GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: Fuzzman on July 14, 2018, 04:02:12 PM

Title: Tyrone v Roscommon Say 14th July at 5pm - Football chat ONLY
Post by: Fuzzman on July 14, 2018, 04:02:12 PM
Sorry lads.
I seemed to have deleted the thread by mistake.
If any mod can restore please do so.
Title: Re: Tyrone v Roscommon Say 14th July at 5pm - Football chat ONLY
Post by: Fuzzman on July 14, 2018, 04:02:57 PM
Whoever posted last please feel free to do so again
Post by: BennyHarp on July 14, 2018, 04:16:47 PM
Quote from: Fuzzman on July 14, 2018, 04:02:57 PM
Whoever posted last please feel free to do so again

It was Seafoid - I wouldn't be too worried.
Post by: Fuzzman on July 14, 2018, 04:49:48 PM
Next disaster.
Fecking Southend Airport don't have Sky and won't let me go back out past their mickey mouse security to go to local pub to Watch it.
Anyone got any other ideas how I can stream it on my Android phone
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on July 14, 2018, 05:06:24 PM
Think Gough bought a dive from Enda Smith there.
Post by: Itchy on July 14, 2018, 05:06:41 PM
Quote from: Fuzzman on July 14, 2018, 04:49:48 PM
Next disaster.
Fecking Southend Airport don't have Sky and won't let me go back out past their mickey mouse security to go to local pub to Watch it.

Fuzman,

I'm lending you my iptv account. Check you pm.
Post by: Fuzzman on July 14, 2018, 05:15:01 PM
Great stuff Itchy
Working a treat now.
Fair play. Karma
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on July 14, 2018, 05:17:54 PM
Quote from: Fuzzman on July 14, 2018, 04:02:12 PM
Sorry lads.
I seemed to have deleted the thread by mistake.
If any mod can restore please do so.

Did seafoid overload it with irrelevant Connacht nonsense? ;)
Post by: Shamrock Shore on July 14, 2018, 05:35:10 PM
Roscommon are so bad it's not funny.

Actually it is
Post by: gallsman on July 14, 2018, 05:43:03 PM
Quote from: hardstation on July 14, 2018, 05:42:23 PM
Roscommon will get a tanking 3 weeks in a row. Well below the standard.

Yup, they're making Tyrone look clinical.
Post by: Carmen Stateside on July 14, 2018, 05:44:38 PM
The Super 7s
Post by: trileacman on July 14, 2018, 05:45:34 PM
Quote from: Itchy on July 14, 2018, 05:06:41 PM
Quote from: Fuzzman on July 14, 2018, 04:49:48 PM
Next disaster.

Fuzman,

I'm lending you my iptv account. Check you pm.

Fair play.
Post by: omagh_gael on July 14, 2018, 05:47:34 PM
Uh oh, Syf. Thought this was a grudge match?
Post by: Throw ball on July 14, 2018, 05:49:55 PM
Tyrone should be banned from live tv. They are highly effective but destroy the game as a spectacle. Tyrone people won't care but it is bad for football in long run IMHO. Last week for example it was incredible how many left straight after the first match before the second even started . In years gone by they would have stayed to at least half time.
Post by: Shamrock Shore on July 14, 2018, 05:51:56 PM
Quote from: Carmen Stateside on July 14, 2018, 05:44:38 PM
The Super 7s

Brill  ;D
Post by: trileacman on July 14, 2018, 05:52:53 PM
Morgan conceding the Rossies his complimentary 0-2. Lads he does this every game, (but it's usually 0-1).
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on July 14, 2018, 05:53:20 PM
Roscommon started great but a worrying lack of intensity from them the longer the half went on. Barely putting any decent pressure on or tackles in.
Post by: longballin on July 14, 2018, 05:55:24 PM
easy for Tyrone tho what a mind numbing sport county football has become.
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on July 14, 2018, 05:55:53 PM
Quote from: Throw ball on July 14, 2018, 05:49:55 PM
Tyrone should be banned from live tv...

Get a life so, why put your sanctimonious self through this purgatory! How many scores constitutes purity of spectacle, in your holy book, incidentally?
Post by: cavanmaniac on July 14, 2018, 05:58:48 PM
Gutless stuff from Ros, once the pressure came on and the tough questions were asked they just went missing. Now lurching half heartedly at shadows while Tyrone keep them at arm's length.
Post by: Throw ball on July 14, 2018, 05:59:18 PM
Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on July 14, 2018, 05:55:53 PM

Get a life so, why put your sanctimonious self through this purgatory! How many scores constitutes purity of spectacle, in your holy book, incidentally?

Nothing to do with scoring.

Simple question. How many neutrals enjoy watching Tyrone. I work in Tyrone and know for absolute certainty that the view I put forward is shared by many long serving GAA people in Tyrone.

Post by: longballin on July 14, 2018, 06:01:29 PM

county football is at a very low ebb despite the GAA attempts to hype the Super 8... crowds are reflecting that. World Cup much better viewing even Wimbeldon is and of course hurling on a whole different plateau. Not Tyrone's fault whole thing is poor viewing with very very occasional decent game.
Post by: Over the Bar on July 14, 2018, 06:04:50 PM
Quote from: Throw ball on July 14, 2018, 05:59:18 PM

Simple question. How many neutrals enjoy watching Tyrone. I work in Tyrone and know for absolute certainty that the view I put forward is shared by many long serving GAA people in Tyrone.

The view you put forward is more likely due to you masturbating too much.... ;)
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on July 14, 2018, 06:06:57 PM
Quote from: Throw ball on July 14, 2018, 05:59:18 PM

Well, if scoring has nothing to do with it, I would have nothing more to say to you, or those Tyronians. That's not to say that we'll do anything of particular note in 2018, but this I do know - we'll do feck all without getting up the pitch to score, though whether we can do that to a sufficient extent against a Dublin or Kerry, this year, is a question that has yet to be answered.
Post by: Throw ball on July 14, 2018, 06:16:27 PM
Quote from: longballin on July 14, 2018, 06:01:29 PM

county football is at a very low ebb despite the GAA attempts to hype the Super 8... crowds are reflecting that. World Cup much better viewing even Wimbeldon is and of course hurling on a whole different plateau. Not Tyrone's fault whole thing is poor viewing with very very occasional decent game.

The problem is that Tyrone are not the only team that play that way. They just do it better than most of the others.

I also find it amazing that you are not allowed to say you do not like the way a team plays without getting personal abuse. I thought this was a football discussion thread . Can someone give me a reason why this is good to watch for neutrals. Roscommon giving up obviously doesn't help
Post by: Itchy on July 14, 2018, 06:17:18 PM
Can't get over how poor Roscommon look and how devoid of any sort of fight they are. This is not a particularly good Tyrone team.
Post by: red hander on July 14, 2018, 06:19:36 PM
Yis aren't playing Armagh today
Post by: rodney trotter on July 14, 2018, 06:21:27 PM
Roscommon have no defence. and the goalie is a liability with the kickouts.

They also look very lightweight . Tyrone stronger and faster.
Post by: Fuzzman on July 14, 2018, 06:21:52 PM
2.17 after 56 mins and most from play yet we get l
Slated for negative tactics and destroying the game.
Let's see how open the second game is
Post by: Jinxy on July 14, 2018, 06:22:18 PM
Quote from: Itchy on July 14, 2018, 06:17:18 PM
Can't get over how poor Roscommon look and how devoid of any sort of fight they are. This is not a particularly good Tyrone team.

It's the Croke Park effect.
It just swallows up some teams.
Post by: longballin on July 14, 2018, 06:23:41 PM
Quote from: Throw ball on July 14, 2018, 06:16:27 PM

The problem is that Tyrone are not the only team that play that way. They just do it better than most of the others.

I also find it amazing that you are not allowed to say you do not like the way a team plays without getting personal abuse. I thought this was a football discussion thread . Can someone give me a reason why this is good to watch for neutrals. Roscommon giving up obviously doesn't help

aye Roscommon are dire but when you can hear the players calling for the ball in an All Ireland quarter final... hardly enthralling. True say anything about the state of football and you are subject to abuse. Sooner club championship starts the better.
Post by: Over the Bar on July 14, 2018, 06:24:17 PM

You're not getting personal abuse.  You're opinion that a team who rack up a score of 2-18 in 55 mins put on a poor spectacle for neutrals is one of the stupidest comments I've read on this board and tells me that you masturbate far, far too much.   Probably 2-3 times a day. That is MY opinion.
Post by: longballin on July 14, 2018, 06:26:05 PM
Quote from: Over the Bar on July 14, 2018, 06:24:17 PM

You're not getting personal abuse.  You're opinion that a team who rack up a score of 2-18 in 55 mins put on a poor spectacle for neutrals is one of the stupidest comments I've read on this board and tells me that you masturbate far, far too much.   Probably 2-3 times a day. That is MY opinion.

you have quite an obsession with mastrabation... get a girlfriend or boyfriend...
Post by: Franko on July 14, 2018, 06:27:03 PM
I'm almost certain that I heard one particularly idiotic Roscommon fan describe this as the grudge match of the year.  ;D

Tyrone haven't got out of second gear.
Post by: Schkite on July 14, 2018, 06:28:12 PM
After seeing a number of people giving Roscommon a real chance of getting something here, I was expecting alot more. They've been absolutely terrible.

You can bet the Dubs - Tyrone game will be hyped up alot more now,  but it's hard to read a whole lot into this. Hasn't been a contest in a long time.
Post by: Over the Bar on July 14, 2018, 06:29:44 PM
Quote from: longballin on July 14, 2018, 06:26:05 PM

you have quite an obsession with mastrabation... get a girlfriend or boyfriend...

Get a dictionary...
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on July 14, 2018, 06:29:54 PM
The Rossies have abandoned all pretences at a defence it would seem -- grudge match my arse.

seafoid, up yours, Uladh: 1, Connacht: 0

Bring on da Dubs :D
Post by: longballin on July 14, 2018, 06:31:08 PM
Looks like Donegal - Tyrone will be huge game to decide second place. Can't see either beating Dublin. Give Tyrone a big chance of beating Donegal with McBrearty out claws back their home advantage a bit 
Post by: longballin on July 14, 2018, 06:33:40 PM
Quote from: Over the Bar on July 14, 2018, 06:29:44 PM

Get a dictionary...

as I said seems to be ure field of expertise  :D
Post by: red hander on July 14, 2018, 06:35:30 PM
Where's Sourpuss?
Post by: nrico2006 on July 14, 2018, 06:38:15 PM
Tyrone should be banned from live tv. They are highly effective but destroy the game as a spectacle. Tyrone people won't care but it is bad for football in long run IMHO. Last week for example it was incredible how many left straight after the first match before the second even started . In years gone by they would have stayed to at least half time.
Surely its Roscommon you should be slating.
Post by: cavanmaniac on July 14, 2018, 06:38:58 PM
Roscommon are very far from breaking through to the top table on this showing. They look like a team in croke park for the first time in 20 years, not a side hovering around the fringes like they have been for quite some time. It seems they have already reached their maximum.
Post by: charlieTully on July 14, 2018, 06:39:22 PM
Quote from: nrico2006 on July 14, 2018, 06:38:15 PM

Post by: Solo_run on July 14, 2018, 06:39:47 PM
Quote from: Over the Bar on July 14, 2018, 06:29:44 PM

Get a dictionary...

Post by: trueblue1234 on July 14, 2018, 06:39:55 PM
Game over a long time ago. I'm sure Roscommon fans will be gutted at the extent of the defeat and I'd feel for then as we were all unsure where the teams were at before this. Unfortunately I think it's still hard to see where Tyrone are at as RC were that poor.
Post by: Schkite on July 14, 2018, 06:40:00 PM
Christ that's embarrassing, scoring 2-12 and still getting double scored
Post by: Over the Bar on July 14, 2018, 06:41:50 PM

Throw Ball. So a game that finishes 36-18 is a poor spectacle for neutrals?  Try typing your opinion with your fingers next time instead of your hole and you won't make such a tool of yourself!   ;D
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on July 14, 2018, 06:42:35 PM
Couldn't have gone much worse for the sheep stealers.
Post by: larryin89 on July 14, 2018, 06:46:59 PM
Where's Flanagan?
Post by: Throw ball on July 14, 2018, 06:47:27 PM

I think people have got me wrong here. Roscommon deserve stick for giving up. Tyrone though are far superior too them. I just don't like the way they play. It is not exciting to watch. They rake up big scores when teams are beat. It is like rugby running. IMO if Tyrone just went out and played tradition football they would still beat Roscommon. To be fair they do kick the ball much more this year than last.  I just don't like this playing nearly everyone behind the ball and running lines with quick handpasses. Maybe I am the only one.
Post by: larryin89 on July 14, 2018, 06:49:28 PM
Aragh Roscommon giving up my hole , they had the shite bate out of them , boys v Men
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on July 14, 2018, 06:49:46 PM
So 4-24 (to 2-12) against the universally acclaimed second best team in Connacht was hard work, eh?

Commiserations Rossies, keep 'er lit, though up your arse Syf, never a more deserving buachaill.
Post by: BennyHarp on July 14, 2018, 06:59:26 PM
It's unbelievably blinkered to choose the day Tyrone score 4-24 against a supposedly super 8 team to come on here and slag off a Tyrone performance. I hadn't seen much of Roscommon before and I just could not believe how utterly gutless and badly organised they are. It appears that if you manage to score 2 points in a row against them then Roscommon just collapse - and this in "the grudge match of the year" too! : )

I said a few days ago that Tyrone were improving - certainly looks that way. Ritchie Donnelly really growing into the full forward role. Bring on the Dubs in Omagh.
Post by: Over the Bar on July 14, 2018, 06:59:51 PM
Quote from: Throw ball on July 14, 2018, 06:47:27 PM

I think people have got me wrong here. Roscommon deserve stick for giving up. Tyrone though are far superior too them. I just don't like the way they play. It is not exciting to watch. They rake up big scores when teams are beat. It is like rugby running. IMO if Tyrone just went out and played tradition football they would still beat Roscommon. To be fair they do kick the ball much more this year than last.  I just don't like this playing nearly everyone behind the ball and running lines with quick handpasses. Maybe I am the only one.

Keep digging that hole....
Post by: Throw ball on July 14, 2018, 07:03:03 PM
Quote from: hardstation on July 14, 2018, 06:51:06 PM
Quote from: Throw ball on July 14, 2018, 06:47:27 PM

You don't like Tyrone. Their football is irrelevant. Too obvious.

I'll give up then !

On other threads I have said I don't like the way Fermanagh play. I also said I didn't like the way Galway played against Mayo. Didn't get so much abuse for it though.
Post by: RedHand88 on July 14, 2018, 07:04:05 PM
For the first time in gaaboard history, Syferus hasn't posted in 2 hours.
Post by: RedHand88 on July 14, 2018, 07:08:13 PM

Yes let the bitterness flow through you.....

Loving the hate. Keep it up.
Post by: larryin89 on July 14, 2018, 07:09:54 PM
I'll ask again where's Flanagan the nerdy little shitebag.
Post by: Over the Bar on July 14, 2018, 07:17:05 PM
Quote from: RedHand88 on July 14, 2018, 07:08:13 PM

Yes let the bitterness flow through you.....

Loving the hate. Keep it up.
It's from all the bitter crab-apples.... ;D ;D ;D
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on July 14, 2018, 07:20:59 PM
Quote from: larryin89 on July 14, 2018, 07:09:54 PM

:D Id say he's sitting there, navel gazing, and wondering why it has wandered so far around that it's now firmly embedded in his arse; nestled and ensconced therein beside that yoke he calls a brain! ;)
Post by: RedHand88 on July 14, 2018, 07:22:15 PM
4-24 is some score for a defensive hard to watch team all the same.
Post by: Mayo4Sam14 on July 14, 2018, 07:26:01 PM
Quote from: RedHand88 on July 14, 2018, 07:22:15 PM
4-24 is some score for a defensive hard to watch team all the same.

You'd have to say that if a team that don't even leave their half (according to some) can put that score up it must say a lot about the Rossies and sure the Dubs must put up at least 6-50?
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on July 14, 2018, 07:27:56 PM
4-24 is the most that we've ever scored in Croke, if I'm not mistaken, and if that doesn't exorcise the demons of Dublin's demolition in 2017, especially with the younger lads stepping up, nothing will.

And, of course, we'll still have the Gooch and his like telling all and sundry that he sees no difference, and that we're still far too defensively oriented, blah, blah, blah-blah blah, blah.
Post by: manfromdelmonte on July 14, 2018, 07:29:39 PM
As I said in the original thread

Tyrone will devour Roscommon
Post by: Farrandeelin on July 14, 2018, 07:39:25 PM
Quote from: larryin89 on July 14, 2018, 07:09:54 PM

So that's 2 of us who have him sussed.
Post by: trileacman on July 14, 2018, 07:39:42 PM

So we should concede a couple of soft scores to keep Roscommon in the game instead of how we play? I understand that today was a poor spectacle but I don't see how any manager could go out at the start and tell his players forget the successful game plan you know and just have a lash at it. It's not going to happen.

Post by: ONeill on July 14, 2018, 07:42:11 PM
That'll do Richie Donnelly's confidence the world of good. Did M Donnelly or Harte score from play?
Post by: Farrandeelin on July 14, 2018, 07:47:12 PM
Roscommon should be out. Seriously, after shipping that sort of score - what right have they being there. Sorry Rossies but it's not going to get easier.
Post by: Itchy on July 14, 2018, 07:48:17 PM
Quote from: RedHand88 on July 14, 2018, 07:04:05 PM

He's canvassing
Post by: BennyHarp on July 14, 2018, 07:50:02 PM
Quote from: ONeill on July 14, 2018, 07:42:11 PM
That'll do Richie Donnelly's confidence the world of good. Did M Donnelly or Harte score from play?

Matty got a point from play. All three players mentioned were excellent today. Ritchie beginning to  look like a proper full forward, winning every ball out in front and not being afraid to turn and shoot.
Post by: trileacman on July 14, 2018, 07:50:33 PM

Matty got one point.

Just an aside lads can we leave the childish point scoring with syferus out of this from now and and focus on the football. I'd much rather read an analysis of where Tyrone went right and who played well and where ros need to head from here than to simply run ros into the ground to spite one single wum out of a county of decent fans like rossfan. Etc. Be the bigger men and let it go.

Also f**k off to some other thread with the "state of county football debate". It's been done to ad Nausem and positions are so entrenched that little can be achieved in the way of reasoned debate.

Hard luck to the decent ros fans, that was tough to watch but as I predicted ye have to learn how to use and counter the blanket defence. The top 6 sides can all manage it bar yourselves and I suspect Kildare. There's lessons to be learnt from today's trimming the same way we had to learn from 96.
Post by: trileacman on July 14, 2018, 07:51:33 PM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on July 14, 2018, 07:47:12 PM
Roscommon should be out. Seriously, after shipping that sort of score - what right have they being there. Sorry Rossies but it's not going to get easier.

They qualified for it which was more than Mayo achieved.
Post by: red hander on July 14, 2018, 07:52:02 PM
Think Matty got a point, but don't quote me. Huge score, but huge score conceded. Both Roscommon goals were sloppy
Post by: ONeill on July 14, 2018, 07:54:40 PM
We're definitely less secure at the back when Colm's off the field.

McCarron was finding Murtagh tough before going off.
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on July 14, 2018, 08:02:11 PM
Quote from: Itchy on July 14, 2018, 07:48:17 PM
Quote from: RedHand88 on July 14, 2018, 07:04:05 PM

He's canvassing

:D Sorry trileacman, couldn't resist that one. And it's not point scoring, it's simply.... satisfaction ;)
Post by: laceer on July 14, 2018, 08:03:52 PM
Impressive from Tyrone, dire from Roscommon.

Dublin leave one man up front,similar to Tyrone. The difference is the speed at which they attack. A few times today I found myself shouting at Tyrone to go forward when they were playing it across the 50 and back. There's being patient and there's slowing it down too much.

Looking forward to Omagh next week.
Post by: Throw ball on July 14, 2018, 08:15:37 PM
Quote from: laceer on July 14, 2018, 08:03:52 PM

Dublin leave one man up front,similar to Tyrone. The difference is the speed at which they attack. A few times today I found myself shouting at Tyrone to go forward when they were playing it across the 50 and back. There's being patient and there's slowing it down too much.

The Tyrone ones won't believe me but watching Dublin tonight Tyrone have a chance next week if they do that.
Post by: square_ball on July 14, 2018, 08:18:11 PM
Quote from: BennyHarp on July 14, 2018, 07:50:02 PM

Matty got a point from play. All three players mentioned were excellent today. Ritchie beginning to  look like a proper full forward, winning every ball out in front and not being afraid to turn and shoot.

If Richie had that wee bit more pace he would be some proposition in there. He was excellent today.
Post by: red hander on July 14, 2018, 08:21:34 PM
Where's Sourpuss?
Post by: redzone on July 14, 2018, 08:29:28 PM
Quote from: Throw ball on July 14, 2018, 08:15:37 PM

The Tyrone ones won't believe me but watching Dublin tonight Tyrone have a chance next week if they do that.

Of course we have a chance, should be a great night. You will always have people who have no believe, idiots like longballin and southtyronegael who pollute the Tyrone thread with their constant negativity.
Post by: Farrandeelin on July 14, 2018, 08:35:05 PM
Quote from: trileacman on July 14, 2018, 07:51:33 PM

They qualified for it which was more than Mayo achieved.

Yes. We lost, we're not complaining.
Post by: An Watcher on July 14, 2018, 08:35:50 PM
Oh to have a Ryan McMenamin on the field to rough up the dubs next week.  Remember him grabbing Paul Galvin in the privates and causing a mini riot which transformed a canter for Kerry into a drawn game
Post by: sensethetone on July 14, 2018, 08:38:48 PM
Quote from: ONeill on July 14, 2018, 07:54:40 PM
We're definitely less secure at the back when Colm's off the field.

McCarron was finding Murtagh tough before going off.

McCarron knew he was getting roasted..
Post by: Rossfan on July 14, 2018, 08:46:56 PM
Too sick and disillusioned to comment.
I won't be contributing any more  € to this shambles.
Talk to ye tomorra. :-[
Post by: cornetto on July 14, 2018, 08:51:59 PM
Shit or bust in the hyde next week whoever loses is out  it will be like a mini final.
Galway & kildare could be a similar encounter roll on tomorrow!!
Post by: Jinxy on July 14, 2018, 09:04:47 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on July 14, 2018, 08:46:56 PM
Too sick and disillusioned to comment.
I won't be contributing any more  € to this shambles.
Talk to ye tomorra. :-[

It's only a game of football, life goes on.
Post by: Rossfan on July 14, 2018, 09:08:10 PM
It does but  the hope is gone.
I will never see Ros in an All Ireland Senior final.
The "little" Counties can't compete any more.
Quicker the second tier comes in so that we might win a game at Croker the better.
Post by: Over the Bar on July 14, 2018, 09:10:41 PM
Match report here for ThrowBall if he's not too busy whacking his pepperami?

RTÉ News: Relentless Tyrone hammer Roscommon at Croke Park.
http://www.rte.ie/sport/football/2018/0714/978703-relentless-tyrone-hammer-roscommon-at-croke-park/
Post by: trailer on July 14, 2018, 09:10:55 PM
How bad are Roscommon ?  Terrible. Pridectdd this win. Connacht probably the weakest province.
Post by: clarshack on July 14, 2018, 09:18:24 PM
After the Meath game I thought Tyrone were brutal and going nowhere. There's been serious improvement since then and fair play to all involved. I don't think we'll beat Dublin next week but it will be a very competitive game which could be a big factor in the overall score difference.
Post by: longballin on July 14, 2018, 09:27:44 PM
Quote from: clarshack on July 14, 2018, 09:18:24 PM
After the Meath game I thought Tyrone were brutal and going nowhere. There's been serious improvement since then and fair play to all involved. I don't think we'll beat Dublin next week but it will be a very competitive game which could be a big factor in the overall score difference.

If Tyrone lose to Dublin and Donegal beat Roscommon which they should it will come down to last game Tyrone V Donegal for second place to get to semi final. So unless that's a draw will not come down to point difference. Is how I read it anyway. 
Post by: RedHand88 on July 14, 2018, 09:41:09 PM
Quote from: Throw ball on July 14, 2018, 08:15:37 PM

I believe you. Donegal just didn't push up on them at the end :-X
Post by: Jayop on July 14, 2018, 09:45:51 PM
Delighted with that result. Gough tried to make a game of it with a few bonkers decisions but thankfully it didn't matter much. Super performances all over the field but a little worrying how when Colm is off the pitch we are so vulnerable. That's a big issue and hopefully he'll be fine for the Dublin game. McCarron looks to be in hospital now looking at a photo there on twitter. Bradley looked very sharp when he came on too.

Sludden is now our best player and he's a joy to watch.
Post by: ONeill on July 14, 2018, 09:46:29 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on July 14, 2018, 09:08:10 PM
Quicker the second tier comes in so that we might win a game at Croker the better.

Why can't Roscommon beat Tyrone? Get your house in order.
Post by: sid waddell on July 14, 2018, 09:51:03 PM
Roscommon are one of those teams who think they are as fit as the top teams, but aren't near it.
Post by: Cunny Funt on July 14, 2018, 09:56:11 PM
Playing div 2 football winning games against weaker teams was no use to Roscommon playing in a second tier would be the same. I don't know how many times Roscommon have to ship huge scores in games before McStay and his management scrap this dreamland offensive football and start bringing in some sort of system and structure to their defence.

Well done to Tyrone a well drilled side who had the game won by half time. They beat Armagh by the same margin last year so the key for them now is to be more competitive v Dublin and if Donegal can get within 5 points of them today without their best forward then Tyrone in theory should really put it up to Dublin in Omagh.
Post by: Kuwabatake Sanjuro on July 14, 2018, 09:58:46 PM
Quote from: sid waddell on July 14, 2018, 09:51:03 PM
Roscommon are one of those teams who think they are as fit as the top teams, but aren't near it.

It has been exposed a few times now and is the reason there is a gap. The Armagh game may have taken a lot out of them too.
They still have some lovely forwards though.
Post by: Laoiseabu on July 14, 2018, 09:59:53 PM
Jesus Roscommon are as open as the Sahara . Looked well below standard today
Post by: RedHand88 on July 14, 2018, 10:06:15 PM
Gough is pretty picky about enforcing the rules too isn't he?
Post by: red hander on July 14, 2018, 10:08:24 PM
Where's Sourpuss?
Post by: Jayop on July 14, 2018, 10:09:56 PM
Quote from: RedHand88 on July 14, 2018, 10:06:15 PM

He's a joke man.
Post by: RedHand88 on July 14, 2018, 10:11:32 PM
Quote from: red hander on July 14, 2018, 10:08:24 PM
Where's Sourpuss?

He's severed his internet connection.
Post by: Orchard park on July 14, 2018, 10:24:55 PM

He sure is, the peno was a joke......

Best team by far won but the inability of the Rosvommon line to identify Sludden and Harte as needing detailed marking begars belief.

I don't think either mayo man hsve a f**king clue and our appalling lack of fitness  is criminal
Post by: Laoiseabu on July 14, 2018, 10:25:00 PM
Syferus come out , come out wherever you are .
Post by: highorlow on July 14, 2018, 10:37:36 PM
Wrong match
I don't think either mayo man hsve a f**king clue and our appalling lack of fitness  is criminal
Post by: omagh_gael on July 14, 2018, 10:48:50 PM
Mighty stuff. I felt we were improving game on game and are coming into a rich vein of form. We lack a FF line like Kerry but our ability to get scores from all over the field is a sight to behold. I wasn't too worried about the amount of games we have to (potentially) get to a semi final as the depth to our squad is fantastic. Not match winners or all stars but rock solid lads that fit into the system seamlessly.

Longballin is correct, score difference is likely to be irrelevant barring a draw in Ballybofey. However, if we were to beat the Dubs next week...
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on July 14, 2018, 11:15:38 PM
Never mind syphilis, sorry Sisyphus, sorry sorry Syferus, where's Connacht's number one  irrelevant interloper seafóid?

Resurface lads, all is forgiven, 'tis only a fecking game! ;)
Post by: seafoid on July 14, 2018, 11:20:48 PM
Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on July 14, 2018, 11:15:38 PM
Never mind syphilis, sorry Sisyphus, sorry sorry Syferus, where's Connacht's number one  irrelevant interloper seafóid?

I have to say I wasn't expecting that.
Hard luck to Ros.
Anyway it's no good if the Dubs win 4 in a row.
Post by: DuffleKing on July 14, 2018, 11:25:24 PM

Surely everyone was expecting that?
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on July 14, 2018, 11:26:23 PM
Quote from: seafoid on July 14, 2018, 11:20:48 PM

I have to say I wasn't expecting that.
Hard luck to Ros.
Anyway it's no good if the Dubs win 4 in a row.

Good to hear from you man, and if you happen upon some  down at heel yellow clad buachaill plastered in "Down Tyrone" stickers give him an oul bed, would you? ;)
Post by: seafoid on July 14, 2018, 11:36:44 PM

The great league mist descended for how many weeks again, Fear? Just for the record like .

I would like to see Tyrone putting it up to Dublin. 
Post by: Main Street on July 14, 2018, 11:44:52 PM
Tyrone impressed, at their ease. They looked perky.

And good to see the Tyronies with their dander up, calling out the refuseniks.
Though I hope  Big Sean's house won't get stoned in the frenzy.
Post by: Main Street on July 14, 2018, 11:48:05 PM
Quote from: Orchard park on July 14, 2018, 10:24:55 PM

After 3 replays the sky commentary team finally spotted a hand on the back,  "there's a hand on the back, a definite penalty" they chorused,  the fcking moron enabling idiots.  Where in the GAA planet is a hand on the back a  foul?  The hand has to do something, such as apply force.

Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on July 14, 2018, 11:53:11 PM
Quote from: seafoid on July 14, 2018, 11:36:44 PM

The great league mist descended for how many weeks again, Fear? Just for the record like .

Huh! Mist?

And yes, if these young buckos can't give the Dubs a right decent rattle in Healy Park we may need to, at the back of it all, focus all energies on Ballybofey two weeks henceforth. :D
Post by: RedHand88 on July 14, 2018, 11:56:50 PM
Connacht is a poor province.
Post by: cadhlancian on July 15, 2018, 12:43:11 AM
Is there a chance of the Dubs not going 100% against Tyrone next week? They've 2 points already and know that they more that likely have an easy 2 more points to come ? Donegal v Roscommon is on first. If it finished in a draw or Roscommon win then Dublin would only have to beat Roscommon in CP the following week to go through . Just a thought....
Post by: weareros on July 15, 2018, 12:49:06 AM
Just back from Dublin now.
Well that was another almighty humiliation in Croke Park.
Credit to Tyrone. Critics focus on their defensive play but they are excellent footballers. So credit where credit is due.  They hardly kicked a wide all day. Quick glance at posts and it was over the bar. Super fit, fast and lots of physical power. They gave us a severe lesson - every mistake we made and we made plenty was punished with a score.Dublin will do well to come out of Omagh with a win. They might need to hammer us in their last game to qualify.
Croke Park felt empty for the 5pm throw-in. Very little atmosphere. You'd wonder is there any point having these games in HQ. I think next weekend will be more exciting and despite looking well off the standard, hoping we can salvage some pride in Dr. Hyde.
Post by: BennyHarp on July 15, 2018, 12:54:02 AM
Quote from: cadhlancian on July 15, 2018, 12:43:11 AM
Is there a chance of the Dubs not going 100% against Tyrone next week? They've 2 points already and know that they more that likely have an easy 2 more points to come ? Donegal v Roscommon is on first. If it finished in a draw or Roscommon win then Dublin would only have to beat Roscommon in CP the following week to go through . Just a thought....

If anything the Dubs will be extra motivated to win next weekend I think. They've conquered everything in the game apart from that "ah sure you play all your games at home" jibe! I'd say they will be flat out to send a message next weekend that they can beat anyone, anywhere. Tyrone's big win today just makes it a bigger box to tick.
Post by: Rossfan on July 15, 2018, 01:06:21 AM
Quote from: Orchard park on July 14, 2018, 10:24:55 PM

Best team by far won but the inability of the Rosvommon line to identify Sludden and Harte as needing detailed marking begars belief.

+100.
Not the cool clean hero's  finest hour.
Ya'd expect lads to be fit enough for this time of year.
Time to bite bullets.
Post by: Rossfan on July 15, 2018, 08:45:13 AM
Quote from: Cunny Funt on July 14, 2018, 09:56:11 PM
Playing div 2 football winning games against weaker teams was no use to Roscommon playing in a second tier would be the same. .

We were in D1 in 2016 and we weren't fit for 2 big games in successive weeks.
We were in D1 in 2017 and we weren't fit for 2 big games in successive weeks.
We aren't fit for 2 big games in successive weeks in 2018  not because we were in D2 but because our players are obviously physically unfit and unconditioned to do so.
FOR THE THIRD YEAR IN SUCCESSION.
That's criminal.

Post by: redzone on July 15, 2018, 09:01:01 AM
Roscommon players just aren't good enough. Not the managers fault, not the referees fault, nobody's fault. They are a level below the Tyrones Monaghans and donegals. Good news is yous are still in the top 10 and there is something to work with. Winning Connaught titles is probably your limit and there is nothing wrong with that
Post by: Throw ball on July 15, 2018, 09:14:58 AM
Quote from: Rossfan on July 15, 2018, 08:45:13 AM
Quote from: Cunny Funt on July 14, 2018, 09:56:11 PM
Playing div 2 football winning games against weaker teams was no use to Roscommon playing in a second tier would be the same. .

We were in D1 in 2016 and we weren't fit for 2 big games in successive weeks.
We were in D1 in 2017 and we weren't fit for 2 big games in successive weeks.
We aren't fit for 2 big games in successive weeks in 2018  not because we were in D2 but because our players are obviously physically unfit and unconditioned to do so.
FOR THE THIRD YEAR IN SUCCESSION.
That's criminal.

Roscommon are not the only team not as physically well conditioned as Tyrone and Dublin. Given the age profile of the Kerry team it would be interesting to see how they would cope against these and similarly conditioned teams.
Post by: Throw ball on July 15, 2018, 09:17:30 AM
Quote from: redzone on July 15, 2018, 09:01:01 AM
Roscommon players just aren't good enough. Not the managers fault, not the referees fault, nobody's fault. They are a level below the Tyrones Monaghans and donegals. Good news is yous are still in the top 10 and there is something to work with. Winning Connaught titles is probably your limit and there is nothing wrong with that

While such a gap exists in the conditioning  and system gaps between the top teams and the rest it is hard to judge if lack of ability is the problem.
Post by: RedHand88 on July 15, 2018, 09:21:30 AM
McStay sounded a broken man on off the ball.
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on July 15, 2018, 09:26:10 AM
Peter Donnelly must take a lot of the credit for the current conditioning of this Tyrone team, as Seán Cav, and others, have correctly pointed up.
Post by: Rossfan on July 15, 2018, 09:49:06 AM
Quote from: RedHand88 on July 15, 2018, 09:21:30 AM
McStay sounded a broken man on off the ball.
Probably dawning on him that his disdain for defending and S & C mightn't be such a good idea after all.
Post by: omagh_gael on July 15, 2018, 09:51:16 AM
Some great goals scored yesterday. Smith's effort best of the lot?
Post by: BennyHarp on July 15, 2018, 10:01:40 AM
Whilst Tyrone undoubtedly are in great phyiscal shape, it's not all about the S&C. You need players who are prepared to put in the hard graft during matches, make the long lung bursting runs to create space or get back into a defensive position. A lot of this work is done unselfishly for the good of the team. Tyrone have about 20 of these type of players. With Roscommon and a few other teams they don't have enough players prepared to do that. I'd say physically, Roscommon lads are probably not far off Tyrone if they were to lift weights or run around a track, but the attitude on the pitch is much more important. The desire the Dublin lads show to get up and down the pitch is phenomenal and what most teams can't match. Whilst not wanting to single anyone out, Enda Smith is a wonderfully talented  footballer but fro the few times I've seen him play against Tyrone he is  not prepared to put in the hard yards which would enable a player of his talent to dominate a game, not just pop up on the periphery with a decent score from time to time, give me a Frank Burns or a Paudie Hampsey any day of the week.
Post by: Carmen Stateside on July 15, 2018, 10:10:46 AM
Thought hampsey quiet yesterday compared to previous games. Game seem to bypass him first half. 
Also i haven't seen anyone mention Morgans performance. A complete liability,  Give me O Neill any day of the week.
Sudden and the Donnelly brothers really stood out for me yesterday.  Very very impressed with Richard.
Post by: PadraicHenryPearse on July 15, 2018, 10:42:12 AM
Quote from: BennyHarp on July 15, 2018, 10:01:40 AM
Whilst Tyrone undoubtedly are in great phyiscal shape, it's not all about the S&C. You need players who are prepared to put in the hard graft during matches, make the long lung bursting runs to create space or get back into a defensive position. A lot of this work is done unselfishly for the good of the team. Tyrone have about 20 of these type of players. With Roscommon and a few other teams they don't have enough players prepared to do that. I'd say physically, Roscommon lads are probably not far off Tyrone if they were to lift weights or run around a track, but the attitude on the pitch is much more important. The desire the Dublin lads show to get up and down the pitch is phenomenal and what most teams can't match. Whilst not wanting to single anyone out, Enda Smith is a wonderfully talented  footballer but fro the few times I've seen him play against Tyrone he is  not prepared to put in the hard yards which would enable a player of his talent to dominate a game, not just pop up on the periphery with a decent score from time to time, give me a Frank Burns or a Paudie Hampsey any day of the week.

Benny it's sad that someone who had seen so little of ros football can pick out that trait when a lot of rossies fail to see it.  The knifes are out for management again and they are a contributing factor but they cannot make a player track back in a match or get into position quickly. You should be able to run forward as fast as you can run back.
Post by: omagh_gael on July 15, 2018, 10:46:46 AM
Quote from: Carmen Stateside on July 15, 2018, 10:10:46 AM
Thought hampsey quiet yesterday compared to previous games. Game seem to bypass him first half. 
Also i haven't seen anyone mention Morgans performance. A complete liability,  Give me O Neill any day of the week.
Sudden and the Donnelly brothers really stood out for me yesterday.  Very very impressed with Richard.

That's very unfair on Morgan. He tried something outside of the box to get that quick free away and was harshly blown up. Should this not have been a throw up instead of a switch of free to Ros? The second point was not his fault, the defenders didn't clear out in time for his kick out.

He did superbly on a high ball when jumping under severe pressure from A Ros forward and also caught one that was dropping over for a point. His kickouts were very good too, imo.
Post by: Kurtz on July 15, 2018, 11:28:40 AM
Quote from: PadraicHenryPearse on July 15, 2018, 10:42:12 AM
Quote from: BennyHarp on July 15, 2018, 10:01:40 AM

Benny it's sad that someone who had seen so little of ros football can pick out that trait when a lot of rossies fail to see it.  The knifes are out for management again and they are a contributing factor but they cannot make a player track back in a match or get into position quickly. You should be able to run forward as fast as you can run back.

Just watching Rossies warm up then watching Dublin
it was like Minor v Senior
Huge gap
Post by: Rossfan on July 15, 2018, 11:59:11 AM
How do we go about getting our game v Dublin off TV and also getting it moved to Parnell Park.
Post by: theyellowbus on July 15, 2018, 12:07:48 PM
That was hard to watch yesterday i gave us a small chance on the basis we might change things around at the back which i thought was going to be the case with the team announcement and that the Tyrone performance against cork was more to do with how poor cork were.
On both counts i was wrong.we were unbelievably naive in defence and from offensive point of view Tyrone were near awesome and the most frightening thing about it there is more improvement in that side of things from them.
They punish opposition mistakes so clinically that they just sink any feeling of competitiveness a side has and slowly grind them into submission before they make a mockery of them in the last twenty minutes.
They were a much improved side from when i seen them against meath and cavan and i think thats a big reason they are going to be very hard beat this year.
They improve from game to game and learn and tweak so that the next game they have another 10-15 percent improvement got and go again and learn
They will do the same from yesterdays game especially some of the sloppiness they had in defence at certain times not much mind you.
I fear for this current squad and their mental toughness especially with the two remaining games.
We don't have enough of that toughness in us to respond to set backs especially against top sides.
An u21 semi final was mentioned earlier between the two counties a coupe of years ago and its frightening how some of the players on both sides have in Tyrone case progressed and in our case regressed.
Post by: Franko on July 15, 2018, 12:17:00 PM
Quote from: Syferus on July 07, 2018, 11:15:20 PM
Grudge match of the fûcking year.

Can we all just take another moment and appreciate the sheer unadulterated idiocy of this.  ;D ;D

The perpetrator seems to have taken flight again.
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on July 15, 2018, 12:43:53 PM
Quote from: Franko on July 15, 2018, 12:17:00 PM
Quote from: Syferus on July 07, 2018, 11:15:20 PM
Grudge match of the fûcking year.

Can we all just take another moment and appreciate the sheer unadulterated idiocy of this.  ;D ;D

The perpetrator seems to have taken flight again.

I genuinely feel for the genuine supporter, and no better encapsulation of that than theyellowbus's post above.

Here's hoping syphilis, sorry Sisyphus, sorry sorry Syferus is actually OK, and that he hasn't choked on his imaginary inflation of importance.
Post by: RedHand88 on July 15, 2018, 12:47:41 PM
MISSING PERSON

Answers to the name Syferus.
Known to have a disdain for Ulster football, Tyrone, Mickey Harte, Andy Moran, Ballaghaderreen etc.
May refer to Tyrone v Roscommon as a grudge match.

Missing since 5pm yesterday.
Post by: BennyHarp on July 15, 2018, 12:58:08 PM
Quote from: theyellowbus on July 15, 2018, 12:07:48 PM
That was hard to watch yesterday i gave us a small chance on the basis we might change things around at the back which i thought was going to be the case with the team announcement and that the Tyrone performance against cork was more to do with how poor cork were.
On both counts i was wrong.we were unbelievably naive in defence and from offensive point of view Tyrone were near awesome and the most frightening thing about it there is more improvement in that side of things from them.
They punish opposition mistakes so clinically that they just sink any feeling of competitiveness a side has and slowly grind them into submission before they make a mockery of them in the last twenty minutes.
They were a much improved side from when i seen them against meath and cavan and i think thats a big reason they are going to be very hard beat this year.
They improve from game to game and learn and tweak so that the next game they have another 10-15 percent improvement got and go again and learn
They will do the same from yesterdays game especially some of the sloppiness they had in defence at certain times not much mind you.
I fear for this current squad and their mental toughness especially with the two remaining games.
We don't have enough of that toughness in us to respond to set backs especially against top sides.
An u21 semi final was mentioned earlier between the two counties a coupe of years ago and its frightening how some of the players on both sides have in Tyrone case progressed and in our case regressed.

This is a good point and I don't want my view of things to be tarnished by the discussions on here but at the time of that game and during the aftermath there was a lot of finger pointing in Tyrone's direction about their tactics, behaviour etc after that game from certain quarters.(which may or may not have led to thoughts regarding a grudge match) So this is a genuine question, did Roscommon management sit down and critically evaluate themselves and reasons why Roscommon lost that All Ireland semi final? Blaming the opposition gives the players an excuse and doesn't encourage self analysis. Yes Tyrone may have bent the rules that day at times but they were also more tactically astute, prepared to work harder, more clinical up front, more disciplined in the tackle and much more hungry for every ball - the same advantages they had yesterday.
Post by: theyellowbus on July 15, 2018, 01:07:10 PM
I really liked the look of the Bradley lad who came on in the second half has a touch of class about him.
Donnelly at full forward did well and was a real handful and young Harte has some engine and football brain.

Will be a serious contest in Omagh and will not be for the fainthearted which at this stage of the competition is what people expect.

There seems to be a serious gap emerging between a group of 4/5 sides and the next 10-12 sides and then again the remaining 18 sides (including london + new york).
A lot of this is down to the internal workings/philosophies within the top sides and the current set ups they have at senior level and the support they get from county boards/finance.
This will only breed more success i believe in these counties and until other counties especially those with so called aspirations put some plan in place and evolve it and nurture it and most of all believe in it then this gap only gets bigger.
Its no good blaming croke park all the time football people in their own counties have to look from within too and see is this what we are happy with and do we want more.
If its more then an awful amount of hard work has to be put in first.
Post by: sensethetone on July 15, 2018, 01:10:55 PM
Quote from: RedHand88 on July 15, 2018, 12:47:41 PM
MISSING PERSON

Known to have a disdain for Ulster football, Tyrone, Mickey Harte, Andy Moran, Ballaghaderreen etc.

Probably find the Roscommon goalie while looking for Syferus.. maybe he is the goalie..
Post by: bigtogs on July 15, 2018, 01:12:47 PM
Roscommon where blowing out the hole after 20 minutes not fit or do they have physique to operate in croke park......
Post by: seafoid on July 15, 2018, 01:54:26 PM
Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on July 14, 2018, 11:53:11 PM
Quote from: seafoid on July 14, 2018, 11:36:44 PM

Huh! Mist?

And yes, if these young buckos can't give the Dubs a right decent rattle in Healy Park we may need to, at the back of it all, focus all energies on Ballybofey two weeks henceforth. :D
The Super 8 is a glorified quarter final. If Tyrone dont make the final the year is a write off. Winners need ambition.
Even losing a final is not good enough.
Post by: Lar Naparka on July 15, 2018, 01:55:30 PM
Ah, Jaysus Farr, this is most unlike you!  :D :D
Mayo fans know only too well what it feels like to be bet out the gate. It has happened too us often enough and probably will again.
I think you may be letting your annoyance with one immature anal orifice affect your judgement of all Rossie folks.
There are very sound Ross posters here and I know how they are feeling this morning.
However, to all of them, there is no point in wallowing in self-pity and life has to go on - there will be other better days.

Look on the positive side, the poor man's Tony Fearon, arch attention seeker, hasn't shtuck his shnout in the post match discussion and for small mercies O Lord, we are truly grateful. Amen. :D
Post by: seafoid on July 15, 2018, 01:59:37 PM
MISSING PERSON

The Monaghan lads will back me up on this. A number of prominent Throne posters disappeared after the county lost 2 league maches in a row.
Syf would have to be gone for a month to be remotely comparable.

https://youtu.be/-T6NKsPZxBA

Post by: Syferus on July 15, 2018, 02:25:14 PM
It's a pity we took a hammering off a team I think isn't going anywhere this year. If it was Dublin it would have almost tolerable. A lot of work to do on our system for next week and next year because it's just not giving us a chance in these sorts of games.
Post by: Jayop on July 15, 2018, 02:29:24 PM
Hard to fathom people calling Morgan a liability. His restarts yesterday were brilliant and he had a good game overall bring the ball out and saving a point over the bar.

The short free was stupid but two points, 1 it should have been a hop ball but Gough makes it up as he goes along regarding Tyrone and 2 the Rossies player wasn't back the required distance anyway so we could even have been able to take it again with a different ref.
Post by: longballin on July 15, 2018, 02:38:40 PM
Quote from: Syferus on July 15, 2018, 02:25:14 PM
It's a pity we took a hammering off a team I think isn't going anywhere this year. If it was Dublin it would have almost tolerable. A lot of work to do on our system for next week and next year because it's just not giving us a chance in these sorts of games.

youse have a system?   :D
Post by: omagh_gael on July 15, 2018, 02:40:01 PM

Brilliant Syf. Couldn't even bring yourself to positivity acknowledge the big bad red hands. Any thoughts on our game next week?
Post by: Syferus on July 15, 2018, 02:44:49 PM
Quote from: omagh_gael on July 15, 2018, 02:40:01 PM

Brilliant Syf. Couldn't even bring yourself to positivity acknowledge the big bad red hands. Any thoughts on our game next week?

Ye played well but everyone knows you were being marked by cardboard cutouts so I wouldn't get giddy just yet.

Dublin will beat ye, but not by 18 points..
Post by: RedHand88 on July 15, 2018, 02:59:05 PM
Quote from: Syferus on July 15, 2018, 02:44:49 PM

Ye played well but everyone knows you were being marked by cardboard cutouts so I wouldn't get giddy just yet.

That's an understatement.
Post by: Hound on July 15, 2018, 03:02:30 PM
Quote from: Jayop on July 15, 2018, 02:29:24 PM
Hard to fathom people calling Morgan a liability. His restarts yesterday were brilliant and he had a good game overall bring the ball out and saving a point over the bar.

The short free was stupid but two points, 1 it should have been a hop ball but Gough makes it up as he goes along regarding Tyrone and 2 the Rossies player wasn't back the required distance anyway so we could even have been able to take it again with a different ref.
I think the free was for a throw rather than the 14 yards (which as you say would have been a hop ball).

Morgan was standing for quite a while with the ball at exactly the spot where the ball should be kicked from. Gough blew the whistle, then Morgan just threw it sideways. Presumably he was just throwing it to the defender for him to take the restart, but Gough's decision was understandable given the defender should have had the ball long before, if he was the one going to take it.
Post by: Blowitupref on July 15, 2018, 03:06:52 PM
I overrated Roscommon ignoring the fact that they are too open in defence to stand any chance against top 6 teams in the business end of the championship, they are all clearly well off the strength and conditioning of the top teams so McStay has major work to do if he wants to bring this team any further.

Tyrone looked every bit a top 5 team yesterday, a very efficient team where every player knows their roles and subs coming on all showing great desire to impress as they are all fighting for starting spots. 7-54 scored in the last two games which proves Tyrone can score freely when given the room and time to score but v Dublin,Donegal next should provide the real evidence if this Tyrone side has improved from last year.
Post by: thebar on July 15, 2018, 03:33:00 PM
Roscommon should not be in the Super 8's they simply arent fit for it.
Post by: trueblue1234 on July 15, 2018, 03:38:08 PM
Quote from: seafoid on July 15, 2018, 01:59:37 PM
MISSING PERSON

The Monaghan lads will back me up on this. A number of prominent Throne posters disappeared after the county lost 2 league maches in a row.
Syf would have to be gone for a month to be remotely comparable.

https://youtu.be/-T6NKsPZxBA
which posters?

Surely you must be worried now given how The second best team in the province preformed? Real possibility Galway could get a beating the day which would cast huge doubt on the quality of football in Connaught.
Post by: Over the Bar on July 15, 2018, 05:50:51 PM

Nah, Tyrone were being marked by the best Roscommon has to offer.  Don't go throwing your team under the bus tho, just man up for once and accept you were thrashed by a much superior team.   
Post by: BennyHarp on July 15, 2018, 05:52:17 PM

So are you still holding a grudge then?
Post by: PadraicHenryPearse on July 15, 2018, 05:57:19 PM
Quote from: BennyHarp on July 15, 2018, 05:52:17 PM

So are you still holding a grudge then?

Benny you need to understand sy. doesn't always express himself well. I try give him benefit of the doubt others try and goad him which is the easy option. I think he meant we are sick of tyrone beating us and would love to beat ye. its probably how cavan feel about us.
Post by: bamboo on July 15, 2018, 06:08:10 PM
Maybe so Padraig but I'd let the man speak for himself. His constant condescending, patronising and downright blinkered comments on every topic under the sun have caused the majority of the board to turn on him and revel in his disappointments.

He needs to step away for a while or else tone things down a bit. For his own sake- and the boards as there's as much talk about him as there is about the games.
Post by: Main Street on July 15, 2018, 06:48:11 PM
Typical Tyronies, kicking a limbless man when he's down on the ground.

Chin up Rossies,  anyway, beating Tyrone is overrated.
Post by: BennyHarp on July 15, 2018, 07:05:24 PM
Quote from: Main Street on July 15, 2018, 06:48:11 PM
Typical Tyronies, kicking a limbless man when he's down on the ground.

Chin up Rossies,  anyway, beating Tyrone is overrated.

Yeah, I suppose beating Tyrone is over rated in Monaghan because deep down you know that Tyrone always beat you later in the championship....when it really matters. It's bound to take the edge off it for you.
Post by: Jinxy on July 15, 2018, 07:43:24 PM
The readings from my sickening arrogance detector are off the charts right now.
Post by: From the Bunker on July 15, 2018, 08:14:02 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on July 15, 2018, 07:43:24 PM

(https://thumbs.gfycat.com/QualifiedConcreteLabradorretriever-max-1mb.gif)
Post by: seafoid on July 15, 2018, 08:45:25 PM
Quote from: RedHand88 on July 14, 2018, 11:56:50 PM
Connacht is a poor province.
Dhera it is not.
After today we may be looking at a Tyrone-Galway semi final
Post by: SouthDublinBro on July 15, 2018, 11:30:33 PM
Whatever happened to Donie Shine?
Post by: From the Bunker on July 16, 2018, 12:07:05 AM
Quote from: SouthDublinBro on July 15, 2018, 11:30:33 PM

The same thing that happened to Kevin Nolan!
Post by: Main Street on July 16, 2018, 12:22:43 AM
Quote from: Jinxy on July 15, 2018, 07:43:24 PM
It's beyond sickening arrogance, it's psychopathic, -   (dishonesty, arrogance, low remorse, minimizing self-blame, callousness, and shallow affect).

There are some grounds for optimism though. Once taken out of their enclave, tidied up into a 3 piece suit and placed among other normal mortals, the Tyronie GAA aficionado (eg.Big Sean)  can seamlessly shed this imposed psychopathic personality layer, best epitomized by the high pitched weasel tones of victimisation. These days, Big Sean looks complete, free of the shackles that bind the human spirit.
Post by: weareros on July 16, 2018, 12:23:42 AM

New managers come in. They get rid of a few of the stars from the previous regime under the ruse of giving youth a chance. Carr, Maughan, McStay, all guilty in this regard. We have such a huge pick in Ros, it makes it easy for them. That last line is sarcastic cos you never know with a few of ours.
Post by: Gael85 on July 16, 2018, 12:24:05 AM
Quote from: From the Bunker on July 16, 2018, 12:07:05 AM

Diabetes?
Post by: Rossfan on July 16, 2018, 01:29:00 AM
Quote from: weareros on July 16, 2018, 12:23:42 AM

New managers come in. They get rid of a few of the stars from the previous regime under the ruse of giving youth a chance. Carr, Maughan, McStay, all guilty in this regard. We have such a huge pick in Ros, it makes it easy for them. That last line is sarcastic cos you never know with a few of ours.
Army officers  are not good amateur sport managers.
Most GAA activists I've talked to today reckon McStay is a busted flush and has been found out.
No defensive organisation,  terrible fitness, strength and conditioning levels, random team selections -one buck reckons we pick names out of 1 hat and jersey numbers out of another hat.
That sort of stuff can happen in year 1 of any regime but by year 3 you expect those type of things to be sorted out.
We may be no world beaters but fck it you expect management to have some kind of pattern and organisation to make the team better after 3 years.

Post by: Syferus on July 16, 2018, 01:34:16 AM
Quote from: Rossfan on July 16, 2018, 01:29:00 AM

Most GAA activists I've talked to today reckon McStay is a busted flush and has been found out.
No defensive organisation,  terrible fitness, strength and conditioning levels, random team selections -one buck reckons we piclass names out of 1 hat and jersey numbers out of another hat.
That sort of stuff can happen in year 1 of any regime but by year 3 you expect those type of things to be sorted out.
We may be no world beaters but fck it you expect management to have some kind of pattern and organisation to make the team better after 3 years.

GAA activists. Right. You've been waiting 18 months to try to kick McStay in the ribs when the team fell down. Watching us only lose three matches since March 2017 must have really been tough for you to handle in the lead up to the Tyrone match.

A person's profession has fûck all to do with their ability as a manager, I can't actually believe I have to tell you that.

It's hard to even call you a Roscommon supporter at this stage.
Post by: Rossfan on July 16, 2018, 01:50:19 AM
Attack me and avoid the obvious points I made.
Ignore 4-24.
Ignore "we don't need a defensive coach"
Ignore disdain for S &C.
Ignore a disorganised team.
Good night.
Post by: redzone on July 16, 2018, 06:37:01 AM
Quote from: Gael85 on July 16, 2018, 12:24:05 AM
Quote from: From the Bunker on July 16, 2018, 12:07:05 AM

Diabetes?
Thas Steven Nolan
Post by: shark on July 16, 2018, 07:03:08 AM

No defensive organisation,  terrible fitness, strength and conditioning levels, random team selections -one buck reckons we pick names out of 1 hat and jersey numbers out of another hat.

As an outsider looking in, Roscommon are better after those 3 years. Ye won Connacht last year. That doesn't happen all that often. There is a massive gap to the top from where ye are, but I don't see that being bridged under any manager. No matter what their profession is.

(clever use of Army instead of Defence Forces by the way. Wonder why you did that?)
Post by: seafoid on July 16, 2018, 08:22:17 AM
"We made a couple of massive turnovers that we were punished for,"  McStay told RTÉ Sport.

https://www.rte.ie/amp/978712/
"Then the gap that we were hoping Tyrone wouldn't get, that we were planning not to give them, all of a sudden they had it and they are so hard to play against once that gap opens up but fair play to them, their athleticism, their conditioning, it's way ahead of ours and we couldn't live with it."

"You are trying to keep the margin manageable and all the runners are coming from the defence all the time

https://youtu.be/GGU1P6lBW6Q
and we started  getting tired and not tracking.

"Tyrone are expert at padding out the lead and in the end it looks like a lot. Thankfully, we have a week to recover and there is a match in seven days time so we won't be mulling around the place we have to get back on the horse show a bit of pride next week and have a cut."
Post by: Farrandeelin on July 16, 2018, 08:31:59 AM
Are you serious about no S & C Rossfan?
Post by: trailer on July 16, 2018, 08:41:31 AM
Roscommon are now the San Marino of this group. Likely to get two massive hidings from Dublin and Donegal. Perhaps scores against the lowest ranked team in every group should be discounted? Dublin could put 30 points+ on them and Donegal 20+
Tyrone were made to look good against them. Lots of very easy turnovers, which comes from a team not being fit.
Tyrone v Dublin will be interesting next week. It's time to hammer the hammer.
Post by: Rossfan on July 16, 2018, 08:50:09 AM
I'm told by those in the know he hasn't much time for S&C.
Nor defensive organisation either.
I am not aware of the team having S&C or defence gurus.
Anyway we're technically still in the race for a semi final spot so all is not lost yet  we're the least likely of the 8 to make it.

Shark - I see your point  but I was just thinking of our history of army bucks. Even poor Dermot didn't do very well.
Post by: Rossfan on July 16, 2018, 09:01:07 AM
Quote from: bigtogs on July 15, 2018, 01:12:47 PM
Roscommon where blowing out the hole after 20 minutes not fit or do they have physique to operate in croke park......

!!!!!
Post by: imtommygunn on July 16, 2018, 09:15:48 AM
The worst of it is, based on last year anyway, Tyrone's conditioning is nearly as far behind Dublin's as Roscommon is behind theirs.

Maybe that will be different this year but we'll see. I could see this being Dublin's easiest Ai yet :( (Though I think Tyrone in Omagh will give them a bit of a scare though if it comes to a semi or final don't think they have a chance).

Roscommon have some very good footballers and it's a pity seeing so people get so deflated after one game. The professionalism teams like Tyrone have takes years, and money, to get into place. Roscommon may be closer to Donegal than people think with it being at home.  Dublin sadly, like most teams really, will beat them by as much as they want.
Post by: RedHand88 on July 16, 2018, 09:27:01 AM
Quote from: shark on July 16, 2018, 07:03:08 AM

As an outsider looking in, Roscommon are better after those 3 years. Ye won Connacht last year. That doesn't happen all that often. There is a massive gap to the top from where ye are, but I don't see that being bridged under any manager. No matter what their profession is.

(clever use of Army instead of Defence Forces by the way. Wonder why you did that?)

I know the gaa is all progressive and inclusive these days but I think we're a bit away from having British army officers managing county teams.
Post by: shark on July 16, 2018, 09:34:16 AM
Quote from: RedHand88 on July 16, 2018, 09:27:01 AM
Quote from: shark on July 16, 2018, 07:03:08 AM

I know the gaa is all progressive and inclusive these days but I think we're a bit away from having British army officers managing county teams.

I think you missed my point. Or else I've missed yours. Or both.
My point was, Rossfan avoided saying Defence Forces Officers are not good amateur sport managers as he would then have included Jim Gavin (Air Corps rather than Army), which would ruin his point.
Post by: manfromdelmonte on July 16, 2018, 10:08:32 AM
Too much analysis of McStay and co here when they have two matches to go.
Post by: BennyHarp on July 16, 2018, 10:14:39 AM
Quote from: manfromdelmonte on July 16, 2018, 10:08:32 AM
Too much analysis of McStay and co here when they have two matches to go.

I would say it's fair enough to analyse the performance of a management team that has just seen its team concede 4-24.
Post by: Paudi Meehan on July 16, 2018, 10:57:17 AM

Tyrone stepped up a couple of gears yesterday but the Rossies were woejus. I presume the VCR was broken this week and McStay and co never got a chance to get a look at Tyrone playing?
Post by: Syferus on July 16, 2018, 11:14:39 AM
Quote from: Rossfan on July 16, 2018, 08:50:09 AM
Anyway we're technically still in the race for a semi final spot so all is not lost yet  we're the least likely of the 8 to make it.

Shark - I see your point  but I was just thinking of our history of army bucks. Even poor Dermot didn't do very well.

Someone would want to tell the man we're paying to be the S&C coach he has no time for it. Would you ever stop talking out of your arse?
Post by: theyellowbus on July 16, 2018, 11:24:51 AM
Quote from: Syferus on July 16, 2018, 11:14:39 AM

Someone would want to tell the man we're paying to be the S&C coach he has no time for it. Would you ever stop talking out of your arse?

Someone would want to tell the S+C coach how do his job or else get rid of him and stop wasting money.
Post by: Rossfan on July 16, 2018, 11:40:20 AM
Quote from: theyellowbus on July 16, 2018, 11:24:51 AM
Quote from: Syferus on July 16, 2018, 11:14:39 AM

Someone would want to tell the S+C coach how do his job or else get rid of him and stop wasting money.

.+100.
Post by: trueblue1234 on July 16, 2018, 11:43:13 AM
To be fair conditioning can take time. How long is the S&C guy in place?
Post by: PadraicHenryPearse on July 16, 2018, 12:04:14 PM
Niall Daly missed last year and been injured this year.
Conor Daly missed last 2/3
Peter dom missed last 4/5
Cathal Cregg missed last year.
Compton always injured.
Fintan Cregg, brian and Ronan stack have been injured this year.
Niall mc missed part of the league.
I think John Mac & O'Rourke missed start of the league with injury (could be wrong)
Enda was sick in Oz.
Both Lennon's currently injured.

Players uninjured or available  most of the year I think.

Murtagh x2
Murray
Donie Smith
Lavin
Kilroy
Patterson
F Cregg

Doesn't help s&c when so many unavailable  for so long
Post by: theyellowbus on July 16, 2018, 12:05:29 PM
Quote from: trueblue1234 on July 16, 2018, 11:43:13 AM

Exactly.
Look at Dublin,Mayo,Donegal,Tyrone even Monaghan they are superbly fit and strong.
When Mayo were at their peak i would safely say their S&C was the best in the country.It took a number of years to get it up to that and an awful amount of work.
Look at Tyrone on Saturday i would say they are even fitter and stronger from last year.It may not be this year but i guarantee they will be in all Ireland final in  the next two/three years.
S+C isn't just handing out exercise plans and getting lads doing them individually which from what i understand is a lot of what our lads were doing earlier in the year.
Its an ongoing process and to get the best results is done collectively and in a proper environment with proper progress analysis.
Post by: seafoid on July 16, 2018, 12:58:16 PM
Quote from: theyellowbus on July 16, 2018, 12:05:29 PM
Quote from: trueblue1234 on July 16, 2018, 11:43:13 AM

Exactly.
Look at Dublin,Mayo,Donegal,Tyrone even Monaghan they are superbly fit and strong.
When Mayo were at their peak i would safely say their S&C was the best in the country.It took a number of years to get it up to that and an awful amount of work.
Look at Tyrone on Saturday i would say they are even fitter and stronger from last year.It may not be this year but i guarantee they will be in all Ireland final in  the next two/three years.
S+C isn't just handing out exercise plans and getting lads doing them individually which from what i understand is a lot of what our lads were doing earlier in the year.
Its an ongoing process and to get the best results is done collectively and in a proper environment with proper progress analysis.
Fitness alone is not enough. A Mr McGeeney in Armagh with work experience in Kildare has more details
You need fitness + skill + teamwork + scoring forwards. The best teams can play any system.
Post by: Oldira on July 16, 2018, 02:14:13 PM
Anyone would think Roscommon were an arrogant group the abuse being fired at them and their supporters? What have we ever done to Tyrone? I massively admire Tyrone they way they have come from being a minnow to now giants of football in the past two decades.
Tyrone were just in a different class to Roscommon on Saturday. Roscommosn S & C was dire compared to Tyrone but that is not a new problem. In 2016 Roscommon on 4 of there first 5 league games and then ran into Mayo who swatted them away. It was clear that day that Roscommon were much physically weaker than Mayo. Two years later the same is true. But what is worse is that we are no way near the fitness required to be a top tier team. That was obvious in the Connacht Final where or players totally ran out of steam near the end. An issue though is finance. Roscommon have very little money and their financial affairs are ran by Croke Park. If McStay demanded 100k more for S&C, fitness coaches and statisticians he would be refused.  Thats not an excuse just a fact.
What is really disappointing for supporters is the way we thre in the towel and shipped a catastrophic beating. Same as against Mayo last year. That is inexcusable. Fans do deserve better than that. Hard to explain how we ran Galway so close and then produced a display like that. After our match I felt that Galway could be destroyed by Kerry but the opposite happenned.
While I did think Tyrone looked awesome and they are well set up to reach the semis I would caution on what happenned last year. Destroyed Armagh in Q/F but then surrendered meekly to Dublin and were lucky to lose by only 12 points. So not so sure why Tyrone can laugh at our beating when they themselves were victims of a similar one 11 months ago.
Post by: Rossfan on July 16, 2018, 02:26:32 PM
We have  the former Connacht GAA S&C officer on our panel.
Couldn't we have asked him to draw up a programme?
Post by: Fuzzman on July 16, 2018, 02:30:14 PM
Well said Old IRA

We were hammering everyone last year until we believed our own hype around maybe beating the Dubs and the same is happening now since Sat when the Dubs looked a TAD off colour and Donegal showed they can be rattled.
I've loads of Dubs onto me today saying they're very worried that Omagh will be a cauldron and that even if they lose they'll get revenge in the final

Nonsense talk as we're not anywhere near that level in my eyes
I did however believe we would beat the Rossies and couldn't really understand all the fuss about ye. Sorry if that sounds arrogant but its what I truly believed and got slated for speaking my mind.

I am happy to admit I got it VERY wrong about Galway though and never in a 100 years (or was it 65 years) thought they would beat Kerry. Just shows those who don't believe this talk about systems that if you are set up well and work hard and believe in yourselves what can be achieved

I'm curious now does anyone who said last week that Tyrone are not improving week after week and indeed it does look like their training was scheduled to have the team at "peak fitness for July and August" rather than worrying about a first round game in May.
Maybe that's what happened Kerry yesterday that they were not ready for that level of intensity so early in the summer
Post by: seafoid on July 16, 2018, 02:51:28 PM
Quote from: Fuzzman on July 16, 2018, 02:30:14 PM
Well said Old IRA

We were hammering everyone last year until we believed our own hype around maybe beating the Dubs and the same is happening now since Sat when the Dubs looked a TAD off colour and Donegal showed they can be rattled.
I've loads of Dubs onto me today saying they're very worried that Omagh will be a cauldron and that even if they lose they'll get revenge in the final

Nonsense talk as we're not anywhere near that level in my eyes
I did however believe we would beat the Rossies and couldn't really understand all the fuss about ye. Sorry if that sounds arrogant but its what I truly believed and got slated for speaking my mind.

I am happy to admit I got it VERY wrong about Galway though and never in a 100 years (or was it 65 years) thought they would beat Kerry. Just shows those who don't believe this talk about systems that if you are set up well and work hard and believe in yourselves what can be achieved

I'm curious now does anyone who said last week that Tyrone are not improving week after week and indeed it does look like their training was scheduled to have the team at "peak fitness for July and August" rather than worrying about a first round game in May.
Maybe that's what happened Kerry yesterday that they were not ready for that level of intensity so early in the summer
I think Kerry havé deeper problems. Very like Kilkenny.
But they deserve no sympathy cos   they will be back
Post by: theyellowbus on July 16, 2018, 03:07:59 PM
Nail on the head Oldira. My question is though why aren't we trying to address this it cant all be finances?
We seem to be happy when we put in a few good performances against decent opposition and then when we get the living shit kicked out of us by a good side we entertein the sure we arnet at that level yet.
Why the f**k arent we is my question?
We talk the talk when it suits us but then we accept mediocrity when the chicken comes home to roost.
We learned absolutely nothing from the second Mayo game last year or the Kerry League semi the year before.
We should have won the connacht final this year but kicked some desperate wides.
Galway won and did they accept that no they knew they played poorly and looked at their croke park performance last year and learned from it and grew a pair.
We arent doing that we hope when meet a top that they have an off day and then maybe we try and outscore them.
Post by: Jayop on July 16, 2018, 04:47:21 PM
Oldira are you talking about Tyrone abuse towards Rossies in general or just on here?

If you're talking about in general then I just don't see it anywhere. If you're talking about it in here there's no animosity from Tyrone towards all but one Rosscommon fan and he brought that on himself.

Post by: Oldira on July 16, 2018, 05:01:40 PM
Just on here. Never met a Tyrone fan that abused any Rossie. I see the lad you are talking but you cant direct annoyance at Roscommon fans over one clown.   
Post by: Jayop on July 16, 2018, 05:03:52 PM
Quote from: Oldira on July 16, 2018, 05:01:40 PM
Just on here. Never met a Tyrone fan that abused any Rossie. I see the lad you are talking but you cant direct annoyance at Roscommon fans over one clown.

I honestly don't think people were, and if they were doing so they certainly shouldn't. I have no bad blood with Rossie fans. I've lived in Connaught for most of my life now and know loads of Rossies (my brother married one) and they're great gaels. Totally mad about the game and a bit mad in general too.
Post by: Rossfan on July 16, 2018, 05:57:33 PM
We're not too mad now. ;D
As for Finance I feel our CB/Club Rossie aren't going after the diaspora many of whom have made good and would be delighted to help out.
We have one helping but he offered himself as far as I know.
50 or 60 well heeled people throwing maybe 5k per annum to foot bills for S&C,   fitness, hire of facilities etc would help in a big way.
Looking for €230 Club Rossie memberships in one go in a poor backwater like Ros is not conducive to maximising finance.
Why not a direct debit at €20 per month for the ordinary  Joes and Josephines?.
Post by: Jayop on July 16, 2018, 08:16:05 PM
Yeah a DD option would make life a hell of a lot easier for people.
Post by: Maroon Manc on July 17, 2018, 01:46:58 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on July 16, 2018, 05:57:33 PM
As for Finance I feel our CB/Club Rossie aren't going after the diaspora many of whom have made good and would be delighted to help out.
50 or 60 well heeled people throwing maybe 5k per annum to foot bills for S&C,   fitness, hire of facilities etc would help in a big way.
Looking for €230 Club Rossie memberships in one go in a poor backwater like Ros is not conducive to maximising finance.

I have to admire your optimism, you might get the odd one but wealthy businessmen won't give 5k away with nothing in return. You're spot on about club rossie but in fairness you can say the same about the majority of county boards. There's a lot of weatlhy businessmen in the UK and in the States from the West who could help if county boards were more creative.
Post by: Rossfan on July 17, 2018, 02:12:51 PM
Well we have one allegedly giving  more than €5k away and doesn't blow about it as he's a fan.
We need to appeal to County pride etc and these lads will come good.
Post by: westbound on July 17, 2018, 02:18:00 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on July 16, 2018, 05:57:33 PM

There was an option to pay over 4 months by DD if you signed up before March.

Also, there was a DD option to pay over 12 months (possibly 10 months - I can't remember exactly) in one of the first years of club rossie, But the ordinary Joes and Josphines stopped their DD's as soon as the club rossie draw was held!

Maybe there should be a DD option for a supporters club but you won't get the casual observer to sign up to a DD for a supporters club. You'll get the hardcore supporters to contribute anyway.

Perhaps the club rossie draw and the supporters club portion of club rossie should be separated out? But I would guess it's the big prizes that get most contributors to part with their €100 or €230, and not the chance to have a Roscommon sticker on their car.
Post by: Rossfan on July 17, 2018, 03:24:43 PM
Have the draw at Christmas for all fully paid up members then.
At least the casual/bandwagon crowd would have to keep paying in then.
€20 a month Gold and €10 a month Bronze.