GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: talktothehand on June 29, 2009, 11:43:14 AM

Title: best standard of football ever??
Post by: talktothehand on June 29, 2009, 11:43:14 AM
I am a bit fed up with people saying about the poor standrad of championship football this year. If we are to accept this criticism i would like people to nominate the year when they felt football was at its highest level?  For me that Year would have to be 2005 where we had a cigarette paper between Tyrone, Kerry and Armagh as well as a nice few surprises and some absolutely wonderful football.  If anyone is going to talk about bad football this year suggest when it was better please.
Title: Re: best standard of football ever??
Post by: ziggysego on June 29, 2009, 11:45:06 AM
Tyrone v Dublin - 2008 Quarter Final.
Post by: Zulu on June 29, 2009, 11:48:33 AM
I think the 1990's was by and large an excellent decade of football which produced many iconic games and probably had the best mixture of physicality and football that any era has produced. In saying that I don't think the modern game is as bad as some like to paint it and if we could have a bit more positivity in the game we would get more high quality games.
Post by: under the bar on June 29, 2009, 11:49:33 AM
QuoteFor me that Year would have to be 2005 where we had a cigarette paper between Tyrone, Kerry and Armagh

A cigarette paper between Tyrone & Kerry??  Did you not watch the game man?
Post by: talktothehand on June 29, 2009, 11:50:59 AM
aye. through my fingers from Hill 16. was in the mix until 10 minutes from the end.
Post by: talktothehand on June 29, 2009, 11:51:41 AM
Quote from: ziggysego on June 29, 2009, 11:45:06 AM

better than the 2005 draw in the first quarter final? muggsy's goal? ;D
Post by: ziggysego on June 29, 2009, 11:55:56 AM
Quote from: talktothehand on June 29, 2009, 11:51:41 AM

2008 was pure football, 2005 was more satisfying ;D
Post by: Denn Forever on June 29, 2009, 11:59:08 AM
Would have to be the Galway Kerry (?) quater final last year in the p?ssing rain and they had to put the floodlights on.

Amazing how the standard could be so high in such conditions.
Post by: Trevor Hill on June 29, 2009, 11:59:57 AM
Nothing comes close to the 1994 game between Derry and Down, though the rest of the Championship was a bit one sided bar the last few minutes of the AIF. Some great football in the 90s with many different winners. The Derry v Down games of the early 90s, the Dublin v Meath saga, Tyrone almost winning Sam for the first time in 1995.
Post by: talktothehand on June 29, 2009, 12:00:32 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on June 29, 2009, 11:55:56 AM
Quote from: talktothehand on June 29, 2009, 11:51:41 AM

2008 was pure football, 2005 was more satisfying ;D

especially the semi ;D
Post by: blanketattack on June 29, 2009, 12:33:56 PM
Sometimes you get a high standard in a close game but it's usually low scoring. You also get it in a high scoring game but it usually by only one team and they win comfortably. The one game that stands out as being a very high standard, high scoring and close would be Kerry-Galway last year.
Post by: T Fearon on June 29, 2009, 12:46:25 PM
For overall standard (not just the odd great game as in 1994) Mid 70s to mid 80s was the best, dominated by two truly outstanding teams in Dublin and Kerry, with other great teams such as Armagh, Roscommon and Offaly just off the pace (though at least Offaly did bag an All Ireland). Look at the plethora of legendary players that era produced, Spillane, O'Shea, Power, Sheehy, Bomber, Dermot Earley Snr, Keaveney, Mullins, Moran, Paddy Moriarity, Matt Connor etc.
Post by: tonesfirstandlast on June 29, 2009, 12:53:00 PM
88 to 95
Post by: Doogie Browser on June 29, 2009, 12:53:55 PM
All this nostalgic talk of days of old is tosh as far as I am concerned.  Kevin McStay made a good point last night (no, honestly), its due to bad memories and more TV exposure nowadays.
It will really heat up now with last chance saloon games starting this weekend and provincial finals coming up.
Post by: full back on June 29, 2009, 01:02:05 PM
With more games being shown on TV, we are exposed more to sh1te games that we would never have seen
Post by: corn02 on June 29, 2009, 01:18:19 PM
The best football I have ever seen Armagh play was te second half against Dublin in the 03 Qualifiers.

Don;t really know what the question being posted is here. UUJ v QUB Sigerson final a few years ago was of an extraordinary level throughout.
Post by: Gnevin on June 29, 2009, 01:30:59 PM
Standards have been in decline since 1887
Post by: IolarCoisCuain on June 29, 2009, 02:58:07 PM
Séamas Ó Maoiléoin claimed in his autobiography that the standard of Gaelic football reached its highest point not in Ireland at all but in Wales, when certain Gaels were interred at His Majesty's Pleasure at Frongoch POW camp in the autumn and winter of 1916. Dick Fitzgerald, after whom the stadium is named in Killarney, was there at the time and even though he was few years past his best Ó Maoiléoin reckoned that Dickie Fitz had forgotten nothing, and taught the boys everything he knew, which was a lot.

Just thought I'd put that up for the record, like.  ;D
Post by: TacadoirArdMhacha on June 29, 2009, 03:07:58 PM
Quote from: hatchetfield on June 29, 2009, 02:14:22 PM
Standards standards standards - we're blinded by these so called glory years.  I watched the a Dublin All Ireland final v (i can't really remember - might have been Down??) and the standard was crap.  Teams constantly kicking the ball to the opposition - thats why some clever dick invented the short handpass and support game.

Standards have always been mediocre unless you're talking about the top 5-8 teams in the country and that's much the same now.  But on thing is that the standard amongst the best is definitely getting better.

To be fair the conditions were terible that day and how can you possible say that the Down team that were involved in the "greatest game ever against Derry  ::)" could possibly have been involved in a poor match?!

The QUB v UUJ match Corn02 mentions is one of my favourite matches ever. I remember a Hogan semi final between St Colman's and Roscommon CBS in Clones in 1998 being the most enthralling match I'd ever seen at that stage.

Think the best matches Armagh have been involved in this decade were probably the 2 semi finals against Kerry in 2000. The trilogy against Tyrone in 2005 was enthralling as well. 2005 was a year of high standards - what a run Tyrone had - the 3 games against us, 2 against Dublin and then a superb final aginst Kerry.
Post by: full back on June 29, 2009, 03:15:03 PM
A few games that stand out in the memory that I experienced

St Colmans/St Pats game from about 20 years ago. Think it finished 4-11 to 4-10 or something similar in the final

Meath/Dubs 2nd game from '91

Armagh/Tyrone semi final in '05, even though the result was sh1te
Post by: blewuporstuffed on June 29, 2009, 03:33:56 PM
suppose it depends what is meant by 'standards'. is it skill level, entertainment value, pace of the game,intensity,alot of tight games?
i would say overall 2005 was one of the years I would regard as the standards being highest.
for individual games that stand out as being high standard, the sigerson final already mentioned,kerry v galway in the pissing rain was superb.tyrone v kerry allireland minor semifinal that went to extra time ('97?)was about as good as football gets.
Post by: Jinxy on June 29, 2009, 04:30:21 PM
The standard was way better when we were winning.  :P
Post by: Pangurban on June 29, 2009, 05:13:39 PM
The 60s
Post by: EC Unique on June 29, 2009, 05:29:13 PM
I think the standard of Ulster football has slipped a lot in the last couple of years. This year especially it has been brutal. No cheap dig at Antrim but the fact that they are in the Ulster Final says it all really. Where are the great teams from the traditional big hitters in Ulster... Down, Derry, Armagh...  What is to blame for the demise?
Post by: muppet on June 29, 2009, 06:59:42 PM
Best standard ever was when we were 3 points down with minus 5 seconds to go.

Our full forward blasted the ball so hard that the skin went into the net and the rest went over the bar. The umpires raised both flags so we got a goal and a point and won the game. Some craic.

Post by: Archie Mitchell on June 29, 2009, 07:06:14 PM
From a Tyrone point of view 2005 was a great year. The 3 games v Armagh, 2 games v Dublin and final v Kerry all stand out as big games. All games were end to end and never really knew what way they would go. If I had to pick one, it would have been the semi final v Armagh, both teams put in a superb performance and gave it everything they got.

In 2008, the quarter final v Dublin and final v Kerry were also great games based on the football that was played them days.
Post by: armaghniac on June 30, 2009, 01:22:25 AM
QuoteWhere are the great teams from the traditional big hitters in Ulster... Down, Derry, Armagh...  What is to blame for the demise?

The draw.All it shows is that Tyrone are better than Derry and Armagh and probably everyone else too. I imagine that Monaghan, Derry or Armagh would have won out in Antrim's position.
Post by: talktothehand on June 30, 2009, 09:44:19 AM
Quote from: EC Unique on June 29, 2009, 05:29:13 PM
I think the standard of Ulster football has slipped a lot in the last couple of years. This year especially it has been brutal. No cheap dig at Antrim but the fact that they are in the Ulster Final says it all really. Where are the great teams from the traditional big hitters in Ulster... Down, Derry, Armagh...  What is to blame for the demise?

is it really worse than ulster football 1968-1991?? ???
Post by: full back on June 30, 2009, 09:49:25 AM
Ulster football in particular has been spoiled in the last decade or two with the standard of football.

Bar a few games before that, the standard was sh1te
Post by: JMohan on June 30, 2009, 09:54:26 AM
Quote from: talktothehand on June 30, 2009, 09:44:19 AM

Quote from: full back on June 30, 2009, 09:49:25 AM
Ulster football in particular has been spoiled in the last decade or two with the standard of football.

What a load of b*ll*cks .... there were a few things going on up north during them years in case youse didn't notice ... most of you didn't as it happens
Post by: full back on June 30, 2009, 10:40:36 AM
Quote from: JMohan on June 30, 2009, 09:54:26 AM

What a load of b*ll*cks .... there were a few things going on up north during them years in case youse didn't notice ... most of you didn't as it happens

What has that got to do with anything?

Does this mean we cant say the standard of football was poor? ::)
Post by: JMohan on June 30, 2009, 10:55:27 AM
So the standard of football dropped because Ulster teams started to win things?

And just because Antrim, who bore the brunt of the troubles for 30 years, get to an Ulster final the standard is even poorer?

Well there's been no 27 point wins this year in Ulster that I can remember!
Post by: talktothehand on June 30, 2009, 11:03:27 AM

good point. hence the spec ial place that the gaelic club plays in the life in counties like tyrone and armagh. it's no co-incidence surely. but the point was about the standard of football on display NOT about social and economic conditions.
Post by: full back on June 30, 2009, 11:06:02 AM
Quote from: JMohan on June 30, 2009, 10:55:27 AM
So the standard of football dropped because Ulster teams started to win things?

??? ???

When did I say that?

I said "Ulster football in particular has been spoiled in the last decade or two with the standard of football." meaning the standard has been very high in the last 20 odd years in comparison to the 20 years before that.

Who is talking about the troubles/problems in the North?
Post by: JMohan on June 30, 2009, 11:44:42 AM
Quote from: talktothehand on June 30, 2009, 11:03:27 AM

good point. hence the spec ial place that the gaelic club plays in the life in counties like tyrone and armagh. it's no co-incidence surely. but the point was about the standard of football on display NOT about social and economic conditions.
The last 2 decades have been exceptional for Ulster football and socio-economic factors have influenced this undoubtedly.
Post by: JMohan on June 30, 2009, 11:46:28 AM
Quote from: full back on June 30, 2009, 11:06:02 AM

I said "Ulster football in particular has been spoiled in the last decade or two with the standard of football." meaning the standard has been very high in the last 20 odd years in comparison to the 20 years before that.

That's terrible use of the Queens English
Post by: full back on June 30, 2009, 11:47:50 AM
Quote from: JMohan on June 30, 2009, 11:46:28 AM
Quote from: full back on June 30, 2009, 11:06:02 AM

That's terrible use of the Queens English

Ulster football, in particular, has been spoiled in the last decade or two with the high standard

Is that easier for you to understand?
Post by: DennistheMenace on June 30, 2009, 11:48:32 AM
Best standard of football ? Probably the Derry club championship  ;)
Post by: boojangles on June 30, 2009, 03:22:28 PM
Since I started to really appreciate Football- 2005,no other year came close.
Post by: Hotrocks on June 30, 2009, 03:49:11 PM
On about standards of football, what is Waterford actually like.  Was trying to make my picks for the weekend and i see Meath are 10.5 pts favorite against Waterford, not great to say but i havent a clue what Waterford are like or what standard they are at,any help?
Post by: muppet on July 01, 2009, 02:01:40 AM
Quote from: Hotrocks on June 30, 2009, 03:49:11 PM
On about standards of football, what is Waterford actually like.  Was trying to make my picks for the weekend and i see Meath are 10.5 pts favorite against Waterford, not great to say but i havent a clue what Waterford are like or what standard they are at,any help?

Waterford have been improving but looking at JMohans socio-economic factors Meath have been much closer to the troubles so they are probably better at the Queens English (being Royals and dat) than the Decies so you'd have to back the Hardys.
Post by: JMohan on July 01, 2009, 12:28:23 PM
In a nutshell Meath are f*cked

Minors going nowhere
U21's leaderless and with a clueless management
Seniors going backwards and also with a clueless management
Post by: talktothehand on July 01, 2009, 07:37:10 PM
Quote from: JMohan on July 01, 2009, 12:28:23 PM

Minors going nowhere

the dakest hour is just before dawn my friend :)
Post by: rosnarun on July 01, 2009, 08:37:28 PM
i dont think football is affect by that low a playing standard at all just some team have a very low moral standard . in the last ten year team have bee obviously 'pumped up' and coaches spreading this new gospel around the country are spreading the poison
along with this is the mean spirited attitude some teams play the game the worst offenders being Tyrone Dublin  armagh and west meath.
add this to the constant feigning of injury when one team gets on a run or in trying to get a player book/sent off.
these are the problems of football not skill/fitness levels , two equall unskilled teams can make for a very exciting game look at Irelands grand slamm run this year if you can bear to
Post by: Mickeys beard on July 01, 2009, 10:04:42 PM
I too am mystified by the "Ah, the football's been poor this season", rubbish that's being bandied around this season.  Two different people have said that to me this week and when I have challenged them to consider several matches from the championship, (and we haven't even got out of the provinces yet) they have changed their opinions totally.  People in this country are very fickle.  
Undoubtedly, the usual RTE pundits/culprits are to blame.  A few years back, they had every reason to moan when we had guttery matches submerged in smatterings of ridiculous wides at this stage of the championship.  Unfortunalely, this early championship dirge analysis has become an unbreakable habit for some.

It remains a fact that in the North, we have grown up with a natural questioning of all things media related and this facet of our psyche does not restrict itself to politics. Because of this, you will find more individual opinions and less regurgatation of coined phrases and pundits' opinions.  I don't mean to be condescending, but merely observe this, having lived in the republic this past four years.

I think that it has been a great championship so far, in fact the best, with more teams thrown into the mix, high standards of skill and fitness and a few fairytale stories already.  What more do we want?      
Post by: Armamike on July 01, 2009, 11:51:57 PM
It's an Irish thing - we're only happy when we're complaining about something!
Post by: JMohan on July 02, 2009, 12:14:10 AM
Quote from: talktothehand on July 01, 2009, 07:37:10 PM
Quote from: JMohan on July 01, 2009, 12:28:23 PM

Minors going nowhere

the dakest hour is just before dawn my friend :)
I hope so ... but there's no 'red sky at night'

I sincerely hope so ...
:)

Post by: JMohan on July 02, 2009, 12:16:47 AM
Isn't it just a case of the older heads like Brolly, O'Rourke and Hayes talking about the good old days????

Grass was always greener years ago etc etc .... rose tinted googles etc etc ... nonsense 
Post by: ONeill on July 02, 2009, 12:39:22 AM
This might be far-fetched but it has been at the back of my thoughts for a while now - I wonder has it been a ploy by pundits (ex-players) to rubbish this year's championship (and last year's for a lot of it) in order to bring the current inter-county players down a peg or two/rubbishing the product ever since the grants issue. Not a conspiracy, simply a collection of individual reactions by some of the leading lights who were anti-grants. I know Spillane is very much in that category.
Post by: DennistheMenace on July 02, 2009, 12:41:58 AM
Quote from: Mickeys beard on July 01, 2009, 10:04:42 PM
I too am mystified by the "Ah, the football's been poor this season", rubbish that's being bandied around this season.  Two different people have said that to me this week and when I have challenged them to consider several matches from the championship, (and we haven't even got out of the provinces yet) they have changed their opinions totally.  People in this country are very fickle.  
Undoubtedly, the usual RTE pundits/culprits are to blame.  A few years back, they had every reason to moan when we had guttery matches submerged in smatterings of ridiculous wides at this stage of the championship.  Unfortunalely, this early championship dirge analysis has become an unbreakable habit for some.

It remains a fact that in the North, we have grown up with a natural questioning of all things media related and this facet of our psyche does not restrict itself to politics. Because of this, you will find more individual opinions and less regurgatation of coined phrases and pundits' opinions.  I don't mean to be condescending, but merely observe this, having lived in the republic this past four years.

I think that it has been a great championship so far, in fact the best, with more teams thrown into the mix, high standards of skill and fitness and a few fairytale stories already.  What more do we want?      

Which matches would these be ?

I'm assuming Cork/Kerry for a start..
Post by: JMohan on July 02, 2009, 12:49:06 AM
Quote from: ONeill on July 02, 2009, 12:39:22 AM
This might be far-fetched but it has been at the back of my thoughts for a while now - I wonder has it been a ploy by pundits (ex-players) to rubbish this year's championship (and last year's for a lot of it) in order to bring the current inter-county players down a peg or two/rubbishing the product ever since the grants issue. Not a conspiracy, simply a collection of individual reactions by some of the leading lights who were anti-grants. I know Spillane is very much in that category.
So devaluing them since they are 'getting paid' so to speak?
Post by: Trevor Hill on July 02, 2009, 12:59:13 AM

Has anyone actually thought that the football may just be crap this year?
Has there been one really good game? Tyrone v Armagh? No. Tyrone went to sleep in the second half and even when the ref was playing for Armagh they still couldn't get back into it. Tyrone never got out of second gear.
Tyrone v Derry? All this nonsense about Derry. Derry this, Derry that. At least the ref made the Tyrone v Armagh game interesting. It is just possible that Tyrone will win the All Ireland this year without breaking a sweat.
We wont mention the Fermanagh v Down game or the Cavan v Fermangh game, they were probably the worst games of the year.
Then we have the Dubs, their games are so bad this year that even their own fans aren't showing up. Stand alone fixture? Me arse, they'd struggle to fill Parnell Park at the minute, if half of them could find it.
Post by: Mike Sheehy on July 02, 2009, 04:30:45 AM

yeah, its far-fetched. In fact its quite a stupid theory even for a paranoid, multiple personality nordie like yourself.... ::) ::)
Post by: ONeill on July 02, 2009, 08:57:40 AM
Did the board clown write something, in pigeon English?
Post by: Mike Sheehy on July 02, 2009, 09:37:34 AM
I could have sworn some idiot thinks some RTE cabal are plotting against the GAA. Jaysus, what a luderman....I wonder are they all this thick in Pomeroy !!
Post by: rrhf on July 02, 2009, 10:17:40 AM
Actually they are, but can you close that back door...
Post by: hows she cutting on July 02, 2009, 03:00:00 PM
Kerry v Tyrone all Ireland minor semi final in 97

great game. Very high standard and a lot from both sides graduated to senior level
Post by: corn02 on July 02, 2009, 04:16:50 PM
Quote from: Trevor Hill on July 02, 2009, 12:59:13 AM

Has there been one really good game? Tyrone v Armagh?  when the ref was playing for Armagh they still couldn't get back into it.
At least the ref made the Tyrone v Armagh game interesting.

What shite are you talking now? Fans and pundits alike praised the ref's performance that day.
Post by: Trevor Hill on July 02, 2009, 04:41:57 PM
Quote from: corn02 on July 02, 2009, 04:16:50 PM
Fans and pundits alike praised the ref's performance that day.

You mean Armagh fans and which pundits, Big Joe maybe.
I`ll give you an example of the bias shown by McEnaney towards Armagh. Stevie O`Neill was through on goal late in the first half, he was fouled but could have continued and at least had a shot on goal, but the ref stopped play and Tyrone scored a point from the resulting free. Then in the second half Ronan Clark was fouled, but the ref allowed play to continue and Clark scored a goal, which brought Armagh back into the game at a time when they were starting to lose touch with Tyrone. The goal gave Armagh a huge lift.
I have nothing against Armagh, I was actually hoping they would snatch a draw in that game, but I have always thought Pat McEnaney has been more than kind to them over the years.
Post by: ExiledGael on July 02, 2009, 05:57:03 PM
Quote from: Trevor Hill on July 02, 2009, 12:59:13 AM

Has anyone actually thought that the football may just be crap this year?
Has there been one really good game? Tyrone v Armagh? No. Tyrone went to sleep in the second half and even when the ref was playing for Armagh they still couldn't get back into it. Tyrone never got out of second gear.
Tyrone v Derry? All this nonsense about Derry. Derry this, Derry that. At least the ref made the Tyrone v Armagh game interesting. It is just possible that Tyrone will win the All Ireland this year without breaking a sweat.
We wont mention the Fermanagh v Down game or the Cavan v Fermangh game, they were probably the worst games of the year.
Then we have the Dubs, their games are so bad this year that even their own fans aren't showing up. Stand alone fixture? Me arse, they'd struggle to fill Parnell Park at the minute, if half of them could find it.

In answer to your first question, No.
The rest of that post is not worth discussing.
Post by: Mickeys beard on July 03, 2009, 01:23:03 AM
Quote from: DennistheMenace on July 02, 2009, 12:41:58 AM
Quote from: Mickeys beard on July 01, 2009, 10:04:42 PM

Which matches would these be ?

I'm assuming Cork/Kerry for a start..

The two Cork-Kerry games
Armagh-Tyrone was decent
Derry-Monaghan was on a knife edge till Derry pushed ahead.  A real tenacious game.
Antrim-Cavan
Limerick-Clare was a good close game too
Sligo-Galway
The Kildare games have been entertaining
Several others.

You won't get All-ireland final quality in June july but you will get entertainment and the buzz of the championship.
Loads of cracking scores this year, I think

And now we have a weekend of qualifiers to look forward to. 

Post by: eireogatron on July 03, 2009, 03:40:34 PM
Quote from: Trevor Hill on July 02, 2009, 04:41:57 PM

I`ll give you an example of the bias shown by McEnaney towards Armagh. Stevie O`Neill was through on goal late in the first half, he was fouled but could have continued and at least had a shot on goal, but the ref stopped play and Tyrone scored a point from the resulting free. Then in the second half Ronan Clark was fouled, but the ref allowed play to continue and Clark scored a goal, which brought Armagh back into the game at a time when they were starting to lose touch with Tyrone. The goal gave Armagh a huge lift.
I have nothing against Armagh, I was actually hoping they would snatch a draw in that game, but I have always thought Pat McEnaney has been more than kind to them over the years.

watch it again, O'Neill was NOT through on goal. he was about 10/15 yards to the right of the goal and 20 yards out with a covering defender coming across. The ref made the decision to stop Armaghs backs fouling by laying down the law early and it worked, especially for O'neills actual goal.

Also, if you watch the game again answer me how Gormley wasnt sent off for pesistent fouling earlier?

Oh the ref, oh the ref......  shut up.
Post by: corn02 on July 03, 2009, 04:41:51 PM

No by anyone who eatched the game bar yourself.
Post by: TacadoirArdMhacha on July 04, 2009, 01:44:09 PM
Quote from: corn02 on July 03, 2009, 04:41:51 PM

No by anyone who eatched the game bar yourself.

All the pundits on the Sunday Game night show for starters. Has anyone got the Irish News from the following day. I'd bet short odds on that the ref got a decent rating in that as well.

Think Trevor Hill has been yapping about this before. Should you not be concentrating on getting ready to support London?
Post by: DUBSFORSAM1 on July 04, 2009, 09:03:04 PM
Well Armagh/Monaghan did absolutely nothing to show this championship in a good light...