post by: seafoid on March 08, 2022, 08:40:32 PM

https://www.ft.com/content/169e54db-d913-4527-bd43-97cdf934e93a

"Given Russia's key role in global energy supply, the global economy could soon be faced with one of the largest energy supply shocks ever," Damien Courvalin, head of energy research at Goldman Sachs, said in a note to clients. "The uncertainty on how this conflict and oil shortages will be resolved is unprecedented." Brent crude rose 7.6 per cent to almost $132 a barrel on Tuesday after a White House official said that Joe Biden, US president, was set to announce a ban on imports of Russian oil into the country. The international oil benchmark had climbed as high as $139 a day earlier.
Post by: Rossfan on March 08, 2022, 08:44:20 PM
Any bit of good news Seaf?
Post by: Hereiam on March 08, 2022, 10:19:10 PM
(https://www.from-ireland.net/cms/wp-content/uploads/2015/06/IMG_9448.jpg)

Get the ole back stretched out this summer  ;D
Post by: seafoid on March 09, 2022, 11:39:08 AM
Quote from: Rossfan on March 08, 2022, 08:44:20 PM
Any bit of good news Seaf?
I can't see any. The longer the war goes on the higher prices will go unless the Saudis do something. They are making a fortune
Post by: Rossfan on March 09, 2022, 12:39:16 PM
Only the Yanks could make them evil cnuts do anything.
Post by: johnnycool on March 09, 2022, 01:23:07 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on March 09, 2022, 12:39:16 PM

Yanks opening up talks with Maduro in Venezuela.

Some giving off about this and saying he's a dictator all the while buying like f**k from those bastions of democracy and civil rights, the House of Saud.

Post by: Itchy on March 09, 2022, 01:24:08 PM
Quote from: johnnycool on March 09, 2022, 01:23:07 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on March 09, 2022, 12:39:16 PM

Yanks opening up talks with Maduro in Venezuela.

Some giving off about this and saying he's a dictator all the while buying like f**k from those bastions of democracy and civil rights, the House of Saud.

Hes a dictator that won't toe the line with the yanks.
Post by: Armagh18 on March 09, 2022, 01:58:46 PM
Quote from: Cunny Funt on March 08, 2022, 02:20:35 PM
I paid 320€ for 500 litres of home oil this time last year. Today 500 litres will cost me 850€
Christ. There will genuinely be a crisis this winter if nothing is done.
Post by: Rossfan on March 09, 2022, 02:14:05 PM
20c off petrol and 15c off diesel to end of August.
Anyone know why diesel and petrol ended up at the same price per litre the weekend when the diesel has been 8 to 10c cheaper for years?
Post by: Taylor on March 09, 2022, 02:16:24 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on March 09, 2022, 02:14:05 PM
Anyone know why diesel and petrol ended up at the same price per litre the weekend when the diesel has been 8 to 10c cheaper for years?

It needs to be capped rather than a discount of 15c/20c.
Post by: nrico2006 on March 09, 2022, 02:20:38 PM
Bit of a joke that nearly 66% of the price of a litre of petrol/diesel is made up from various taxes, therefore the power to help people is within the governments hands.
Post by: imtommygunn on March 09, 2022, 02:43:52 PM
The bigger joke is that like some people said this is not the impact of any crisis yet - this is the impact of demand and profiteering. The impact of any crisis is yet to be felt.
Post by: charlieTully on March 09, 2022, 02:52:29 PM
Cant understand why petrol stations who are putting the aem in don't have complete community boycott.
Post by: Rossfan on March 09, 2022, 03:22:22 PM
Quote from: nrico2006 on March 09, 2022, 02:20:38 PM
Bit of a joke that nearly 66% of the price of a litre of petrol/diesel is made up from various taxes, therefore the power to help people is within the governments hands.
And what services should they cut?
Post by: imtommygunn on March 09, 2022, 04:23:20 PM
If the cost is up significantly you can reduce the percentage tax and not lift any less money...
Post by: screenexile on March 09, 2022, 04:33:37 PM

Apparently more diesel comes from Russia although there were definitely those who put the price up knowing the tax cut was coming!
Post by: 93-DY-SAM on March 09, 2022, 04:47:56 PM
Quote from: screenexile on March 09, 2022, 04:33:37 PM

Apparently more diesel comes from Russia although there were definitely those who put the price up knowing the tax cut was coming!

Will those greedy retailers not keep the price as it was and just pocket the cut in tax into their own pockets?
Post by: Franko on March 09, 2022, 04:58:15 PM
CircleK having a bit of a mare on the twittersphere today.

Greedy bastids
Post by: seafoid on March 09, 2022, 08:05:05 PM

https://www.ft.com/content/cd26f107-6217-4c8d-befe-11772b40ca66

Yhe United Arab Emirates will encourage fellow Opec members to increase oil production as Russia's invasion of Ukraine has driven crude prices to their highest levels in more than a decade, a senior official said
Post by: Gmac on March 09, 2022, 08:26:39 PM
Have the EU consulted with Greta on the best way forward ?
Post by: manfromdelmonte on March 09, 2022, 08:29:08 PM
Quote from: seafoid on March 09, 2022, 08:05:05 PM

https://www.ft.com/content/cd26f107-6217-4c8d-befe-11772b40ca66

Yhe United Arab Emirates will encourage fellow Opec members to increase oil production as Russia's invasion of Ukraine has driven crude prices to their highest levels in more than a decade, a senior official said
Need a nuclear deal with Iran asap to get supply flowing
Same with the basket case that is Venezuela
Post by: J70 on March 09, 2022, 08:30:05 PM
Quote from: Gmac on March 09, 2022, 08:26:39 PM

Is that today's "witty" talking point in the fever swamps?
Post by: Gmac on March 09, 2022, 08:37:24 PM
Quote from: J70 on March 09, 2022, 08:30:05 PM

no it's more about mayor Pete saying if you don't like buying gas at $6 a gallon why don't you buy a 75k Tesla instead .liberal government crush poor and middle class people.
Post by: Mikhail Prokhorov on March 09, 2022, 08:48:03 PM
Quote from: Gmac on March 09, 2022, 08:37:24 PM

no it's more about mayor Pete saying if you don't like buying gas at $6 a gallon why don't you buy a 75k Tesla instead .liberal government crush poor and middle class people.

there are no poor people in the west ffs  ::)
Post by: Rossfan on March 09, 2022, 08:51:48 PM

Sad to see an Irish born person like "gmac" descending to a state of utter stupidity.
Post by: Jeepers Creepers on March 09, 2022, 09:17:22 PM
OPEC (UAE & Iraq) in talks to increase supply which lead to the biggest daily drop in wholesale oil & gas prices in a few years although prices still at a high.
Post by: 93-DY-SAM on March 10, 2022, 07:22:15 AM
Let's see how quick a drop in crude prices makes it to the pumps.
Post by: Average Score on March 10, 2022, 07:43:11 AM
Quote from: 93-DY-SAM on March 10, 2022, 07:22:15 AM

Will it heck - folk will continue to rip their fellow citizens off for as long as they can.
Post by: 93-DY-SAM on March 10, 2022, 08:07:29 AM
Quote from: Average Score on March 10, 2022, 07:43:11 AM
Quote from: 93-DY-SAM on March 10, 2022, 07:22:15 AM

Will it heck - folk will continue to rip their fellow citizens off for as long as they can.

Oh I know. They are quick to put them up and squeeze the f**k out of people.
Post by: toby47 on March 10, 2022, 08:11:18 AM
Red diesel £1.39 & £1.49 in 2 garages this morning. About 6 months ago it was £0.69
Post by: Rudi on March 10, 2022, 02:06:24 PM
Quote from: toby47 on March 10, 2022, 08:11:18 AM
Red diesel £1.39 & £1.49 in 2 garages this morning. About 6 months ago it was £0.69

I paid 4.60 for a pint of red diesel at the weekend  ;D
Post by: Milltown Row2 on March 14, 2022, 04:20:08 PM
Picked up 500L for just over £500, has the price went down? Was expecting it to be worse
Post by: imtommygunn on March 14, 2022, 04:22:58 PM
Went for a run at lunch. Mile 1 passes a garage where petrol was 161.9 - mile 5 on the way home also passes that garage and it was 165.9!

There is rumour of prices going down yeah. Not seeing much of that from a petrol / diesel perspective and we have gas so not following oil prices.
Post by: toby47 on March 14, 2022, 04:31:38 PM
Quote from: imtommygunn on March 14, 2022, 04:22:58 PM
Went for a run at lunch. Mile 1 passes a garage where petrol was 161.9 - mile 5 on the way home also passes that garage and it was 165.9!

There is rumour of prices going down yeah. Not seeing much of that from a petrol / diesel perspective and we have gas so not following oil prices.

I hope ye filled up on mile 1 and not mile 5.
Post by: JimStynes on March 14, 2022, 04:32:44 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on March 14, 2022, 04:20:08 PM
Picked up 500L for just over £500, has the price went down? Was expecting it to be worse

The old refereeing money being put to use
Post by: armaghniac on March 14, 2022, 04:50:17 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on March 14, 2022, 04:20:08 PM

Prices have declined by 10% since their peak in the middle of last week. Hard to know what way it will go, the only saving grace is that heating oil will be in less demand in a month or two.
Post by: whitey on March 14, 2022, 06:23:08 PM
There's a new RAV 4 plug in Hybrid over here-first 40 miles are done on a charge, then gasoline kicks in

There's a long waiting list and now some dealerships are getting $5K ABOVE MSRP

I'm looking for a used car right now and you can't touch a hybrid-you'd be as well off buying a regular car and just putting the difference towards petrol

Crazy times
Post by: J70 on March 14, 2022, 08:01:54 PM
Quote from: whitey on March 14, 2022, 06:23:08 PM
There's a new RAV 4 plug in Hybrid over here-first 40 miles are done on a charge, then gasoline kicks in

I'm looking for a used car right now and you can't touch a hybrid-you'd be as well off buying a regular car and just putting the difference towards petrol

Crazy times

The waiting lists are on a lot of brands.

I had to trade in last summer as my old car developed a few issues which, unless you're a mechanic yourself, cost more to fix than the car was worth.

Luckily our dealer had a new car we liked enough to buy straight away (Subaru Outback XT), but had we not taken that colour/options, you were looking at three weeks for the next delivery. Apparently its months now and gouged-up prices at some dealers.
Post by: whitey on March 14, 2022, 09:14:15 PM
Quote from: J70 on March 14, 2022, 08:01:54 PM

Crazy times

I had to trade in last summer as my old car developed a few issues which, unless you're a mechanic yourself, cost more to fix than the car was worth.

Luckily our dealer had a new car we liked enough to buy straight away (Subaru Outback XT), but had we not taken that colour/options, you were looking at three weeks for the next delivery. Apparently its months now and gouged-up prices at some dealers.

I have learner drivers that I need a car for

$20K just became $30K
Post by: johnnycool on March 15, 2022, 10:32:10 AM
Quote from: whitey on March 14, 2022, 09:14:15 PM

Crazy times

$20K just became $30K

World wide shortage of processor chips caused by factories in SE Asia, China etc etc being well down in capacity during Covid and they still haven't caught up on that backlog, chips are now x 10 the prices in some instances that they should be and that's pushing the prices of cars and lots of other things up..

Post by: Taylor on March 15, 2022, 11:07:49 AM
Used car prices are scandalous here.
Some used cars have appreciated in value in the last 18 months - and by 1000's & 1000's.

Bound to be more value in buying a new car (if you can get one that is)
Post by: J70 on March 15, 2022, 11:22:22 AM
Quote from: johnnycool on March 15, 2022, 10:32:10 AM
Quote from: whitey on March 14, 2022, 09:14:15 PM

Crazy times

$20K just became $30K

World wide shortage of processor chips caused by factories in SE Asia, China etc etc being well down in capacity during Covid and they still haven't caught up on that backlog, chips are now x 10 the prices in some instances that they should be and that's pushing the prices of cars and lots of other things up..

Saw a headline that Ford in the US are going to start shipping their Explorers (mid-size SUV in US, monster-size everywhere else) without certain chip-based features like rear climate control and have the customers come back to the dealer months later for the installation.
Post by: Mario on March 15, 2022, 02:45:00 PM
Considering filling the car with red. I've heard people say i wouldn't put red in a good car. Does anyone know why? Is it not just the same product with a dye in it so customs can tell the difference.
Post by: general on March 15, 2022, 03:55:01 PM
Quote from: Mario on March 15, 2022, 02:45:00 PM
Considering filling the car with red. I've heard people say i wouldn't put red in a good car. Does anyone know why? Is it not just the same product with a dye in it so customs can tell the difference.

Makes diddly squat of a difference to the car engine, its just a dye in the diesel. The benefits that used to be there (low cost) is not there anymore however. Considering its in the region of £500 (first offence NI) or 1500 euro (first offence roi) if you are dipped you need to make the decision is it enough of a risk to take. I know a lad who drove on it for years before he started getting company cars and he saved himself a clean fortune in the long run.

70l tank white currently approx £1.8p/l - 126 quid fill
same red fill approx £1.40 p/l - £98 quid fill.

is a saving of 28 quid a fill enough to make you drive on the red? I would suggest its a pain in the cahoneys checking out from fbook where the dippers are and if reports are even correct.
Post by: Mario on March 15, 2022, 04:01:22 PM
Quote from: general on March 15, 2022, 03:55:01 PM

Makes diddly squat of a difference to the car engine, its just a dye in the diesel. The benefits that used to be there (low cost) is not there anymore however. Considering its in the region of £500 (first offence NI) or 1500 euro (first offence roi) if you are dipped you need to make the decision is it enough of a risk to take. I know a lad who drove on it for years before he started getting company cars and he saved himself a clean fortune in the long run.

is a saving of 28 quid a fill enough to make you drive on the red? I would suggest its a pain in the cahoneys checking out from fbook where the dippers are and if reports are even correct.
Surely the difference in price between red and clear is the additional taxes on clear. So the saving would be the same now as it was 2 years ago?
Post by: general_lee on March 15, 2022, 04:42:08 PM
I've never been dipped in 20 years of driving. Think maybe once I've been through a checkpoint as a passenger and even then was waved through. I'd say long term the risk would be worth it especially if you're commuting on motorway.
Post by: clarshack on March 15, 2022, 05:28:18 PM
Quote from: general_lee on March 15, 2022, 04:42:08 PM
I've never been dipped in 20 years of driving. Think maybe once I've been through a checkpoint as a passenger and even then was waved through. I'd say long term the risk would be worth it especially if you're commuting on motorway.

I've ever only been through one checkpoint myself in 26 years driving.
Post by: armaghniac on March 15, 2022, 05:33:45 PM
Quote from: Mario on March 15, 2022, 04:01:22 PM
Quote from: general on March 15, 2022, 03:55:01 PM

Surely the difference in price between red and clear is the additional taxes on clear. So the saving would be the same now as it was 2 years ago?

maybe the aboslute saving is the same, but that was 50% saving when oil was cheaper and is only a 25% saving now.
Post by: Wildweasel74 on March 15, 2022, 06:37:22 PM
But given the price, they know there a greater temptation to run Red and be out dipping more.
Post by: J70 on March 15, 2022, 07:03:21 PM
Quote from: general_lee on March 15, 2022, 04:42:08 PM

When I was a kid, we kept a tank of red/green for the tractor, but my parents never used it for the car in the five years we had a diesel (good sturdy 504 which my father ruined drawing cattle). Don't remember them or anyone else commenting on being dipped, despite my mother having a 50 mile round trip to work, but I guess it must have been around. Perhaps they didn't want to take the risk as the local guards would know the cars that belonged to farmers.
Post by: imtommygunn on March 15, 2022, 07:21:18 PM
Would border counties not be more susceptible to dipping? A manager of mine from about a dozen years ago got dipped near Newry and turns out the cheap diesel she was getting was that cheap for a reason.
Post by: J70 on March 15, 2022, 07:37:18 PM
Quote from: imtommygunn on March 15, 2022, 07:21:18 PM
Would border counties not be more susceptible to dipping? A manager of mine from about a dozen years ago got dipped near Newry and turns out the cheap diesel she was getting was that cheap for a reason.

Can the authorities tell from dipping if the diesel is laundered?

Not that I'd recommend using laundered diesel in your engine with the chemical treatments they put it through to remove the dye.
Post by: whitey on March 15, 2022, 07:37:31 PM
If you put red into your car, does it not make the car unsellable?
Post by: J70 on March 15, 2022, 07:38:24 PM
Quote from: whitey on March 15, 2022, 07:37:31 PM

Its the same fuel. Just a dye added. Not aware of any harm it would do.
Post by: whitey on March 15, 2022, 07:46:30 PM
Quote from: J70 on March 15, 2022, 07:38:24 PM

I heard it stays in the system for a long period of time

The next owner could get pinched for you putting it
Post by: Franko on March 15, 2022, 07:48:49 PM
Quote from: whitey on March 15, 2022, 07:46:30 PM

Wives tale.

Change the filter and fill it with clear - good as new.

Emmm... so a friend told me  ;D
Post by: illdecide on March 15, 2022, 07:59:16 PM
Quote from: Franko on March 15, 2022, 07:48:49 PM

Wives tale.

Change the filter and fill it with clear - good as new.

Emmm... so a friend told me  ;D

Thats a fact. Best diesel you can buy as you know it hasn't been tampered with. Red fuel will disappear after changing fuel filter and filling her up with the clear stuff.

P.S. I now drive a petrol car ;)
Post by: J70 on March 15, 2022, 08:02:12 PM

Ah, now I see what you mean.

In that case I'd keep the receipt handy to show the guards and let the tank run down till the light is on a while before filling it up.

Edit: or what the two boys said about the filter!
Post by: illdecide on March 15, 2022, 08:04:23 PM
I actually sold my car (verbally) and got £1500 more than the trade in price but when the search begun to replace it that's when the fun started. Prices are 25% more than they should be and after speaking to two sperate guys this morning who deal in cars they convinced me to hold onto my car for another 6 months as they see a huge drop in prices coming due to drop in demand due to less coin about and also too many garages now have cars in their forecourt 90 & 120 days not shifting with negative figures on them and they're gonna have to sell them. He said the first car garage to drop their prices to get rid of their stock the rest will follow.
I had to let down my buyer...
Post by: Armagh18 on March 15, 2022, 09:45:28 PM
Quote from: illdecide on March 15, 2022, 08:04:23 PM
I actually sold my car (verbally) and got £1500 more than the trade in price but when the search begun to replace it that's when the fun started. Prices are 25% more than they should be and after speaking to two sperate guys this morning who deal in cars they convinced me to hold onto my car for another 6 months as they see a huge drop in prices coming due to drop in demand due to less coin about and also too many garages now have cars in their forecourt 90 & 120 days not shifting with negative figures on them and they're gonna have to sell them. He said the first car garage to drop their prices to get rid of their stock the rest will follow.
I had to let down my buyer...
You'll have no luck for kicking..
Post by: Hereiam on March 15, 2022, 10:26:13 PM
Have definitely noticed alot more fully loaded car transporters on the road lately.
Post by: Tony Baloney on March 15, 2022, 11:09:17 PM
The brother in law paid some local fella to take car in from England as zero value in the cars here. Still reckons he paid close to 10 grand more for a second hand XC90 than he would have paid 2 years ago. :-\
Post by: Hereiam on March 15, 2022, 11:16:01 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on March 15, 2022, 11:09:17 PM
The brother in law paid some local fella to take car in from England as zero value in the cars here. Still reckons he paid close to 10 grand more for a second hand XC90 than he would have paid 2 years ago. :-\

Wouldn't doubt that, have been keeping an eye on the price of them for a while as I was looking at changing but I think I will wait another while.
Post by: Tony Baloney on March 15, 2022, 11:20:26 PM
Quote from: Hereiam on March 15, 2022, 11:16:01 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on March 15, 2022, 11:09:17 PM

Wouldn't doubt that, have been keeping an eye on the price of them for a while as I was looking at changing but I think I will wait another while.
Same. Was interested til I saw the prices. Hope hers keeps going another while! Volvo fella in Portadown told me the newer model is showing up loads of issues after 60k which also would make me nervous.
Post by: armaghniac on March 16, 2022, 09:35:27 PM
Surely there is a dispensation to drive on Green diesel tomorrow, on the day that is in it.
Post by: toby47 on June 22, 2022, 12:05:50 PM
Diesel £1.99
Post by: Armagh18 on June 22, 2022, 12:14:12 PM
When will people take to the streets?
Post by: Milltown Row2 on June 22, 2022, 12:29:27 PM
Quote from: Armagh18 on June 22, 2022, 12:14:12 PM

And that will do what? The UK government, of which we are not in control of or have any say in, who get into elected positions are the only people to 'get' at by voting for someone who'll actually do something about it... At the minute the Tories don't give a flying f**k and the same people will still give them a majority win come the polls.

The higher the fuel goes up the more money the government make and the more money the share holders of BP and so on will keep this going.. Its getting to the point where nearly every time I'm in the car I'm wondering do I have to?

Unfortunately I have to for work
Post by: RedHand88 on June 22, 2022, 12:42:44 PM
https://www.google.com/amp/s/www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-10590733/amp/Tesla-driving-Stephen-Colbert-preaches-surging-gas-prices-worth-clean-conscience.html  (https://www.google.com/amp/s/www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-10590733/amp/Tesla-driving-Stephen-Colbert-preaches-surging-gas-prices-worth-clean-conscience.html)

Just get a Tesla, says US talk show host Stephen Colbert.
Post by: tonto1888 on June 22, 2022, 12:43:24 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on June 22, 2022, 12:29:27 PM

And that will do what? The UK government, of which we are not in control of or have any say in, who get into elected positions are the only people to 'get' at by voting for someone who'll actually do something about it... At the minute the Tories don't give a flying f**k and the same people will still give them a majority win come the polls.

The higher the fuel goes up the more money the government make and the more money the share holders of BP and so on will keep this going.. Its getting to the point where nearly every time I'm in the car I'm wondering do I have to?

I am in the same boat and sadly it is nigh on impossible to do my job from home
Post by: RedHand88 on June 22, 2022, 12:43:46 PM
Worked it out and I'm going through £400 a month on diesel. I drive an economic enough car at 55mpg, it's the miles that kill me.
Post by: johnnycool on June 22, 2022, 01:25:41 PM
Anyone think there's a bit of gouging going on by the big businesses on this one?

Yes gas and oil have went up but the hoors that provide it and process it have hugely increased their profit margins in the process and that has fed into other sectors..

Time for a revolution.
Post by: nrico2006 on June 22, 2022, 01:34:47 PM
To the layman out there there appears to be a misconception that the price of oil/petrol/diesel etc. is completely driven by the suppliers.  Is it not something like only 39% of the price of a litre that is linked to the actual supplier price, with the other 60% odd percent within the control of the government?
Post by: Hound on June 22, 2022, 01:56:49 PM
Quote from: nrico2006 on June 22, 2022, 01:34:47 PM
To the layman out there there appears to be a misconception that the price of oil/petrol/diesel etc. is completely driven by the suppliers.  Is it not something like only 39% of the price of a litre that is linked to the actual supplier price, with the other 60% odd percent within the control of the government?
That's correct (not sure of the exact %, but I'd say that's in the ballpark).

But also to remember that it's part of the whole suite of taxes that are collected and used. While energy tax receipts will have gone up, it's a case of "the polluter pays" and it increases the exchequer surplus or reduces the deficit for the year.

Governments don't want to reduce tax on petrol, because if/when prices go back to normal (whatever that is), they'd be left with a hole that would need to be filled by extra taxes on something else. There's definitely a case though that there should be some price ceiling above which normal excise does not apply.
Post by: Champion The Wonder Horse on June 22, 2022, 02:29:47 PM
With diesel currently at £2.019 per litre at the nearest reputable filling station and with me being able to claim 45p per mile for business, I need to be to able to claim for at least 40.7% of my monthly mileage before it starts costing me. I am assuming a conservative 50mpg.

I hope to update this on a regular basis.
Post by: johnnycool on June 22, 2022, 02:34:17 PM

I know that and also the Gov knows their 5p reduction was a token gesture as when the costs went up multiples of that their tax take also went up considerably.

we're being stroked by them too.
Post by: Keyser soze on June 22, 2022, 02:39:45 PM
The government should abolish fuel excise duty, would solve their inflation problem overnight.
Post by: trueblue1234 on June 22, 2022, 02:39:49 PM
Quote from: RedHand88 on June 22, 2022, 12:42:44 PM
https://www.google.com/amp/s/www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-10590733/amp/Tesla-driving-Stephen-Colbert-preaches-surging-gas-prices-worth-clean-conscience.html  (https://www.google.com/amp/s/www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-10590733/amp/Tesla-driving-Stephen-Colbert-preaches-surging-gas-prices-worth-clean-conscience.html)

I have to change the car for a few reasons and was actually thinking would electric be an option. We're a 2 car family, and would keep a larger diesel 7 seater for all family trips, holidays etc. but is an electric car an option now? We both work at home but with some travel for work. Would generally be doing school runs and short journeys during the week with maybe one trip to Belfast (150 odd miles round  trip) a week and the odd other trip at 150 miles tops.
Was thinking anything within range could be picked up by the electric car. Would be some saving given we could rack up 4-500 diesel a month costs. Anyone much experience with all electric?
Post by: clarshack on June 22, 2022, 02:41:20 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on June 22, 2022, 12:29:27 PM

Wasn't there fuel protests in 2000 (in England anyway) when a litre was heading towards the £1 mark and because of the protests it came down again?
If people don't protest it will be £2.50 before you know it.
Post by: Maroon Manc on June 22, 2022, 02:41:59 PM
Quote from: Hound on June 22, 2022, 01:56:49 PM
That's correct (not sure of the exact %, but I'd say that's in the ballpark).

But also to remember that it's part of the whole suite of taxes that are collected and used. While energy tax receipts will have gone up, it's a case of "the polluter pays" and it increases the exchequer surplus or reduces the deficit for the year.

Governments don't want to reduce tax on petrol, because if/when prices go back to normal (whatever that is), they'd be left with a hole that would need to be filled by extra taxes on something else. There's definitely a case though that there should be some price ceiling above which normal excise does not apply.

Its 52.9p a litre in fuel duty and VAT is 20% so about 80p in a litre goes to the government over here. Duty was cut by 5p a litre but they've made it with the extra their making on the VAT. This time last year they were probably making 20p a litre on VAT but now its about 30p.

Post by: clarshack on June 22, 2022, 03:01:35 PM
Quote from: trueblue1234 on June 22, 2022, 02:39:49 PM

I have to change the car for a few reasons and was actually thinking would electric be an option. We're a 2 car family, and would keep a larger diesel 7 seater for all family trips, holidays etc. but is an electric car an option now? We both work at home but with some travel for work. Would generally be doing school runs and short journeys during the week with maybe one trip to Belfast (150 odd miles round  trip) a week and the odd other trip at 150 miles tops.
Was thinking anything within range could be picked up by the electric car. Would be some saving given we could rack up 4-500 diesel a month costs. Anyone much experience with all electric?

2 cars as well, I'd say our fuel bill this month will be approx £350 and that's us both working from home 2 days a week. the best of it is I haven't even went any further than Cookstown or Dungannon in that time. All the trips for the kids school runs, training, matches and discos don't be long adding up. 
So therefore also thinking of electric as my next car.
Post by: trueblue1234 on June 22, 2022, 03:05:32 PM
Quote from: clarshack on June 22, 2022, 03:01:35 PM
Quote from: trueblue1234 on June 22, 2022, 02:39:49 PM

2 cars as well, I'd say our fuel bill this month will be approx £350 and that's us both working from home 2 days a week. the best of it is I haven't even went any further than Cookstown or Dungannon in that time. All the trips for the kids school runs, training, matches and discos don't be long adding up. 
So therefore also thinking of electric as my next car.

I know there's an obvious cost in charging but I was less to believe on the right tariff it's minimal enough in comparison. I honestly believe if we got electric we could take £300 a month off. (Depending on cost of charging) Wouldn't be that long adding up to cover the extra cost of the car.
Post by: 93-DY-SAM on June 22, 2022, 03:37:47 PM
Is insurance any different on electric cars - more expensive / less expensive or just the same as a comparable petrol/diesel car?
Post by: Wildweasel74 on June 22, 2022, 10:09:19 PM
War been going on 6 plus months now, why does the cost keep Increasing. Price of food at the minute a goddamn disgrace, to the point am havig to help people out. How is it rich people in UK and America always end up running the countries where there decisions on less wealthly people do not affect them.
Post by: nrico2006 on June 22, 2022, 10:29:39 PM
Sure is the price of a barrel of oil not away down this past few weeks?
Post by: Armagh18 on June 22, 2022, 10:49:57 PM
Quote from: nrico2006 on June 22, 2022, 10:29:39 PM
Sure that relevance does that have, the suppliers/government don't give a flying f**k!
Post by: armaghniac on June 22, 2022, 11:02:44 PM
has not gone

Oil is priced in dollars, if you watch Drici's thread the dollar is up against £ and € partly because of these events.
Petrol has gone up over the summer because the Americans do a lot of driving around then, which is why diesel has not gone up so much.
However, oil has fallen a bit in the last day or so, we should see this show up. 
Post by: Silver hill on June 22, 2022, 11:23:54 PM
How do Americans do more driving in the Summer.....?
Maybe a fraction of a percentage more but surely not enough to affect the price of petrol?
Post by: armaghniac on June 22, 2022, 11:34:52 PM
Quote from: Silver hill on June 22, 2022, 11:23:54 PM
How do Americans do more driving in the Summer.....?
Maybe a fraction of a percentage more but surely not enough to affect the price of petrol?

It seems to be a couple of percent more, and makes a difference. Even Europeans may drive more, plenty of people from Mayo or Kerry will drive to Dublin on Sunday, something they do not do every week.
Post by: tonto1888 on June 23, 2022, 07:58:15 AM
Quote from: armaghniac on June 22, 2022, 11:02:44 PM
has not gone

Oil is priced in dollars, if you watch Drici's thread the dollar is up against £ and € partly because of these events.
Petrol has gone up over the summer because the Americans do a lot of driving around then, which is why diesel has not gone up so much.
However, oil has fallen a bit in the last day or so, we should see this show up.

diesel has not gone up so much??????
Post by: toby47 on June 23, 2022, 10:21:31 AM
Currently going through about £90-£100 diesel a week

Average Diesel/Petrol prices this year in NI

Date                         Diesel       Petrol

23 June 2022           196.0p   189.3p   
16 June 2022        190.4p   185.6p   
9 June 2022           183.8p   180.1p   
6 June 2022         179.1p   172.6p   
26 May 2022        178.0p   169.4p   
19 May 2022        177.5p   165.5p
12 May 2022        176.9p   163.5p   
5 May 2022          175.6p   162.2p   
28 April 2022         173.4p   161.0p   
21 April 2022          172.0p   159.7p      
07 April 2022           172.6p   161.4p      
24 March 2022           176.2p   165.1p   
17 March 2022           174.2p   163.3p
10 March 2022           164.1p   155.8p
03 March 2022           150.5p   147.1p
24 February 2022   148.2p   145.6p
10 February 2022   147.0p   144.2p      
27 January 2022   145.0p   142.5p   
20 January 2022   144.4p   141.9p   

Post by: clarshack on June 23, 2022, 05:54:03 PM
What's happening currently in Ecuador, how soon before it comes to this part of the world?
Post by: imtommygunn on June 23, 2022, 06:40:49 PM
The civil unrest or the food shortages?

There will be civil unrest in this part of the world at some point in the not that distant future I would say. A lot of people won't be fit to feed themselves and their families if the current rises continue. That's before heating their home in the winter.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on June 23, 2022, 08:04:37 PM
Christ the night!! Went to the local spar to pick up dog food, was 4.50 the other day, £6.10 now, like how has that changed, I mean it's been sitting there no doubt for weeks and blunt by the Henderson group at whatever rate but the Cnuts are gouging the f**k out of everything now
Post by: Jeepers Creepers on June 23, 2022, 08:08:16 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on June 23, 2022, 08:04:37 PM
Christ the night!! Went to the local spar to pick up dog food, was 4.50 the other day, £6.10 now, like how has that changed, I mean it's been sitting there no doubt for weeks and blunt by the Henderson group at whatever rate but the Cnuts are gouging the f**k out of everything now

Remember their 12 quid bottles of hand sanitiser during the pandemic!?
Post by: Milltown Row2 on June 23, 2022, 08:10:31 PM
Quote from: Jeepers Creepers on June 23, 2022, 08:08:16 PM
Christ the night!! Went to the local spar to pick up dog food, was 4.50 the other day, £6.10 now, like how has that changed, I mean it's been sitting there no doubt for weeks bought by the Henderson group at whatever rate but the Cnuts are gouging the f**k out of everything now

Remember their 12 quid bottles of hand sanitiser during the pandemic!?
Post by: north_antrim_hound on June 23, 2022, 08:23:23 PM

Your a typical Manc fan

https://www.google.co.uk/search?q=manchester+family+return+dog&client=safari&hl=en&prmd=nmsiv&source=lnms&tbm=isch&sa=X&ved=2ahUKEwipx-2NpcT4AhUNSkEAHWlyBKwQ_AUoBHoECAIQBA&biw=320&bih=441&dpr=2#imgrc=cyHcAvxlZqs07M
Post by: Milltown Row2 on June 23, 2022, 08:25:36 PM
Quote from: north_antrim_hound on June 23, 2022, 08:23:23 PM

Your a typical Manc fan

https://www.google.co.uk/search?q=manchester+family+return+dog&client=safari&hl=en&prmd=nmsiv&source=lnms&tbm=isch&sa=X&ved=2ahUKEwipx-2NpcT4AhUNSkEAHWlyBKwQ_AUoBHoECAIQBA&biw=320&bih=441&dpr=2#imgrc=cyHcAvxlZqs07M

I'd quicker get rid of the kids and wife before the dogs... FACT
Post by: armaghniac on June 23, 2022, 08:26:18 PM
Quote from: tonto1888 on June 23, 2022, 07:58:15 AM
Quote from: armaghniac on June 22, 2022, 11:02:44 PM
has not gone

diesel has not gone up so much??????

In April, diesel was more expensive than petrol in the 26 counties, now it is cheaper again.
Post by: Hereiam on June 23, 2022, 10:28:53 PM
just had a look around the local centra this evening

2L jar of milk £1.67
Loaf of bread £1.35
Packed of 6 pancakes £1.52
Box of Cornflakes £4.25
10 pk of ham £2.55
500ml bottle of Coke £1.90
Can of Coke £1.10
Small can of red bull £1.75

Most of the packets of buns/cakes etc are near £4

Where is this going to end.
Post by: Wildweasel74 on June 23, 2022, 10:40:17 PM
Price for cornflakes, that's bad.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on June 23, 2022, 10:54:00 PM
Quote from: Wildweasel74 on June 23, 2022, 10:40:17 PM
Price for cornflakes, that's bad.

Wouldn't buy them generally so not missing out lol

Wife is getting plenty of farm eggs for free from work colleague who has farm full of chickens!

Food wise I've noticed content is lighter for similar price
Post by: toby47 on June 24, 2022, 08:44:19 AM
Quote from: Hereiam on June 23, 2022, 10:28:53 PM

2L jar of milk £1.67
Loaf of bread £1.35
Box of Cornflakes £4.25
10 pk of ham £2.55
Can of Coke £1.10

If you bought the list above and the buns it would be over £20  :o

That list + 40 litres of fuel would cost £100 now. 12 months ago it would have been less than £65.
Post by: quit yo jibbajabba on June 24, 2022, 09:11:30 AM
Never usually looked at price of bread as knew it was a bit over a pound, lifted one those sour dough type ones last week, fcukin 2.55! So even simple things ye have to look a bit more closely at..
Post by: rrhf on June 24, 2022, 09:17:40 AM
Yes it is unsustainable for the average Joe... the price of smashed avocado and parma ham has went through the roof too..
Post by: tiempo on June 24, 2022, 09:55:59 AM
At work last year they took a savage hard line on overheads and expenditure, planning to save 20% or whatever, cue a good amount of innovative saving ideas and also a lot of downright fakery to try and meet the target

Anyway so I took the opportunity to review my own budgeting and really drill down into where I was spending my money

Has been a real win win for me, instead of spending erratically I'm a lot more in tune with what I need and what I'm getting for my money, this has allowed me to really commit to a decent overpayment on my mortgage which I was already doing

Anyone forecasting a tightening of the belt going forward I'd fully recommend a full review of your ins and outs while still trying to leave a bit of room for leisure expenses etc as best you can
Post by: Milltown Row2 on June 24, 2022, 10:55:00 AM
Quote from: rrhf on June 24, 2022, 09:17:40 AM
Yes it is unsustainable for the average Joe... the price of smashed avocado and parma ham has went through the roof too..

Not too many average joe's getting a smashed avocado with some parma!!
Post by: Truth hurts on June 24, 2022, 10:55:55 AM
Hendersons are the biggest rip-off in the country and should be boycotted. Shop in Lidl etc and buy their own brands for the most stuff. Its have the price and less and tastes the same. £2.10 for mustard in my local Hendersons, its £55p in Lidl and tastes better.
Post by: Rossfan on June 24, 2022, 11:25:38 AM
Quote from: rrhf on June 24, 2022, 09:17:40 AM
Has GONE !!!!
Post by: Last Man on June 24, 2022, 12:26:38 PM
Quote from: Truth hurts on June 24, 2022, 10:55:55 AM
Hendersons are the biggest rip-off in the country and should be boycotted. Shop in Lidl etc and buy their own brands for the most stuff. Its have the price and less and tastes the same. £2.10 for mustard in my local Hendersons, its £55p in Lidl and tastes better.
You can't actually buy mustard in France atm, or at best it's one jar per customer . Was told it was something to do with failure of the Canadian mustard seed crop. Mad that there's no word of that here.
Post by: Tony Baloney on June 24, 2022, 12:34:56 PM
You'd need a loan to shop in Mullan's Spar in Armagh. Mad prices.

I can't get my missus talked into shopping outside of Sainsburys or buying own brand as she has this very old fashioned "yellow pack" view that they can't possibly be as good despite me telling her that in a lot of instances it's the same stuff from the same factory!
Post by: RedHand88 on June 24, 2022, 12:36:30 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on June 24, 2022, 12:34:56 PM

I can't get my missus talked into shopping outside of Sainsburys or buying own brand as she has this very old fashioned "yellow pack" view that they can't possibly be as good despite me telling her that in a lot of instances it's the same stuff from the same factory!

Tell her to stop having notions!
Post by: Milltown Row2 on June 24, 2022, 12:37:24 PM
Quote from: Last Man on June 24, 2022, 12:26:38 PM
You can't actually buy mustard in France atm, or at best it's one jar per customer . Was told it was something to do with failure of the Canadian mustard seed crop. Mad that there's no word of that here.

Just out of tesco there and they had plenty...

Anyways, if I get a break in the day on a Friday I tend to nip out and do the usual weekend shop..

Wasn't too bad and stayed with the clubcard priced items, fresh veg, chicken, mince beef, sausages, steak (for me tonight as she's out) wine (5 bottles) beer, sodas pancakes, couple of the street food recipes (which are great and handy) some passata and some crisps and biscuits and chocolate..

£79 after the clubcard deductions
Post by: tonto1888 on June 24, 2022, 12:40:42 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on June 24, 2022, 12:37:24 PM

Anyways, if I get a break in the day on a Friday I tend to nip out and do the usual weekend shop..

Wasn't too bad and stayed with the clubcard priced items, fresh veg, chicken, mince beef, sausages, steak (for me tonight as she's out) wine (5 bottles) beer, sodas pancakes, couple of the street food recipes (which are great and handy) some passata and some crisps and biscuits and chocolate..

what did ye buy for the rest of the family?
Post by: Milltown Row2 on June 24, 2022, 12:45:47 PM
Quote from: tonto1888 on June 24, 2022, 12:40:42 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on June 24, 2022, 12:37:24 PM

what did ye buy for the rest of the family?

She always says that... not my area of expertise in fairness, though in most cases they'll eat pasta, curry, pizza and McDonalds

Oh left out I got the dog food at a far cheaper price than those bandits Henderson group and some dentist sticks for my besties  ;D
Post by: clarshack on June 24, 2022, 12:57:18 PM

2L jar of milk £1.67
Loaf of bread £1.35
Box of Cornflakes £4.25
10 pk of ham £2.55
Can of Coke £1.10

24 packs of Coke/Diet Coke are usually £7.50 in the likes of Asda and Tesco so it's madness to buy a single can unless you are absolutely stuck.
Post by: RedHand88 on June 24, 2022, 01:08:36 PM
Quote from: clarshack on June 24, 2022, 12:57:18 PM

2L jar of milk £1.67
Loaf of bread £1.35
Box of Cornflakes £4.25
10 pk of ham £2.55
Can of Coke £1.10

24 packs of Coke/Diet Coke are usually £7.50 in the likes of Asda and Tesco so it's madness to buy a single can unless you are absolutely stuck.

They're never refrigerated though and if you're just looking one for your lunch....
Post by: Last Man on June 24, 2022, 01:55:38 PM

2L jar of milk £1.67
Loaf of bread £1.35
Box of Cornflakes £4.25
10 pk of ham £2.55
Can of Coke £1.10

I'm not a doctor but Type 2 diabetes is my best guess.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on June 24, 2022, 01:59:02 PM
Quote from: Last Man on June 24, 2022, 01:55:38 PM

2L jar of milk £1.67
Loaf of bread £1.35
Box of Cornflakes £4.25
10 pk of ham £2.55
Can of Coke £1.10

Did cross my mind that you'd be itching to reply something here lol
Post by: Truth hurts on June 24, 2022, 02:41:30 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on June 24, 2022, 12:34:56 PM

Lidl own called Batts are brilliant at mayo, sauces, etc

Those other places are ripping us off
Post by: rosnarun on June 24, 2022, 02:45:21 PM
milk bread and ham look reasonable enough.
and the coke is always a rip off unless you buy the 2L bottles .
i've been in shops where 500ml bottles were actually more expensive than 2ltr ones
Post by: Truth hurts on June 24, 2022, 03:11:43 PM
some prices from LIdl today
3 x chicken fillets 2.99
Bramley apple tart 1.99
2 litrws orange juice 1.08
porridge sachets x 10 0.75
3 litres milk 2.15
bag of sugar0.64
555kg ketchup 0.63
jar of baby beetroot 0.99
15 tins of Guinness £12.99
Post by: seafoid on June 24, 2022, 03:25:39 PM

2L jar of milk £1.67
Loaf of bread £1.35
Box of Cornflakes £4.25
10 pk of ham £2.55
Can of Coke £1.10

The only way to get inflation down and put a bit of smacht on it is to raise interest rates until inflation collapses. That is not good for house prices.
There is going to be a pretty big recession next year, linked to interest rates.
Post by: marty34 on June 24, 2022, 03:42:22 PM
Quote from: seafoid on June 24, 2022, 03:25:39 PM

2L jar of milk £1.67
Loaf of bread £1.35
Box of Cornflakes £4.25
10 pk of ham £2.55
Can of Coke £1.10

The only way to get inflation down and put a bit of smacht on it is to raise interest rates until inflation collapses. That is not good for house prices.
There is going to be a pretty big recession next year, linked to interest rates.

Yeah, you'd think if interest rates go up a few %, it would create a lot of problems for people.

House prices could stall which, in itself, wouldn't be a bad thing. It has to stop somewhere. I think up on average 11% from this time last year.
Post by: imtommygunn on June 24, 2022, 04:19:54 PM
House prices have gone daft down south and they are heading that direction up north. I wouldn't fancy being a first time buyer.
Post by: Last Man on June 24, 2022, 04:26:15 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on June 24, 2022, 01:59:02 PM
Quote from: Last Man on June 24, 2022, 01:55:38 PM

2L jar of milk £1.67
Loaf of bread £1.35
Box of Cornflakes £4.25
10 pk of ham £2.55
Can of Coke £1.10

Did cross my mind that you'd be itching to reply something here lol
Post by: Nanderson on August 12, 2022, 03:48:54 PM
Anyone in the armagh city area know the price of diesel at the GO station at the loughall roundabout? seemed to always be around 5-10p cheaper than anywhere else and will be going past on thursday so was wondering would it be worth putting off filling up locally. currently 1.75 cheapest in my area
Post by: Last Man on August 12, 2022, 04:06:34 PM
170 at Top garage on Boucher rd for reference. 173 at Maxol abbey centre this morning which is cheap for them
Post by: imtommygunn on August 12, 2022, 04:11:52 PM
163.9 in a place in Lisburn just off the hill hall road. There are big tailbacks.
Post by: Nanderson on August 12, 2022, 04:15:49 PM
Just for reference my last fill was at castlebellingham apple green on the way to croker and with the exchange rate on revolut worked out at £1.53 a litre and thats when prices would have been roughly £1.90 up north
Post by: OgraAnDun on August 12, 2022, 05:48:57 PM
Quote from: Nanderson on August 12, 2022, 04:15:49 PM
Just for reference my last fill was at castlebellingham apple green on the way to croker and with the exchange rate on revolut worked out at £1.53 a litre and thats when prices would have been roughly £1.90 up north

The Circle K at Junction 7 (City North Hotel) just up the road is usually a few cent cheaper again.
Post by: illdecide on August 15, 2022, 09:43:46 AM
Seen a £1.62 somewhere yesterday. (think it was Crumlin)
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on August 15, 2022, 09:53:09 AM
Quote from: illdecide on August 15, 2022, 09:43:46 AM
Seen a £1.62 somewhere yesterday. (think it was Crumlin)

I'm Donegal at the minute and there's a few spots round Letterkenny where it is 1.81 euro which works out at £1.53 or so. Same round Cross and there's a spot beside our office in Dublin on the East Wall road that has it at that level.
Post by: clarshack on August 15, 2022, 09:53:39 AM
£1.599 in Cookstown
Post by: Farrandeelin on August 15, 2022, 10:04:23 AM
Priced kerosene for heating last week, €1250 for l
1000 litres. Good or bad? Will it get any lower?
Post by: Targetman on August 15, 2022, 10:38:34 AM
Far too dear, Lisburn fuels £800 for 1000 litres
Post by: bennydorano on August 15, 2022, 10:39:37 AM
Price in Armagh is £798 for 1000L (€944 at Google conversion rate). I'd say its going back up as Autumn approaches, been on to the wife to strike now.

$ to € conversion rate not helping down south.
Post by: toby47 on August 15, 2022, 02:47:56 PM
All GO stations now £1.69 for Diesel & £1.59 for petrol.
Post by: Kidder81 on August 15, 2022, 02:49:18 PM
Quote from: toby47 on August 15, 2022, 02:47:56 PM

GO is usually hard to beat
Post by: marty34 on August 15, 2022, 03:02:26 PM
Quote from: Kidder81 on August 15, 2022, 02:49:18 PM

GO is usually hard to beat

Go must have some stations about the place nowadays. I've noticed a lot of Applegreen and Circle K also.
Post by: laoislad on August 15, 2022, 03:31:16 PM
Got diesel in Urlingford over the weekend for €1.81 lowest I got it for in ages.
Post by: illdecide on August 20, 2022, 08:37:10 PM
£1.53 for Unleaded in Armagh today
Post by: nrico2006 on August 20, 2022, 08:51:29 PM

Doubt its all of them, all set their own prices.
Post by: bennydorano on August 26, 2022, 06:54:39 PM
Quote from: bennydorano on August 15, 2022, 10:39:37 AM
Price in Armagh is £798 for 1000L (€944 at Google conversion rate). I'd say its going back up as Autumn approaches, been on to the wife to strike now.

1000L back up to £970 today in Armagh. Luckily I struck  at the above rate.

There'll be a revolution before Spring.
Post by: Mourne Red on August 26, 2022, 08:27:36 PM
Oil was £725 last week now it's £1000 for 1000 Litres.. hows that happened?
Post by: Tony Baloney on August 26, 2022, 08:30:52 PM
Quote from: bennydorano on August 26, 2022, 06:54:39 PM

Got 1000L from P&J for 800 quid about a week ago. That's some jump.
Post by: AustinPowers on August 26, 2022, 09:50:25 PM

There'll be  no revolution . People are too busy watching  Love Island and  Netflix
Post by: tyrone08 on August 26, 2022, 10:17:17 PM
Quote from: AustinPowers on August 26, 2022, 09:50:25 PM

There'll be  no revolution . People are too busy watching  Love Island and  Netflix

Unfortunately that is sad but very true
Post by: Milltown Row2 on August 26, 2022, 10:18:44 PM

There'll be  no revolution . People are too busy watching Love Island USA and  Netflix

Fixed that
Post by: clarshack on August 26, 2022, 10:21:46 PM
Sadly this looks like it's going to be a bleak winter for a lot of folk.
Post by: AustinPowers on August 26, 2022, 10:32:45 PM
Quote from: clarshack on August 26, 2022, 10:21:46 PM

Maybe there is  something in this "great reset " thing after all

The great reset of   prices of fuel, food , etc.... while  wages remain the same and  workers have less and less rights 
Post by: grounded on August 26, 2022, 10:33:15 PM
Quote from: clarshack on August 26, 2022, 10:21:46 PM

Yep, and the Tories don't give one F#£k. Tough tough times ahead
Post by: From the Bunker on August 26, 2022, 10:42:34 PM

Revolt against what and who? Governments? Sure they have no control over anything anymore. They are just administrators horsing out printed money.
Post by: Wildweasel74 on August 26, 2022, 11:03:44 PM
Still no one answered  the rapid rise in heating oil in a week. Know there was talk of repairs to a gas line to Germany,  worried the Russians  wouldn't turn it on again. Price Diesel jumped 10p in a week too.
Post by: Tony Baloney on August 27, 2022, 12:02:39 AM
Quote from: Wildweasel74 on August 26, 2022, 11:03:44 PM
Still no one answered  the rapid rise in heating oil in a week. Know there was talk of repairs to a gas line to Germany,  worried the Russians  wouldn't turn it on again. Price Diesel jumped 10p in a week too.
The wholesale oil price was dropping a bit but on 22nd it shot up again rapidly fir some reason.
Post by: Fear Bun Na Sceilpe on August 27, 2022, 12:06:51 AM
1.60 per litre here in Killea - diesel
Post by: imtommygunn on August 27, 2022, 12:50:59 PM
159.9 in Bangor.
Post by: Wildweasel74 on August 27, 2022, 05:45:05 PM
Was 1:63 in Maghera, now 1:77!!
Post by: LeoMc on August 28, 2022, 09:51:38 AM

The German chancellor was in Canada negotiating additional supplies of LNG, Macron was in Algeria doing the same.
We have the DUP sitting with their finger up their hole and Truss and Sunak working out how to give tax breaks to their wealthy donors.
Post by: LeoMc on August 28, 2022, 09:54:22 AM
With talk of the lights going out and rolling blackouts is there value in getting a diesel generator or PV solar panels?
Post by: RadioGAAGAA on August 28, 2022, 12:31:59 PM
Quote from: LeoMc on August 28, 2022, 09:51:38 AM

The German chancellor was in Canada negotiating additional supplies of LNG, Macron was in Algeria doing the same.
We have the DUP sitting with their finger up their hole and Truss and Sunak working out how to give tax breaks to their wealthy donors.

VAT is the latest one doing the rounds.

Truss is considering a VAT cut to 15%.

'cos electric, heating, oil milk and bread all have the full VAT rate on them. Oh. wait a minute.

So, who is a VAT cut going to benefit the most?

Truss is either an imbecile, or cruel.
Post by: RadioGAAGAA on August 28, 2022, 12:50:46 PM
Quote from: LeoMc on August 28, 2022, 09:54:22 AM
With talk of the lights going out and rolling blackouts is there value in getting a diesel generator or PV solar panels?

Been pondering the PV panels myself this morning.

Still somewhat unsure if it adds up in a timely fashion. More research needed on PV degradation.
Post by: Jim Bob on August 28, 2022, 09:31:34 PM
Anyone here thinks it would be a good idea to fill the oil tank now ?
Post by: Wildweasel74 on August 28, 2022, 10:35:55 PM
Should done it last week, u already, like myself missed the window.
Post by: WT4E on August 29, 2022, 07:46:14 AM
Done it last week. 80p a litre
Post by: BrotherMore6592 on August 29, 2022, 01:27:05 PM
That was cheap! May I ask where? 1000 litres for myself was £895 last week
Post by: illdecide on August 29, 2022, 01:55:50 PM
Today for 1000l is £1050. I've been waiting all summer for price to drop so i can fill the tank but it ain't happening...WTF.
Post by: Aristo 60 on August 29, 2022, 02:24:48 PM
We need a September heatwave boys. I'm down to 4 inches in the tank, been waiting the whole summer for a drop in prices  :-[
Post by: Milltown Row2 on August 29, 2022, 02:26:54 PM
Fuel is down at the pump ( in comparison to before) but now paying more for oil?

I'll never understand this
Post by: bennydorano on August 29, 2022, 05:05:43 PM
I think everyone in the country had the same idea, wait for a drop in prices (and prices were dropping a bit as the $ conversion rate was dropping too, but the $ has strengthened again) then mid august people starting ordering heating oil to beat the Autumn / Winter rush and there's serious local demand. But mainly it's a f**king racket, price of coal has doubled too, no shortage of that AFAIK, coal we were buying locally was Columbian.
Post by: clarshack on August 29, 2022, 05:16:16 PM
I was away for a few days there and didn't want to fill the tank beforehand in case some sc**bag drained it when there was nobody about. Typical that the price would rocket  :(
Post by: Milltown Row2 on August 29, 2022, 05:25:33 PM
Quote from: clarshack on August 29, 2022, 05:16:16 PM
I was away for a few days there and didn't want to fill the tank beforehand in case some sc**bag drained it when there was nobody about. Typical that the price would rocket  :(

Well some sc**bag is going to rip ya off anyways!!
Post by: clarshack on August 29, 2022, 05:40:55 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on August 29, 2022, 05:25:33 PM
Quote from: clarshack on August 29, 2022, 05:16:16 PM

Well some sc**bag is going to rip ya off anyways!!

true enough.
Post by: toby47 on August 30, 2022, 08:38:47 AM
£1.62 for diesel yesterday on the border. £1.80 everywhere up north - How is this possible?
Post by: Fear Bun Na Sceilpe on August 30, 2022, 08:41:08 AM
Quote from: toby47 on August 30, 2022, 08:38:47 AM
£1.62 for diesel yesterday on the border. £1.80 everywhere up north - How is this possible?

£1.59 in Bridgend today, £1.82 in Derry-2 miles of a difference
Post by: Milltown Row2 on August 30, 2022, 08:59:54 AM

1.65 at my local in Newtownabbey
Post by: Mike Tyson on August 30, 2022, 09:00:45 AM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on August 30, 2022, 08:59:54 AM

Diesel?
Post by: Milltown Row2 on August 30, 2022, 09:02:00 AM
Quote from: Mike Tyson on August 30, 2022, 09:00:45 AM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on August 30, 2022, 08:59:54 AM

Diesel?

Petrol, think its 10p dearer
Post by: toby47 on August 30, 2022, 09:39:33 AM
Why is it cheaper just over the boarder?

£1.80 in Newry yesterday, £1.62 mile away in Omeath
Post by: imtommygunn on August 30, 2022, 09:55:55 AM
Is the euro much stronger than the pound?
Post by: RedHand88 on August 30, 2022, 09:57:04 AM
Quote from: toby47 on August 30, 2022, 09:39:33 AM

Different VAT/fuel duty system.
Post by: Fear Bun Na Sceilpe on August 30, 2022, 10:20:30 AM

They have a better govt
Post by: screenexile on August 30, 2022, 11:19:53 AM
Quote from: Fear Bun Na Sceilpe on August 30, 2022, 10:20:30 AM

They have a better govt

I think they take less excise duty and have a lower VAT rate for fuel.
Post by: screenexile on August 30, 2022, 11:21:02 AM
The price in the US is about 0.85c a litre and they're going ballistic over there!!!
Post by: bennydorano on August 30, 2022, 11:24:42 AM
A lot of it is the dollar strength, Oil markets are in US $ -  Sterling v $ is obviously different to the Euro v $ and is reflected in the prices, the euro has recovered a bit of ground v $ recently, Sterling has dropped. 2 different jurisdictions at the end of the day as well
Post by: toby47 on August 30, 2022, 12:49:22 PM
Quote from: screenexile on August 30, 2022, 11:21:02 AM
The price in the US is about 0.85c a litre and they're going ballistic over there!!!

Jeez oh, about £0.73 per litre. Would save me about £200 per month
Post by: Fear Bun Na Sceilpe on August 30, 2022, 01:31:42 PM
Quote from: screenexile on August 30, 2022, 11:19:53 AM

They have a better govt

I think they take less excise duty and have a lower VAT rate for fuel.

They seem to do a loy of things better-its going to be so amazing when SF get in, it will be 20p per litre
Post by: imtommygunn on August 30, 2022, 02:25:47 PM
Good work fear - you can turn anything into anti SF  ;D
Post by: WT4E on August 30, 2022, 03:09:07 PM

They have a better govt

Fixed that for you
Post by: Fear Bun Na Sceilpe on August 30, 2022, 03:35:05 PM
Quote from: imtommygunn on August 30, 2022, 02:25:47 PM
Good work fear - you can turn anything into anti SF  ;D

Lol. Tá an fhírinne searbh
Post by: Fear Bun Na Sceilpe on August 30, 2022, 04:13:23 PM
Quote from: Fionntamhnach on August 30, 2022, 03:48:12 PM
Quote from: Fear Bun Na Sceilpe on August 30, 2022, 01:31:42 PM
They seem to do a loy of things better-its going to be so amazing when SF get in, it will be 20p per litre

Are they planning to take the Republic out of the Eurozone?  :o

As for my own anecdotes, petrol & diesel prices are stating to rise on this side of the border again. In terms of cost difference with the Republic, there's very little for petrol but there's certainly a good difference in diesel. Also I topped up by oil tank about a week & a half ago with 300 litres for £260 - getting the same amount from the same supplier today is £320!

Going by some of the lads on here, we will all be back in the commonwealth under the queens pound
Post by: Jim Bob on August 30, 2022, 05:14:10 PM
Anyone ever buy tank of diesel for their motors when it was cheaper ?
Post by: redzone on August 30, 2022, 10:50:40 PM
Quote from: Jim Bob on August 30, 2022, 05:14:10 PM
Anyone ever buy tank of diesel for their motors when it was cheaper ?
Yes we do but it's kerosene. It's kept up at the farm and the wife and i use out of it . It's a massive saving in the year. Risky but worth it
Post by: johnnycool on September 01, 2022, 04:57:10 PM
Was driving past a Eurospar the other day and they'd bags of coal, 20KG for £17.95... That's over £10 dearer than this time last year.

FFS has Putin blocked the coal exports as well?
Post by: armaghniac on September 01, 2022, 11:18:24 PM
Putin has not blocked coal exports, but people have chosen not to do business with him.
Post by: Wildweasel74 on September 02, 2022, 12:56:56 AM
Coal couldn't be that price?
Post by: ardtole on September 02, 2022, 06:11:23 AM
A friend of mine owns a petrol station and told me last month that he expects coal to reach £40/€50 this winter for a 40kg bag.

This winter could see a lot of hardship, particularly for the elderly.
Post by: sensethetone on September 02, 2022, 07:38:41 AM
Quote from: johnnycool on September 01, 2022, 04:57:10 PM
Was driving past a Eurospar the other day and they'd bags of coal, 20KG for £17.95... That's over £10 dearer than this time last year.

Heard that the shipping costs to import a vessel load went up massively and that all the loading shovels and fork lifts etc are now on clear rather than red diesel.

Not defending the justification.
Post by: toby47 on September 02, 2022, 08:16:11 AM
Quote from: Wildweasel74 on September 02, 2022, 12:56:56 AM

It is surely, was £7 about a year ago, now around £17.
Post by: JoG2 on September 02, 2022, 09:12:29 AM
Quote from: toby47 on September 02, 2022, 08:16:11 AM
Quote from: Wildweasel74 on September 02, 2022, 12:56:56 AM

It is surely, was £7 about a year ago, now around £17.

Last fill of my bunker earlier this year was £72, now £124. 1000ltrs of oil up over £100 in the last week... Criminal
Post by: imtommygunn on September 02, 2022, 09:16:47 AM
How much of these price rises are legit vs how much is price gouging?
Post by: Hereiam on September 02, 2022, 10:01:15 AM
You need to factor in the exchange rate between the dollar and the pound.

The pound has been dropping like a rock lately due to the poor forecast of the UK economy and because oil is traded in Dollars it is making it more expensive for the UK to buy.

Of course this has noting to do with Brexit  ::)
Post by: imtommygunn on September 02, 2022, 01:35:34 PM
Brexit, exchange rates, the actual cost of gas / oil whether that be due to Ukraine scenario or not and the fact that people are blindly robbing us too seem to be all the factors...
Post by: keep her low this half on September 02, 2022, 02:20:10 PM
Quote from: Fionntamhnach on September 02, 2022, 12:17:29 PM
Quote from: Hereiam on September 02, 2022, 10:01:15 AM
You need to factor in the exchange rate between the dollar and the pound.

The pound has been dropping like a rock lately due to the poor forecast of the UK economy and because oil is traded in Dollars it is making it more expensive for the UK to buy.

Of course this has noting to do with Brexit  ::)

Bib - pointed that out a few posts ago!

The Euro has also been weakening against the US Dollar, albeit not as much.

Brexit is a factor, but not the only one.
Graph the price of Sterling against the dollar since 2016 and the Brexit vote, down, down, down. It has lost 20-25% of its value since Brexit.
Post by: toby47 on September 15, 2022, 11:05:47 AM
A bit of a drop in prices overnight?

Kerosene dropped 5.5p/ltr & Diesel dropped 4.5p/ltr.
Post by: Armagh18 on September 15, 2022, 12:19:00 PM
Quote from: sensethetone on September 02, 2022, 07:38:41 AM
Quote from: johnnycool on September 01, 2022, 04:57:10 PM

Heard that the shipping costs to import a vessel load went up massively and that all the loading shovels and fork lifts etc are now on clear rather than red diesel.

Not defending the justification.
Another brilliant decision
Post by: toby47 on September 16, 2022, 03:29:39 PM
Quote from: toby47 on September 15, 2022, 11:05:47 AM
A bit of a drop in prices overnight?

Kerosene dropped 5.5p/ltr & Diesel dropped 4.5p/ltr.

A further fall today
Post by: Wildweasel74 on September 17, 2022, 03:16:50 AM
Ah sure Where's all these trade deals Boris promised o. Leaving the EU, total bullshiter.
Post by: Jim Bob on September 17, 2022, 09:35:27 PM
Quote from: Fionntamhnach on September 17, 2022, 06:55:51 PM
Hilltop fuels on the A5 Omagh - Ballygawley road today was 149.9p for petrol & 171.9p for diesel per litre. Cheapest I've seen locally.

Same prices in Newell  stores Dungannon
Post by: johnnycool on September 21, 2022, 02:26:35 PM
NI Home Heating Oil users are currently getting a one off £100 payment to help over this winter...

With no executive in place to remedy this (if they could) for a very different energy market here from what operates in England...

Post by: Milltown Row2 on September 21, 2022, 02:28:29 PM
Quote from: johnnycool on September 21, 2022, 02:26:35 PM
NI Home Heating Oil users are currently getting a one off £100 payment to help over this winter...

With no executive in place to remedy this (if they could) for a very different energy market here from what operates in England...

100 liters paid for at the current rate...

Anyone taking them to task yet?
Post by: trailer on September 21, 2022, 02:46:43 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on September 21, 2022, 02:28:29 PM

Absolutely tighten people who went out and voted for this shit. Good luck eating that flag. I have very little sympathy.
Post by: johnnycool on September 21, 2022, 02:48:16 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on September 21, 2022, 02:28:29 PM

Sammy made a dick of himself on Talkback this afternoon, trying to say that we'll get the same "average" £1000 as the rest of GB even when William Crawley was explaining that is not what Rees Mogg is saying...

https://www.bbc.co.uk/sounds/play/p0d1mwn9 (https://www.bbc.co.uk/sounds/play/p0d1mwn9)

Hear it for yourself, I think he's really outdone himself and that takes some doing.

Post by: An Watcher on September 21, 2022, 05:27:39 PM
Fair play to your woman, Sinead who fairly tore into him and fired up different strategies to him
Post by: Aughafad on September 21, 2022, 05:40:39 PM
Quote from: Jim Bob on September 17, 2022, 09:35:27 PM
Hilltop fuels on the A5 Omagh - Ballygawley road today was 149.9p for petrol & 171.9p for diesel per litre. Cheapest I've seen locally.

gents get yourself a petrol car and convert it to LPG - 70p a litre
Post by: charlieTully on September 21, 2022, 09:40:09 PM
Quote from: Aughafad on September 21, 2022, 05:40:39 PM
Quote from: Jim Bob on September 17, 2022, 09:35:27 PM

gents get yourself a petrol car and convert it to LPG - 70p a litre

What's lpg?
Post by: Aughafad on September 21, 2022, 09:47:33 PM
Liquefied petroleum gas - autogas

https://www.rac.co.uk/drive/advice/emissions/what-is-lpg/
Post by: Smokin Joe on September 30, 2022, 03:41:08 PM
Heating oil back up to 99p / litre  ::)
Post by: toby47 on September 30, 2022, 04:22:54 PM
Mate of mine bought 20,000lts of heating oil during covid times for £0.29 a ltr. He was tried for about 3 days to convince me to do similar, jeez I should have listened.

Post by: God14 on September 30, 2022, 04:43:34 PM
Quote from: toby47 on September 30, 2022, 04:22:54 PM
Mate of mine bought 20,000lts of heating oil during covid times for £0.29 a ltr. He was tried for about 3 days to convince me to do similar, jeez I should have listened.

Kerosene can go off you know. Depending on annual usage, id say more than likely your mate will have a handling getting rid of it.
Post by: Rudi on September 30, 2022, 06:50:43 PM

The eggit, will turn to highly viscous sludge. f**k his burner up. How does he have the room to store it.
Post by: delgany on September 30, 2022, 08:10:01 PM
Quote from: Rudi on September 30, 2022, 06:50:43 PM

The eggit, will turn to highly viscous sludge. f**k his burner up. How does he have the room to store it.
Sell it and make a fortune
Post by: snoopdog on October 01, 2022, 09:32:05 AM
Diesel in maxol Harold's Cross e1.79, petrol e1.69. Cheapest I've seen in a while.
Post by: JimStynes on October 01, 2022, 10:01:36 AM
1.68 diesel and 1.58 petrol just outside Moria
Post by: Armagh18 on October 01, 2022, 02:20:41 PM
Quote from: JimStynes on October 01, 2022, 10:01:36 AM
1.68 diesel and 1.58 petrol just outside Moria
think i've seen petrol below 1.50 somewhere, possibly go in Armagh. Go usually the cheapest. Wouldn't go near circle k always seem to stick an extra few pence on
Post by: Milltown Row2 on October 01, 2022, 02:44:24 PM
Petrol 1.49 around Newtownabbey
Post by: Nanderson on October 13, 2022, 08:45:33 AM
Diesel prices up 10p overnight. Was 179.9 yesterday now most places 189.9 and above
Post by: imtommygunn on October 13, 2022, 08:50:47 AM
Yeah I think they're on the way up in the North again after that highly competent "mini" budget they put in last week.
Post by: seafoid on October 13, 2022, 08:55:26 AM
Thanks to Brexit inflation is higher in the sterling area
Post by: Milltown Row2 on October 13, 2022, 08:58:38 AM
Has things been any better since the financial collapse over 15 years ago?
Post by: imtommygunn on October 13, 2022, 09:08:59 AM
Quote from: seafoid on October 13, 2022, 08:55:26 AM

There's a lot more to it than just brexit.
Post by: seafoid on October 13, 2022, 09:11:36 AM
Quote from: imtommygunn on October 13, 2022, 09:08:59 AM
Quote from: seafoid on October 13, 2022, 08:55:26 AM

There's a lot more to it than just brexit.
There is but without Brexit prices would be about 2% lower.
Post by: nrico2006 on October 13, 2022, 09:56:28 AM
Quote from: Nanderson on October 13, 2022, 08:45:33 AM
Diesel prices up 10p overnight. Was 179.9 yesterday now most places 189.9 and above

Jumped up 10p at the weekend in most places, petrol basically the same though.
Post by: toby47 on October 13, 2022, 10:46:22 AM
Due to go up again in the coming days, will be £1.95/ltr in a few days.
Post by: rosnarun on October 13, 2022, 12:20:23 PM
Diesel €2.06 in carrick on shannon yesterday.
too shocked  to see Petrol Price
Post by: seafoid on October 13, 2022, 08:03:23 PM
inflation is still tearing the arse out of it

https://www.cnbc.com/video/2022/10/13/jim-cramer-reacts-to-septembers-hotter-than-expected-inflation-report.html
Post by: Milltown Row2 on October 13, 2022, 08:18:40 PM
This inflation isn't stopping people going out, was just in Belfast for bite to eat and drinks afterwards on Saturday night, restaurant 3 floors packed out, bar afterwards really busy!
Post by: north_antrim_hound on October 14, 2022, 01:02:43 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on October 13, 2022, 08:18:40 PM
This inflation isn't stopping people going out, was just in Belfast for bite to eat and drinks afterwards on Saturday night, restaurant 3 floors packed out, bar afterwards really busy!

You travel in elite circles bro, us piffling peasants have no interest In the hedonistic follies of the one percent club.
Post by: Rossfan on October 14, 2022, 02:05:27 PM
Quote from: rosnarun on October 13, 2022, 12:20:23 PM
Petrol seems to be up to 20c cheaper than diesel these days.
It used to be always around 10c dearer.
I'm confused!
Post by: seafoid on October 14, 2022, 02:39:24 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on October 13, 2022, 08:18:40 PM
I wouldn't say they are very fluirseach at the minute in Tiger's Bay.
Post by: armaghniac on October 14, 2022, 05:25:48 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on October 14, 2022, 02:05:27 PM
Quote from: rosnarun on October 13, 2022, 12:20:23 PM
Petrol seems to be up to 20c cheaper than diesel these days.
It used to be always around 10c dearer.
I'm confused!

In the Freestate the duty was reduced more on petrol than diesel, but there are also seasonal variations. Diesel was cheaper than petrol in the summer, but in winter people do less driving but burn more diesel.
Post by: seafoid on October 25, 2022, 10:19:47 AM
https://www.rte.ie/news/business/2022/1024/1331139-diesel-prices-explainer/
Post by: toby47 on November 24, 2022, 09:08:29 AM
Diesel £1.55
Petrol £ 1.31

In all GO stations from 7am - 7pm today.
Post by: Armagh18 on November 24, 2022, 09:30:08 AM
Quote from: toby47 on November 24, 2022, 09:08:29 AM
Diesel £1.55
Petrol £ 1.31

See that. Just shows how much they're ripping us off the rest of the year!!
Post by: Nanderson on November 24, 2022, 09:36:19 AM
Diesel £1.55
Petrol £ 1.31

Is this just a promotional thing or is this sign of future price. Places around newry yesterday sitting at 172p for diesel while in kilkeel its still 184
Post by: Mourne Red on November 24, 2022, 09:49:37 AM
Quote from: Armagh18 on November 24, 2022, 09:30:08 AM
Diesel £1.55
Petrol £ 1.31

Tbf to the GO Stations they're the cheapest about in my area.. Stations charging 10p more than them a litre for diesel past 8/9 months
Post by: toby47 on November 24, 2022, 09:53:41 AM
Drove past a Texaco this morning that was £1.84 for diesel. We have been ripped off for months surely.

The biggest myth ever is that fuel stations only make 'a couple of pence' of profit per litre.

Post by: Armagh18 on November 24, 2022, 09:57:15 AM
Quote from: Mourne Red on November 24, 2022, 09:49:37 AM
Quote from: Armagh18 on November 24, 2022, 09:30:08 AM
Diesel £1.55
Petrol £ 1.31

Tbf to the GO Stations they're the cheapest about in my area.. Stations charging 10p more than them a litre for diesel past 8/9 months
Yeah I would go to them before anywhere else, circle k particularly bad.
Post by: trailer on November 24, 2022, 10:14:09 AM
Quote from: toby47 on November 24, 2022, 09:53:41 AM
Drove past a Texaco this morning that was £1.84 for diesel. We have been ripped off for months surely.

The biggest myth ever is that fuel stations only make 'a couple of pence' of profit per litre.

Your complaining about the prices of a Fuel station that you drove past. People are smart. they will buy fuel where it is the cheapest.
Post by: square_ball on November 24, 2022, 10:14:17 AM
Quote from: Nanderson on November 24, 2022, 09:36:19 AM
Diesel £1.55
Petrol £ 1.31

Is this just a promotional thing or is this sign of future price. Places around newry yesterday sitting at 172p for diesel while in kilkeel its still 184

Promotional deal for thanksgiving. A place outside Omagh had it at £1.49 on Saturday for an opening day and they were queued down the Omagh-Ballygawley road.
Post by: clarshack on November 24, 2022, 11:09:09 AM
Diesel £1.55
Petrol £ 1.31

they've done this kind of promotion before and iirc in Cookstown it wasn't worth going as you would have been queued for 1-2 hours just to save a tenner.
Post by: tbrick18 on November 24, 2022, 11:45:58 AM
Quote from: clarshack on November 24, 2022, 11:09:09 AM
Diesel £1.55
Petrol £ 1.31

they've done this kind of promotion before and iirc in Cookstown it wasn't worth going as you would have been queued for 1-2 hours just to save a tenner.

It's not all GO stations either. Only a selected list.
Not worth the que or the drive to one of the locations that do have the offer. It's only a decent saving if you can fill the tank and you're in the vicinity already.
Fair play to them though, no others doing any offers like this.
Post by: thewobbler on November 24, 2022, 03:06:51 PM
Would seriously question the sanity of any person who spends an hour in a queue to save £15-20, which is probably less than a tenner for most folks, once they pop in a round trip to the filling station and leave the engine running for an hour.
Post by: Armagh18 on November 24, 2022, 03:20:49 PM
Quote from: thewobbler on November 24, 2022, 03:06:51 PM
Would seriously question the sanity of any person who spends an hour in a queue to save £15-20, which is probably less than a tenner for most folks, once they pop in a round trip to the filling station and leave the engine running for an hour.
Yep not worth it at all with those queues
Post by: toby47 on November 24, 2022, 03:33:03 PM
Quote from: thewobbler on November 24, 2022, 03:06:51 PM

What about someone on minimum wage, they would work for less than £10 an hour. Sitting in a que for 30-45 mins and save £20?
Post by: Tony Baloney on November 24, 2022, 05:41:14 PM
This is an annuam occurrence in Go in Armagh and it causes absolute gridlock on the streets. People end up missing appointments and surrounding businesses get impacted. I don't blame the motorists if they want to sit and save a tenner, it wouldn't be for me but it's irresponsible of the business owners.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on November 24, 2022, 05:45:50 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on November 24, 2022, 05:41:14 PM
This is an annuam occurrence in Go in Armagh and it causes absolute gridlock on the streets. People end up missing appointments and surrounding businesses get impacted. I don't blame the motorists if they want to sit and save a tenner, it wouldn't be for me but it's irresponsible of the business owners.

Causing road blocks on the Carrick Belfast road also
Post by: toby47 on November 29, 2022, 11:48:12 AM
Just drove past a garage doing Diesel for £1.49 & Petrol 1.34.

Cheapest in a long time.
Post by: Armagh18 on November 29, 2022, 12:00:18 PM
Quote from: toby47 on November 29, 2022, 11:48:12 AM

Cheapest in a long time.
always be wary of places that are a brave bit cheaper than the norm, some of the diesel knocking about wouldn't be of the greatest quality.
Post by: Main Street on November 29, 2022, 08:41:26 PM
Quote from: Armagh18 on November 29, 2022, 12:00:18 PM

Cheapest in a long time.
always be wary of places that are a brave bit cheaper than the norm, some of the diesel knocking about wouldn't be of the greatest quality.
Armagh folk know their diesel.
Post by: Armagh18 on November 29, 2022, 08:43:19 PM
Quote from: Main Street on November 29, 2022, 08:41:26 PM
Quote from: Armagh18 on November 29, 2022, 12:00:18 PM

Cheapest in a long time.
Armagh folk know their diesel.
That we do.
Post by: manfromdelmonte on November 29, 2022, 10:33:41 PM
Eur 171.9 this evening for diesel
Couldn't believe my eyes
Down 20c in a week
Post by: delgany on November 29, 2022, 10:49:42 PM
Quote from: manfromdelmonte on November 29, 2022, 10:33:41 PM
Couldn't believe my eyes
Down 20c in a week

Not keen on the quality but Sainsburys Petrol in West Belfast store is £1.48 but the south belfast store, 3 miles away is £1.61. WTF!
Post by: RedHand88 on November 30, 2022, 06:26:27 AM
Quote from: delgany on November 29, 2022, 10:49:42 PM
Couldn't believe my eyes
Down 20c in a week

Not keen on the quality but Sainsburys Petrol in West Belfast store is £1.48 but the south belfast store, 3 miles away is £1.61. WTF!

Aye but that's that fancy South Belfast diesel.
Post by: Saffrongael on December 06, 2022, 09:02:54 AM
Firmus reducing their gas prices by 17% in Belfast and 20% in the ten towns area.
Post by: Mario on December 06, 2022, 12:20:08 PM
Quote from: Saffrongael on December 06, 2022, 09:02:54 AM
Firmus reducing their gas prices by 17% in Belfast and 20% in the ten towns area.
Where will that leave them vs SSE? I've just left firmus as im sure many others had given the price difference.
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on December 06, 2022, 01:46:00 PM
Couldn't believe my eyes
Down 20c in a week

Got a fill last week in Cross at that price. Worked out £1.50 after exchange. I'd say it's down again this week so I'll top her up again. Nearly worth bring a few drums from Belfast and filling her car too!
Post by: toby47 on December 07, 2022, 09:59:32 AM
Diesel trading 10p cheaper per litre than it was 7 days ago. Hopefully the forecourts continue to drop their prices at the same rate.
Post by: Wildweasel74 on December 07, 2022, 04:52:16 PM
£1:50 over the border, £1:63 cheapest I see up here, still near 20p dearer than back in February.
Post by: Mourne Red on December 19, 2022, 09:50:56 AM
Diesel 1.59 in a few places around me - Oil seems to be over £1 a litre though
Post by: God14 on December 19, 2022, 09:54:25 AM
Quote from: Mourne Red on December 19, 2022, 09:50:56 AM

Yeah i cant understand how diesel and petrol are coming down but oil is on the march again.
brent Crude oil has been under €80 per barrel for the last few weeks as well
Post by: toby47 on December 19, 2022, 09:57:03 AM
Oil should not be over £1, Fuel companies are selling it commercially for around £0.80p per litre at the minute.
Post by: screenexile on December 19, 2022, 10:00:16 AM
Demand for oil is up due to the cold snap I'd say.
Post by: tbrick18 on December 19, 2022, 11:35:04 AM
Quote from: God14 on December 19, 2022, 09:54:25 AM
Quote from: Mourne Red on December 19, 2022, 09:50:56 AM

Yeah i cant understand how diesel and petrol are coming down but oil is on the march again.
brent Crude oil has been under €80 per barrel for the last few weeks as well

There is supposed to be a short term heating oil shortage due to a delayed shipment.
I'd imagine that's keeping heating oil high.
Post by: Saffrongael on January 19, 2023, 11:06:32 PM
Petrol and diesel both seem to be up by about 5p a litre this week
Post by: Milltown Row2 on January 19, 2023, 11:14:46 PM
For some reason the garage near me the petrol was and has been for several weeks, £1.39
Post by: Saffrongael on January 19, 2023, 11:20:45 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on January 19, 2023, 11:14:46 PM
For some reason the garage near me the petrol was and has been for several weeks, £1.39

It has been £1.39 few different places for the last few weeks but they all have went up this week
Post by: Milltown Row2 on January 19, 2023, 11:21:36 PM
Quote from: Saffrongael on January 19, 2023, 11:20:45 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on January 19, 2023, 11:14:46 PM

It has been £1.39 few different places for the last few weeks but they all have went up this week

Glad I filled up today
Post by: Olly on January 19, 2023, 11:25:28 PM
I filled the motor up with the left overs fromthe airfryer today, all the grease and stuff as the neighbour says it works, and it did. I drove from magherafelt to Keady and back and not a dip in the petrol lever.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on January 19, 2023, 11:27:27 PM
Quote from: Olly on January 19, 2023, 11:25:28 PM
I filled the motor up with the left overs fromthe airfryer today, all the grease and stuff as the neighbour says it works, and it did. I drove from magherafelt to Keady and back and not a dip in the petrol lever.

You'd be starving though after that drive! I'd be heading straight to chippy after that!
Post by: LC on January 20, 2023, 08:04:26 AM
Anybody hearing anything about the price of heating oil 'coincidentally' increasing just when the £600 payments are starting to be issued?
Post by: Saffrongael on January 20, 2023, 08:34:55 AM
Quote from: LC on January 20, 2023, 08:04:26 AM
Anybody hearing anything about the price of heating oil 'coincidentally' increasing just when the £600 payments are starting to be issued?

Will anyone be using it all for heating ? I doubt it
Post by: 93-DY-SAM on January 20, 2023, 09:11:47 AM
Quote from: LC on January 20, 2023, 08:04:26 AM

Have been keeping an eye on the price of heating oil over the last few weeks and it hasn't changed very much. But the sceptic in me thinks this is bound to happen.
Post by: Armagh18 on January 20, 2023, 09:45:44 AM
You'd imagine that between this cold snap and the £600 voucher heating oil prices will go up a bit. Although hopefully another month or so and the heat wont be needed as much.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on January 20, 2023, 09:51:00 AM
Quote from: Armagh18 on January 20, 2023, 09:45:44 AM
You'd imagine that between this cold snap and the £600 voucher heating oil prices will go up a bit. Although hopefully another month or so and the heat wont be needed as much.

To be 13 degrees next week so the demand to turn the oil on will have gone over the weekend, I'd like to see how much the travel companies do this week? There might be a spike in their sales ... A lot of £600 deposits going down for a trip to Santa Ponsa
Post by: Armagh18 on January 20, 2023, 10:02:50 AM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on January 20, 2023, 09:51:00 AM

To be 13 degrees next week so the demand to turn the oil on will have gone over the weekend, I'd like to see how much the travel companies do this week? There might be a spike in their sales ... A lot of £600 deposits going down for a trip to Santa Ponsa
Is it? Thank god lol.

Yeah I reckon you could be right in a lot of cases.
Post by: RedHand88 on January 20, 2023, 11:58:41 AM

It's all anyone is talking about at work, ones on minimum to low wage booking holidays left right and centre.
The crisis is completely overblown by the media.
Post by: Armagh18 on January 20, 2023, 12:12:20 PM
Quote from: RedHand88 on January 20, 2023, 11:58:41 AM

It's all anyone is talking about at work, ones on minimum to low wage booking holidays left right and centre.
Thats good i suppose! Although there are definitely people genuinely struggling to make ends meet.
Post by: armaghniac on January 20, 2023, 12:20:49 PM
Someone in the Russian embassy thought he should post this map. However, it shows Crimea as part of Ukraine, so the culprit has now been moved to Siberia.

(https://us.v-cdn.net/6034073/uploads/PGZY8L522XGX/petrolprice.jpg)
Post by: Wildweasel74 on January 20, 2023, 02:05:30 PM
I actually be using a bit of it on oil, but I wait to it goes down abit, was £250 for 300L before December, then jumped to £290, went to £260 last week, think up to £270. We see if it goes down nxt week then it gets abit warmer.
Post by: smort on January 20, 2023, 02:18:02 PM
Easy for people to say things when it doesn't effect them. Got our voucher in the post, have spent 345 on oil and put 100 into the keypad meter, rest will be used on food. Very grateful for it as have been going in to the overdraft each month, for the last few months
Post by: Franko on January 20, 2023, 02:20:15 PM

The plural of anecdote is not evidence.
Post by: Square Ball on January 20, 2023, 02:32:36 PM
Mine will be £300 on gas and £300 on electric, but will not be putting it on yet, still using electric bought at 17.8 per kwh and gas bought in September/November.
Post by: Wildweasel74 on January 24, 2023, 12:04:52 AM
Oil up £20 or so for 300L in a week, cold snap over, but just in time for the fuel voucher been issued, surprise suprise!
Post by: Milltown Row2 on January 24, 2023, 07:11:13 AM
If you pay a monthly bill goes it go to your bank account or do you get voucher?
Post by: JoG2 on January 24, 2023, 07:32:10 AM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on January 24, 2023, 07:11:13 AM
If you pay a monthly bill goes it go to your bank account or do you get voucher?

Straight from your provider into the account the direct debit comes out of (so hopefully yours and not the Mrs)... Payments were due to start yesterday
Post by: seafoid on January 24, 2023, 07:57:06 AM
Bend over . Here it comes again.

https://www.irishtimes.com/ireland/2023/01/23/how-the-cost-of-living-crisis-will-affect-your-grocery-bill-in-2023/

The good news is that the double-digit food price spiral recorded over the past year may at last be easing. The bad news is that the era of food price deflation and historically cheap food is almost certainly at an end.
The average increase of €40 for a full shop, meanwhile, would suggest that many Irish households would be spending as much as €2,000 more per year on groceries now than they were in 2021. It is an eye-watering figure and all the more so when you consider that that would be from net pay, meaning many will have to earn twice that just to cover the cost.
In the longer term, O'Reilly does not see a return to the food price deflation that was evident across the Irish grocery sector in the years preceding the start of the cost-of-living crisis.
"There has definitely been a readjustment in pricing and we will see higher prices for the foreseeable future," he says.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on January 24, 2023, 08:40:30 AM
Quote from: JoG2 on January 24, 2023, 07:32:10 AM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on January 24, 2023, 07:11:13 AM

Straight from your provider into the account the direct debit comes out of (so hopefully yours and not the Mrs)... Payments were due to start yesterday

All goes into the one hole anyways so if I see her coming in with new boots I'll know its went into the account..

Was listening to the news this morning, the North has the lowest expendable income in the UK, down by 25%
Post by: RedHand88 on January 25, 2023, 12:44:44 PM
Quote from: Franko on January 20, 2023, 02:20:15 PM

Fair, but this is pretty clear evidence...

https://amp.theguardian.com/business/2023/jan/25/easyjet-reports-record-bookings-despite-cost-of-living-crisis (https://amp.theguardian.com/business/2023/jan/25/easyjet-reports-record-bookings-despite-cost-of-living-crisis)

Easyjet were booking 5 aircraft a minute at the peak of it this month.
Post by: armaghniac on January 25, 2023, 01:07:12 PM
Quote from: RedHand88 on January 25, 2023, 12:44:44 PM

https://amp.theguardian.com/business/2023/jan/25/easyjet-reports-record-bookings-despite-cost-of-living-crisis (https://amp.theguardian.com/business/2023/jan/25/easyjet-reports-record-bookings-despite-cost-of-living-crisis)

A lot of people missed several holidays in Covid, some are even holding vouchers from airlines, and they are making up for lost time.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on January 25, 2023, 01:35:01 PM
Quote from: armaghniac on January 25, 2023, 01:07:12 PM
Quote from: RedHand88 on January 25, 2023, 12:44:44 PM

A lot of people missed several holidays in Covid, some are even holding vouchers from airlines, and they are making up for lost time.

The £600 voucher will help with that also
Post by: toby47 on February 07, 2023, 09:35:32 AM
The prices are falling like a stone, hopefully we start to see it in the forecourts soon.
Post by: johnnycool on February 07, 2023, 10:36:18 AM
Quote from: toby47 on February 07, 2023, 09:35:32 AM
The prices are falling like a stone, hopefully we start to see it in the forecourts soon.

Don't be holding your breath on that one.
Post by: Nanderson on March 18, 2023, 01:30:54 PM
What sort of prices for fuel are you seeing in your areas? Going through Newry other day some places as high as 1.58 and as low as 1.49 for diesel
Post by: marty34 on March 18, 2023, 01:33:12 PM
Quote from: Nanderson on March 18, 2023, 01:30:54 PM
What sort of prices for fuel are you seeing in your areas? Going through Newry other day some places as high as 1.58 and as low as 1.49 for diesel

Is it not cheaper in south?

Be cheaper to drive another few miles for the fill up.
Post by: Nanderson on March 18, 2023, 01:48:05 PM
Quote from: marty34 on March 18, 2023, 01:33:12 PM
Quote from: Nanderson on March 18, 2023, 01:30:54 PM

Is it not cheaper in south?

Be cheaper to drive another few miles for the fill up.
Im heading to carlingford this evening and hoping it will be in the 1.30s in Omeath. Was 1.45 a few weeks ago whilst prices up here were in the high 1.60s
Post by: Jim Bob on June 04, 2023, 11:26:35 PM
Anyone any predictions on the future price of heating oil in the North over the next few months.
Currently sitting at approx £270 for 500l and was thinking of filling a couple of tanks with it in case it starts to rise again.
Post by: JohnDenver on June 05, 2023, 08:49:28 AM
Quote from: Jim Bob on June 04, 2023, 11:26:35 PM
Anyone any predictions on the future price of heating oil in the North over the next few months.
Currently sitting at approx £270 for 500l and was thinking of filling a couple of tanks with it in case it starts to rise again.

https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/business-65804768
Post by: giveherlong on June 06, 2023, 10:15:17 AM
Looks like it's edging up very slightly. 500litres £275. 4 days ago same was £268

Tyrone & Fermanagh Heating Oil Prices 🔥06/06/23 200L £120 / 300L £176 / 500L £275 / 700L £385 / 900L £494
Post by: tonto1888 on August 02, 2023, 09:05:28 PM
I see prices are on the rise again
Post by: Sportacus on August 02, 2023, 09:33:03 PM
A very short time ago I checked and it was £520 for a thousand litres, like 3 weeks ago.  Today I bought it for £677.  Ridiculous.  There's something wrong with the market if it leaps fifty quid at a time, especially during a cost of living crisis. Maybe I panicked - only time will tell.
Post by: LC on August 02, 2023, 09:33:33 PM
Noticed that today, our local was at 138.9p for ages and now all of a sudden it is up 4p.
Post by: Nanderson on August 02, 2023, 10:03:44 PM
130.9 for Diesel in Banbridge Tesco and Go Station on the Newry-Belfast Carriageway as of last week
Post by: RedHand88 on August 02, 2023, 10:05:32 PM
Quote from: Nanderson on August 02, 2023, 10:03:44 PM
130.9 for Diesel in Banbridge Tesco and Go Station on the Newry-Belfast Carriageway as of last week

139 in Tesco Cookstown this evening.
Post by: nrico2006 on August 02, 2023, 10:17:54 PM
Prices for diesel barely changed for months then up 3 or 4p this past week. What's that about?
Post by: marty34 on August 02, 2023, 10:19:30 PM
Quote from: Sportacus on August 02, 2023, 09:33:03 PM
A very short time ago I checked and it was £520 for a thousand litres, like 3 weeks ago.  Today I bought it for £677.  Ridiculous.  There's something wrong with the market if it leaps fifty quid at a time, especially during a cost of living crisis. Maybe I panicked - only time will tell.

And during the summer too!
Post by: Sportacus on August 02, 2023, 10:31:43 PM
Quote from: marty34 on August 02, 2023, 10:19:30 PM
Quote from: Sportacus on August 02, 2023, 09:33:03 PM

And during the summer too!
If it goes up ten quid a week it gives you a chance to spot a trend and make your move.  But I reckon it's jumped fifty quid two weeks in a row, and all the suppliers are moving together.  You haven't a chance.
Post by: Wildweasel74 on August 02, 2023, 10:33:48 PM
There's not a shortage of oil, damn racket, people starting to order up with weather been colder than normal.
Post by: marty34 on August 02, 2023, 11:52:22 PM
Is there an interest rate announcement by the BOE tomorrow, Thursday?
Post by: RedHand88 on August 02, 2023, 11:57:50 PM
Quote from: marty34 on August 02, 2023, 11:52:22 PM

Yes.
Post by: marty34 on August 02, 2023, 11:59:12 PM
Quote from: RedHand88 on August 02, 2023, 11:57:50 PM

Yes.

Thanks.

Will it be another move upwards or stay the same?
Post by: RedHand88 on August 03, 2023, 07:57:14 AM
Quote from: marty34 on August 02, 2023, 11:59:12 PM

Yes.

Thanks.

0.25% upwards the move being tipped. Maybe 0.5. Slim chance it stays the same.
Post by: armaghniac on August 03, 2023, 10:16:47 AM
Quote from: RedHand88 on August 03, 2023, 07:57:14 AM
Quote from: marty34 on August 02, 2023, 11:59:12 PM

Yes.

Thanks.

0.25% upwards the move being tipped. Maybe 0.5. Slim chance it stays the same.

If the rate goes up, then Sterling goes up and so diesel, petrol and oil go down in the occupied territories.
Post by: clarshack on August 03, 2023, 06:00:05 PM
It looks like it will be a very long time before we ever see low interest rates again.
Post by: armaghniac on August 03, 2023, 06:46:12 PM
Those low interest rates were an aberration, they were never going to remain quite that low.
Post by: marty34 on August 03, 2023, 11:07:48 PM
Quote from: armaghniac on August 03, 2023, 06:46:12 PM
Those low interest rates were an aberration, they were never going to remain quite that low.

I can never understand how people can buy sites then build a big house on it.

Some grand houses you'll see as you drive around the place.
Post by: armaghniac on August 04, 2023, 12:31:34 AM
Quote from: marty34 on August 03, 2023, 11:07:48 PM
Quote from: armaghniac on August 03, 2023, 06:46:12 PM

I can never understand how people can buy sites then build a big house on it.

Some grand houses you'll see as you drive around the place.

Washing diesel is effective.
Post by: LC on August 04, 2023, 07:31:45 AM
Diesel up to 147.9p around our way, that's 9p in a week......wtf.
Post by: ck on August 04, 2023, 10:04:10 AM
Quote from: LC on August 04, 2023, 07:31:45 AM
Diesel up to 147.9p around our way, that's 9p in a week......wtf.

Yep, home heating oil (Kero) and Diesel are both on the rise and will steadily rise between now and winter. My advice is to fill your tank NOW!
Post by: Nanderson on August 04, 2023, 10:10:44 AM
Any ideas whats caused the sharp rise? Or is it just corporate greed?
Post by: imtommygunn on August 04, 2023, 10:13:16 AM
Is it anything to do with currency value / interest rates etc? I'm assuming this is in the north?
Post by: Milltown Row2 on August 04, 2023, 10:19:34 AM
£330 for 500 litres today...
Post by: armaghniac on August 04, 2023, 11:05:56 AM
Quote from: imtommygunn on August 04, 2023, 10:13:16 AM
Is it anything to do with currency value / interest rates etc? I'm assuming this is in the north?

Oil was below $70 in June, now it is $82 or so
Post by: Nanderson on August 04, 2023, 11:19:34 AM
Quote from: armaghniac on August 04, 2023, 11:05:56 AM

What had it got to during the peak of the Russian invasion
Post by: LC on August 04, 2023, 11:41:31 AM

A while back when oil was circa $70 diesel went up to 123.9p .......

https://www.theguardian.com/business/2018/jan/10/oil-price-hits-three-year-high-petrol-prices-uk

Been a lifetime since diesel was this price.  Its not profiteering, more like racketeering.
Post by: armaghniac on August 04, 2023, 12:30:54 PM
Quote from: Nanderson on August 04, 2023, 11:19:34 AM

What had it got to during the peak of the Russian invasion

It was around $115 for a while, almost half as much again as recently.

Quote from: LC on August 04, 2023, 11:41:31 AM

A while back when oil was circa $70 diesel went up to 123.9p .......

https://www.theguardian.com/business/2018/jan/10/oil-price-hits-three-year-high-petrol-prices-uk

Been a lifetime since diesel was this price.  Its not profiteering, more like racketeering.

Sterling is worth less against the dollar than in 2018, so that could add 10% even if the oil price was the same. The tax may have gone up too. 
Post by: 93-DY-SAM on August 04, 2023, 02:24:18 PM
Interesting how many of these big firms' profits have increased by factors of stupid yet they'd have you believe on a day-to-day basis that their margins are being squeezed which is why prices have had to go up. Everyone is at it from oil companies, energy companies, insurance companies, supermarkets etc. It is us mugs at the bottom who are being taken for every penny but sure look over there, there is a boat load of people that look different than us arriving into the country. It is an absolute scandal where the super-rich are getting richer by the minute and everyone else is poorer.
Post by: armaghniac on August 04, 2023, 03:04:11 PM
Quote from: 93-DY-SAM on August 04, 2023, 02:24:18 PM
Interesting how many of these big firms' profits have increased by factors of stupid yet they'd have you believe on a day-to-day basis that their margins are being squeezed which is why prices have had to go up. Everyone is at it from oil companies, energy companies, insurance companies, supermarkets etc. It is us mugs at the bottom who are being taken for every penny but sure look over there, there is a boat load of people that look different than us arriving into the country. It is an absolute scandal where the super-rich are getting richer by the minute and everyone else is poorer.

Your statement is indiscriminate. Some companies are making large profits, if you own an oil well or gas field and the price of these things go up then of course you make a big profit. That in itself does not mean that your local petrol station makes more money.
Post by: Mike Tyson on August 04, 2023, 03:45:40 PM
Quote from: armaghniac on August 04, 2023, 03:04:11 PM

Your statement is indiscriminate. Some companies are making large profits, if you own an oil well or gas field and the price of these things go up then of course you make a big profit. That in itself does not mean that your local petrol station makes more money.

"Recent figures from RAC Fuel Watch show that the average profit margin on a litre of petrol is 10p. For diesel it's a massive 21p. Prior to the pandemic, the long-term margin on both fuels was around 7p per litre"

https://www.nationalworld.com/opinion/as-profit-margins-double-its-hard-not-to-feel-drivers-are-being-taken-for-a-ride-on-fuel-prices-4155088

The above statement may be heavily influenced by supermarkets taking the pi$$, but would suggest that everyone is at it.
Post by: armaghniac on August 04, 2023, 08:36:38 PM
Quote from: Mike Tyson on August 04, 2023, 03:45:40 PM

"Recent figures from RAC Fuel Watch show that the average profit margin on a litre of petrol is 10p. For diesel it's a massive 21p. Prior to the pandemic, the long-term margin on both fuels was around 7p per litre"

https://www.nationalworld.com/opinion/as-profit-margins-double-its-hard-not-to-feel-drivers-are-being-taken-for-a-ride-on-fuel-prices-4155088

The above statement may be heavily influenced by supermarkets taking the pi$$, but would suggest that everyone is at it.

If the supermarkets do it then it increases the scope for the an extra penny or two in that area. I'd say that the margin probably started off a cent less and did not go up as much in liberated Ireland.
Post by: 93-DY-SAM on August 04, 2023, 10:26:45 PM

You'll note I said the super rich are getting richer - the ones at the top of the food chain. I never mentioned local petrol stations. There is an element of profiteering at a local level but the real racket is at the top.
Post by: LC on August 05, 2023, 11:20:53 AM
Quote from: 93-DY-SAM on August 04, 2023, 10:26:45 PM

You'll note I said the super rich are getting richer - the ones at the top of the food chain. I never mentioned local petrol stations. There is an element of profiteering at a local level but the real racket is at the top.

Agree 100% re above, there is a petrol station around our way and fair to say prices go up like a rocket and come down like a feather.
Post by: thewobbler on August 08, 2023, 07:34:05 AM
Yesterday.

Diesel in the 2 x Go stations and Tesco along the A1 at Banbridge: £1.30.9

Diesel in the K Circles on Warrenpoint Road and Belfast Road in Newry: £1.51.9

Not sure I've ever seen a disparity this big in the 6 counties.

Somebody somewhere ( and it looks like K Circle is involved) is trying to hump the consumer.
Post by: clonian on August 08, 2023, 08:21:58 AM
Quote from: thewobbler on August 08, 2023, 07:34:05 AM
Yesterday.

Somebody somewhere ( and it looks like K Circle is involved) is trying to hump the consumer.

That one is always one of the most expensive in the area too
Post by: Silver hill on August 08, 2023, 08:56:19 AM
Oil is a commodity. The price per barrel to take it out of the ground is relatively stable. There can certainly be a bit of gauging at a local level but it's the fat cats trading on the stock exchanges that is the primary driver of what's paid at the pump.
Post by: tbrick18 on August 09, 2023, 04:45:50 PM
Yesterday.

Go in Dungannon yesterday, 144.9p
Sainsbury's in Dungannon, 137.9p

Go has jumped from 131.9p to 144.9p in about a week, roughly 5p every few days.
For me that is scandalous.
This sort of profiteering will bump up inflation again and could well impact future interest rate rises which mean we all have to pay even more.

Is this the same across other EU countries?
Post by: clonian on August 09, 2023, 04:48:39 PM
Quote from: tbrick18 on August 09, 2023, 04:45:50 PM
Yesterday.

This sort of profiteering will bump up inflation again and could well impact future interest rate rises which mean we all have to pay even more.

Go on the A1 at Banbridge are both still 130.9 today - topped up today before it shoots up
Post by: BrotherMore6592 on August 09, 2023, 08:19:04 PM
Pretty sure they're called Circle K
Post by: clonian on August 11, 2023, 03:40:10 PM
Quote from: clonian on August 09, 2023, 04:48:39 PM
Yesterday.

Go on the A1 at Banbridge are both still 130.9 today - topped up today before it shoots up

Go added 9p on yesterday. Tesco is still at 130.9 at the outlet but you'd be better paying the extra, their diesel is shite.
Post by: LC on August 18, 2023, 06:43:30 AM
151.9p per litre for diesel I noticed this morning.

That is easily up 13p / 10% in the past month but there does not seem to be a peep of it in the news.
Post by: Itchy on August 18, 2023, 08:13:53 AM
Yesterday.

Spain seems to be 20c a litre less than Ireland. How is this if we  have euro wide rules that cannot be broken according to our governement.
Post by: square_ball on August 18, 2023, 09:09:23 AM
Quote from: clonian on August 11, 2023, 03:40:10 PM
Quote from: clonian on August 09, 2023, 04:48:39 PM
Yesterday.

Go added 9p on yesterday. Tesco is still at 130.9 at the outlet but you'd be better paying the extra, their diesel is shite.

Genuine question - why?
Post by: general_lee on August 18, 2023, 12:54:25 PM
Surely all the diesel in the north comes from the same terminals. One in Derry and rest in Belfast. If tesco diesel is bad then it's all bad!
Post by: maddog on August 18, 2023, 01:09:41 PM
Quote from: general_lee on August 18, 2023, 12:54:25 PM
Surely all the diesel in the north comes from the same terminals. One in Derry and rest in Belfast. If tesco diesel is bad then it's all bad!

Could be horseshite but mechanic told me that while the diesel might be all the same the like of ESSO put a drop of some sort of additive into the tanker for performance and lubrication or something like that. The supermarkets dont hence price difference. He also said run the car 3 tanks on supermarket diesel but every 4th one get it from ESSO/Shell etc. Had to do with an engine management light that we had coming on and this is what he put it down to.
Post by: Nanderson on August 22, 2023, 07:37:42 AM
Diesel now at 1.51 in South Down Spar fuel stations. This feels like the month after the invasion where every time you drive past another 1 or 2 pence goes onto the price of fuel.
Post by: bennydorano on August 22, 2023, 09:21:45 AM
Nevermind fuel, noticed 1 x tin of Heinz beans in a local petrol station yesterday for £1.69, country is bucked.
Post by: Nanderson on September 17, 2023, 11:44:39 AM
Anyone know what diesel price is in Banbridge Tesco or Go station. Heading through the area tomorrow
Post by: marty34 on September 17, 2023, 01:35:17 PM
Quote from: Nanderson on September 17, 2023, 11:44:39 AM
Anyone know what diesel price is in Banbridge Tesco or Go station. Heading through the area tomorrow

Is there a difference in price between north and south now?

I read recently that the government in south added 6 or 7c to a litre.
Post by: Nanderson on September 17, 2023, 03:01:13 PM
Quote from: marty34 on September 17, 2023, 01:35:17 PM
Quote from: Nanderson on September 17, 2023, 11:44:39 AM

Is there a difference in price between north and south now?

I read recently that the government in south added 6 or 7c to a litre.
Did they add back some of the fuel duty that they subsidised?
Post by: armaghniac on September 17, 2023, 03:09:56 PM
Quote from: Nanderson on September 17, 2023, 03:01:13 PM

This was the second of three steps to restore the cut in duty last year. However, they don't look like going ahead with the third one in October as oil has gone up.
Post by: marty34 on September 17, 2023, 07:25:43 PM
Quote from: armaghniac on September 17, 2023, 03:09:56 PM
Quote from: Nanderson on September 17, 2023, 03:01:13 PM

This was the second of three steps to restore the cut in duty last year. However, they don't look like going ahead with the third one in October as oil has gone up.

So is it dearer in north or south?
Post by: armaghniac on September 17, 2023, 11:50:58 PM
Diesel might be a cent cheaper in the south, depending on how you change your money. Petrol is cheaper in the North at present.
Post by: Onthe40 on September 18, 2023, 10:36:24 AM
Any inklings on oil prices, need a fill, is it as cheap now as it will be, id assume it'll only go higher as we head towards the winter?
Post by: Sportacus on September 18, 2023, 04:19:20 PM
Quote from: Onthe40 on September 18, 2023, 10:36:24 AM
Any inklings on oil prices, need a fill, is it as cheap now as it will be, id assume it'll only go higher as we head towards the winter?
I'm not sure what the outlook is but unfortunately a barrel of oil is up 30% since June and a thousand litres is up well over £200 in the same period.
Post by: toby47 on September 19, 2023, 10:08:06 AM
Diesel up to £1.59 this morning.
Post by: tonto1888 on October 13, 2023, 04:41:47 PM
Diesel at circle k has dropped 8p per litre since lunch time  The one in lurgan.
Post by: bennydorano on October 17, 2023, 04:43:08 PM
Will take a while to filter through but assuming this goes ahead it should be good news for consumers as the price of Oil should drop with an increase in production. A f**k you to OPEC+ from Biden.

https://www.axios.com/2023/10/17/us-reportedly-to-ease-venezuelan-oil-sanctions
Post by: Smokin Joe on November 22, 2023, 04:23:42 PM
I see that crude oil has fallen 4% today.
Anyone know, typically, how long that drop will take to be seen in home heating oil prices?
Post by: trailer on November 22, 2023, 04:54:16 PM
Black Friday deals this week. Keep an eye out. Don't know if I could queue for hours to save £10.
Post by: nrico2006 on November 22, 2023, 05:22:35 PM
Biggest scumbags about. It comes up instantly but takes weeks to go down, as 'we bought it at that price'.
Post by: clarshack on November 22, 2023, 07:05:09 PM
Quote from: Smokin Joe on November 22, 2023, 04:23:42 PMI see that crude oil has fallen 4% today.
Anyone know, typically, how long that drop will take to be seen in home heating oil prices?

It fell recently before today but took a good few weeks for it to show in home heating oil prices. Yet the first sign of news of it going up they have the prices changed the next day. It's not a myth.
Post by: marty34 on November 22, 2023, 09:03:06 PM
The petrol stations, with no people working at them i.e. self service, seem to be the cheapest. GO seem to be buying/building a lot of places these days.

Big one on road to Newry at The Outlet.
Post by: toby47 on November 23, 2023, 08:52:56 AM
Quote from: trailer on November 22, 2023, 04:54:16 PMBlack Friday deals this week. Keep an eye out. Don't know if I could queue for hours to save £10.

And they aren't giving it away at a loss on the Black Friday prices. Shows how much they are sticking the arm in
Post by: 93-DY-SAM on November 23, 2023, 09:26:58 AM
Quote from: toby47 on November 23, 2023, 08:52:56 AM
Quote from: trailer on November 22, 2023, 04:54:16 PMBlack Friday deals this week. Keep an eye out. Don't know if I could queue for hours to save £10.

And they aren't giving it away at a loss on the Black Friday prices. Shows how much they are sticking the arm in

We've all be climatised/brainwashed to just accept this. Same with insurance now. No coincidence that these companies' profit margins have shot up yet they still have the cheek to tell you their costs have risen. We are all being rode stupid.
Post by: quit yo jibbajabba on November 23, 2023, 09:39:05 AM
Sam that's it in a nutshell
Post by: marty34 on December 21, 2023, 11:14:36 PM
Is fuel (diesel/petrol) cheaper in north or south these days?
Post by: RedHand88 on December 22, 2023, 06:45:45 AM
Quote from: marty34 on December 21, 2023, 11:14:36 PMIs fuel (diesel/petrol) cheaper in north or south these days?

Much cheaper in the North.
Post by: Tony Baloney on December 22, 2023, 09:28:48 AM
Quote from: RedHand88 on December 22, 2023, 06:45:45 AM
Quote from: marty34 on December 21, 2023, 11:14:36 PMIs fuel (diesel/petrol) cheaper in north or south these days?

Yes cheaper in the North at the min.
Post by: armaghniac on December 22, 2023, 04:54:01 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on December 22, 2023, 09:28:48 AM

Specifically, petrol is cheaper in the North, diesel is probably a couple of cents cheaper in the 26 counties.
Post by: RedHand88 on December 22, 2023, 10:04:50 PM
Quote from: armaghniac on December 22, 2023, 04:54:01 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on December 22, 2023, 09:28:48 AM

Specifically, petrol is cheaper in the North, diesel is probably a couple of cents cheaper in the 26 counties.

Nah not at the minute. Diesel can be got for £1.37 or so in the north.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on December 22, 2023, 11:15:28 PM
Christ! Seafoid will have a fit if the north is having a better deal on fuel
Post by: toby47 on January 31, 2024, 07:30:33 PM
GO have a 12hr sale. 7pm this eve til 7am tomorrow

Diesel £1.19
Petrol £1.12
Post by: clonian on January 31, 2024, 10:49:51 PM
Quote from: toby47 on January 31, 2024, 07:30:33 PMGO have a 12hr sale. 7pm this eve til 7am tomorrow

Diesel £1.19
Petrol £1.12

I was lifting the daughter from Lisburn and they were queued onto the carriageway at the one on the A1 and they were out to the roundabout at the Boulevard. I'll just go to the local garage tomorrow. Not queuing an hour to save 20 quid
Post by: Tony Baloney on January 31, 2024, 11:51:49 PM
Quote from: clonian on January 31, 2024, 10:49:51 PM
Quote from: toby47 on January 31, 2024, 07:30:33 PMGO have a 12hr sale. 7pm this eve til 7am tomorrow

Diesel £1.19
Petrol £1.12

I was lifting the daughter from Lisburn and they were queued onto the carriageway at the one on the A1 and they were out to the roundabout at the Boulevard. I'll just go to the local garage tomorrow. Not queuing an hour to save 20 quid
At least the are doing it at night. There was one in the daytime in Armagh last year and a load of businesses complained as people couldn't get near the shops or keep appointments. The average punter would save a tenner with 20p off, not 20 quid so it's pure madness
Post by: Wildweasel74 on February 01, 2024, 01:13:42 AM
Well the GO owners have made a no. Of million at this craic so they ain't losing money.
Post by: Armagh18 on February 01, 2024, 01:22:53 AM
People are badly stuck for a tenner Jesus Christ
Post by: sensethetone on February 01, 2024, 06:04:10 AM
Jeffery should have gotten GO on board to sell his deal.
Post by: RedHand88 on February 01, 2024, 06:38:14 AM
Quote from: Armagh18 on February 01, 2024, 01:22:53 AMPeople are badly stuck for a tenner Jesus Christ

Saw a photo of the queue in Dungannon. On display was a Mercedes (possibly A class) and some sort of pickup that looked like it does 30mpg.

Saving pennies and spending pounds.
Post by: Hereiam on February 01, 2024, 10:00:10 AM
The likes of this carry on by filling stations tells you that fuel prices should be lower
Post by: thewobbler on February 01, 2024, 10:19:16 AM
Even should you have an outrageously large 70 litre tank on your car, and manage to arrive in a Go station just as you're about to run out, and do so as a matter of a normal commute rather than going out of your way, then your total savings would be, wait for it, wait for it... £14.

Part of me would support a cull of anyone queuing for this offer. You know, for the long term betterment of the human race and all that.
Post by: toby47 on February 01, 2024, 10:59:01 AM
Again, GO aren't selling it at a loss for 12 hours.

The Applegreen this morning was £1.49, and GO were obviously making profit last night at £1.19.
Post by: clonian on February 01, 2024, 11:26:25 AM
Quote from: thewobbler on February 01, 2024, 10:19:16 AMEven should you have an outrageously large 70 litre tank on your car, and manage to arrive in a Go station just as you're about to run out, and do so as a matter of a normal commute rather than going out of your way, then your total savings would be, wait for it, wait for it... £14.

Part of me would support a cull of anyone queuing for this offer. You know, for the long term betterment of the human race and all that.
Yeah I overestimated the £20. I filled mine this morning at 1.39 and we worked out I would've saved 10.50 last night at GO. And the man in the garage was asking what GO put it up to this morning so they obviously use their price as guide of where to aim for. I'll be paying 1.49 next week then
Post by: AustinPowers on February 01, 2024, 01:19:35 PM
Quote from: thewobbler on February 01, 2024, 10:19:16 AMEven should you have an outrageously large 70 litre tank on your car, and manage to arrive in a Go station just as you're about to run out, and do so as a matter of a normal commute rather than going out of your way, then your total savings would be, wait for it, wait for it... £14.

£14  is   a lot of money for some people
Post by: trailer on February 01, 2024, 01:36:55 PM
Mickey Loughran is no doser.
Post by: tonto1888 on February 01, 2024, 02:06:02 PM
Quote from: AustinPowers on February 01, 2024, 01:19:35 PM

it is but I imagine the point of this post was in relation to the car being driven
Post by: AustinPowers on February 01, 2024, 02:09:41 PM
Quote from: tonto1888 on February 01, 2024, 02:06:02 PM

it is but I imagine the point of this post was in relation to the car being driven

Well yes, that's true.

The other side of it is , driving a car  with  a full tank of petrol weighs more , which  then takes more fuel to  drag it around. 
Post by: lurganblue on February 01, 2024, 02:33:05 PM
https://news.sky.com/story/fuel-retailers-forced-to-share-price-changes-within-30-minutes-under-pumpwatch-plan-13049042 (https://news.sky.com/story/fuel-retailers-forced-to-share-price-changes-within-30-minutes-under-pumpwatch-plan-13049042)

Hopefully this will help bring prices down a little and maybe create some competition.
Post by: thewobbler on February 01, 2024, 02:42:07 PM

If you can afford to run a car, then honestly it's not.
Post by: Franko on February 01, 2024, 03:24:49 PM

Post by: Taylor on February 01, 2024, 03:55:34 PM

;D  ;D
Post by: johnnycool on February 01, 2024, 04:28:12 PM
Quote from: thewobbler on February 01, 2024, 02:42:07 PM

If you can afford to run a car, then honestly it's not.

In the bigger scheme of things it probably isn't a whole pile, but the side affect of this is that it may force others to drop their prices to compete, market economy and all that.

Post by: general_lee on February 01, 2024, 04:30:45 PM
Guilty your honour. I was passing by one of these petrol stations last year, needed to fill up and shamelessly queued up and saved myself a few pound. £10 better in my pocket than theirs