Things that make you go What the F**k?

Started by The Real Laoislad, November 19, 2007, 05:54:25 PM

Quote from: The Boy Wonder on March 26, 2025, 05:39:46 PMOne of the most entertaining posters, Tony Fearon, was hounded off this Board some years ago.
His posts could be provocative, entertaining, hilarious at times but never boring.
Now I was not involved in the discussion the led to his leaving the board so cannot comment.

I mention the above because there is a tendency among some posters to put the boot in to the Catholic Church at every opportunity and they don't have Billy Connolly's talents to make decent skits.

Why did the bold Tony leave the board?

Truthsayer

Not sure can state why Fearon is gone but he deserved it. Dreadful behaviour... and good craic he wasn't.

Well if u were around then, u obviously previously posting under a different name. Not barred by chance. Only man to book a hotel on the wrong All-Ireland wkend.

Truthsayer

Quote from: Wildweasel74 on March 26, 2025, 11:56:44 PMWell if u were around then, u obviously previously posting under a different name. Not barred by chance. Only man to book a hotel on the wrong All-Ireland wkend.
You think the only people who look in on this are the ones who have accounts? A lot of spectators out there...

Quote from: Truthsayer on March 27, 2025, 12:54:25 AM
Quote from: Wildweasel74 on March 26, 2025, 11:56:44 PMWell if u were around then, u obviously previously posting under a different name. Not barred by chance. Only man to book a hotel on the wrong All-Ireland wkend.
You think the only people who look in on this are the ones who have accounts? A lot of spectators out there...

Voyeurs :o  ;D

That will forever be one of the funniest things that has been on the Board. I know someone had it saved,  was it Easytiger or Hardy did the it?

Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on March 27, 2025, 06:17:59 PM

That will forever be one of the funniest things that has been on the Board. I know someone had it saved,  was it Easytiger or Hardy did the it?

The best part was how clever he thought he was being one step ahead 🤣

APM

Quote from: Tony Baloney on March 27, 2025, 08:00:33 PM
Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on March 27, 2025, 06:17:59 PM

The best part was how clever he thought he was being one step ahead 🤣

😂

Quote from: easytiger95 on September 24, 2015, 05:32:48 PMAh go on then - Hardy archived it and put it back out a couple of years ago...

Easytiger – Posts: 699 – (11/8/03 17:35)
Reply The Conversation - starring Gene Hackman as Tony Fearon
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Receptionist: "Hello, City West. How can I help you?"

TF: "Yes, hello? Judging by your accent, you are not from Armagh and may not be aware that on the 21st of September, in the Cathedral we call Croke, a new glorious reign will be invoked..."

Receptionist: "I'm sorry sir, but there are other calls on my switchboard."

TF: "...as the Great McGeeney flexes his manly biceps and lifts the sacred cup above his Bryonic brow, surveying the gathered masses, disdainful of the Tyrone hordes put to flight as once again Sam Maguire makes his voyage north, as Ulyssess once set forth for Ithaca..."

Receptionist: "Sam Magure? You mean the football? But is that not on -"

TF: " And as Joe and his Orange Brigade shall be setting up camp, as it were for the weekend in your fine establishment, accompanied no doubt by such flaming celestial stars as Elton John, Rod Stewart, Jarlath Burns and maybe the boys from End to End, with whom I am of course on a first name basis, or should I say they are on a first name basis with me (giggles girlishly) but I digress! As such may I book a room for myself, my fine maiden, but not my mother, she didn't get a ticket, hard lines, she's not a true fan, for the 20th and 21st of the month of September."

Receptionist: "(to herself) For f**ks sake. (smartening up) Of course sir, we have a fine room for a great rate of €100 for that weekend."

TF: "Splendid! Expect my arrival forthwith! Now I must not tarry as there is a table quiz on in the local hostelry tonight, the prize being an epic trip to historic Bunratty Castle for two nights, breakfast included -"

Receptionist: "(hanging up) I'm not paid enough to listen to that shite. I hope I'm off that weekend."

The Conversation 2 - starring Krusty the Klown as Tony Fearon

Receptionist: "Hello City West?"

TF:" Due to the machinations of a GAA administration that is too far removed from the grassroots that sustain it i.e. me, the All Ireland Final has been rescheduled a week later than promised, almost as if the very thought of good, honest Armagh men cavorting with Sam was too hard for the faceless grey suits to bear-"

Receptionist: "Sir, you got the dates wrong and now you want to change your reservation to the following week, is that right sir? And tell the truth."

TF: "...yes."

Receptionist: "We have no rooms available for that weekend and we do not refund on cancellations. Is that alright sir?"

TF: "...yes."

Receptionist: "Goodbye sir.(hangs up) Plank."

A work of genius from easytiger  ;D  Captured the man to a tee!

How do I get easytigers post before the Meath Tyrone match in Omagh? Think it was 2017 or so. Was the funniest piece of writing I ever read on here.

Quote from: LC on March 28, 2025, 12:08:12 PMhttps://www.rte.ie/news/business/2025/0328/1504519-dublins-dngs-house-price-gauge/

Surely this is unsustainable.

They need to build more houses and reduce immigration below that number.
There will be a bit of economic turbulence now with the Trump bollix. It is hard to know what will happen, if people can be kept building houses then some improvement may occur.
MAGA Make Armagh Great Again

How do you "reduce immigration" unless you *crash the economy to make the place unattractive?
Common travel with 65m Brits, Free movement among 27 EU Countries.
Can't stop people applying for asylum so that leaves work permits people.

In any normal business people would be rushing to fill a demand in a shortage.
Seems that supply/demand doesn't apply to housing.

* The thing in the White House might do that soon enough.

Quote from: Rossfan on March 28, 2025, 12:51:08 PMHow do you "reduce immigration" unless you *crash the economy to make the place unattractive?

You don't crash the economy, you slow the growth of the economy to the extent that you can actually do it. There are an increasing number of work permits, only 5% of these are for people in the construction industry, this proportion might need to be 50%.
MAGA Make Armagh Great Again

Quote from: armaghniac on March 28, 2025, 01:06:24 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on March 28, 2025, 12:51:08 PMHow do you "reduce immigration" unless you *crash the economy to make the place unattractive?

You don't crash the economy, you slow the growth of the economy to the extent that you can actually do it. There are an increasing number of work permits, only 5% of these are for people in the construction industry, this proportion might need to be 50%.

Why should it be 50%? Surely the locals who are complaining about their jobs being taken would jump at those job opportunities.. Ah, now
None of us are getting out of here alive, so please stop treating yourself like an after thought.