Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: The Gs Man on January 13, 2009, 01:11:55 PM

Title: Restaurants in Belfast?
Post by: The Gs Man on January 13, 2009, 01:11:55 PM
Can anyone recommend a decent restaurant in Belfast for dinner?

It's for the wife's birthday, so nothing too pricey.... :)
Title: Re: Restaurants in Belfast?
Post by: under the bar on January 13, 2009, 01:21:13 PM
For a bit of class in beautiful surroundings thats noit extortionate like Deanes ou can't beat Bourbon beside The Crown.   The Square on Dublin road is a little more plain inside but grea food.

If you like seafood try the Mourne Seafood Bar beside Kellys cellars.  Very reasonable and a great atmosphere.

If you are a complete tight arse go onto www.5pm.co.uk but yr missus wont be too impressed when the restaurant announce you are on the cheapo menu for her birthday! :P
Post by: Minder on January 13, 2009, 01:25:06 PM
Nicks Warehouse is very good & Deanes Deli is nice and isnt too expensive, compared to the main restaurant anyway.
Post by: Rois on January 13, 2009, 01:50:08 PM
For something different, try Made in Belfast, down the street beside the Northern Bank.  It's quirky and the food is lovely - they serve chips in tin cups and burgers on Belfast Baps.  Not too dear either.

Or Zen chinese on Adelaide Street, which was my favourite restaurant until Made in Belfast came along.
Post by: Franko on January 13, 2009, 01:50:19 PM
Quote from: under the bar on January 13, 2009, 01:21:13 PM
For a bit of class in beautiful surroundings thats noit extortionate like Deanes ou can't beat Bourbon beside The Crown.   The Square on Dublin road is a little more plain inside but grea food.

If you like seafood try the Mourne Seafood Bar beside Kellys cellars.  Very reasonable and a great atmosphere.

If you are a complete tight arse go onto www.5pm.co.uk but yr missus wont be too impressed when the restaurant announce you are on the cheapo menu for her birthday! :P

Have to agree, the food and atmosphere in bourbon is top notch but i find it depends a lot on the table you get.
Post by: Chrisowc on January 13, 2009, 01:51:57 PM
Goodfellas takes some beating.
Post by: Gold on January 13, 2009, 01:55:14 PM
Quote from: Chrisowc on January 13, 2009, 01:51:57 PM
Goodfellas takes some beating.

If its flat coke your looking for.

Go to Villa Italia or Scalinis, good food, service and not too expensive
Post by: The Gs Man on January 13, 2009, 02:04:21 PM
Cheers!  I'll check them out.
Post by: saffron sam2 on January 13, 2009, 02:06:06 PM
Quote from: Rois on January 13, 2009, 01:50:08 PM
For something different, try Made in Belfast, down the street beside the Northern Bank.  It's quirky and the food is lovely - they serve chips in tin cups and burgers on Belfast Baps.  Not too dear either.

Or Zen chinese on Adelaide Street, which was my favourite restaurant until Made in Belfast came along.

Is Zen not Japanese?

Best Chinese is Macau on the Ormeau Road.

Always liked L'Etoile also. Not sure if it is still there.
Post by: Rois on January 13, 2009, 02:10:00 PM
Quote from: saffron sam2 on January 13, 2009, 02:06:06 PM

Is Zen not Japanese?

I guess to give it it's correct name it's "fusion" - not strictly Japanese but prob more so than chinese (though you can get sweet and sour!) so I stand corrected.

L'Etoile is still there surely.  It has never been a favouite of mine cause of the limited menu that hasn't changed since I've known the place.  But I can see why people like it. 

http://www.madeinbelfastni.com/
Post by: youngfella on January 13, 2009, 02:36:20 PM
how about the edge ? by the BT tower
Post by: Joxer on January 13, 2009, 02:50:26 PM
Are any of these near the odyssey lads? Going to a concert there next week now and looking for somewhere tasty.  I was told about that Scallinis, What is it like?
Post by: Mickey Linden on January 13, 2009, 02:53:35 PM
I reckon Villa Italia is hard to beat Gs man. Not expensive at all either! It has a great menu, great food and great service so will be hard to beat!
Post by: under the bar on January 13, 2009, 03:10:38 PM
QuoteFor something different, try Made in Belfast, down the street beside the Northern Bank.  It's quirky and the food is lovely - they serve chips in tin cups and burgers on Belfast Baps.  Not too dear either.

Quirky food but lacking in quality.  Like pub food but at 2-3 times the price.   Your mum could make it!
Post by: charlie stubbs on January 13, 2009, 03:19:59 PM
villa italia not bad i like ryans on the lisburn road though.  they used do meal deal 2 starters 2 steaks 4 £25 during the week.chicken wings as a starter are lovely best had in a while, steaks tasty 2
Post by: fitzroyalty on January 13, 2009, 03:24:52 PM
hatfield, free bbq on a wed...

The mexican place in victoria square aint bad
AMPM aswell isnt too pricey, but good service
Post by: spiritof91and94 on January 13, 2009, 04:41:43 PM
Quote from: Joxer on January 13, 2009, 02:50:26 PM
Are any of these near the odyssey lads? Going to a concert there next week now and looking for somewhere tasty.  I was told about that Scallinis, What is it like?

Only one place to go to pre Odyssey - Tedfords - next to Donegall Quay Car Park and a five minute walk to the Odyssey. Exceptional Food.
Post by: goal and a point on January 13, 2009, 05:04:33 PM
Tonys Romis next door to Villa Italia / opposite hte globe if you like the steaks and the platter of ribs ect. american size portions and farely reasonabley priced.
Post by: Our Nail Loney on January 13, 2009, 05:24:08 PM
Quote from: goal and a point on January 13, 2009, 05:04:33 PM
Tonys Romis next door to Villa Italia / opposite hte globe if you like the steaks and the platter of ribs ect. american size portions and farely reasonabley priced.

Tony Romas i a good spot, though the chips are american style as well, those dopey wee fries!!

Have to say Villa Italia was probably the best spot I ate in Belfast, great food and the service was excellent, plus the food was the quickest I have ever got! Both times I went...

Honourable mentions to Conor on Stranmillis and Scallinis (same ppl own that as Villa Italia)
Post by: Rois on January 13, 2009, 05:32:20 PM
Quote from: under the bar on January 13, 2009, 03:10:38 PM

Quirky food but lacking in quality.  Like pub food but at 2-3 times the price.   Your mum could make it!

Totally disagree.  Sure you could say a chinese restaurant is like a takeaway only twice/3 times the price!  I can't believe you'd diss Made in Belfast yet recommend Bourbon.  Was there two weeks ago and had a very average dinner.

Post by: Puckoon on January 13, 2009, 05:46:47 PM
Bourbon is still on the go then - it was a great spot back in the early 2000's.

Benedicts used to do great food back then too.
Post by: Square Ball on January 13, 2009, 08:08:50 PM
Quote from: saffron sam2 on January 13, 2009, 02:06:06 PM
Quote from: Rois on January 13, 2009, 01:50:08 PM

Is Zen not Japanese?

Best Chinese is Macau on the Ormeau Road.

Always liked L'Etoile also. Not sure if it is still there.

Yip

its still there SS2
Post by: Tony Baloney on January 13, 2009, 08:13:04 PM
Quote from: Rois on January 13, 2009, 05:32:20 PM

Totally disagree.  Sure you could say a chinese restaurant is like a takeaway only twice/3 times the price!  I can't believe you'd diss Made in Belfast yet recommend Bourbon.  Was there two weeks ago and had a very average dinner.

I'm suspicious of "quirky" as I'd say most on here are. I'd rather have good food cooked well without resorting to "twists" like putting chips in tin cups! Are bowls very 2008 in Belfast?!
Post by: Minder on January 13, 2009, 09:23:07 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on January 13, 2009, 08:13:04 PM
Quote from: Rois on January 13, 2009, 05:32:20 PM

I'm suspicious of "quirky" as I'd say most on here are. I'd rather have good food cooked well without resorting to "twists" like putting chips in tin cups! Are bowls very 2008 in Belfast?!

Aye i would tread carefully if someone decribed a reataurant as "quirky", in fact i think i would make a point of not going to it. I think a restaurant should primarily be judged on the quality of its food, not what "wacky" object they serve it in.
Post by: under the bar on January 13, 2009, 09:28:15 PM
QuoteQuirky food but lacking in quality.  Like pub food but at 2-3 times the price.   Your mum could make it!

A burger is still a burger even if you put it in a mouldy belfast bap and charge £10 for it.   As I said, pub food with a bit of retro decor.

Post by: Tony Baloney on January 13, 2009, 09:40:27 PM
Quote from: hardstation on January 13, 2009, 09:31:56 PM
You'd need to have a jaw like....Jaws to eat a 'Belfast bap burger'. Sounds shite.
The Great White Shark or him from Bond that bit through the cable car cable? Richard Kiel I think he was called.
Post by: Rois on January 13, 2009, 09:46:18 PM
Right, fair enough, I was just saying!   :'(

Bourbon's one of those places Gordon Ramsey would tear to shreds in "Kitchen Nightmares" - about 30 things on the menu for main course (including a burger for £10.95 UTB, if you take a look!).

I work in the city centre and eat out a fair bit in different places around there - Made in Belfast is a welcome addition and at the top of my list.  Dinner in a restaurant is about more than just the food - and MIB is nice for somewhere different.  

Just because McDonalds say you should eat a burger with your hands, doesn't mean you have to!  A knife and fork is perfectly adequate for tackling the Belfast Bap - am sure you've had a steak baguette before, it's along those lines.
Post by: under the bar on January 13, 2009, 10:25:09 PM
QuoteRight, fair enough, I was just saying!   Cry

Bourbon's one of those places Gordon Ramsey would tear to shreds in "Kitchen Nightmares" - about 30 things on the menu for main course (including a burger for £10.95 UTB, if you take a look!).

I work in the city centre and eat out a fair bit in different places around there - Made in Belfast is a welcome addition and at the top of my list.  Dinner in a restaurant is about more than just the food - and MIB is nice for somewhere different. 

OK Rois MIB is a bit different, however the OP was looking for somewhere to take his wife for her b'day and my personal opinion is that Bourbon or the the Sqaure would be more suitable for such an occasion.  MIB would be more suited to a casual night out with friends.
Post by: stpauls on January 13, 2009, 10:25:44 PM
i took the missus to Frankie and Benny's on saturday afternoon, a new york style restaurant on the top floor of Victoria Square.
£40 for 2 starters, 2 mains, a garlic bread and a round of drinks. pretty tasty food too!
Post by: corn02 on January 13, 2009, 10:26:40 PM
Temps...ah wait it's gone.
Post by: bigfrank on January 13, 2009, 10:28:22 PM
Temps after the bot,i used to order a pizza and sit and wait on that couch with my ticket!!Good times :P :P
Post by: Armaghtothebone on January 13, 2009, 10:40:18 PM
Quote from: The Gs Man on January 13, 2009, 01:11:55 PM
Can anyone recommend a decent restaurant in Belfast for dinner?

It's for the wife's birthday, so nothing too pricey.... :)

If however you'd like to have passionate sex on her birthday.....take out a small mortgage and go to The Harbour View.
Really nice Japanese Restaurant beside the Waterfront.Proper chef cooks it all at your table place.
Quality but you'll pay for it.
Post by: corn02 on January 13, 2009, 10:44:26 PM
The Apartment.
Post by: corn02 on January 13, 2009, 10:53:06 PM
Quote from: hardstation on January 13, 2009, 10:49:48 PM
Quote from: corn02 on January 13, 2009, 10:44:26 PM
The Apartment.
Nice enough but I always thought their menu was very limited.

But is a WAG spot.
Post by: under the bar on January 13, 2009, 11:03:12 PM
Quotei took the missus to Frankie and Benny's on saturday afternoon, a new york style restaurant on the top floor of Victoria Square.
£40 for 2 starters, 2 mains, a garlic bread and a round of drinks. pretty tasty food too!

I detest all American diners esp one like TGI Fridays. 
Post by: thebandit on January 13, 2009, 11:14:49 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on January 13, 2009, 08:13:04 PM
Are bowls very 2008 in Belfast?!

Aye, they're out of date already!!!
Post by: thebandit on January 13, 2009, 11:34:52 PM
Quote from: corn02 on January 13, 2009, 10:26:40 PM
Temps...ah wait it's gone.

You're joking... only for it I would have starved in college!!!
Post by: Our Nail Loney on January 13, 2009, 11:57:47 PM
No joke, it might have been a shit hole, but you could not beat a temps pizza... Was absolutely class, I was nearly always wrote off when ordering but still. Even cold for breakfast the next morning, I must have looked classy walking down the rod to renshaws scrufy as f**k munching on a pizza slice at around midday!
Post by: Minder on January 14, 2009, 09:13:13 AM
The Apartment.

One of the most pretentious spots in Belfast City Centre, and that is saying something. My wife was in it with work one day for a meal and four of them had to send it back. "Clean rotten" i believe is the industry term.........
Post by: Franko on January 14, 2009, 11:11:57 AM
Quote from: Minder on January 14, 2009, 09:13:13 AM
The Apartment.

One of the most pretentious spots in Belfast City Centre, and that is saying something. My wife was in it with work one day for a meal and four of them had to send it back. "Clean rotten" i believe is the industry term.........

Have to agree... that place really does attract a higher class of tosser.
Post by: charlie stubbs on January 14, 2009, 12:57:04 PM
Quote from: Our Nail Loney on January 13, 2009, 11:57:47 PM
No joke, it might have been a shit hole, but you could not beat a temps pizza... Was absolutely class, I was nearly always wrote off when ordering but still. Even cold for breakfast the next morning, I must have looked classy walking down the rod to renshaws scrufy as f**k munching on a pizza slice at around midday!

waste not want not onl!!you would have missed your customary fry in helens though if eating your cold pizza!!never big fan of temps just went round caused a scene and normally asked to leave!!a good basket meal in shaws round wednesday normally set you up alright!
Post by: SidelineKick on January 14, 2009, 12:59:06 PM
Quote from: charlie stubbs on January 14, 2009, 12:57:04 PM

waste not want not onl!!you would have missed your customary fry in helens though if eating your cold pizza!!never big fan of temps just went round caused a scene and normally asked to leave!!a good basket meal in shaws round wednesday normally set you up alright!

Thats putting it mildly Charlie, scruff of the neck job most times  :D
Post by: bigfrank on January 14, 2009, 12:59:38 PM
A big greasy fry in Helens,was hard to beat alright!!Hatfield done a mean basket of food too during the day,get hungry drinkin and pickin horses!!!Always had a soft spot for a Centra Roll on Botanic!!
Post by: Tony Baloney on January 14, 2009, 01:01:27 PM
Kam Wah on Botanic used to be great spot for a bit of drunken feeding about 2 in the morning. I'd say some shirts were ruined eating out of that place, as everyone in it used to have half the chinese down their front!

Post by: SidelineKick on January 14, 2009, 01:01:45 PM
Harry Ramsdens was another good one for the rip:

"Order on"

I remember asking the fella behind the counter for a "one slash two L B burger"

f**k he hadn't a clue what I was on about.  It was of course a 1/2 lb burger.
Post by: bigfrank on January 14, 2009, 01:04:17 PM
Bishops also done quick/good food!!!Also have been to Spuds after a night out,never a good idea!!
Post by: fitzroyalty on January 14, 2009, 01:08:13 PM

you for villareal? temps went right throu ya! Whats the new mexican place like thats there?

Post by: fitzroyalty on January 14, 2009, 01:10:44 PM
Foo Kin Noodle Bar on bradbury place is good, all you can eat for £6, though students tend to take the pi55 a bit, going up for 3rd/4ths lol.

Centra rolls as mentioned are the way forward, clean dying or not they are hard to beat
Post by: bigfrank on January 14, 2009, 01:11:32 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on January 14, 2009, 01:01:27 PM
Kam Wah on Botanic used to be great spot for a bit of drunken feeding about 2 in the morning. I'd say some shirts were ruined eating out of that place, as everyone in it used to have half the chinese down their front!

That place was the devil!! >:( >:( Its about the only food i didnt even enjoy were i was drunk lol :P The Emerald Chinese used to deliver at 3 in the morning!!
Post by: Franko on January 14, 2009, 01:11:44 PM
Top Student Eating Houses (in no particular order)

Temps - (which generally ended up with an insult being fired at old hot chocolate followed by a request to leave)

Centra Botanic - (roll and a bottle of lucozade was the real ticket)

Harry Ramsdens Botanic - on a soberish evening

The chaplaincy - couldnt beat wee Mary for a chap special (had to be almost sober for this)

Esperanto's - only when clean airlocked

Helens - the greasiest fry served by two aul chatterboxes - but it was deadly for the cure (and close to the hatfield)

Cafe Ro-An - something similar (the forerunner to Helen's)

The Hatfield/Renshaws baskets - just the ticket for a thirsty student in the throes of a rip of drink

Feel free to add...
Post by: Boolerhead Mel on January 14, 2009, 01:14:13 PM
Anybody remember Bilko's on the Ormeau Road used to get take outs there in the eraly 90's a chip there could have feed an army. Have not been down that way in a long time I'm sure its well gone. 
Post by: bigfrank on January 14, 2009, 01:14:40 PM
My name sake Franko,i think u nailed it there!! Forgot bout Cafe Ro An,less greasy than Helens and close to the hatfield also lol :P :P Think everyone has got tossed out of Temps at some stage,it was a real cattle mart in there 8) Did love those centra rolls tho,nite head for one now,i wish  >:( >:(
Post by: fitzroyalty on January 14, 2009, 01:17:03 PM
Honourable mention for Casa Nostra, deliver a fry on st paddys day!
Post by: SidelineKick on January 14, 2009, 01:17:59 PM
A thread named "Restaurants in Belfast" has managed to put me on a downer. f**k I wish I was at uni again, a Wednesday too!!! Prob be in the Hat now, then go to Bot later if able to make it.

f**k this.
Post by: bigfrank on January 14, 2009, 01:18:44 PM
Used to go to that place alot maily because i used to live on Farnham street which is only a few steps away!! Was never really a big fan,did enjoy the occassionally curry chip in it tho! ;) ;)
Post by: bigfrank on January 14, 2009, 01:20:40 PM
Quote from: SidelineKick on January 14, 2009, 01:17:59 PM
A thread named "Restaurants in Belfast" has managed to put me on a downer. f**k I wish I was at uni again, a Wednesday too!!! Prob be in the Hat now, then go to Bot later if able to make it.

f**k this.

Pack up your stuff and i will meet u there,just ask for Big Frank when u get to the hatfield,i be in the corner with a pint of harp and the racing post! Nail the Bot later and a bite to eat and ur favourite feedin hole :o :o
Post by: Donagh on January 14, 2009, 01:21:07 PM
Quote from: Franko on January 14, 2009, 01:11:44 PM

Temps - (which generally ended up with an insult being fired at old hot chocolate followed by a request to leave)

The chaplaincy - couldnt beat wee Mary for a chap special (had to be almost sober for this)

Feel free to add...

One's closed and the other is dead. As happens the best of us, you gown up, move on and student trends change...
Post by: Franko on January 14, 2009, 01:27:23 PM
Quote from: Donagh on January 14, 2009, 01:21:07 PM

Feel free to add...

One's closed and the other is dead. As happens the best of us, you gown up, move on and student trends change...

Aye its been a day or 2 since the holylands had the pleasure of my company.  But like Sideline I am sitting here with the rose tinted glasses on thinking of those great days in Renshaws when Fairytale of New York was played on the jukebox at least 30 times but you never got sick of listening to it!
Post by: Tony Baloney on January 14, 2009, 01:29:45 PM
The accents and smell of silage was too much for me in Renshaws!
Post by: Franko on January 14, 2009, 01:31:22 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on January 14, 2009, 01:29:45 PM
The accents and smell of silage was too much for me in Renshaws!

Ahh jaysus I was in my element! :D ;)
Post by: SidelineKick on January 14, 2009, 01:35:21 PM
Quote from: bigfrank on January 14, 2009, 01:20:40 PM
Quote from: SidelineKick on January 14, 2009, 01:17:59 PM

f**k this.

Pack up your stuff and i will meet u there,just ask for Big Frank when u get to the hatfield,i be in the corner with a pint of harp and the racing post! Nail the Bot later and a bite to eat and ur favourite feedin hole :o :o

Gimme an hour til I sort this paperwork.  Jesus if it was only that simple!  Not a care in the world!  Got a letter to say I have to start paying back the old student loan come April  >:(

Worth every penny though  ;D
Post by: bigfrank on January 14, 2009, 01:37:34 PM
I would do it all again in the morning!! ;) ;)
Post by: stiffler on January 23, 2009, 05:55:31 PM

Helens - the greasiest fry served by two aul chatterboxes - but it was deadly for the cure (and close to the hatfield)

The Hatfield/Renshaws baskets - just the ticket for a thirsty student in the throes of a rip of drink

Feel free to add...

Great post.

There was a lad who we lived with who called harry ramsdens harry renshaws all the time, even when we said to him its ramsdens not renshaws, he kept making the same mistake!
Post by: charlie stubbs on January 23, 2009, 07:27:20 PM
Quote from: stiffler on January 23, 2009, 05:55:31 PM

Feel free to add...

Great post.

There was a lad who we lived with who called harry ramsdens harry renshaws all the time, even when we said to him its ramsdens not renshaws, he kept making the same mistake!

used to love his gravy chips from the barracuda 2 stifler if im not mistaken.  he didnt even use a fork ate the gravy chips with bare hands then licked the gravy off his fingers.lol.complete clown of a man
Post by: Rav67 on January 23, 2009, 07:44:09 PM

The "hot Hat bites" provided some much-needed substenance on many's a day's rip.  f**kers don't do them any more, at least they didnt on new years day there.  Renshaws baskets were clean minging!
Post by: armagh leg-end on January 23, 2009, 07:47:06 PM

Feel free to add...

cafe ro-an gone. a new place open opposite the hat is news extra, not a bad place!!

maggie mays isnt too bad and handy in botantic!!

also meal n pint for a fiver in the Globe not too bad!
Post by: Our Nail Loney on January 23, 2009, 07:48:48 PM
Quote from: Rav67 on January 23, 2009, 07:44:09 PM

The "hot Hat bites" provided some much-needed substenance on many's a day's rip.  f**kers don't do them any more, at least they didnt on new years day there.  Renshaws baskets were clean minging!

Cowboy Supper in the Hat, cheap and cheerful, did the job... Two big sausages, chips and a loda beans, what more could you want?
Post by: armagh leg-end on January 23, 2009, 07:52:29 PM
Quote from: Our Nail Loney on January 23, 2009, 07:48:48 PM

Cowboy Supper in the Hat, cheap and cheerful, did the job... Two big sausages, chips and a loda beans, what more could you want?

with a pint or a half'un and the irish news!!
Post by: Our Nail Loney on January 23, 2009, 07:55:50 PM
Quote from: armagh leg-end on January 23, 2009, 07:52:29 PM

Thats it, checking out the horses...

Cant wait for this QUB Poly match now for a good old fashioned rip...
Post by: charlie stubbs on January 23, 2009, 08:47:08 PM

baskets in shaws did the job.  meant didnt lose my seat, normally at the window.far better place than hat 4 an all day rip, its poison pure skin tight and u go to the bar to ge a pint and come back with half a pint coz it been knocked all over place
Post by: armagh leg-end on January 23, 2009, 11:04:19 PM
Quote from: Our Nail Loney on January 23, 2009, 07:55:50 PM
Quote from: armagh leg-end on January 23, 2009, 07:52:29 PM

Thats it, checking out the horses...

Cant wait for this QUB Poly match now for a good old fashioned rip...

qwl i hope i would have to wait that long....rip in the hat this monday is on the agenda!!lol
Post by: Overthebar! on January 24, 2009, 01:50:28 AM
take her to maggie mays lad.....
ye can even bring in your own drink, make sure she pays her way tho-21st century and that!
Post by: behind the wire on January 24, 2009, 10:49:52 AM
Quote from: Donagh on January 14, 2009, 01:21:07 PM

Feel free to add...

is may dead donagh? i knew she was retired but didnt hear she was dead!

used to eat in there near every day, is noel still there talkin about kerry?

i have made a return to the student life until june so il maybe take a wee trip down to the chap and see if i can still get a cheap feed.
Post by: laceer on January 24, 2009, 12:01:08 PM
That man in Harry Ramsdens was a bellend.The shop would be empty and he'd be shouting ORDER ON at some boy standing about 2 foot away.

Temps was always good craic after a night out. Does anyone remember Temp FM - oul malteaser head was the dj - good times
Post by: The Watcher Pat on January 24, 2009, 02:33:33 PM
Quote from: laceer on January 24, 2009, 12:01:08 PM
That man in Harry Ramsdens was a bellend.The shop would be empty and he'd be shouting ORDER ON at some boy standing about 2 foot away.

Temps was always good craic after a night out. Does anyone remember Temp FM - oul malteaser head was the dj - good times

I can remember being in that place on my birthday one year at about 2.30-3.00 and the guy gave me a big glass of cooking wine...lol
Post by: charlie stubbs on January 24, 2009, 02:58:54 PM
Quote from: The Watcher Pat on January 24, 2009, 02:33:33 PM
Quote from: laceer on January 24, 2009, 12:01:08 PM

I can remember being in that place on my birthday one year at about 2.30-3.00 and the guy gave me a big glass of cooking wine...lol

remember that well pat he certainly looked after you that night
Post by: The Watcher Pat on January 24, 2009, 03:06:39 PM
Was good job alright...

G's man you should have taken her to The morning star..All you can eat buffet at lunchtime for about a fiver....lol

Or Katy Dalys on a Monday or Tuesday 12-1 They used to do 2 for 1 meals not sure if its still going on...2 steak and champ with onion rings mushrooms and peppered sauce for £8...Happy days
Post by: Donagh on January 24, 2009, 03:16:08 PM
Quote from: behind the wire on January 24, 2009, 10:49:52 AM

i have made a return to the student life until june so il maybe take a wee trip down to the chap and see if i can still get a cheap feed.

Aye, she's gone over a year now, maybe longer - wasn't that long after she left. Not as cheap as it used to be but still the best value around.   
Post by: behind the wire on January 25, 2009, 01:40:29 PM
Quote from: Donagh on January 24, 2009, 03:16:08 PM
Quote from: behind the wire on January 24, 2009, 10:49:52 AM

Aye, she's gone over a year now, maybe longer - wasn't that long after she left. Not as cheap as it used to be but still the best value around.   

i didnt know that at all. she made terrible tea but was good craic and very generous. must call in on tuesday and see if things have changed much.
Post by: The Gs Man on January 25, 2009, 02:10:18 PM
Jaysus, didn't know this thread was still running!

Ended up going to the Pot Belly in Gilford.  Great feed it was too.

But thanks for the suggestions.....Im sure I'll go to a few of them at some stage.
Post by: ziggysego on January 25, 2009, 03:43:57 PM
Did you leave with a pot belly?
Post by: The Gs Man on January 25, 2009, 06:30:33 PM
I did indeed Zig!  She's standing doing the ironing at the minute......har har
Post by: gawa316 on March 06, 2009, 04:32:05 PM
Quote from: spiritof91and94 on January 13, 2009, 04:41:43 PM
Quote from: Joxer on January 13, 2009, 02:50:26 PM

Only one place to go to pre Odyssey - Tedfords - next to Donegall Quay Car Park and a five minute walk to the Odyssey. Exceptional Food.

Going up to see Snow Patrol tthe Odyssey, is this Tedford's worth a visit for a pre-concert feed?
Post by: under the bar on March 06, 2009, 04:38:13 PM
QuoteOnly one place to go to pre Odyssey - Tedfords - next to Donegall Quay Car Park and a five minute walk to the Odyssey. Exceptional Food.

Going up to see Snow Patrol tthe Odyssey, is this Tedford's worth a visit for a pre-concert feed?

Only went once.  My experience was that it was a bit stuffy and way overpriced for a fish restaurant.

Go to Mourne Seafood bar if you want excellent seafood at decent prices and plenty of atmosphere.  Next door to Kellys.

Post by: gawa316 on March 06, 2009, 04:44:16 PM
Quote from: under the bar on March 06, 2009, 04:38:13 PM
QuoteOnly one place to go to pre Odyssey - Tedfords - next to Donegall Quay Car Park and a five minute walk to the Odyssey. Exceptional Food.

Only went once.  My experience was that it was a bit stuffy and way overpriced for a fish restaurant.

Go to Mourne Seafood bar if you want excellent seafood at decent prices and plenty of atmosphere.  Next door to Kellys.

We're staying at the Merchant, is it walking distance from it?
Post by: Maroon Heaven on March 06, 2009, 06:26:11 PM
Quote from: gawa316 on March 06, 2009, 04:44:16 PM

#

You could hit it with a 5 iron its that close
Post by: gawa316 on March 06, 2009, 06:27:32 PM
Quote from: Maroon Heaven on March 06, 2009, 06:26:11 PM
Quote from: gawa316 on March 06, 2009, 04:44:16 PM

#

You could hit it with a 5 iron its that close

Are you taking into consideration my outrageous slice? :D
Post by: milltown row on March 06, 2009, 06:50:40 PM
as long as your slice goes right, though a 3 wood would be a better club
Post by: FermPundit on March 06, 2009, 07:50:12 PM
All this talk of golf clubs is really silly, but I hear you can get a great sand wedge in Telfords at a very reasonable price.
Post by: Declan on April 23, 2009, 11:42:18 AM
Right folks - Got some great pointers re hotels earlier in the year and am heading up there in a couple of weeks for a wedding anniversary weekend - Any recommendations for a nice restaurant on a Sat night in Belfast?
Post by: girt_giggler on April 23, 2009, 12:01:56 PM
Red Panda, Great Victoria Street....yum yum
Post by: Onion Bag on April 23, 2009, 12:07:39 PM
Quote from: Declan on April 23, 2009, 11:42:18 AM
Right folks - Got some great pointers re hotels earlier in the year and am heading up there in a couple of weeks for a wedding anniversary weekend - Any recommendations for a nice restaurant on a Sat night in Belfast?

What are you after Declan, Chinese, Italian, steak???
Post by: Declan on April 23, 2009, 12:09:48 PM
Italian wouldn't be top choice - other half isn't a huge pasta fan so a decent restaurant with good menu choice really
Post by: supersarsfields on April 23, 2009, 12:18:16 PM
Hi Declan,

There's a few places that are decent but depends what you want.

Quick bite - Ryan's up on Lisburn Road do some really nice feeds and generally very reasonable.

Good restaurant - Some might argue but I have to say I used to enjoy the Kings head upstairs for a feed. Also For something different you could try the Morning star ( Haven't been in a while so I'm assuming it's still going) It does some lovely meals mixed with a few exotic. From what I remember wasn't overly expensive.

Again some people think it's over rated but I love Deanes in belfast and while it is expensive does a great feed with good service.

Chinese - Red Panda or the Water margin are my two favorites.

Also for something less formal Esperanzo's or Villa iltalia are decent eateries aswell.
Post by: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on April 23, 2009, 12:18:46 PM
Quote from: Declan on April 23, 2009, 12:09:48 PM
Italian wouldn't be top choice - other half isn't a huge pasta fan so a decent restaurant with good menu choice really

Villa Italia up beside Queens University
Post by: nifan on April 23, 2009, 12:23:35 PM
Quote from: supersarsfields on April 23, 2009, 12:18:16 PM
Again some people think it's over rated but I love Deanes in belfast and while it is expensive does a great feed with good service.

Deanes at queens is good for a cheaper, more informal atmosphere.

Im a a big fan of the ginger bistro, off great victoria street
Post by: SidelineKick on April 23, 2009, 12:25:47 PM
Not overly upmarket or anything but I can't get enough of Spur (Victoria Sq and Newry).  Their steaks and burgers are unbelievable, very good staff as well, have never encountered ignorant staff, always polite and friendly.  Nice place for a cheaper bite to eat.
Post by: Onion Bag on April 23, 2009, 12:27:37 PM
Have to say i love Scallinis on botanic Avenue, been in it loads of times and not one complaint can be made about it
Post by: gawa316 on April 23, 2009, 12:49:05 PM
What about For Cod and Ulster for a wee bite? ;)

Passed it the other day for the first time, the outside of it is hilarious
Post by: Donagh on April 23, 2009, 12:52:20 PM
Declan for a decent restaurant in Saturday evenings you will have to book beforehand. As nifan says Deanes@Queen's is very good choice with a less formal atmosphere than the main restaurant in the city centre. Another consideration on that line is Deanes Deli which has a more Asian fusion type menu but still the quality of all the Deanes outlets.

There's loads to choose from in Belfast so you are better first deciding on the area. In the city centre there are loads. James Street South is always consistently good. The Great Room Restaurant (Merchant Hotel) is a luxurious treat. Mourne Seafood Bar can't be beaten for fresh seafood but it can be noisy and crowded. No 27 (Talbot Street) is a personal favourite of mine but can be a little pricey. La Boca  on Fountain Street (beside Royal Ave) is an Argentinian place (not a steakhouse) that has a great atmosphere - high ceilings, wood interiors etc with very tasty food but the menu can be a little limited. The new trendy one a the minute is behind the Northern Bank. Can remember the name but remember Rois mentioning being in it.

Off the beaten track, if you want a romantic location and you are driving or prepared to pay for a taxi, you could try Belfast Castle. Food is usually top class and very good value though the menu is limited.
Post by: Rois on April 23, 2009, 01:16:58 PM
I agree with everything Donagh says - I'd follow his advice rather than Supersarsfields (sorry!) if you're treating yourself.  Have never been to La Boca - walk past it a lot, must get a wee evening in it some time.

You're bound to be having a cheap wkend with the euro etc so head to Deane's or the Merchant.  My sister ate in the Fitzwilliam a couple of wks ago and said it was lovely but very empty due to its newness.  It might be different at the weekend though. 

On another note, I ate in Cafe Vaudeville last Fri night - wasn't overly impressed but the setting was lovely as it was early.  If you're going for an afternoon drink, I'd hit there, lots of light and palm trees.
Post by: Declan on April 23, 2009, 01:35:20 PM
Thanks for the tips folks seems there are a good number of choices so will investigate online and then decide 
Post by: supersarsfields on April 23, 2009, 01:41:24 PM
You could be right Rois I'm more of a Esperantos than Esperanzo!!  :D
But I reckon if you go for one of the Deanes you'll not go far wrong.

Post by: Gold on April 23, 2009, 01:53:51 PM
Villa or Scalinis for me
Post by: ardmhachaabu on April 23, 2009, 02:19:28 PM
Donagh, my Mrs and I were in La Boca not so long ago and honestly, the food was awful
Post by: Donagh on April 23, 2009, 02:32:59 PM
Quote from: ardmhachaabu on April 23, 2009, 02:19:28 PM
Donagh, my Mrs and I were in La Boca not so long ago and honestly, the food was awful

Suppose it depends what you are into. It is a speciality restaurant/bistro which is why I pointed out that although it's Argentinian, it's not a steakhouse as one might expect when they hear that. Not the type of place you'd order the Irish standards but if like me you've a bit of a gra for the Latin American cuisine, or want to be adventurous it can be very good. The interior of the restaurant is also very appealing, IMO.
Post by: delboy on April 23, 2009, 03:32:39 PM
Don't know if its already been mentioned but 'mollys yard' at the back of queens is lovely.
Post by: Old Bill on April 23, 2009, 03:33:12 PM
Quote from: SidelineKick on April 23, 2009, 12:25:47 PM
Not overly upmarket or anything but I can't get enough of Spur (Victoria Sq and Newry).  Their steaks and burgers are unbelievable, very good staff as well, have never encountered ignorant staff, always polite and friendly.  Nice place for a cheaper bite to eat.
really?

where is la boca?
Post by: Puckoon on April 23, 2009, 04:48:22 PM
Quote from: Rois on April 23, 2009, 01:16:58 PM
lots of light and palm trees.

Palm trees? Are we still talking about belfast here?
Post by: SidelineKick on April 23, 2009, 04:52:18 PM
Quote from: Old Bill on April 23, 2009, 03:33:12 PM
Quote from: SidelineKick on April 23, 2009, 12:25:47 PM
really?

where is la boca?

Was that meant for me? Anyway:

(http://www.labocabelfast.com/img/map.gif)
Post by: ardmhachaabu on April 23, 2009, 04:58:44 PM
Quote from: Donagh on April 23, 2009, 02:32:59 PM

Suppose it depends what you are into. It is a speciality restaurant/bistro which is why I pointed out that although it's Argentinian, it's not a steakhouse as one might expect when they hear that. Not the type of place you'd order the Irish standards but if like me you've a bit of a gra for the Latin American cuisine, or want to be adventurous it can be very good. The interior of the restaurant is also very appealing, IMO.
I like all sorts of food, as does my Mrs... maybe it was an off night for them.  It was a Friday evening, the place wasn't packed or anywhere close to it though.  The food was a long time coming, when it did it was over-cooked to the point of being hard to eat.  Never again.

Spur in Victoria Centre is great though
Post by: SidelineKick on April 23, 2009, 05:11:56 PM
Quote from: ardmhachaabu on April 23, 2009, 04:58:44 PM
Quote from: Donagh on April 23, 2009, 02:32:59 PM

I like all sorts of food, as does my Mrs... maybe it was an off night for them.  It was a Friday evening, the place wasn't packed or anywhere close to it though.  The food was a long time coming, when it did it was over-cooked to the point of being hard to eat.  Never again.

Spur in Victoria Centre is great though

Yup, I said that earlier, totally agree.  Real good portions for reasonable price and absolutely lovely food.  As I also mentioned earlier, and something I think is important, the staff, especially in the one in Newry are very very friendly and helpful.
Post by: Our Nail Loney on April 23, 2009, 05:15:24 PM
Got a lovely feed there earlier in the Vintage in Lurgan, top grub and cheap as chips compared to other places mentioned here...
Post by: ardmhachaabu on April 23, 2009, 05:18:11 PM
Pizza Express in Victoria Centre
Post by: Archie Mitchell on April 23, 2009, 05:33:46 PM
Had the best steak ever in La Boca. Bit of a limited choice, but the quality of the steak makes up for it.

Victoria Square has alot of places for good reasonably priced food. Have tried Nando's, Spur, Frankie and Benny's, Chilli's. There are loads more and the chinese all you can eat recently opened and is supposed to be good and cheap enough.

Other nice places would be Tony Roma's and Bourbon. A bit expensive but worth it.
Post by: girt_giggler on April 24, 2009, 08:26:41 AM
Quote from: Archie Mitchell on April 23, 2009, 05:33:46 PM
Had the best steak ever in La Boca. Bit of a limited choice, but the quality of the steak makes up for it.

Victoria Square has alot of places for good reasonably priced food. Have tried Nando's, Spur, Frankie and Benny's, Chilli's. There are loads more and the chinese all you can eat recently opened and is supposed to be good and cheap enough.

Other nice places would be Tony Roma's and Bourbon. A bit expensive but worth it.

Seriously? is it upstairs where all the rest of the food places are? was up the other day but didnt notice it.  Was in one in Newcastle the other week, in 'The Gate'.  Fecking huge it was,  would of easily seated 500 folk if not more (although beer goggles were on).  Top quality grub (again beer kicked in) & all for £6.99
Post by: Archie Mitchell on April 24, 2009, 10:12:41 AM
Yeah, it's between Frankie & Bennys and Chilli's. Think it's £6.80 between 12pm - 5pm and a few quid dearer after that. Heading today at lunchtime so will let use know what it's like later on.
Post by: Hoopeddefender on April 24, 2009, 10:22:40 AM
Don't go to Belfast ever you will get robbed or stabbed by the locals.
Post by: balladmaker on April 24, 2009, 10:32:13 AM
Anyone been in the restaurant of the new Fitzwilliam Hotel yet?  If so, any good?
Post by: Declan on April 24, 2009, 10:39:10 AM
QuoteAnyone been in the restaurant of the new Fitzwilliam Hotel yet?  If so, any good?

That's where I'm staying balladmaker - booked the restaurant for the friday night as we'll only be arriving then so looking forward to it.
Post by: Archie Mitchell on April 24, 2009, 10:00:23 PM
Was in the China Buffet King in Victoria Square today. Unbelievable. £6.80 between 12pm and 5pm and £10.99 from 5pm to 11pm. Unbelievable selection of stuff. From what I can remember about 15 starters, 20 main courses as well as a big salad bar (never went near it) and up to 10 choices for dessert. Not bad for £6.80. Worth a visit when you have plenty of time to eat and do it properly.
Post by: Rois on April 24, 2009, 10:31:35 PM
Quote from: Declan on April 24, 2009, 10:39:10 AM
QuoteAnyone been in the restaurant of the new Fitzwilliam Hotel yet?  If so, any good?

That's where I'm staying balladmaker - booked the restaurant for the friday night as we'll only be arriving then so looking forward to it.

My sis and her husband loved the restaurant but it was very quiet - it was midweek though.  They thought it was pretty reasonable for a nice meal.

Hope you got a good rate Declan, just got our corporate rate through today so if you're paying more than £130 a night bed and breakfast, let me know.

I've a car parking space in the Europa Hotel car park, I'll sublet it for the weekend  :P
Post by: The Pundit on April 24, 2009, 10:48:57 PM
Quote from: ardmhachaabu on April 23, 2009, 05:18:11 PM
Pizza Express in Victoria Centre
waited an hour for grub one nite there. wouldn be fussed on it.
Goodfellas on Kennedy way is the spot!
Post by: Tyrones own on April 24, 2009, 10:57:39 PM
Not Belfast granted but did any of ye eat in the Halfway house on the Banbridge to Dromore rd..
Would normally pay it a visit anytime I'm home... Mighty spot altogether!
Post by: ardmhachaabu on April 24, 2009, 11:05:12 PM
Quote from: Tyrones own on April 24, 2009, 10:57:39 PM
Not Belfast granted but did any of ye eat in the Halfway house on the Banbridge to Dromore rd..
Manys a time
Post by: Old Bill on April 24, 2009, 11:06:34 PM
Quote from: ardmhachaabu on April 24, 2009, 11:05:12 PM
Manys a time
Is that the place just off the A1?
Post by: Minus15 on April 24, 2009, 11:07:22 PM
Anyone recommend any good indian restaurants in belfast?
Post by: Tyrones own on April 24, 2009, 11:09:57 PM
Quote from: Old Bill on April 24, 2009, 11:06:34 PM
Quote from: ardmhachaabu on April 24, 2009, 11:05:12 PM
Manys a time
Is that the place just off the A1?

Yea just in off the dual carriage way.
Post by: Rois on April 24, 2009, 11:14:27 PM
Indians I've enjoyed in Belfast:

Bengal Brasserie at the top of the Ormeau Road

Lolita on Stranmillis Road
Post by: nifan on April 25, 2009, 12:02:59 AM
Quote from: Rois on April 24, 2009, 11:14:27 PM

lovely food but the manager is a dick

Jahrna on the lisburn road is good too.
Post by: Tony Baloney on April 25, 2009, 12:15:57 AM
Quote from: nifan on April 25, 2009, 12:02:59 AM
Quote from: Rois on April 24, 2009, 11:14:27 PM

lovely food but the manager is a dick

Jahrna on the lisburn road is good too.
Strange name for an Indian. Most Indians taste the same to be honest and the menus replicated wherever you go so I don't think I've ever had a really bad experience - Chinese is a different matter! If anyone knows of an Indian that serves chapati instead of naan then let me know!
Post by: armagh leg-end on April 25, 2009, 12:26:25 AM
anyone ate in the new dukes hotel yet?
Post by: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on April 25, 2009, 02:04:59 AM
Best Indian in Belshaft is Indie Spice Cafe in Stranmillis.
Nuf said.
Post by: Dubh driocht on June 23, 2011, 09:48:54 PM
Chalco's on Lisburn Road ( beside Ryans Bar) is a small but VG Mexican - better value than Boojum and it's the genuine home-made stuff.Not exactly palatial surroundings but tasty- BYO.
Post by: Norf Tyrone on November 01, 2012, 06:33:11 PM
Heading up tomorrow evening. Where would you get a good fed on a Friday evening around 5.30pm, that won't take all evening.
Post by: oisinog on November 01, 2012, 07:05:13 PM
Quote from: Norf Tyrone on November 01, 2012, 06:33:11 PM
Heading up tomorrow evening. Where would you get a good fed on a Friday evening around 5.30pm, that won't take all evening.

It really depends on what you are looking.

I would always recemmond Villa Itala on university Road, Great food resonably priced
Post by: Norf Tyrone on November 01, 2012, 07:10:46 PM
Quote from: oisinog on November 01, 2012, 07:05:13 PM
Quote from: Norf Tyrone on November 01, 2012, 06:33:11 PM

It really depends on what you are looking.

I would always recemmond Villa Itala on university Road, Great food resonably priced

Personally, the usual stuff. A good steak would be good! Thanks though!
Post by: Fender on November 01, 2012, 07:25:30 PM
The Garrick Bar does excellent pub grub, with an awesome selection of beers. If your looking something abit more classy Id recommend 'The barking dog' up past the Bot! Extremes in terms of location but both are good at what they do!!
Post by: maddog on November 01, 2012, 07:29:17 PM
Place called Tedfords when i was over last was very good. Not far up from the Hilton hotel on Donegal quay.
Post by: Norf Tyrone on November 01, 2012, 08:06:04 PM
Thanks gents.
Post by: Fender on November 01, 2012, 08:46:53 PM
Quote from: maddog on November 01, 2012, 07:29:17 PM
Place called Tedfords when i was over last was very good. Not far up from the Hilton hotel on Donegal quay.

Bring the the ££ you keep under the mattress for Tedfords!! 2nd best fish restaurant in Belfast, good but not worth the money!!
Post by: playwiththewind1st on November 02, 2012, 10:29:27 AM
Quote from: Fender on November 01, 2012, 08:46:53 PM
Quote from: maddog on November 01, 2012, 07:29:17 PM

Bring the the ££ you keep under the mattress for Tedfords!! 2nd best fish restaurant in Belfast, good but not worth the money!!

Agreed - not a bad place at all, but wildly overpriced, these days.
Post by: CitySlicker11 on November 02, 2012, 02:27:28 PM
Fusion Chinese up in Finaghy. Guaranteed satisfaction or money back.
Post by: Mourne man on November 03, 2012, 03:26:38 PM
would recomend the sphinx in stranmillis or gucci chip on lisburn road are 2 very good chippies and do a mean kebab!!!
Post by: laoislad on January 24, 2013, 09:17:54 PM
Heading up there tomorrow for the weekend.
I don't want to be searching everywhere for somewhere to eat and there are too many suggestions on here to actually pick one!
I like T-bone steak with a side order of striplion steak with some fillet steak for dessert.
Where should I go?
Post by: gerrykeegan on January 24, 2013, 09:59:56 PM
Quote from: laoislad on January 24, 2013, 09:17:54 PM
I don't want to be searching everywhere for somewhere to eat and there are too many suggestions on here to actually pick one!
I like T-bone steak with a side order of striplion steak with some fillet steak for dessert.
Where should I go?

Jesus LL you heading up there, you know it's going to be full of those Northies!
Post by: Tony Baloney on January 24, 2013, 10:01:00 PM
Quote from: gerrykeegan on January 24, 2013, 09:59:56 PM
Where should I go?

Jesus LL you heading up there, you know it's going to be full of those Northies!
Call into my gaff on the way through and you can borrow my numberplates!
Post by: laoislad on January 24, 2013, 10:09:43 PM
Where should I go?

Told the wife I'd take her somewhere foreign for her Christmas present so decided to go to the UK.
Have the passport ready and the Laois ropey tied to the rearview mirror.
I hope the language barrier won't be a problem.
Post by: Newbridge Exile on January 24, 2013, 10:13:24 PM
Quote from: laoislad on January 24, 2013, 10:09:43 PM
Where should I go?

Told the wife I'd take her somewhere foreign for her Christmas present so decided to go to the UK.
4th Wall in Saint Annes square is a good spot
Post by: laoislad on January 24, 2013, 10:15:59 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on January 24, 2013, 10:01:00 PM
Where should I go?

Call into my gaff on the way through and you can borrow my numberplates!

I read that too quickly at first and thought you said underpants...
That would be weird.
Post by: Rois on January 24, 2013, 10:32:18 PM
Where are you staying? Nick's Warehouse on Hill St - menu is online, am sure there's steak on it.
Post by: laoislad on January 24, 2013, 10:33:16 PM
Quote from: Rois on January 24, 2013, 10:32:18 PM
Where are you staying? Nick's Warehouse on Hill St - menu is online, am sure there's steak on it.

Radisson Blu.

Quote from: Newbridge Exile on January 24, 2013, 10:13:24 PM
Where should I go?

Cheers will check it out.
Post by: Aoise on January 25, 2013, 02:09:32 AM
Tedfords, Drennans or The Ivory are good for steaks.  The Ivory or Tedfords are close enough to you.
Post by: Rois on January 25, 2013, 09:06:12 AM
Forgot to mention James St South Bar & Grill (not the fancy part) - take a look online - www.belfastbargrill.co.uk

It has a good steak menu.  Def within 10 mins walk.  And throughout all the protest stuff, it was the only place I walked past that was consistently busy.  Has a very fancy part to it in an adjoining building but downstairs is always packed.  Actually you might not get a booking! 
Post by: Newbridge Exile on January 25, 2013, 10:56:58 AM
Quote from: laoislad on January 24, 2013, 10:33:16 PM
Quote from: Rois on January 24, 2013, 10:32:18 PM

Radisson Blu.

Quote from: Newbridge Exile on January 24, 2013, 10:13:24 PM
Where should I go?

Cheers will check it out.
if you are for walking into town from Radisson best/ safest way would probably be cutting across Ormeau Avenue and then down Bedford Street, will take you out at the side of the Belfast City Hall   there will probably be another flag protest in front of it about 1 oclock tomorrow , they usually last for an hour or so ,
Stayed in the Radisson a few times , lovely hotel with the bonus of free parking at the weekends
Post by: Ulick on January 25, 2013, 12:15:50 PM
The wife took me to Made in Belfast, Talbot Street last night. Steak was nice but the highlight was the topless photo of Lily Allen in the bogs.
Post by: glens abu on January 25, 2013, 01:14:09 PM
Quote from: hardstation on January 25, 2013, 11:18:04 AM
'Tis hard to look past
Aisling Úr @ The Felons Club

Yes very good and Failte on the Falls very good as well.Get a great bowl of chowder on a Friday in Culturlann.
Post by: heganboy on January 25, 2013, 02:57:27 PM
porterhouse on the lisburn road is a good steak, or la boca the argentinian steak house on fountain street
tough to go wrong with either...
Post by: nifan on January 25, 2013, 03:26:27 PM
used to go to the Morning Star the odd time - theyd do the 24oz steak -if you want a bigger one you  have to order in advance.
Post by: 5 Sams on January 25, 2013, 08:36:01 PM
Quote from: nifan on January 25, 2013, 03:26:27 PM
used to go to the Morning Star the odd time - theyd do the 24oz steak -if you want a bigger one you  have to order in advance.

Great spot....

When did the Felons start doing grub???
Post by: muppet on January 25, 2013, 10:07:55 PM
A taxi driver recommended some Seafood Bar in 'Hard Street'. I was thinking I know Belfast can be rough but calling a street 'Hard' was a joke.

Then I saw a sign for 'Howard Street'.

It had a Seafood Bar and it was exceptionally nice for lunch.

Deanes I think.
Post by: Tony Baloney on January 25, 2013, 10:10:14 PM
Quote from: muppet on January 25, 2013, 10:07:55 PM
A taxi driver recommended some Seafood Bar in 'Hard Street'. I was thinking I know Belfast can be rough but calling a street 'Hard' was a joke.

Then I saw a sign for 'Howard Street'.

It had a Seafood Bar and it was exceptionally nice for lunch.

Deanes I think.
http://www.michaeldeane.co.uk/seafood-bar/menu/ (http://www.michaeldeane.co.uk/seafood-bar/menu/)
Post by: glens abu on January 25, 2013, 10:22:23 PM
Oyster Bar in Castle St.
Post by: Saffrongael on January 25, 2013, 10:40:45 PM
Quote from: glens abu on January 25, 2013, 10:22:23 PM
Oyster Bar in Castle St.

You would want to spend as little time in around Castle Street as possible if you are visiting Belfast.
Post by: Tony Baloney on January 25, 2013, 10:44:38 PM
Quote from: Saffrongael on January 25, 2013, 10:40:45 PM
Oyster Bar in Castle St.

You would want to spend as little time in around Castle Street as possible if you are visiting Belfast.
Is The Herc still open?
Post by: Two Hands FFS on January 25, 2013, 10:57:04 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on January 25, 2013, 10:44:38 PM
Oyster Bar in Castle St.

Is The Herc still open?
Yep
Post by: glens abu on January 25, 2013, 10:59:44 PM
Oyster Bar in Castle St.

Is The Herc still open?

Yeah Herc still going strong,Oyster bar part of Mourne Seafood and 1st class and safe enough in Casle St
Post by: Tony Baloney on January 25, 2013, 11:09:09 PM
Quote from: glens abu on January 25, 2013, 10:59:44 PM
Oyster Bar in Castle St.

Is The Herc still open?

Yeah Herc still going strong,Oyster bar part of Mourne Seafood and 1st class and safe enough in Casle St
This may be a very stupid question but I'm gonna fire it out there. Is it only oysters?
Post by: glens abu on January 26, 2013, 09:44:05 AM
No a very good and varied menu,don't take booking and food as good as Mourne seafood but a lot cheaper.
Post by: Maguire01 on January 26, 2013, 11:41:00 AM
Quote from: Ulick on January 25, 2013, 12:15:50 PM
The wife took me to Made in Belfast, Talbot Street last night. Steak was nice but the highlight was the topless photo of Lily Allen in the bogs.
It's a good spot alright.
Post by: qubdub on April 26, 2013, 11:10:43 PM
Anyone recommend somewhere they've been to recently, not too fancy (cos the woman is a fussy hure from south Derry) but good on service and value.
Post by: 5 Sams on April 27, 2013, 12:03:22 AM

Rule 1
Post by: laoislad on April 27, 2013, 12:07:13 AM
Quote from: 5 Sams on April 27, 2013, 12:03:22 AM

Rule 1

I agree with 5 Sams for once.
Post by: everymanaman on April 27, 2013, 09:13:16 PM
Not sure about best restaurants but there's two hotels on Great Victoria I would avoid
Post by: Rois on April 28, 2013, 01:27:25 AM
Ivory, top of Victoria Sq, service is great. Menu is online too.
Post by: T Fearon on April 28, 2013, 08:40:40 AM
Hold on for the Belfast Telegraph's next Main Course and glass of house win for £6.95 offer.The best and cheapest way to eat out in Belfast!
Post by: Walter Cronc on April 28, 2013, 09:36:41 AM
Quote from: qubdub on April 26, 2013, 11:10:43 PM
Anyone recommend somewhere they've been to recently, not too fancy (cos the woman is a fussy hure from south Derry) but good on service and value.

Apparo and its in the middle of South Derry (Draperstown).
Post by: Christmas Lights on October 24, 2013, 04:19:36 PM
Anyone ever ate in Hill Street Brasserie and would you recommend it?

Thinking of booking it for Saturday night.
Post by: No Soloing on October 24, 2013, 04:34:16 PM
I am pretty sure Hill St Brasserie has closed. I was past there a couple of weeks ago, and from what I could see, it was gone - it might be one of those Home Restuarants now. If I am wrong, then apologies
Post by: CD on October 24, 2013, 04:40:40 PM
If it's a steak you're after Porterhouse on the Lisburn Road is very tasty and reasonably priced. I went last Saturday instead of going to Cavan to watch the rules match think I made the right choice  ;)
Post by: Christmas Lights on October 24, 2013, 05:18:20 PM
Quote from: No Soloing on October 24, 2013, 04:34:16 PM
I am pretty sure Hill St Brasserie has closed. I was past there a couple of weeks ago, and from what I could see, it was gone - it might be one of those Home Restuarants now. If I am wrong, then apologies

You could be right, I have tried ringing a few times and no answer.

Might look at this Porterhouse recommended by CD!
Post by: Craigyhill Terror on October 24, 2013, 05:44:01 PM
Quote from: Christmas Lights on October 24, 2013, 05:18:20 PM
Quote from: No Soloing on October 24, 2013, 04:34:16 PM

You could be right, I have tried ringing a few times and no answer.

Might look at this Porterhouse recommended by CD!

Was at Porterhouse on Tuesday and it was very good
Post by: Rois on October 24, 2013, 07:04:39 PM
Walked down that way last week - definitely closed.

Ivory on top of Vic Sq is very nice, or if you want somewhere down near Hill St, Made In Belfast Cathedral Quarter or the Potted Hen are also nice.  Salt is crap.  I haven't visted the rest.

Post by: playwiththewind1st on October 24, 2013, 07:35:01 PM
Went to Potted Hen once & once only - no comment!
Post by: Orior on October 24, 2013, 09:05:29 PM
Quote from: playwiththewind1st on October 24, 2013, 07:35:01 PM

I've been there 3 times. It was fine.

You should change your dining companion, lol
Post by: Wildweasel74 on October 24, 2013, 09:09:15 PM
porterhouse on the lisburn rd  is the best place to eat in Belfast,
Post by: ONeill on October 24, 2013, 09:15:30 PM
Ox.

That is all.
Post by: Christmas Lights on October 24, 2013, 09:23:56 PM
Quote from: playwiththewind1st on October 24, 2013, 07:35:01 PM

Are my eyes deceiving me!!!  Potted Hen probably my favourite restaurant in Belfast but just want to try somewhere new.  Its for a birthday.

I wont have a bad word said about the Potted Hen, its top class.
Post by: Christmas Lights on October 24, 2013, 09:27:12 PM
Quote from: ONeill on October 24, 2013, 09:15:30 PM
Ox.

That is all.

Never heard of this restaurant.  Just checked out the website, head chef is from James Street South so a thumbs up already!

Ill go to this near Christmas.  I have the Porterhouse booked already for Saturday night.
Post by: ONeill on October 24, 2013, 09:57:03 PM
Not cheap but tremendous.

A Michelin in waiting.
Post by: GAA_Talk on October 24, 2013, 10:06:52 PM
Anyone ever tried Shu on the Lisburn road? Going to give it a go next Friday.
Post by: Kidder81 on October 24, 2013, 10:07:49 PM
Quote from: GAA_Talk on October 24, 2013, 10:06:52 PM

Was the only restaurant from here to make the top 100 uk restaurants a few weeks ago
Post by: Milltown Row2 on October 24, 2013, 10:17:28 PM

Been a while but the food was great, has the oddest bar/night club downstairs last time I was there, different
Post by: Christmas Lights on October 24, 2013, 10:26:22 PM
Quote from: hardstation on October 24, 2013, 10:09:55 PM
Quote from: ONeill on October 24, 2013, 09:57:03 PM

A Michelin in waiting.
A wha?

Never mind Kelstar boy!!!!!!!!!!
Post by: ONeill on October 24, 2013, 10:26:49 PM

It received a weird review in the Irish News on Sat.....the menu was too manly....!!
Post by: Rois on October 24, 2013, 10:27:09 PM
D'ye know where we went recently and really enjoyed - Hilden Brewery in Lisburn. You can go for a brewery tour first and then have dinner in the lovely restaurant. We had a great wee evening in it. And if you like craft beers, you'll love it. Right beside Hilden train halt - just get train back into town then to continue the night.
Post by: ONeill on October 24, 2013, 10:28:32 PM
Quote from: Christmas Lights on October 24, 2013, 10:26:22 PM

A Michelin in waiting.
A wha?

Another thing is you need to book well in advance.

Another thing is they do pollans.
Post by: Tony Baloney on October 24, 2013, 10:48:03 PM
Quote from: ONeill on October 24, 2013, 10:28:32 PM

A Michelin in waiting.
A wha?

Jesus that and a plate of eels and the Loughshore hallions would be salivating.
Post by: ONeill on October 24, 2013, 11:05:39 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on October 24, 2013, 10:48:03 PM
Quote from: ONeill on October 24, 2013, 10:28:32 PM

A Michelin in waiting.
A wha?

Jesus that and a plate of eels and the Loughshore hallions would be salivating.

The menu is tight but there's nothing there you wouldn't want. Salt baked beetroot, Lough Neagh eel, oyster and squid ink, Portavogie scallop, wild garlic, haddock and cured yolk, grilled mackerel, Bayonne ham, spring leek and chervil root, all among the starters give you an idea of the gear change this bistro has made.

http://www.belfasttelegraph.co.uk/entertainment/eating-out/joris-minne-ox-29187153.html
Post by: rrhf on October 24, 2013, 11:25:55 PM
boggin
Post by: Tony Baloney on October 24, 2013, 11:26:36 PM
Quote from: rrhf on October 24, 2013, 11:25:55 PM
boggin
Where is that?
Post by: Ulick on October 25, 2013, 12:00:00 AM
£16 for a couple of pollan? Sweet Jesus, expensive for a bit of pike bait these days.
Post by: Tony Baloney on February 04, 2014, 10:01:46 PM
Anything child friendly around Ormeau these days?
Post by: CD on February 04, 2014, 10:12:39 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on February 04, 2014, 10:01:46 PM
Anything child friendly around Ormeau these days?

Been in Speranza's with two u4s recently Tony. Good deals and child friendly. Tasty enough afternoon menu.
Post by: Norf Tyrone on August 19, 2014, 10:43:32 PM
Might not be the best thread for this but see how it goes.

Where could one watch premier league football on a Sat in Belfast? The match is on Setanta Ireland.
Post by: blewuporstuffed on August 19, 2014, 10:47:08 PM
Quote from: Norf Tyrone on August 19, 2014, 10:43:32 PM
Might not be the best thread for this but see how it goes.

Where could one watch premier league football on a Sat in Belfast? The match is on Setanta Ireland.
The Erigal might be as good as anywhere. Im sure the bot would be showing it too.
any amount of places to be honest
Post by: Fender on August 19, 2014, 10:48:46 PM
A large portion of P.L games are shown in The Garrick - Including 3pm KO's on a Sat from the big teams. All other games which are either 12:45 13:00 17:45 or 16:00 are also shown!!   

http://www.thegarrickbar.com/livesports.htm

This link shows all live sport for August.
Post by: Norf Tyrone on August 19, 2014, 11:10:31 PM
Quote from: Fender on August 19, 2014, 10:48:46 PM
A large portion of P.L games are shown in The Garrick - Including 3pm KO's on a Sat from the big teams. All other games which are either 12:45 13:00 17:45 or 16:00 are also shown!!   

Deadly. I am staying at The Hilton so that's perfect.

Thanks a Million.
Post by: under the bar on August 19, 2014, 11:18:36 PM
QuotePorterhouse on the lisburn rd  is the best place to eat in Belfast,

I've been to the Porterhouse twice, once with friends a while after it opened and Christmas dinner with work.  Quite possibly the worst restaurant in Belfast and I've yet to hear a good report from anyone I've met who has been there.  All the steaks were like leather and the desserts for those that had them were also sent back.  Atrocious.  Don't say you weren't warned.

Shu is excellent btw.
Post by: Craigyhill Terror on August 19, 2014, 11:25:49 PM
Quote from: Norf Tyrone on August 19, 2014, 11:10:31 PM
Quote from: Fender on August 19, 2014, 10:48:46 PM

Deadly. I am staying at The Hilton so that's perfect.

Thanks a Million.

If you like your fancy beers, it's a good spot. Decent food too
Post by: Armamike on August 19, 2014, 11:30:40 PM
The Cheeky Cherrub in Howard Street.  Good italian food, and not too pricey.
Post by: ONeill on August 20, 2014, 01:24:11 AM
Kelstar chicken = balls from a dog. From the horse's mouth.
Post by: Mikhailov on August 21, 2014, 03:42:19 PM
will be in Belfast this weekend for 2 nights to keep the missus happy - is there any recommended pub that I can watch the AI semi final on Sunday afternoon.....

Have been told the Kitchen bar in Vic Sq - are there any others.....

Post by: thewobbler on August 21, 2014, 04:47:13 PM
Quote from: Mikhailov on August 21, 2014, 03:42:19 PM
will be in Belfast this weekend for 2 nights to keep the missus happy - is there any recommended pub that I can watch the AI semi final on Sunday afternoon.....

With United playing at 4pm, you might be surprised at how few bars have the AI SF on anything other than a muted 14" screen tucked into the corner. There's a lot more ManU fans than Kerry fans in Belfast.

The Bot would definitely have it one of their rooms. The Hatfield will have it on somewhere. But both those are out of town a bit.
Post by: Maguire01 on August 21, 2014, 07:43:17 PM
Didn't see it mentioned, but Coppi is probably my favourite restaurant in Belfast at the minute, followed by Shu. Made in Belfast is good for something a bit cheaper.
Post by: glens abu on August 21, 2014, 07:55:05 PM
Quote from: Maguire01 on August 21, 2014, 07:43:17 PM
Didn't see it mentioned, but Coppi is probably my favourite restaurant in Belfast at the minute, followed by Shu. Made in Belfast is good for something a bit cheaper.

Yeah Shu would be mine,but should try Stix and Stones it is right up there.
Post by: JP on August 21, 2014, 07:57:02 PM
Quote from: glens abu on August 21, 2014, 07:55:05 PM
Quote from: Maguire01 on August 21, 2014, 07:43:17 PM

Yeah Shu would be mine,but should try Stix and Stones it is right up there.

I third this. Shu is very good.
Post by: general_lee on August 21, 2014, 08:01:32 PM
Made In Belfast is an excellent alternative to the overpriced TGI Fridays, Nandos etc shite.
Post by: Fender on August 21, 2014, 08:30:24 PM
Quote from: thewobbler on August 21, 2014, 04:47:13 PM
Quote from: Mikhailov on August 21, 2014, 03:42:19 PM

With United playing at 4pm, you might be surprised at how few bars have the AI SF on anything other than a muted 14" screen tucked into the corner. There's a lot more ManU fans than Kerry fans in Belfast.

The Bot would definitely have it one of their rooms. The Hatfield will have it on somewhere. But both those are out of town a bit.
100% sure The All Ireland SF will be shown in the upstairs room in 'The Garrick' - opposite Vic Sq on Chichester St!!
Post by: pullhard on August 24, 2014, 12:15:30 PM
heading up to the big smoke in a few days, where is the best veggie restaurant ?
Post by: Tony Baloney on August 24, 2014, 12:38:25 PM
Quote from: pullhard on August 24, 2014, 12:15:30 PM
heading up to the big smoke in a few days, where is the best veggie restaurant ?
http://www.belfasttelegraph.co.uk/entertainment/eating-out/joris-minne/restaurant-review-joris-explores-the-vegetarian-options-on-offer-in-belfast-29616686.html (http://www.belfasttelegraph.co.uk/entertainment/eating-out/joris-minne/restaurant-review-joris-explores-the-vegetarian-options-on-offer-in-belfast-29616686.html)
Post by: pullhard on August 24, 2014, 06:15:19 PM
Cheers Tony
Post by: ONeill on August 25, 2014, 10:39:41 PM
Quote from: hardstation on August 20, 2014, 12:08:15 AM

A Michelin in waiting.
A wha?

Joke all ye want, have seen fcuk all from the pseudo snobs on this thread that'd bate the Kelstar.
And, no, I'm not joking.

Let's face it, at 2 in the morning, 8 stout & 4 Jameson in ye.....

a) Southern Fried Chicken fillet burger & Curry chip
or
b) The most beautiful wee bit of chicken the size of yer thumb from the Ox?

Get up the yard ffs.

Shove this up yer pastie bap hole:

http://www.belfasttelegraph.co.uk/business/news/belfast-restaurant-ox-named-northern-irelands-finest-30532200.html
Post by: Don Johnson on August 29, 2014, 09:08:20 AM
Stix and Stones is ok just, once you get past the novelty factor with the stone.

I had a lovely feed in the Porterhouse recently, got the big Porterhouse steak and it was class, cooked to perfection and I was so full I could barely eat my side dish.

Hadskis and James Street Bar & Grill are still two of my favourites. Never had a bad feed in either. Both owned by Niall McKenna too, he knows what he is doing.

Won't be back in Cosmos after their scores on the doors rating.
Post by: Minder on September 12, 2014, 09:54:00 AM
Anyone tried the Ginger Bistro ?
Post by: tyroneman on September 12, 2014, 11:05:13 AM
Quote from: Minder on September 12, 2014, 09:54:00 AM

Did about a year ago, pretty good from what I remember.

Anyone else I know that went there also seemed to like it.
Post by: general on September 12, 2014, 11:23:01 AM
If anyone is wanting an informal lunch or dinner, Bojum is a great spot. it is mexican and offers fajita's etc. Very very tasty, one beside victoria square and one on botanic. Seating available, £6 approx per feed.
Post by: glens abu on September 12, 2014, 12:19:28 PM
Should also try Cafe Havana,well worth a visit and still doing 2for 1 lunches
Post by: Minder on September 12, 2014, 12:53:08 PM
Quote from: general on September 12, 2014, 11:23:01 AM
If anyone is wanting an informal lunch or dinner, Bojum is a great spot. it is mexican and offers fajita's etc. Very very tasty, one beside victoria square and one on botanic. Seating available, £6 approx per feed.

Portion sizes have reduced lately
Post by: general_lee on September 12, 2014, 01:36:43 PM
Quote from: Minder on September 12, 2014, 12:53:08 PM

Can't say I'm dying about Boojum - has the novelty still not worn off?

When it first opened I thought it was ok, but having to queue up on the street alongside a shower of students and hipster gimps keen on getting their next Boojum t-shirt just isn't worth it anymore.
Post by: An Gaeilgoir on September 12, 2014, 02:52:53 PM

Was there yesterday, had a lovely feed, reasonably priced too.. went there around 6, so we had the choice between pre- theatre or main menu..
Post by: playwiththewind1st on September 12, 2014, 08:44:23 PM
Quote from: An Gaeilgoir on September 12, 2014, 02:52:53 PM

Was there yesterday, had a lovely feed, reasonably priced too.. went there around 6, so we had the choice between pre- theatre or main menu..

Always rated Ginger! Excellent place, with top notch staff, extremely friendly & always have a yarn with you when you're in. Food's great, but maybe sometimes the menu can be a bit predictable, if you go too often, but otherwise I would highly recommend it, have been going to it for years.
Post by: Tony Baloney on September 12, 2014, 09:36:38 PM

I think you have got bigger.

I'm going to Ginger in a couple of weeks. I'll report back.
Post by: blewuporstuffed on September 13, 2014, 11:07:17 AM
Quote from: playwiththewind1st on September 12, 2014, 08:44:23 PM
Quote from: An Gaeilgoir on September 12, 2014, 02:52:53 PM

Always rated Ginger! Excellent place, with top notch staff, extremely friendly & always have a yarn with you when you're in. Food's great, but maybe sometimes the menu can be a bit predictable, if you go too often, but otherwise I would highly recommend it, have been going to it for years.
would you need to book it for a lunch time?
Post by: playwiththewind1st on September 14, 2014, 04:26:57 PM
Don't know, is short answer. Think you're safe enough at lunchtime. Certainly Saturday lunchtime is easy to get in.
Post by: giveherlong on September 25, 2014, 03:03:40 PM
Any good deals/offers for 2 on a thurs night in the city centre?
Post by: screenexile on September 25, 2014, 03:11:27 PM
Quote from: giveherlong on September 25, 2014, 03:03:40 PM

I don't know about anyone else but I'd be partial to a Pizza Express when herself and I hit the City and don't want anything too fancy. The vouchers are excellent!
Post by: johnneycool on September 25, 2014, 04:47:58 PM
Quote from: screenexile on September 25, 2014, 03:11:27 PM

I don't know about anyone else but I'd be partial to a Pizza Express when herself and I hit the City and don't want anything too fancy. The vouchers are excellent!

Who says romance is dead, eh?
Post by: screenexile on September 25, 2014, 05:22:28 PM
Quote from: johnneycool on September 25, 2014, 04:47:58 PM
Quote from: screenexile on September 25, 2014, 03:11:27 PM

Who says romance is dead, eh?

It's always her idea... I'm forever wanting to Deane's but she won't have it!!
Post by: Denn Forever on November 11, 2014, 10:30:08 AM
Does this ring true?

http://viralfury.com/this-restaurant-kept-getting-awful-reviews-then-they-discovered-something-mind-blowing/
Post by: Billys Boots on November 11, 2014, 11:32:42 AM
Quote from: Denn Forever on November 11, 2014, 10:30:08 AM
Does this ring true?

http://viralfury.com/this-restaurant-kept-getting-awful-reviews-then-they-discovered-something-mind-blowing/

Nice one DF. :)
Post by: gallsman on November 11, 2014, 11:36:51 AM
Quote from: general_lee on September 12, 2014, 01:36:43 PM

Can't say I'm dying about Boojum - has the novelty still not worn off?

When it first opened I thought it was ok, but having to queue up on the street alongside a shower of students and hipster gimps keen on getting their next Boojum t-shirt just isn't worth it anymore.

Chalco's is far superior to Boojum. Run by an actual Mexican too.

Coppi in St. Anne's Square is very tasty, as its sister restaurant Il Pirata in Ballyhackamore.

Birdcage on Stranmillis is good too (although hipstery - drinks served in jars etc) although service can be shit.
Post by: Walter Cronc on November 11, 2014, 11:42:47 AM
It ain't a proper burrito until fish is on the menu!
Post by: NAG1 on November 11, 2014, 11:54:48 AM
Quote from: Billys Boots on November 11, 2014, 11:32:42 AM
Does this ring true?

This drives me insane, would love to find a restaurant that doesnt have wifi or even phone signal and actively discourages picture taking of the food. Dont mean to sound like a grinch, but i do find it highly annoying even in a group setting someone messing about on their phone when its supposed to be about having a chat and a bit of craic.

rant over
Post by: muppet on November 11, 2014, 03:43:35 PM
Quote from: NAG1 on November 11, 2014, 11:54:48 AM
Does this ring true?

This drives me insane, would love to find a restaurant that doesnt have wifi or even phone signal and actively discourages picture taking of the food. Dont mean to sound like a grinch, but i do find it highly annoying even in a group setting someone messing about on their phone when its supposed to be about having a chat and a bit of craic.

rant over

Go on, you are at a restaurant right now aren't you?
Post by: NAG1 on November 11, 2014, 03:58:31 PM
Quote from: muppet on November 11, 2014, 03:43:35 PM
Quote from: NAG1 on November 11, 2014, 11:54:48 AM
Does this ring true?

rant over

Go on, you are at a restaurant right now aren't you?

How did you guess my subterfuge  ;)
Post by: Tony Baloney on December 29, 2014, 08:55:27 PM
Ox was named in one of the Sunday nationals by a restaurant critic as one of their 5 favourite restaurants of the year.

I think it was A'Nail singing its praises a while ago.
Post by: gallsman on December 29, 2014, 09:02:33 PM
Going to porterhouse on Lisburn road at the weekend. Anyone been?
Post by: ONeill on December 29, 2014, 09:49:45 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on December 29, 2014, 08:55:27 PM
Ox was named in one of the Sunday nationals by a restaurant critic as one of their 5 favourite restaurants of the year.

It even does pollan. POLLAN!
Post by: never kickt a ball on December 29, 2014, 10:05:54 PM
Anyone know if "Ringo's" is still trading?
Post by: Tony Baloney on December 29, 2014, 11:10:45 PM
Quote from: ONeill on December 29, 2014, 09:49:45 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on December 29, 2014, 08:55:27 PM

It even does pollan. POLLAN!
Will have to pay it a visit on the rare opportunity of a night out.
Post by: ONeill on December 29, 2014, 11:15:07 PM
On a serious note, it's a clinker. A special occasion OK and you'll look at the portions and think WTF. But you'll leave full to the gills knowing you've tasted the best prepared food in the city. And the wine is up there.
Post by: Tony Baloney on December 29, 2014, 11:21:43 PM
Quote from: ONeill on December 29, 2014, 11:15:07 PM
On a serious note, it's a clinker. A special occasion OK and you'll look at the portions and think WTF. But you'll leave full to the gills knowing you've tasted the best prepared food in the city. And the wine is up there.
Aye it would def be a special occasion job for us. I remember Hardstation's critique of your review  ;D
Post by: ONeill on December 29, 2014, 11:23:20 PM
To be fair to HS, his ma makes a quare pie.
Post by: under the bar on December 29, 2014, 11:41:35 PM
Ox is good but don't go looking a big feed.  Small but rich portions of meat and veg, virtually zero spuds/carbs on the plate hence the fact you'll prob still leave hungry if you go there starving!     
Post by: Tony Baloney on December 29, 2014, 11:55:36 PM
Quote from: under the bar on December 29, 2014, 11:41:35 PM
Ox is good but don't go looking a big feed.  Small but rich portions of meat and veg, virtually zero spuds/carbs on the plate hence the fact you'll prob still leave hungry if you go there starving!   
If I want a big feed of spuds I'll do them at home and save myself 100 quid.  ;)
Post by: ONeill on December 30, 2014, 12:39:35 AM
Quote from: under the bar on December 29, 2014, 11:41:35 PM

What did you have?
Post by: CD on December 30, 2014, 09:30:38 PM
Quote from: gallsman on December 29, 2014, 09:02:33 PM
Going to porterhouse on Lisburn road at the weekend. Anyone been?
A couple of times Gallsman. Never been disappointed - lovely piece of steak!
Post by: Santino on December 30, 2014, 10:05:42 PM
Archana Indian on Dublin Rd is great!
Post by: seanaglis on December 31, 2014, 09:39:02 AM
Havent been down to belfast for a night out much since my student days. Is temps or the kam wah still open in botanic?
Post by: Tony Baloney on December 31, 2014, 11:12:18 AM
Quote from: seanaglis on December 31, 2014, 09:39:02 AM
Havent been down to belfast for a night out much since my student days. Is temps or the kam wah still open in botanic?
I think the Kam Wah is long gone. Did anyone ever eat in there whilst sober? I was only there about 2am.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on December 31, 2014, 11:30:39 AM
Anyone tried Home restaurant in Wellington place? Going this weekend
Post by: Tony Baloney on December 31, 2014, 12:59:25 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on December 31, 2014, 11:30:39 AM
Anyone tried Home restaurant in Wellington place? Going this weekend
You'll be grand http://tinyurl.com/kotrbpu (http://tinyurl.com/kotrbpu)
Post by: The Bearded One on December 31, 2014, 01:37:48 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on December 31, 2014, 11:12:18 AM
I think the Kam Wah is long gone. Did anyone ever eat in there whilst sober? I was only there about 2am.

What did you call the crazy man who used to work the Mike in Temps? Was he Tony? We used to buy serious feeds in that place after a night out and the craic was as good in there as it was in the local pubs!!
Post by: DownFanatic on December 31, 2014, 02:35:34 PM
Quote from: The Bearded One on December 31, 2014, 01:37:48 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on December 31, 2014, 11:12:18 AM

What did you call the crazy man who used to work the Mike in Temps? Was he Tony? We used to buy serious feeds in that place after a night out and the craic was as good in there as it was in the local pubs!!

Used to be able to write on the walls in Temps and it was always good Craic antagonising the bouncers there too :)
Post by: Tony Baloney on September 17, 2015, 08:09:27 AM
Quote from: ONeill on August 25, 2014, 10:39:41 PM
Quote from: hardstation on August 20, 2014, 12:08:15 AM

A Michelin in waiting.
A wha?

Joke all ye want, have seen fcuk all from the pseudo snobs on this thread that'd bate the Kelstar.
And, no, I'm not joking.

Let's face it, at 2 in the morning, 8 stout & 4 Jameson in ye.....

a) Southern Fried Chicken fillet burger & Curry chip
or
b) The most beautiful wee bit of chicken the size of yer thumb from the Ox?

Get up the yard ffs.

Shove this up yer pastie bap hole:

http://www.belfasttelegraph.co.uk/business/news/belfast-restaurant-ox-named-northern-irelands-finest-30532200.html
Now has a Michelin star.
Post by: Soup an Samajiz on September 17, 2015, 08:47:23 AM
Just found a place I'd never noticed before, Darcy's right next to Lavery's Pub up by Shaftsbury Sq, good if you don't want to venture into city centre, really nice food and great value if your there for the early bird esspecially
Post by: TheOptimist on September 17, 2015, 10:40:12 AM
Don't know if its been mentioned here, but for quiet atmosphere, food and beer I always love a meal in Molly's Yard. Lovely spot altogether.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on September 17, 2015, 01:46:26 PM
Quote from: TheOptimist on September 17, 2015, 10:40:12 AM
Don't know if its been mentioned here, but for quiet atmosphere, food and beer I always love a meal in Molly's Yard. Lovely spot altogether.

Yep great spot, good food.. anyone been to The Saphyre Restaurant? heard food is great but expensive?
Post by: Milltown Row2 on September 17, 2015, 04:57:11 PM
Quote from: hardstation on September 17, 2015, 03:13:31 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on September 17, 2015, 01:46:26 PM
Quote from: TheOptimist on September 17, 2015, 10:40:12 AM

Yep great spot, good food.. anyone been to The Saphyre Restaurant? heard food is great but expensive?
Have your dinner before you go.

One of those ones?? Ah feck that.. ripped off and still hungry spots
Post by: ONeill on October 30, 2015, 11:34:16 PM
http://www.thejournal.ie/michelin-pubs-2416915-Oct2015/

The full list is as follows:
Antrim

Billy Andy's at Mounthill, near Larne

Clare

Morrissey's, Doonbeg
Vaughan's Anchor Inn, Liscannor
Wild Honey Inn, Lisdoonvarna
Linnane's Lobster Bar, New Quay

Cork

Mary Ann's, Castletownshend
Poacher's Inn, Bandon
Deasy's Clonakilty
Cronin's Crosshaven
Toddies at The Bulman, Kinsale

Down

Pheasant, Annahilt
Poacher's Pocket, Comber
Parson's Nose, Hillsborough
Plough Inn, Hillsborough
Pier 36, Donaghadee
Balloo House, Killinchy

Dublin

Old Spot, Ballsbridge
Chop House, Ballsbridge

Galway

Moran's Oyster Cottage, Kilcolgan
O'Dowd's, Roundstone

Kerry

O'Neill's Seafood Bar, Caherciveen

Kildare

Harte's , Kildare
Ballymore Inn, Ballymore Eustace
Fallon's, Kilcullen

Leitrim

Oarsman, Carrick-on-Shannon

Louth

Fitzpatricks, Jenkinstown

Mayo

The Tavern, Murrisk
Sheebeen, Westport

Sligo

Hargadons, Sligo Town

Tipperary

Larkins, Garrykennedy

Wexford

Lobster Pot, Carne

Wicklow

Byrne & Woods, Roundwood
Post by: Snapchap on March 30, 2022, 08:29:49 PM
So...Belfast. What are the restaurants worth a visit?
Post by: Silver hill on March 30, 2022, 08:38:08 PM
Quote from: Snapchap on March 30, 2022, 08:29:49 PM

Budget?
Post by: quit yo jibbajabba on March 30, 2022, 08:41:17 PM
5-10pounds
Post by: Snapchap on March 30, 2022, 08:47:55 PM
Quote from: Silver hill on March 30, 2022, 08:38:08 PM

Budget?

Nothing high end with tiny portions. I want to leave with a full stomach!  :D
Post by: Silver hill on March 30, 2022, 09:58:36 PM
Quote from: Snapchap on March 30, 2022, 08:47:55 PM

Budget?

Avoid ox or Deane's then.

Mourne seafood is hard to beat. Or shu on the lisburn rd.
Post by: RedHand88 on March 30, 2022, 10:03:38 PM
Greens pizza. Bacon and chilli pasta with dragon tongue bread. Unreal.
Post by: delgany on March 30, 2022, 10:08:48 PM
Quote from: quit yo jibbajabba on March 30, 2022, 08:41:17 PM
5-10pounds

For the starters??

You wouldnt get a fish supper for that !
Post by: delgany on March 30, 2022, 10:15:17 PM
Barking Dog  beside Botanic Inn is fab.
Hope St bistro , is b y o and good value.
Bengal Brasserie, Ormeau Rd is a  fantastic Indian
Abacus Chinese , beside the Botanic Inn pub is lovely for food , decor bit dated
Output cafe on Lisburn Rd is very good for brunch.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on March 30, 2022, 10:17:35 PM
Quote from: Silver hill on March 30, 2022, 09:58:36 PM

Budget?

A mate of mine went to Ox for a wedding present for his brother ... £650 lol!!

Plenty or places for decent grub for good grubbers .. All depends were you want to hang around, Coppi, and Mumbai 27, 2Taps around the Cathedral quarter..
Fish City is a wee gem in Anne street Zizzi in Victoria square, the Cubby Cherub I was at recently was good. Coco at the back of City hall is very good, also Flame and Howard street will give you a decent filling..

The Morning Star do a great stake and a proper pint in a good pup.. Shu is a bit out of town but been very good for food for years.  Sweet Afton will give you plenty on your plate..

The Mourne seafood is in a great spot next door to Kelly Cellars and around the corner from there is the Havana bank square.. oh might head out this weekend!
Post by: Norf Tyrone on March 30, 2022, 10:44:55 PM
I enjoyed The Dumpling Library in St Annes Sq.
Post by: quit yo jibbajabba on March 30, 2022, 11:40:06 PM
SusANSSS - Ormeau Rd
Post by: imtommygunn on March 31, 2022, 07:54:02 AM
La taqueria on the Ormeau road is my favourite one. There is also one on castle street.
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on March 31, 2022, 08:00:13 AM
Stock at Georges Market is a great spot. Mourne Seafood and Copi have also been mentioned. Stix and Stones isn't bad
Post by: Mario on March 31, 2022, 08:10:50 AM
I had a great meal at Molly's yard on botanic recently
Post by: HiMucker on March 31, 2022, 09:29:50 AM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on March 30, 2022, 10:17:35 PM

Budget?

Plenty or places for decent grub for good grubbers .. All depends were you want to hang around, Coppi, and Mumbai 27, 2Taps around the Cathedral quarter..
Fish City is a wee gem in Anne street Zizzi in Victoria square, the Cubby Cherub I was at recently was good. Coco at the back of City hall is very good, also Flame and Howard street will give you a decent filling..

The Morning Star do a great stake and a proper pint in a good pup.. Shu is a bit out of town but been very good for food for years.  Sweet Afton will give you plenty on your plate..

The Mourne seafood is in a great spot next door to Kelly Cellars and around the corner from there is the Havana bank square.. oh might head out this weekend!
Is it not a bit tough?
Post by: NAG1 on March 31, 2022, 09:40:04 AM
If you thought some of these places were pricey before, wait to the tax goes back to pre-covid level as the break is now over today.

Directly passed through to the customers.
Post by: tbrick18 on March 31, 2022, 09:41:00 AM
Quote from: quit yo jibbajabba on March 30, 2022, 11:40:06 PM
SusANSSS - Ormeau Rd

Chinese? That's a blast from the past!
Post by: tyrone08 on March 31, 2022, 10:25:39 AM
Quote from: NAG1 on March 31, 2022, 09:40:04 AM
If you thought some of these places were pricey before, wait to the tax goes back to pre-covid level as the break is now over today.

Belfast has gone to the dogs for prices. Same hotel in June for 1 night last year was £50 for 1 person. Its now £150 for 1 night. Its a  basic budget hotel.

Although they must still be getting customers even at those prices.
Post by: Snapchap on March 31, 2022, 10:44:59 AM
Thanks for the recommendations folks. In Belfast at the weekend so will endeavor to try some of these.
Post by: imtommygunn on March 31, 2022, 10:57:24 AM
Quote from: tyrone08 on March 31, 2022, 10:25:39 AM

Belfast has gone to the dogs for prices. Same hotel in June for 1 night last year was £50 for 1 person. Its now £150 for 1 night. Its a  basic budget hotel.

It's got out of hand. With that tourist tax it'll soon change. The DUP are doing all they can to kill tourism so Belfast will be quiet enough soon enough and cheaper if they have their way.
Post by: johnnycool on March 31, 2022, 11:19:09 AM

Budget?

Are you ever in?
Post by: screenexile on March 31, 2022, 11:56:04 AM
Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on March 31, 2022, 08:00:13 AM
Stock at Georges Market is a great spot. Mourne Seafood and Copi have also been mentioned. Stix and Stones isn't bad

Love Stix and Stones but the only drawback was smelling of steak for the rest of the night!!

My favourites:

Morning Star - Nothing Fancy just good steak and good stout
Made in Belfast - Had a good feed in there last year
3 Levels Asian Fusion - Teppanyaki restaurants are always good for something a bit different
Shed Bistro - Good food and a good atmosphere
Villa Italia - Been going here for years it's not expensive and decent Italian food
Post by: quit yo jibbajabba on March 31, 2022, 12:08:04 PM
Quote from: tbrick18 on March 31, 2022, 09:41:00 AM
Quote from: quit yo jibbajabba on March 30, 2022, 11:40:06 PM
SusANSSS - Ormeau Rd

Chinese? That's a blast from the past!

The one & only 😉😃
Post by: cornerback on March 31, 2022, 12:56:04 PM
Tedfords Kitchen - Great food
Given it's location I would say it's very busy pre-show if there's anything on at the waterfront
Post by: Milltown Row2 on March 31, 2022, 12:58:03 PM
Quote from: HiMucker on March 31, 2022, 09:29:50 AM

Budget?

Is it not a bit tough?

Only if you are a vampire  ;D... stupid phone
Post by: Tyrdub on March 31, 2022, 01:58:03 PM
21 of us in Havana on Saturday night past, was really really good. Food was great, staff were brilliant, highly recommend
Post by: Tony Baloney on March 31, 2022, 02:05:22 PM
Quote from: imtommygunn on March 31, 2022, 10:57:24 AM

It's got out of hand. With that tourist tax it'll soon change. The DUP are doing all they can to kill tourism so Belfast will be quiet enough soon enough and cheaper if they have their way.
Hotel owners are doing their bit to kill it by price gouging. Some of the prices are absolutely mental and eventually people will wise up and stop paying them. If out of towners stop coming due to hotel prices, a lot of the hotels, bars and restaurants might wonder why there aren't as many people around - 6 quid for a pint and 200 quid for a bog standard hotel in a city that is absolutely stinking can't be sustainable.

James St. is hard to beat.
Post by: Keyser soze on March 31, 2022, 04:35:03 PM
The Lantern. 
Post by: tyrone08 on March 31, 2022, 05:49:23 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on March 31, 2022, 02:05:22 PM
Quote from: imtommygunn on March 31, 2022, 10:57:24 AM

Hotel owners are doing their bit to kill it by orientation gouging. Some of the prices are absolutely mental and eventually people will wise up and stop paying them. If out of towners stop coming due to hotel prices, a lot of the hotels, bars and restaurants might wonder why there aren't as many people around - 6 quid for a pint and 200 quid for a bog standard hotel in a city that is absolutely stinking can't be sustainable.

James St. is hard to beat.

What u can't get my head around is that people are either willing to pay it or can afford to pay it. Used to stay in Belfast with the wife in an hotel every few months, won't be doing that again given the current prices.
Post by: imtommygunn on March 31, 2022, 06:03:21 PM
Yeah while it is a better city than it used to be there are still many better about which are probably a lot cheaper.
Post by: Newbridge Exile on March 31, 2022, 07:19:36 PM
Quote from: Keyser soze on March 31, 2022, 04:35:03 PM
The Lantern.
I would second that ,
Post by: general_lee on March 31, 2022, 08:43:02 PM
Belfast tourism will die a death.

Plenty of tans willing to come over and spunk their money in Belfast! In all likelihood will remain the same after tomorrow however can't see too many locals hanging about. Who wants to pay £6 for a pint? Good eating houses in Moira & Hillsborough.
Post by: gallsman on March 31, 2022, 10:47:44 PM
Parson's Nose in Hillsborough is fantastic.
Post by: screenexile on April 01, 2022, 12:26:39 AM
Quote from: general_lee on March 31, 2022, 08:43:02 PM

Plenty of tans willing to come over and spunk their money in Belfast! In all likelihood will remain the same after tomorrow however can't see too many locals hanging about. Who wants to pay £6 for a pint? Good eating houses in Moira & Hillsborough.

Place has been full of Dubs the last while!!!
Post by: Mario on April 01, 2022, 07:54:20 AM
Quote from: screenexile on April 01, 2022, 12:26:39 AM

I know more than a few friends from the south who only visited Belfast for the first time recently and a couple that crossed the border for first time.
Post by: imtommygunn on April 01, 2022, 08:22:43 AM
It got a lot of trade from down south due to lockdown restrictions being a lot less severe and basically having the ability to go to the pub so Belfast thrived during covid with that but you'd expect that to taper off a bit.
Post by: Tyrdub on April 01, 2022, 08:39:34 AM
Quote from: screenexile on April 01, 2022, 12:26:39 AM

What's wrong with that?  8) ;) ;D
Post by: Milltown Row2 on April 01, 2022, 08:51:32 AM
Quote from: imtommygunn on April 01, 2022, 08:22:43 AM
It got a lot of trade from down south due to lockdown restrictions being a lot less severe and basically having the ability to go to the pub so Belfast thrived during covid with that but you'd expect that to taper off a bit.

Bus loads were going to Filthy's during that time, I know this as my kids work there. But not so much now
Post by: toby47 on April 01, 2022, 09:00:14 AM
Shed Bistro on Ormeau Rd is very good.
Mourne Seafood as a few ones already said.
3 Levels, as Screenexile said for Asian food and something different.
Coppi (italian) & The Dumpling Library (Asian) both in St Anne's square, I enjoyed both.
Stix & Stones for a good steak.
2 taps & Bupa for tapas.
House of Zen (Chinese) & Nu Delhi (Indian)
Harlem is also a good spot for lunch.
Post by: gallsman on April 01, 2022, 09:31:58 AM
Wouldn't touch Mourne Seafood. Went to the dogs years ago.
Post by: Saffrongael on April 01, 2022, 11:33:29 AM
Quote from: gallsman on April 01, 2022, 09:31:58 AM

I see they got into a minor Twitter spat a few weeks ago, they were railing against high hotel prices in Belfast & some girl said they had a cheek as they sell bagged frozen prawns and pass them off as freshly caught
Post by: Milltown Row2 on April 01, 2022, 11:37:58 AM

Haven't been since Covid so didn't realise its went down hill.....

Post by: toby47 on April 01, 2022, 11:40:45 AM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on April 01, 2022, 11:37:58 AM

Haven't been since Covid so didn't realise its went down hill.....

I've been since covid and enjoyed it. Haven't been in the restaurant since, but have sat outside, where they have a street food type menu and it was great.
Post by: bigarsedkeeper on April 01, 2022, 01:08:02 PM
The wife is obsessed with Six by Nico. It's something different than the normal to be fair. Nice once in a while
Post by: general_lee on April 01, 2022, 02:04:03 PM
Six by Nico is nice but I wouldn't recommend it if you're remotely hungry
Post by: Milltown Row2 on April 01, 2022, 02:10:45 PM
Quote from: bigarsedkeeper on April 01, 2022, 01:08:02 PM
The wife is obsessed with Six by Nico. It's something different than the normal to be fair. Nice once in a while

I'll be honest its full of shit... The food is grand and I don't mind spending a few quid in the slightest, but I always come away confused as to why I've spent soooo much money  ;D

My mate and his wife love it so torture us to go every so often
Post by: illdecide on April 02, 2022, 11:10:58 AM
My wife loves that Villa Itallia place up near Queens. TBF it's nice and not too expensive either but Jasus woman give me a break and try somewhere new
Post by: Tyrdub on April 02, 2022, 11:58:27 AM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on April 01, 2022, 02:10:45 PM

I'll be honest its full of shit... The food is grand and I don't mind spending a few quid in the slightest, but I always come away confused as to why I've spent soooo much money  ;D

Was there shortly after Christmas with the missus, loved it, will definitely go back
Post by: blewuporstuffed on April 02, 2022, 12:06:10 PM
For me Muddlers club is the best place in Belfast, pricey but good and service is excellent.
There are loads of good options tho, the Barking dog, Shu and Mourne seafood  are all excellent. I have ate in six by Nico once as well and enjoyed it.
Post by: Tony Baloney on April 02, 2022, 01:41:45 PM

Seems to be favoured by people who put photos of their food on Instagram.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on April 02, 2022, 02:06:29 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on April 02, 2022, 01:41:45 PM

Seems to be favoured by people who put photos of their food on Instagram.

Don't get me wrong the food is great, but they have you for 6 courses which is plenty of food over that period but you're generally paying a lot more that your other eateries. As for the instagrams I still don't get it or Twitter, I've just enough time for here.
Post by: quit yo jibbajabba on April 02, 2022, 02:12:48 PM
I think i speak on behalf of everyone when i say less gaaboard and more twitter Milltown 😉😃
Post by: Milltown Row2 on April 02, 2022, 02:27:55 PM
Quote from: quit yo jibbajabba on April 02, 2022, 02:12:48 PM
I think i speak on behalf of everyone when i say less gaaboard and more twitter Milltown 😉😃

I'm happy enough piss taking here than going on to that rubbish  :D
Post by: Olly on April 03, 2022, 07:59:07 AM
The food in the Kremlin is underrated. I've often left stuffed to the gills and sometimes all I've had is something plain like toad in the hole surprise. The Sunday carvery is to die for and the stuffing is irresistible. Desserts are brilliant. The cream is something you'll never taste anywhere else. For a starter I often have a corn on the cob.
Post by: general_lee on April 03, 2022, 08:36:28 AM
Quote from: Olly on April 03, 2022, 07:59:07 AM
The food in the Kremlin is underrated. I've often left stuffed to the gills and sometimes all I've had is something plain like toad in the hole surprise. The Sunday carvery is to die for and the stuffing is irresistible. Desserts are brilliant. The cream is something you'll never taste anywhere else. For a starter I often have a corn on the cob.
Do you come there often?
Post by: michaelg on April 03, 2022, 12:51:28 PM
Quote from: Olly on April 03, 2022, 07:59:07 AM
What age are you ffs
Post by: Average Score on April 03, 2022, 03:53:35 PM
He's a mid 50s teacher, classy.
Post by: Wildweasel74 on April 03, 2022, 04:04:56 PM
Belfast turned into a dear hole, not missing any nights out in it post Covid.
Post by: Walter Cronc on April 04, 2022, 08:24:40 AM
Heading to Ox this week for wedding anniversary. Looking forward to it. Need to be good to match Muddlers Club.

Anyone tried Stove Bistro on Ormeau Road? Menu looks good!
Post by: Milltown Row2 on April 04, 2022, 08:53:16 AM
Quote from: Wildweasel74 on April 03, 2022, 04:04:56 PM
Belfast turned into a dear hole, not missing any nights out in it post Covid.

Was in Belfast yesterday late afternoon, £5.20 for most pints, can't handle as many as I used too, so its never too expensive!!
Post by: toby47 on May 01, 2022, 11:03:14 AM
Anywhere other than the West to watch Old Firm & GAA today?
Post by: Walter Cronc on May 08, 2022, 08:08:51 AM
Anyone been to St Georges Market on a Sunday? Does it have food stalls or is that just Saturdays?
Post by: Lucifer on May 08, 2022, 09:57:53 AM
Food stalls there on a Sunday too Walter
Post by: Walter Cronc on May 08, 2022, 12:43:18 PM
Quote from: Lucifer on May 08, 2022, 09:57:53 AM
Food stalls there on a Sunday too Walter

Good man cheers
Post by: screenexile on May 08, 2022, 01:15:56 PM
Quote from: Walter Cronc on May 08, 2022, 08:08:51 AM
Anyone been to St Georges Market on a Sunday? Does it have food stalls or is that just Saturdays?

Great spot one of the gems of Belfast if you're up early enough on a Saturday or Sunday it's a great spot for milling around and getting a bite to eat I love it!
Post by: bogball88 on May 09, 2022, 09:02:01 AM
Quote from: toby47 on May 01, 2022, 11:03:14 AM
Too late for you, but I caught second half of Tyrone game in Nacy Mulligans
Post by: Milltown Row2 on May 09, 2022, 09:08:17 AM
Quote from: bogball88 on May 09, 2022, 09:02:01 AM

Not exactly the city center pub you'd bring someone too in fairness... It's had some names over the years
Post by: toby47 on May 11, 2022, 04:25:09 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on May 09, 2022, 09:08:17 AM

Not exactly the city center pub you'd bring someone too in fairness... It's had some names over the years

Went there shortly after lockdown to watch an Old Firm game. A rumbly crowd in it to say the least, 2 women ended up wigging each other.
Post by: Taylor on May 11, 2022, 05:31:20 PM
Quote from: toby47 on May 11, 2022, 04:25:09 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on May 09, 2022, 09:08:17 AM

Went there shortly after lockdown to watch an Old Firm game. A rumbly crowd in it to say the least, 2 women ended up wigging each other.

Wigging??

Is that pulling the hair of each other?
Post by: Milltown Row2 on May 11, 2022, 05:35:00 PM
Lol!!

Was Fat Harry's many many years ago, was a dundered in pub before that,  then renovated, some punters drank in that one!

The Hercules pub up the street would have better clientele
Post by: Kidder81 on May 13, 2022, 07:48:56 PM
Best bet for watching the FA Cup final tomorrow in Belfast city centre ? I suppose everywhere will be packed
Post by: Milltown Row2 on May 13, 2022, 07:59:44 PM
Quote from: Kidder81 on May 13, 2022, 07:48:56 PM
Beat bet for watching the FA Cup final tomorrow in Belfast city centre ? I suppose everywhere will be packed

Sweet afton plenty of screens Garrick Barr decent pints with lovely food and the sports bar at Franklin's
Post by: Olly on May 13, 2022, 10:49:17 PM
Quote from: Kidder81 on May 13, 2022, 07:48:56 PM
Best bet for watching the FA Cup final tomorrow in Belfast city centre ? I suppose everywhere will be packed

Ox on Oxford Street is fantastic for watchign sport. It can get rowdy but the pints are cheap and the food very cheap.
Post by: tintin25 on January 09, 2023, 03:07:53 PM
Thread bump - suggestions for nice restaurant Lisburn Road/Stranmillis area for a wee date?  :)
Post by: imtommygunn on January 09, 2023, 03:09:52 PM
There's a deanes decanos on the lisburn road is very good.

Stranmillis has no real stand out eating places. They're bob and berts etc and maybe not date material... depending on whether you are trying to impress or not  ;D
Post by: Aristo 60 on January 09, 2023, 03:15:00 PM
First date or 101st date?
Post by: tintin25 on January 09, 2023, 03:45:06 PM
2nd date lol...looking something nice but not too pretentious.  Thinking along lines of Pizza/Italian food
Post by: imtommygunn on January 09, 2023, 03:47:53 PM
Deanes decanos isn't bad tbh. It's not madly priced and not overly pretentious. Struggling to think of an italian in stranmillis but there's always villa italia on university road.
Post by: JohnDenver on January 09, 2023, 04:00:37 PM
Quote from: tintin25 on January 09, 2023, 03:45:06 PM
2nd date lol...looking something nice but not too pretentious.  Thinking along lines of Pizza/Italian food

Nicos Lisburn road, opposite city hospital
Post by: toby47 on January 09, 2023, 04:07:15 PM

Orto on Stranmillis road is brilliant for Pizza, they've recently opened a 2nd one down in the Cathedral quarter. There is a Mexican on Stranmillis called 'Number 1' it's very casual and a serious hidden gem in Belfast, the food is brilliant, it's fairly cheap and it's 'bring you own' with a small corkage free (I think 50p per bottle of beer and £3 per bottle of wine)
Post by: Milltown Row2 on January 09, 2023, 04:07:35 PM
Holohan's Pantry next door to Villa Italia at top of University street, great we intimate place to eat good old Irish food!!

But Villa Italia or scalini's was always a firm favourite with the family
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on January 09, 2023, 04:08:08 PM
Not Lisburn Road or Strnamillis but Fratellis on Great Victoria Street is a nice spot, reasonably priced too
Post by: Jeepers Creepers on January 09, 2023, 04:08:13 PM
Quote from: JohnDenver on January 09, 2023, 04:00:37 PM

Greens pizza? Bit more up market (price wise anyway) pizza place but not fancy and can bring your own iirc?
Post by: Milltown Row2 on January 09, 2023, 04:09:50 PM
Quote from: Jeepers Creepers on January 09, 2023, 04:08:13 PM
Quote from: JohnDenver on January 09, 2023, 04:00:37 PM

Greens pizza? Bit more up market (price wise anyway) pizza place but not fancy and can bring your own iirc?

I'd hair the last time I was there, and thats going back a bit  ;D
Post by: Aristo 60 on January 09, 2023, 04:14:03 PM

Grand - you should drop in the line "these Pizza places are somewhere we could bring the kids some day"....see does she spit out her Peroni beer :)
Post by: Milltown Row2 on January 09, 2023, 04:19:10 PM
Don't be ordering spaghetti and wearing a white shirt ffs!

No farting and allow her (for now) to lift stuff off your plate, but 4 date let her know tintin isn't for sharing

Don't be ordering Peroni unless its the end of the month as its expensive! lol

Christ I've not been on a second date (with the wife that is) for yonks!!  ;D
Post by: tintin25 on January 09, 2023, 04:30:12 PM
Thanks all!

Plenty of options there and will pick one :-)

Ordinarily would have went for drinks but both doing dry jan!  Already done the coffee date too, so leaves me with less options.
Post by: Jeepers Creepers on January 09, 2023, 04:33:03 PM
Pizza express if you want a glance into the future. Mother on her phone, Da snorting Peroni off the table and kids winging doughballs everywhere lol
Post by: Milltown Row2 on January 09, 2023, 04:38:01 PM
Its such a miserable month doing dry Jan would be torture.. Dry Feb is the best option  ;D
Post by: Walter Cronc on January 09, 2023, 05:01:43 PM
Anyone tried that tapas restaurant EDO?

Booked it for her indoors' birthday.
Post by: RedHand88 on January 09, 2023, 05:14:01 PM
Quote from: Walter Cronc on January 09, 2023, 05:01:43 PM

No but I've heard great things about it from ones in work.
Post by: imtommygunn on January 09, 2023, 06:21:45 PM
I've been in it a few times though not in a while. It's very nice.
Post by: Square Ball on January 09, 2023, 06:59:33 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on January 09, 2023, 04:07:35 PM
Holohan's Pantry next door to Villa Italia at top of University street, great we intimate place to eat good old Irish food!!

But Villa Italia or scalini's was always a firm favourite with the family

Love Holohans, my favourite, small menu but all great.
Post by: Rois on January 09, 2023, 07:37:49 PM

Really nice.
Post by: seafoid on January 09, 2023, 08:13:26 PM
Desserts in Stranmillis must be sweet. The name Stranmillis means sweet river in Irish.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on January 09, 2023, 08:13:55 PM
EDO is great as is Ora on Great Victoria street facing opera house, great range of Tapas, expensive ish but worth it
Post by: armaghniac on January 09, 2023, 08:34:52 PM
Quote from: seafoid on January 09, 2023, 08:13:26 PM
Desserts in Stranmillis must be sweet. The name Stranmillis means sweet river in Irish.

The people are sour though.
Post by: BrotherMore6592 on January 09, 2023, 10:52:41 PM
Chip Co or Boojum, bring the family around 10pm on a midweek night at the start of February, lovely atmosphere
Post by: PMG1 on January 10, 2023, 01:02:25 AM
Amici on Lisburn Road is a great wee spot, intimate wee booths, great food and very reasonable.
Post by: WT4E on January 10, 2023, 04:53:09 PM

Heard great things... Booked it - wasn't overly impressed. It was fine but not amazing!

Their Prawn Pil Pil is not Prawn Pil Pil
Post by: Milltown Row2 on January 10, 2023, 05:44:18 PM
Quote from: WT4E on January 10, 2023, 04:53:09 PM

Heard great things... Booked it - wasn't overly impressed. It was fine but not amazing!

Ora is better
Post by: gallsman on January 11, 2023, 01:20:58 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on January 10, 2023, 05:44:18 PM

Ora is better

Ora is a sister restaurant of Howard Street, so would expect it to be good.
Post by: tyrone08 on January 11, 2023, 03:38:35 PM
Quote from: gallsman on January 11, 2023, 01:20:58 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on January 10, 2023, 05:44:18 PM

Ora is better

Ora is a sister restaurant of Howard Street, so would expect it to be good.

Ora is very good along with yugo.
Post by: quit yo jibbajabba on January 11, 2023, 03:44:22 PM
Yis have all got sidetracked. We need.to know how date 2 went 😉😃
Post by: Milltown Row2 on January 11, 2023, 03:49:02 PM
Quote from: quit yo jibbajabba on January 11, 2023, 03:44:22 PM

Don't want him put under any pressure, wasn't sure what night it was
Post by: tintin25 on January 11, 2023, 05:37:51 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on January 11, 2023, 03:49:02 PM

Will let you know in due course  ;D - maybe there should be a Dating thread on the board!
Post by: quit yo jibbajabba on January 11, 2023, 05:50:32 PM
The lads on gaaboard are now fully invested in this 😃

If date 2 goes well start you a dating thread
Post by: Gold on January 11, 2023, 09:52:51 PM
How did it go?,
Post by: imtommygunn on January 11, 2023, 10:44:26 PM
Quote from: tintin25 on January 11, 2023, 05:37:51 PM

Will let you know in due course  ;D - maybe there should be a Dating thread on the board!

Could go the way of that mucksavages one ;D
Post by: quit yo jibbajabba on January 11, 2023, 11:32:37 PM
Quote from: imtommygunn on January 11, 2023, 10:44:26 PM

We live in hope 😃
Post by: Gold on January 11, 2023, 11:48:22 PM
Quote from: imtommygunn on January 11, 2023, 10:44:26 PM

"Lob it into me boss, I have a long back"  :D