Antrim Football Thread

Started by theskull1, November 09, 2006, 11:48:40 PM

EOC1923

Division 3 secured early for another year. Good league season for Antrim, plenty of positives

paddyjohn

Plenty of positives in my opinion.

Fair play to all involved.

Would ye whist

Ha, it's all got very civil round here  :o

Quote from: Would ye whist on March 27, 2022, 07:18:48 PM

League will be back in action soon. Fall outs aplenty.

paddyjohn

Quote from: Would ye whist on March 27, 2022, 07:18:48 PM

A few wings clipped, does no harm.

country bumpkin

Cargin lost to the Johnnies and look relegation bound..after
Antrim's demise....been a bad day.

KickPass

Antrim are not div 2 standard yet. Another year competing in div 3 will stand to them better than losing 7 games in div 2.

NatSoSaff

Who were the johnnies missing today from their starting 15 and who were cargin missing from their starting 15?

bannside

Usually we get a superb performance followed by a poor one - today we got both in the same game!

We went from a team looking in complete control to a team that fell apart, looking decidedly average. You can't fault some excellent individual performances especially Marc Jordan who was fantastic today and definitely did not deserve to be on the losing side.

Mid Div 3 with 7 points we will take, but it tastes more like stale beer than anything we should be overly celebrating. Yes progress has been made, but plenty of work to do to match Louths progress curve (having started in roughly the same place) that's the barometer in my book anyway.

In fairness Div 2 looks exceptionally competitive next year, a further year of continued improvement may suit our agenda better in the long run.

country bumpkin

Quote from: NatSoSaff on March 27, 2022, 08:13:44 PM
Who were the johnnies missing today from their starting 15 and who were cargin missing from their starting 15?

Match report will be posted on The Saffrongael..

Sportacus

Upper-mid division three is where we are at.  And not much chance of progressing much higher with year after year of underage mediocrity and no competitive college teams.  No pipeline to push higher.  We flirted with the idea of promotion a few weeks ago, but couldn't do it, and quite a few people happy enough that we avoided a tough division two next year, which is either A. realistic, or B. says it all about our weak mentality.

Saffsof82

It's very easy to blame our lack of success at schools level for all our ills. As last 30 years Donegal haven't been reinventing the wheel at Mccrory cup. Too many excuses being used . Get your own club coaching to the highest level and produce the best players with a good attitude, then we had over something the county can work with.

geezer

Disappointing not to go up after that start we had but at the end of the day the main objective was to stay up and we achieved that. All in all i think it was a positive campaign and we can build on it for next year. Promotion next year should definitely in the thinking.

The league is still the best competition the GAA had on offer.

geezer

There is no excuse why we shouldnt be competing given the population and the number of clubs we have. But it is what it is.

The fact that we dont have a school competing ay macrory is nothing short of an embarrassment. I know that every maghera/magherafelt team that wins it have antrim players. And even the aghagallon lads that won it with st ronans.

But the number of clubs in west belfast is ridiculous, the fact they cant produce a team to atleast compete at macrory is extremely worrying.

I know this argument is a broken record in this chat but i feel it really does need adressed.

bannside

Bad day at the office for Cargin as well by the look of things. Strong team out on paper too, I suppose every club has an off day here and there. Going by Geordies Saffron Gael report they just couldn't score....or are the Johnnie's on an upward projectory?