GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: From the Bunker on September 18, 2017, 12:23:26 AM

Title: Thank God it was not a draw!
Post by: From the Bunker on September 18, 2017, 12:23:26 AM
Gas, as we (the poor downtrodden Mayo fans) left Croke Park. The overwhelming feeling was 'Thank God it wasn't a draw'. The Financial as well as the emotional cost was just to much and most were happy it was done and dusted. Who wants to spend more money on Petrol, Food and €80 (cos the GAA of the people don't reduce the price for replays in Football). If there was one small thing that made me happy it was that them greedy corporational whores missed out on screwing us one last time. Small mercies!   ;D
Title: Re: Thank God it was not a draw!
Post by: Rossfan on September 18, 2017, 12:35:11 AM
When ye have a panel of Mayo men only (no Ballaghaderreen Co Roscommon players) ye'll win Sam.
Post by: Thy Kingdom Come on September 18, 2017, 12:38:23 AM
Quote from: Rossfan on September 18, 2017, 12:35:11 AM
When ye have a panel of Mayo men only (no Ballaghaderreen Co Roscommon players) ye'll win Sam.
We won before with Ballaghaderreen Co Roscommon players, what different now?
Post by: Syferus on September 18, 2017, 12:40:18 AM
Quote from: Thy Kingdom Come on September 18, 2017, 12:38:23 AM

Kerry did? FFS did the bastárds play for everyone but their own county?
Post by: Rossfan on September 18, 2017, 12:43:41 AM
In 1951 there were Ballagh natives who'd been born as Mayos.
119 years after the Enlightnent there aren't.
Post by: Syferus on September 18, 2017, 12:45:09 AM
Quote from: Rossfan on September 18, 2017, 12:43:41 AM
In 1951 there were Ballagh natives who'd been born as Mayos.
119 years after the Enlightnent there aren't.

Andy wouldn't have been born in Mayo if he was born in 1586..
Post by: Rossfan on September 18, 2017, 12:56:13 AM
Enlightenment was 1898 ;D :P
Post by: Captain Obvious on September 18, 2017, 01:30:07 AM
Oops... you should have checked that username of yours before clicking that reply.
Post by: rrhf on September 18, 2017, 07:19:01 AM
Quote from: From the Bunker on September 18, 2017, 12:23:26 AM
Gas, as we (the poor downtrodden Mayo fans) left Croke Park. The overwhelming feeling was 'Thank God it wasn't a draw'. The Financial as well as the emotional cost was just to much and most were happy it was done and dusted. Who wants to spend more money on Petrol, Food and €80 (cos the GAA of the people don't reduce the price for replays in Football). If there was one small thing that made me happy it was that them greedy corporational whores missed out on screwing us one last time. Small mercies!   ;D
That is so true and understandably true and sad.
Post by: Bord na Mona man on September 18, 2017, 08:05:40 AM
Gas, as we (the poor downtrodden Mayo fans) left Croke Park. The overwhelming feeling was 'Thank God it wasn't a draw'. The Financial as well as the emotional cost was just to much and most were happy it was done and dusted. Who wants to spend more money on Petrol, Food and €80 (cos the GAA of the people don't reduce the price for replays in Football).
You mustn't have been there last year so, when the price was reduced.
Post by: heffo on September 18, 2017, 08:21:54 AM
Quote from: Captain Obvious on September 18, 2017, 01:30:07 AM
Oops... you should have checked that username of yours before clicking that reply.

How many different accounts does Syf have??
Post by: Hound on September 18, 2017, 08:29:56 AM
Wouldnt have minded the chance to play without the handicap of Flynn and O'Gara, but definitely preferred the 1 point win!
Post by: Minder on September 18, 2017, 08:35:06 AM
I remember ticket prices were reduced for replay in 2013 when Cork v Clare drew
Post by: theskull1 on September 18, 2017, 08:39:44 AM
Quote from: Minder on September 18, 2017, 08:35:06 AM
I remember ticket prices were reduced for replay in 2013 when Cork v Clare drew

Ahhh those were the days
Post by: Esmarelda on September 18, 2017, 10:21:43 AM
Prices were reduced for the semi-final replay I think.
Post by: straightred on September 18, 2017, 10:24:04 AM

Adult prices were reduced to 60 from 80 and kids (on season tickets) were reduced to 10 from 80 last year for the replay.
Post by: From the Bunker on September 18, 2017, 10:43:40 AM
Quote from: Bord na Mona man on September 18, 2017, 08:05:40 AM
Gas, as we (the poor downtrodden Mayo fans) left Croke Park. The overwhelming feeling was 'Thank God it wasn't a draw'. The Financial as well as the emotional cost was just to much and most were happy it was done and dusted. Who wants to spend more money on Petrol, Food and €80 (cos the GAA of the people don't reduce the price for replays in Football).

PRICE OF €80 for the replay last year - No reduction and I was there! Check your facts!
Post by: Bord na Mona man on September 18, 2017, 10:50:32 AM
Quote from: From the Bunker on September 18, 2017, 10:43:40 AM

PRICE OF €80 for the replay last year - No reduction and I was there! Check your facts!
You were had so...
http://www.gaa.ie/football/news/ticket-price-reduction-for-all-ireland-final-replay/

Post by: longballin on September 18, 2017, 10:51:17 AM

Was there too - the price was reduced as it was for hurling replays
http://www.gaa.ie/football/news/ticket-price-reduction-for-all-ireland-final-replay/
Post by: magpie seanie on September 18, 2017, 12:00:42 PM
And no Sligo men don't forget.
Post by: weareros on September 18, 2017, 12:14:51 PM

Sean Flanagan was actually from Aughamore. I think the only Ballaghaderreen man to ever win a senior football All-Ireland was Jack Shouldice with Dublin in 1907.

Post by: Orchard park on September 18, 2017, 10:54:47 PM

Have you checked your facts ???????
Post by: Redhand Santa on September 18, 2017, 11:15:04 PM
Some people would rather they weren't reduced so they have something to complain about. I'd say they'd have no problem getting people to pay 60 Euro for another game like yesterday. Fantastic entertainment, pity there wasn't a replay.
Post by: sligoman2 on September 19, 2017, 12:15:32 AM
Talk about kicking a man when he's down.  Have ye Rossies lost all decency?

Amazing how's ye continously turn threads into a moaning session.

Up Mayo
Post by: Syferus on September 19, 2017, 01:02:36 AM
Quote from: sligoman2 on September 19, 2017, 12:15:32 AM

Up Mayo

Weird post, Larryin.
Post by: sligoman2 on September 19, 2017, 03:20:08 AM
Quote from: Syferus on September 19, 2017, 01:02:36 AM

Up Mayo

Weird post, Larryin.
Sorry jackeen...  why do I waste my time
Post by: Avondhu star on September 19, 2017, 06:52:27 AM
Get a look at the financial accounts for Mayo county board and any club there that has done development and you will see significant funds were given from Croke Park
And then take their ignorant chip off your shoulder
Post by: magpie seanie on September 19, 2017, 08:30:05 AM

Up Mayo

Tom Parsons played well didn't he.
Post by: Rossfan on September 19, 2017, 08:34:42 AM
What part of Co. Mayo is Tom from?
Post by: sligoman2 on September 19, 2017, 11:17:33 AM
Tom Parsons won't play for Sligo, we need to accept that and move on.  Ballaghdreen play in Mayo. 

Time to move on.  My point is this is not the time to throw this in Mayo's face. 
Were you rooting for Dublin Seanie?  How about the Rossies?
I was rooting for Mayo and most of the country was...
Post by: magpie seanie on September 19, 2017, 11:36:07 AM
I wanted Dublin to win. I would doubt many in Meath were hoping for a Dublin win. Several Sligo people around me devastated (slumped in seats, almost in tears) at the final whistle. I find that a head scratcher. This is a county we're trying to compete against.

I won't say anything else on the other things for now as I don't want to piss off the genuine Mayo lads. I shouldn't have mentioned it.
Post by: sligoman2 on September 19, 2017, 12:26:47 PM

I won't say anything else on the other things for now as I don't want to piss off the genuine Mayo lads. I shouldn't have mentioned it.

That's my point Seanie, there's a time and a place and this is not either one.  Leave the muckraking to the Rossies....
Post by: weareros on September 19, 2017, 12:39:09 PM
Quote from: sligoman2 on September 19, 2017, 12:26:47 PM

That's my point Seanie, there's a time and a place and this is not either one.  Leave the muckraking to the Rossies....

Sligoman2, what muckraking are the Rossies doing? That's a fairly big generalisation considering when we lose, Eamon O'Hara is quick to polish off a few bus jokes on Twitter. But would never malign all Sligonians if one decides to have a laugh. It's only a game at end of day.

That said, awful of Syferus to call you a Mayoman given that long time readers know you to be a straight up and genuine Sligo man, who even played a bit back in the day.
Post by: sligoman2 on September 19, 2017, 12:55:48 PM
Thank you for the kind words weareros.

Take a look at the second post on this thread, I've copied it for you below

Karma.

Like I said earlier, this is kicking a man when he's down, and I felt that this was not the time for that....
Post by: Owenmoresider on September 19, 2017, 02:31:41 PM
Quote from: magpie seanie on September 19, 2017, 11:36:07 AM
I wanted Dublin to win. I would doubt many in Meath were hoping for a Dublin win. Several Sligo people around me devastated (slumped in seats, almost in tears) at the final whistle. I find that a head scratcher. This is a county we're trying to compete against.
This, I mean I get that a lot of people wouldn't have wanted Dublin to win for all sorts of reasons, and I was of the "can they not both lose" viewpoint, but I do understand that people here would feel a little sorry for Mayo, after coming so close so often it's hard not to, but to be reacting as though they were a Mayo supporter itself is just plain bizarre.
Post by: sligoman2 on September 19, 2017, 06:06:16 PM
You are missing the point Owenmoresider, I was a Mayo supporter on Sunday, I do feel sorry for them and I was offended by the abuse hurled at them earlier in the thread...
Again, not the time to do this...
Post by: Rossfan on September 19, 2017, 06:21:31 PM
Calm down Sligoman2.
I for once hoped the Rhubarbs would win on Sunday and think it's tough on them to lose 4 AI Finals in 6 years 3 of them by a point.
However I reserve the right to slag them and have banter especially in a thread where one of their own is saying  tongue in cheek -thank God we lost.
Post by: Syferus on September 19, 2017, 07:00:00 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on September 19, 2017, 06:21:31 PM
Calm down Sligoman2.
I for once hoped the Rhubarbs would win on Sunday and think it's tough on them to lose 4 AI Finals in 6 years 3 of them by a point.
However I reserve the right to slag them and have banter especially in a thread where one of their own is saying  tongue in cheek -thank God we lost.

sligoman2's sense of perspective seems to be curiously lacking only when it comes to Roscommon posters.. I wonder why..
Post by: Cunny Funt on September 19, 2017, 08:26:12 PM

Is this tongue in cheek? if not i can't get my head around the need for this thread or that opening post. Mayo would still be in the race for the All Ireland with a draw with the opportunity of 70 mins away from winning Sam and for Mayo that would be priceless.
Post by: mrhardyannual on September 19, 2017, 08:36:29 PM
Quote from: Cunny Funt on September 19, 2017, 08:26:12 PM

Is this tongue in cheek? if not i can't get my head around the need for this thread or that opening post. Mayo would still be in the race for the All Ireland with a draw with the opportunity of 70 mins away from winning Sam and for Mayo that would be priceless.
Don't worry Cunny. It's just Bunker and I seriously doubt if he's really a Mayoman. The 40,000 Mayo people in Croke Park would willingly have paid €160 for a replay never mind the reduced €60 price we were charged last year.
Post by: Syferus on September 19, 2017, 08:50:34 PM
Quote from: mrhardyannual on September 19, 2017, 08:36:29 PM

Don't worry Cunny. It's just Bunker and I seriously doubt if he's really a Mayoman. The 40,000 Mayo people in Croke Park would willingly have paid €160 for a replay never mind the reduced €60 price we were charged last year.

Ah, if someone doesn't conform to the opinions of the Mayo Superfan Hive Mind they must be infidels. Listen to yourself for a second.
Post by: mrhardyannual on September 19, 2017, 09:54:29 PM
Quote from: Syferus on September 19, 2017, 08:50:34 PM
Quote from: mrhardyannual on September 19, 2017, 08:36:29 PM

Ah, if someone doesn't conform to the opinions of the Mayo Superfan Hive Mind they must be infidels. Listen to yourself for a second.
Perhaps you might read the piece in bold from his original post. I might ignore his personal opinion but when he claims to speak for the majority (most) he loses all credibility. Probably not an infidel though ......just a crank.
Post by: The Hill is Blue on September 20, 2017, 07:59:39 AM
Quote from: Hound on September 18, 2017, 08:29:56 AM
Wouldnt have minded the chance to play without the handicap of Flynn and O'Gara, but definitely preferred the 1 point win!

Considering the phenomenal amount of work put in by every member of the panel I can't understand the need to make cheap cuts at individual players. These lads have families.
Post by: yellowcard on September 20, 2017, 08:53:06 AM
I imagine the majority of Mayo fans would have bitten your hand off for a draw when Rock popped over that free kick in injury time. It must seem like a long way back to an AI final with this team from here.
Post by: Maroon Manc on September 20, 2017, 09:05:25 AM
Quote from: yellowcard on September 20, 2017, 08:53:06 AM
I imagine the majority of Mayo fans would have bitten your hand off for a draw when Rock popped over that free kick in injury time. It must seem like a long way back to an AI final with this team from here.

I've heard the same comment the last 4 years.

This generation are coming to an end but there's probably another year in them, their 2 oldest outfield players had will both win All Stars.
Post by: sligoman2 on September 20, 2017, 12:23:37 PM
Quote from: Syferus on September 19, 2017, 07:00:00 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on September 19, 2017, 06:21:31 PM
Calm down Sligoman2.

sligoman2's sense of perspective seems to be curiously lacking only when it comes to Roscommon posters.. I wonder why..

I should lick my chops and answer this, but it's too inviting. 
I have no idea Sy....
Post by: Owenmoresider on September 20, 2017, 12:45:30 PM
Quote from: sligoman2 on September 19, 2017, 06:06:16 PM
You are missing the point Owenmoresider, I was a Mayo supporter on Sunday, I do feel sorry for them and I was offended by the abuse hurled at them earlier in the thread...
Again, not the time to do this...
I was referring to what Seanie had said about what he seen at the game on Sunday. It's one thing preferring to see Mayo beat Dublin, but to behave as though it was Sligo themselves playing out there is bizarre.
Post by: Captain Obvious on September 20, 2017, 02:51:49 PM
Quote from: Maroon Manc on September 20, 2017, 09:05:25 AM

This generation are coming to an end but there's probably another year in them, their 2 oldest outfield players had will both win All Stars.
Will Andy Moran ever have a season again like he just had?
Post by: Maroon Manc on September 20, 2017, 06:10:39 PM
Quote from: Captain Obvious on September 20, 2017, 02:51:49 PM
Quote from: Maroon Manc on September 20, 2017, 09:05:25 AM

Will Andy Moran ever have a season again like he just had?

He's 34 in the next few months it would be obvious to suggest not but given he's just had his best ever season how could anyone write him off. Its certainly an ageing Mayo team, from the team that started Sunday 5 players are 30 and another 6 heading for 30 inside the next 2 years.