Down Club Hurling & Football

Started by Lecale2, November 10, 2006, 12:06:55 AM

Quote from: Dubh driocht on May 18, 2023, 09:38:17 PM
Quote from: Walter Cronc on May 18, 2023, 09:16:24 PM
What a shower! You can guarantee he wouldn't act the hard man away from his home ground!
The game was in Carryduff

Shite. Saw the Mountains and assumed was Kilcoo. Thats a lock the gates, no ones leaving job!

wobbller

Quote from: wobbller on May 10, 2023, 09:25:57 PM
Rumour that there is bit of in-fighting in the Kilcoo/Down camp.
Further rumour that the in-fighting now has Carryduff in the mix
due to the EB video.

Truth hurts

Not to defend the cowardly punch, but come on guys, have you ever seen a guy at your club throw a sly dig.

SticksandStones

Quote from: Truth hurts on May 19, 2023, 09:55:32 AM
Not to defend the cowardly punch, but come on guys, have you ever seen a guy at your club throw a sly dig.

Reads like you're defending it

champion1981

What a shower! You can guarantee he wouldn't act the hard man away from his home ground!
was this match not in Carryduff? A couple of years ago when a kilcoo man got assaulted by a clonduff player everyone was saying "what happens on the field should stay on the field " would like to see full video of the game! Heard from a neutral there was alot of stuff done of the ball on both teams especially duff no9 and no8! 🤷

Quote from: Truth hurts on May 19, 2023, 09:55:32 AM

Must have stunned the young fella who would have been well within his rights to lamp Brannigan.

Nice to see the young lads behind the goals with the hurls all the same.

Truth hurts

Quote from: champion1981 on May 19, 2023, 10:49:07 AM
was this match not in Carryduff? A couple of years ago when a kilcoo man got assaulted by a clonduff player everyone was saying "what happens on the field should stay on the field " would like to see full video of the game! Heard from a neutral there was alot of stuff done of the ball on both teams especially duff no9 and no8! 🤷

No, I would think that if someone struck you on or off the pitch, they should go to the police, but this happens on every pitch and needs to be eliminated from our game.

jmcgdoire

Quote from: Truth hurts on May 19, 2023, 01:03:31 PM
Quote from: champion1981 on May 19, 2023, 10:49:07 AM

No, I would think that if someone struck you on or off the pitch, they should go to the police, but this happens on every pitch and needs to be eliminated from our game.

Agreed. There are tit-for-tat situations that can be left on the pitch but assault is assault. And there are players/clubs that are using gaelic football as a shield to carry out acts of violence. I can tolerate when two lads get into a scrap with each other and share a few blows but what Branigan did was blatant assault in the most cowardly fashion.

PTC

You would think with the over reaction here that the lad was shot, it goes on in every game. Look at the off the ball stuff that happened in the Armagh and Derry game and not a word about it. Just the usual let's bash Kilcoo!

Quote from: PTC on May 19, 2023, 01:24:42 PM
You would think with the over reaction here that the lad was shot, it goes on in every game. Look at the off the ball stuff that happened in the Armagh and Derry game and not a word about it. Just the usual let's bash Kilcoo!

I'm struggling to remember a game that I saw something as cowardly as that, nevermind it happening in every game as you claim. sc**bag move!

Mourne Red

Overreaction lol.. Same club took a Clonduff player to court. Youse would be crying and have the sheep shitting all over the offending clubs parish if it happened to youse

Truth hurts

Although it doesn't happen in every game, it has in the past taken place in every club where a sneaky punch was thrown. The only way to stop it is by following the correct procedures. It needs stamped out  from the county board as well, but because he is a county player, this will go unnoticed.

AnPuca

Quote from: Mourne Red on May 19, 2023, 02:08:44 PM

Overreaction lol.. Same club took a Clonduff player to court. Youse would be crying and have the sheep shitting all over the offending clubs parish if it happened to youse

What Clonduff player was that?

rosskarr

Quote from: AnPuca on May 19, 2023, 03:27:50 PM
Quote from: Mourne Red on May 19, 2023, 02:08:44 PM

What Clonduff player was that?
My namesake's son Charlie. ;D ;D

PTC

Hearing reports the young lad from carryduff made it to the stag today. He recovered quickly.