Sinn Fein? They have gone away, you know.

Started by Trevor Hill, January 18, 2010, 12:28:52 AM

Angelo

Quote from: armaghniac on February 02, 2021, 07:09:26 PM
Quote from: Angelo on February 02, 2021, 06:56:07 PM
It will because of SF. They are the only party on this island pursuing this at present.

There is zero logic to what your saying, the growth of SF south of the border in recent years is why the United Ireland debate is growing and gaining traction. They are the only party on this island driving the issue and yet somehow you think that they are the barrier to what nobody else is looking to happen.

It is just anti-logic what you are spouting. The biggest barrier to a united Ireland from the O6 point of view has been been the SDLP who have and always will be happy to lick the boots of unionism.

No. The evidence shows that a UI is possible.
There are two obstacles
a concern that people who committed the likes of the Enniskillen bombings and those who support them do not win
the lack of an economic model

SF continually send out tweets and the like relating the Troubles, which is no help at all. They need to let it go.
But, above all, the key issue is how can a United Ireland be funded without requiring excessive taxes? SF continually promotes more public spending and higher taxes as it is, nobody has the least confidence in their ability to build an economic model for a United Ireland. Even if they claim that it is possible, no sensible person would believe them.

And once again your post is just a very emotional rant devoid of facts, utterly deluded from reality. It's a like an opinion piece from the Sunday Independent.

Do you pay attention to the politics the free state?

SF's popularity is growing, growing and growing. The reason is because the two main establishment parties in the south are economically illiterate, crashed the economy, burdened the generations to come with €64bn of national debt to save billionaire bondholders, created a housing crisis by selling property off to private investors, sent the rental market out of control, refused to regulate it as most of them also happen to be landlords. The consequences of such is that young people, couples and families can't afford to buy houses. The health service is utterly disgraceful, a two tier health service where you income rather than your need is what dictates what level of health care you get, the most expensive childrens hospital in the world is going to go 4x over budget and behind schedule and that's not even before we start on the corruption and cronyism and that would require encyclopedias.

You need to take your emotion out of it.

GAA FUNDING CHEATS CHEAT US ALL

Angelo

Quote from: Rossfan on February 02, 2021, 07:22:29 PM
One error in tour post Armaghniac
SF want to increase spending and also ABOLISH or REDUCE taxes.
Before their drubbing in the 2019 Locals they were reducing or trying to reduce the LPT.
Then they spent the next 51 weeks complaining that those Councils weren't doing enough..

Absolutely and utterly incorrect.

SF actually pledge to increase the tax on wealthy individuals.

FFG are busy quashing a 12bn tax bill for multinationals while building the most expensive children's hospital in the world.

It's no wonder ye are in the state ye are if they allow the likes of you a vote.

Angelo

Quote from: dublin7 on February 02, 2021, 07:13:10 PM
Quote from: armaghniac on February 02, 2021, 06:43:46 PM
Quote from: Angelo on February 02, 2021, 06:12:55 PM
If a United Ireland happens it will be because of SF as they are the only party with the political appetite for it on this island.

If a United Ireland happens, it will be despite SF.

That's spot on. The die hard Unionists and Republicans will vote for/against a united Ireland regardless of what anyone thinks or recommends. It's the undecided middle ground that will decide it. The full on approach of DUP/SF only alienates that middle ground so it will be up to the remaining parties to swing the vote

FFG are partitionist by nature.

The good thing for republicans in Ireland is FFG are losing power on this island. It scares you but it should bring hope to future generations.

Few points re SF. Helps to cut through all their noise about the SDLP, FF & FG
They are in government in the North (for over 10 years!!)
They administer British rule in the North.

They can sling mud and even their apologists can talk all the shite they want on here but these are facts. If they were such a pure Republican Party how can administer British rule? If they're the answer to all the problems in the South how come the North is a mess, in areas they have control of education, finance, health.

skeog

Angelo dont think they are losing time for you to get a grip.If your so anti FG why do you still support my beloved Celtic owned by a man who is FGs biggest donor.Do you know any SF members who would head to Parkhead and invest a few pound.At least DD put his hand in his pocket.On spads isnt ML and PD giving out about how many advisers the 3 parties have in the Dail.

Snapchap

Quote from: trailer on February 02, 2021, 08:07:31 PM
If they're the answer to all the problems in the South how come the North is a mess, in areas they have control of education, finance, health.

So SF "have control of education, finance, health" and are making a mess of them? You do know that only one of those departments is under SF control?

But yeah sure the problems in the north are all SFs fault. And sure it's not as as though they are part of a multiple party executive after all. Or that they are part of an administration which has no fiscal powers. Or that they have to deal with the DUP on a daily basis. Yup. All problems in the north are directly the fault of SF.

Angelo

Quote from: skeog on February 02, 2021, 08:33:51 PM
Angelo dont think they are losing time for you to get a grip.If your so anti FG why do you still support my beloved Celtic owned by a man who is FGs biggest donor.Do you know any SF members who would head to Parkhead and invest a few pound.At least DD put his hand in his pocket.On spads isnt ML and PD giving out about how many advisers the 3 parties have in the Dail.

Well that's a fairly bizarre take.

Desmond is an absolute cretin of a man but fans have little say over who is in charge of the club. They have made their feelings known about him and they also made it known about war criminal John Reid in the past.

The problem with DD is that he hasn't put his hand in his pocket so why you are choosing to spread that lie I don't know?

Angelo

They can sling mud and even their apologists can talk all the shite they want on here but these are facts. If they were such a pure Republican Party how can administer British rule? If they're the answer to all the problems in the South how come the North is a mess, in areas they have control of education, finance, health.

Newsflash to trailer.

SDLP are in government in the O6. Something he seems to overlook time and time again.

The political system in the north is not meant to work, it's just there to avoid a sectarian headcount and that's before we even get to the role of Westminister.

skeog

Angelo how did he become the main shareholder without having to put his hand in his pocket?.

Quote from: Snapchap on February 02, 2021, 08:37:01 PM
If they're the answer to all the problems in the South how come the North is a mess, in areas they have control of education, finance, health.

So SF "have control of education, finance, health" and are making a mess of them? You do know that only one of those departments is under SF control?

But yeah sure the problems in the north are all SFs fault. And sure it's not as as though they are part of a multiple party executive after all. Or that they are part of an administration which has no fiscal powers. Or that they have to deal with the DUP on a daily basis. Yup. All problems in the north are directly the fault of SF.

O'Neill held Health before their sabbatical. O'Dowd held Education. O'Muillioer held Finance and never brought a budget forward I might add. Murphy holds it now and cannot spend the money he was given! They then slabber about tory cuts!
If they want to be in Gov in South you realise they'll be in a coalition? Like ye can't stand up and say it's all the other parties fault. If SF cannot govern in the North then get out of the way. Let others who are willing and capable do it.

Quote from: Angelo on February 02, 2021, 08:42:24 PM

Newsflash to trailer.

SDLP are in government in the O6. Something he seems to overlook time and time again.

The political system in the north is not meant to work, it's just there to avoid a sectarian headcount and that's before we even get to the role of Westminister.

f**k sake SF negotiated it exclusively with the DUP! The St Andrews agreement and then the Stormont house agreement!!

Snapchap

Quote from: trailer on February 02, 2021, 08:49:56 PM
Quote from: Snapchap on February 02, 2021, 08:37:01 PM

O'Neill held Health before their sabbatical. O'Dowd held Education. O'Muillioer held Finance and never brought a budget forward I might add. Murphy holds it now and cannot spend the money he was given! They then slabber about tory cuts!
If they want to be in Gov in South you realise they'll be in a coalition? Like ye can't stand up and say it's all the other parties fault. If SF cannot govern in the North then get out of the way. Let others who are willing and capable do it.

O'Neill and O'Muilleoir haven't held those ministries for 3 years you absolute spoofer. You claimed they currently control three departments that you describe as a mess even though they only control one of them. That's bad enough but claiming that being in a 5 party executive in a mandatory coalition with no fiscal powers is a direct equivilance to being in power in Dublin, is either you being plain thick or else being deliberately disingenuous. In either case, you're relying on everyone else being thick enough to pay heed to your nonsense.

Angelo

Quote from: trailer on February 02, 2021, 08:53:05 PM
Quote from: Angelo on February 02, 2021, 08:42:24 PM

Newsflash to trailer.

f**k sake SF negotiated it exclusively with the DUP! The St Andrews agreement and then the Stormont house agreement!!

It never worked when it was the UUP/SDLP.

It has never worked, it is not working, it will never work. The political system in the O6 simply will never work as long as unionism have the numbers they do.

You also keep negating to mention that the stoops are part of the executive.