2018 NFL Division 1

Started by Kuwabatake Sanjuro, January 02, 2018, 09:17:32 PM

straightred

Quote from: seafoid on March 11, 2018, 06:39:08 PM
Quote from: ashman on March 11, 2018, 05:09:13 PM
To be honest football is now like the all blacks playing all Ireland league teams .  They are at another level to every other team .  The authorities have created a monster .
The Dubs are loving lording it over Kerry. It was the other way around in the 80s. And it won't last forever.

Its not ending any time soon. Look at the way they are bringing new lads through while the older ones still have the hunger. MDMC rolled back the clock today and its a long time since I saw Cian O'Sullivan with so much possession. Kerry were miles away. It will be 7 wins plus the win the final of the league. Could we start handicapping them ?

Tyrone, Mayo and Kerry on 4 , Donegal on 2 and Kildare on 0. 2 out of 5 to go down.

sid waddell

Quote from: seafoid on March 11, 2018, 07:21:48 PM
Tyrone, Mayo and Kerry on 4 , Donegal on 2 and Kildare on 0. 2 out of 5 to go down.
It's possible for five teams to finish on six points if the following happens

Kerry beat Kildare
Mayo beat Tyrone
Donegal beat Monaghan
Tyrone beat Kerry
Donegal beat Mayo
Dublin beat Monaghan

Quote from: Cunny Funt on March 05, 2018, 04:42:43 PM
Predictions

Dublin to beat Kerry
A narrow win for Tyrone v Donegal
Galway and Monaghan to draw a low scoring match
Mayo to beat Kildare

Not too far away. :)

Quote from: cornetto on March 06, 2018, 03:40:46 PM
Kildare v mayo could be the game of the weekend,it's do or die for kildare,a win gives them a chance while mayo have the cushion of Tyrone at home in there next match to garner a minimum 4pts.i expect Galway to beat Monahan in a tight game what odds on both finishing with 15?
Wins for Dublin and donegal.

Don't give up the day-job! ;)

Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on March 11, 2018, 09:47:47 PM
Predictions

Dublin to beat Kerry
Mayo to beat Kildare

Kildare v mayo could be the game of the weekend,it's do or die for kildare,a win gives them a chance while mayo have the cushion of Tyrone at home in there next match to garner a minimum 4pts.i expect Galway to beat Monahan in a tight game what odds on both finishing with 15?

Though Tyrone are more of a hedgehog than a cushion, Mayo will surely langer Tyrone senseless in the next round.
FoSB ?? a tyronite  who finally emerges , throwing shapes, after cowering in some some dark hole for months on end until rescued by Tyrone coming out on top in a relegation dogfight :)

Kurtz

To be honest football is now like the all blacks playing all Ireland league teams .  They are at another level to every other team .  The authorities have created a monster .
The Dubs are loving lording it over Kerry. It was the other way around in the 80s. And it won't last forever.

Yup. 70's and 80's it was Kerry Kerry Kerry
So, not much has changed, its just the Dubs have taken over
People forget that
the 90's things leveled out even though the football at times was awful to watch

Kurtz

Quote from: Main Street on March 12, 2018, 12:59:40 AM
Predictions

Dublin to beat Kerry
Mayo to beat Kildare

Though Tyrone are more of a hedgehog than a cushion, Mayo will surely langer Tyrone senseless in the next round.
FoSB ?? a tyronite  who finally emerges , throwing shapes, after cowering in some some dark hole for months on end until rescued by Tyrone coming out on top in a relegation dogfight :)

Mayo are mentally strong which is important in GAA
they always push on and do enough to stay up
many teams just give up

Quote from: Kurtz on March 12, 2018, 08:33:51 AM
Quote from: Main Street on March 12, 2018, 12:59:40 AM
Predictions

Dublin to beat Kerry
Mayo to beat Kildare

Mayo are mentally strong which is important in GAA
they always push on and do enough to stay up
many teams just give up

Very true Kurtz. I'm usually down on our chances, but all last week I had a positive feeling about this one. It was a make or break game for them. Don't get me wrong we're not out of the woods just yet and we can be thankful Kildare misses a bucket load of chances, but we have a fighting chance of survival now.

Patrick-Armagh

Dublin's performance yesterday was frightening and showed how far this young, talented but experienced Kerry side have to go before being able to beat them. For the first 15 or 20 minutes, Kerry did very well and looked lively up front. Against Dublin, you have to take your chances. You can't afford not to. They are too good. Those two goal chances would really have made a difference, but they weren't taken and Dublin put Kerry to the sword there after. The pace and athleticism of the Dublin team is unreal, added into the fact that they are all great ball players. It will take some performance to beat them.

seafoid, mo chara buan, sometimes you do live up to your handle and this is one of those times. ;D
Can you tell us why you think there is a connection between what happened in the 80s and what is happening now?
And while I'm at it, what makes you think Dublin's dominance won't last forever.

QuoteKildare misses a bucket load of chances

They weren't really "chances", they were forced into pot shots by our defence. Delighted for the O'Donoghue lad to get back on track after the Dublin wake up call.

straightred

Quote from: Lar Naparka on March 12, 2018, 11:18:46 AM
seafoid, mo chara buan, sometimes you do live up to your handle and this is one of those times. ;D
Can you tell us why you think there is a connection between what happened in the 80s and what is happening now?
And while I'm at it, what makes you think Dublin's dominance won't last forever.

its looking more and more probable.

They have enough talent to nearly put out 2 teams. With 3 super 8 games on 3 consecutive weekends that gives them great scope to mix it about and keep players fresh. Other counties will have to field their top 15 every week. If that wasn't enough the super 8s also gives the advantage to having a bad day and getting away with it. I know everyone has this but my feeling about the Dubs is that you might catch them out once but not twice. Its all set up nicely for them.

A far better second half after a poor opening half from Galway. Kickouts again a big issue in the first half, much better in the 2nd half but you'd expect that with a numerical advantage.

Shane Walsh is so frustrating, 3 bad wides yesterday; His general level of performance was good but he's going to have to learn to compose himself in front of the posts.

As for the pundits the level of negativity is way over the top, Galway aren't All Ireland contenders so the more games they get to play against the Dubs and especially in Croker Park the better.

Quote from: Lar Naparka on March 12, 2018, 11:18:46 AM
Because Cody couldn't do it . Real Madrid can't do it 
I lived through the Kilkenny stranglehold and saw them in 3 all Ireland finals  They were operating at a higher level like the Dubs now. The more all Irelands the better they got. The more experience. The more insight. The more playing as a team. And the further away they got from the competition the further away individual players got from potential replacements. The team worked as a perfect machine  . You couldn't develop someone to replace Tommy Walsh . So they didn't. 
And the wheels fell off after the core players retired. The backs now need years to get back to the level of 2014. Success on that scale breeds guaranteed failure.